Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,787 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Glanbia drop milk price to 22cpl including 2 cent co-op supports, are we the lowest for June milk in the country. ****ers ,no ornua bonus this month was 1cpl last month

Kerry hold June price, from Journal WhatsApp message
    what is it at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Kerry hold June price, from Journal WhatsApp message

There is a god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Whoop di do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

That's septic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CowMeister

Lakelands held at 23c

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

whelan2 wrote: »
    what is it at?
    21.4c excl vat.

I don't know what the vat incl is or whether that's at 3.6/3.3 or whatever the new fantasy figure for fat/protein they're using this month.

We should make our processors quote all milk prices at 3.6/3.3 because this 'odd' fat/protein ratio and lack of a vat incl figure Kerry are using is only serving them and not helping farmers to compare returns:mad:

/rant*

*There will probably be more of these before the year is done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

We were promised 30cpl for July/Aug/Sept...backtracked now to 27.85 + flex + vat @ 3.2pr and 3.8bf base. Should bring me over 30cpl + vat (base). But annoying when they backtrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,717 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Dawggone wrote: »
    We were promised 30cpl for July/Aug/Sept...backtracked now to 27.85 + flex + vat @ 3.2pr and 3.8bf base. Should bring me over 30cpl + vat (base). But annoying when they backtrack.

Surprised yer not pumping loads of Shyte and milk into there head office dwag !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Surprised yer not pumping loads of Shyte and milk into there head office dwag !!!!

Not my style Mahoney, but I'm quite at a loss why they're not...maybe the soccer and Bastille day have kept them busy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

Petty we didn't have a few French farmers over here. I would imagine we would all be treated with a bit more respect.

I'm no fan of ICMSA but I'd have to say they are on the ball on this one ‘Co-ops paying less than 23c/L for milk are underpaying their farmer suppliers’ @agrilandIreland http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/co-ops-paying-less-than-23cl-of-milk-are-underpaying-their-farmer-suppliers/

21.4c excl vat.

I don't know what the vat incl is or whether that's at 3.6/3.3 or whatever the new fantasy figure for fat/protein they're using this month.

We should make our processors quote all milk prices at 3.6/3.3 because this 'odd' fat/protein ratio and lack of a vat incl figure Kerry are using is only serving them and not helping farmers to compare returns:mad:

/rant*

*There will probably be more of these before the year is done.

Absolutely. Between vat fixed price schemes "bonuses" it is making it impossible to compare milk price. Also fat and protein can Vary a lot from region to region, depending on grass availability cow type ect. The only way to compare is to use a standard base to compare prices. Anything else is only a distraction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

The EU today found Google guilty of abusing its dominant position to prevent competition
    This is illegal they said

Remind me again what MSA's do to a farmers ability to switch milk purchaser?
    It's not compulsory but you lose a lot of money by not signing one...

Anti competitive n'est pas?

OverRide wrote: »
    The EU today found Google guilty of abusing its dominant position to prevent competition
    This is illegal they said

Remind me again what MSA's do to a farmers ability to switch milk purchaser?
    It's not compulsory but you lose a lot of money by not signing one...

Anti competitive n'est pas?

Was nearly killed for bringing this up here in the past but we have a thing here called the competition atorithy. A very learned gentleman there by the name of Ger Fitzgerald had a look at the Dairygold Msa and said it was OK. I suppose he did have an advantage if he needed to contact the firm of solicitors who wrote it. As Mr Fitzgerald is a former partner in the law firm McCann Fitzgerald and these are the people who wrote the contract. That was the first of the Msas if I recall correctly and it seems to have served as a template for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

It's actually ICOS that should be brought before the competition commission for instructing co op's not to take on new suppliers 'contracted' to other co op's

Mind you VRT isn't exactly pro competition in our perfect single market is it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Farmer Ed wrote:
    Was nearly killed for bringing this up here in the past but we have a thing here called the competition atorithy. A very learned gentleman there by the name of Ger Fitzgerald had a look at the Dairygold Msa and said it was OK. I suppose he did have an advantage if he needed to contact the firm of solicitors who wrote it. As Mr Fitzgerald is a former partner in the law firm McCann Fitzgerald and these are the people who wrote the contract. That was the first of the Msas if I recall correctly and it seems to have served as a template for others.

