Does the GAA damage us globally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Lt Dan wrote: »

Irish Rugby has been successful for a good chunk of 20 years. Some would even suggest that our National team has under performed at World Cups. They do not seem too troubled by the GAA in getting lads to play AND, in getting big money people to sponsor teams.

To be fair, the amount of nations playing rugby is fairly small as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Bracken81

Ah the GAA......a place for people, who were no use at Football, Rugby, Boxing, etc..........before finding their home on the GAA field!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Bracken81 wrote: »
    Ah the GAA......a place for people, who were no use at Football, Rugby, Boxing, etc..........before finding their home on the GAA field!

I assume you're joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Jaysus, a lot of GAA hate in here. Obviously people who are still a little bitter about not getting picked for the A panel in primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

PARlance wrote: »
    You obviously don't remember the 1983 County Minor B final, 1-6 from play. It was only afterwards that he developed a taste for fast pints and loose women. Paddy had it all at one stage!
    He stopped going to mass around the same time. All the talent in the world is no good to you if you haven't the work ethic.

I'm hearing great things about his cousin, Woolyback McSliotar-Puck?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Totally agree OP. Just look at the US and American football, or Oz and AFL. Imagine how successful those countries could be internationally if they abandoned their own games.

How many lads under 6 foot make it in NFL or to a lesser extent AFL?

Says a lot when Commonwealth nation like Australia or India does not embrace football like the Home Nations does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭OldRio

I find it shocking that children from a young age are doing physical exercise. Running about and getting fit. Learning about working as a team. Learning to win and lose. Understanding the need for fitness and discipline.

Tis all wrong.

They should be at home, on their own in front of a TV screen playing videos game.
    The GAA is not perfect but lots of children learn a lot from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭joey100

A lot of the team sports take away from other sports. Funding in Ireland, especially at youth levels is about numbers. The more people signed up for your club the more you will get. There might be a lad who plays for the local soccer team, no control or able to read the game but the fastest by a long shot over 40/50m. Rather than send him onto an Athletics club where he might really excel the soccer team hold onto him and never really play him. Young people then turn away from sport in their teens if they don't feel like it's going anywhere when a lot of time they may have been better suited for another sport. I've seen this happen across a lot of sports, lads playing GAA better suited for rugby, lads playing rugby better suited for long distance running. Unfortunately most youth sport isn't about helping the young person develop into the best athlete they can be even if it means them leaving the club, rather it's about getting in the numbers to boost the clubs funding.

Yeah, Kevin Moran would agree with you there

Shane Long, Matthew Macklin ,Nial Quinn would agree with you surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭OldRio

Don't forget Tommy Bowe, Tomas OLeary, Mick Galway and Shane Horgan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

joey100 wrote: »
    A lot of the team sports take away from other sports. Funding in Ireland, especially at youth levels is about numbers. The more people signed up for your club the more you will get. There might be a lad who plays for the local soccer team, no control or able to read the game but the fastest by a long shot over 40/50m. Rather than send him onto an Athletics club where he might really excel the soccer team hold onto him and never really play him. Young people then turn away from sport in their teens if they don't feel like it's going anywhere when a lot of time they may have been better suited for another sport. I've seen this happen across a lot of sports, lads playing GAA better suited for rugby, lads playing rugby better suited for long distance running. Unfortunately most youth sport isn't about helping the young person develop into the best athlete they can be even if it means them leaving the club, rather it's about getting in the numbers to boost the clubs funding.

Indeed. Look at Conor Mc Gregor.

Arguably one of the most internationally recognizable and successful Irish athletes alive and he got there by himself with no state funding or support.

Strumms wrote: »
    Having I been involved in both soccer and Gaelic football from a young age.. There is far more politics involved in GAA than in soccer. I will always love hurling and football but I never liked the parochial inward looking view of the GAA and 'GAA people'. I found the atmosphere of soccer clubs more inclusive and open and fun. With the GAA you have to follow the script and it's almost like the Catholic Church in terms of brainwashing you to follow their ideals and dedicate all your time to them.

Begrudgingly that is true. I would include rugby for being more open (to my surprise) as well . You get picked based on your ability not on who you are related to or whether the county board has a problem with certain clubs . Mickey Harte mentioned a few good stories about team selections when he took over the senior team in his first book

Hell even the junior rugby teams look after their players at tournament with food and beer (and hot water for the showers)

I have heard some horrors stories from lads who went county underage superstars who were the first lads at any level to represent their club (for the county team) who get injured and not looked after (refusal to pay or help with medical fees if the lad is unable to play for club in the future)

Moreover, transfers to other clubs ,even to a club to another county can be a nightmare

But, I won't