Lads the bigger problem is who would you move to even if you could??? Unfortunately the west cork coops don't come out to my area and never will so it's a choice between kerry and glanbia. Better the Devil you know I say. I'd also lose my winter milk bonus if I switched. People also have to know we have increased the cost to process milk in this country because everyone is gone spring production so we need huge capacity for 4-6 months of the year and feck all for the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,408 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Off season premiums were there 40 years ago to limit the peak to trough and maximise plant use. Its a choice that has been made to largely move away from that.

Water John wrote:
    Off season premiums were there 40 years ago to limit the peak to trough and maximise plant use. Its a choice that has been made to largely move away from that.

I remember at a meeting with Jim Wolfe and a farmer stood up and said he was one of the few winter milk producers left and Wolfe said he'd like a few more because plant isn't maximised. But teagasc has everyone in spring milk so you lie in the bed you make. I'm the one who should be complaining. If everyone was 50/50 winter and spring our processing cost would be lower and we would have an even supply of product to sell each month not these ups and downs. Problem is they're is alot more work in winter milk so I understand completely why people got out of it.I often question my sanity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,431 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Lads the bigger problem is who would you move to even if you could??? Unfortunately the west cork coops don't come out to my area and never will so it's a choice between kerry and glanbia. Better the Devil you know I say. I'd also lose my winter milk bonus if I switched. People also have to know we have increased the cost to process milk in this country because everyone is gone spring production so we need huge capacity for 4-6 months of the year and feck all for the rest.
    I remember at a meeting with Jim Wolfe and a farmer stood up and said he was one of the few winter milk producers left and Wolfe said he'd like a few more because plant isn't maximised. But teagasc has everyone in spring milk so you lie in the bed you make. I'm the one who should be complaining. If everyone was 50/50 winter and spring our processing cost would be lower and we would have an even supply of product to sell each month not these ups and downs. Problem is they're is alot more work in winter milk so I understand completely why people got out of it.I often question my sanity

Co-op no longer pay a bonus to new winter milk suppliers so they are not encouraging farmers to supply milk during this period. Along with more work winter milk is also more expensive to produce for the supplier. No point saving a fraction of a cent in production costs and spending multiples of that producing milk during the winter. All milk plants need to be taken out of production for essential maintenance during the year and this is targets during the winter period.

The other issue with production costs is the multiple drying/processing units in the country. There has been little cooperation between co-op in organizing efficient processing with most co-op management wanting trophy units in there area. What makes it funny is the word co-op stands for cooperative as in corporation. The biggest issue's to effect milk price are bad planning in only producing generic singular products milk powder, butter etc. and PLC's wanting milk at lowest world prices during a downturn without reflecting the high peak prices during an upturn.

Slava Ukrainii

Co-op no longer pay a bonus to new winter milk suppliers so they are not encouraging farmers to supply milk during this period. Along with more work winter milk is also more expensive to produce for the supplier. No point saving a fraction of a cent in production costs and spending multiples of that producing milk during the winter. All milk plants need to be taken out of production for essential maintenance during the year and this is targets during the winter period.

Most people had winter milk bonuses but gave them up and can't get them back now which I find disgraceful....you should be able to trade it like quota. My winter milk paid last year. Was getting 26c base plus 5c winter bonus. Now base is 22c. That's a 9c litre swing. I find winter bonus pays for Extra protein bought to feed cows but wouldn't cover extra labour and it's seriously punishing work. If I didn't have the bonus I would definitely get out. The cash flow is a huge thing and I find from September/October on when I'm buffer feeding wholecrop on grass and have no fert bill I make good money. Plus you can graze grass later if weather is good and aren't in a panic to graze in **** weather in February. Protein I find is similar to spring herd. I'm running 3.5 and 4.1 fat with 7500 litres on 1.2 tonne of concentrate plus wholecrop. I still have issues with a bit of fertility due to the fact the top milkers aren't on a feed to yield system so they suffer a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

We are already chasing the lowest end of the market by dumping powder milk on the world market, and you want us all to throw away the one small advantage we have in seasonal grass production and all up our costs and our workload, just so as we can gain the likes of 1c/l at a processing level?? I don't buy the even supply to sell either, not in the world market context, we are producing peak powdered milk when the likes of NZ are at a minimum.

I would have thought you as a winter milk supplier should be complaining about any manufacturing suppliers who do milk through the winter instead, they are the ones who will allow the processors keep squeezing us actual liquid milk suppliers, why would a processor bother paying a liquid premium if they can get spring lads to produce it for no premium ha.

Most people had winter milk bonuses but gave them up and can't get them back now which I find disgraceful....you should be able to trade it like quota.

Agreed here fully. I've both a liquid and a surplus milk bonus (both are quite small I'll admit), I can sell the liquid bonus which I probably will if I get on top of fertililty, my surplus milk bonus usually gets used up fully between Oct and Nov which suits me grand as I'll always be knocking out spring milk then. We were actually unlucky with the surplus bonus that during whatever reference winter glanbia used to dictate the bonus moving forward we had pulled back hard due to quota, that's life though.

Timmaay wrote: »
    We are already chasing the lowest end of the market by dumping powder milk on the world market, and you want us all to throw away the one small advantage we have in seasonal grass production and all up our costs and our workload, just so as we can gain the likes of 1c/l at a processing level?? I don't buy the even supply to sell either, not in the world market context, we are producing peak powdered milk when the likes of NZ are at a minimum.

I would have thought you as a winter milk supplier should be complaining about any manufacturing suppliers who do milk through the winter instead, they are the ones who will allow the processors keep squeezing us actual liquid milk suppliers, why would a processor bother paying a liquid premium if they can get spring lads to produce it for no premium ha.
    What costs have the spring guys got that are milking on? Surely they are basically the same as the liquid guys. Also would they have problems with lactose?

I use the spring milker term losely actually, the pure early Feb compact calving spring milker would never dream of milking on past mid Dec, them 6wks of effort would probably only amount to 2 or 3 collections at peak! However the likes of me, who has been 90% spring the last few years, but due to a poor calving spread and too many autumn calvers I've over supplied my winter contract, and end up only getting manufacturing price for the likes of 1/2 my Dec and Jan milk. I'll hopefully finally cure that this winter, with no autumn calvers.

Timmaay wrote: »
    I use the spring milker term losely actually, the pure early Feb compact calving spring milker would never dream of milking on past mid Dec, them 6wks of effort would probably only amount to 2 or 3 collections at peak! However the likes of me, who has been 90% spring the last few years, but due to a poor calving spread and too many autumn calvers I've over supplied my winter contract, and end up only getting manufacturing price for the likes of 1/2 my Dec and Jan milk. I'll hopefully finally cure that this winter, with no autumn calvers.
    My dad was down your way a few weeks ago at a funeral, he was amazed at the amount of farmers that are gone spring only, lads that would have been in lmp/fmp with him. How do these lads fare for cash flow. Calf sales in the autumn are a great help here. I couldnt see myself going all spring unless I could source good labour for the spring time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Milk through late calvers here, once you have good quality baled silage and feed 3-4 kgs of a good 18% nut lactose is a non - issue never dropped below 4.6% here last winter.....
    From Nov to the end of Jan last year would of averaged 17 litres a day, estimated feed costs would be around 1.60 a day on top of normal dry cow diet and parlour running costs plus electric and lime would be 30 cent a cow.....
    Was clearing nearly 2 euro a cow a day last year, mighten stack up this year with milk price where it's at, but i find here that without fail ill always have 2-3 perfectly good cows calve in early Jan through slipped calves our simpley a month early so might aswell be running through 40-50 cows as opposed to 2-3 and dumping their milk, only takes a hour and half total each day for milking so don't see it as that big a deal, plus I'm getting a full lactation out of any late calvers I have

Timmaay wrote:

Think we're losing another 2-3 c trying to sell a mountain of product in 2-4 months instead of over a gradual time. European production also peaks in may June. Never mind NZ.

Timmaay wrote:

I'm not a liquid milk supplier. Just have a winter quota.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Milk through late calvers here, once you have good quality baled silage and feed 3-4 kgs of a good 18% nut lactose is a non - issue never dropped below 4.6% here last winter.....
    From Nov to the end of Jan last year would of averaged 17 litres a day, estimated feed costs would be around 1.60 a day on top of normal dry cow diet and parlour running costs plus electric and lime would be 30 cent a cow.....
    Was clearing nearly 2 euro a cow a day last year, mighten stack up this year with milk price where it's at, but i find here that without fail ill always have 2-3 perfectly good cows calve in early Jan through slipped calves our simpley a month early so might aswell be running through 40-50 cows as opposed to 2-3 and dumping their milk, only takes a hour and half total each day for milking so don't see it as that big a deal, plus I'm getting a full lactation out of any late calvers I have
    Do you have any liquid quota? Last winter I supplied just enough in December and January to fill mine, very little milk at manufacturing price. Makes a big difference to ppl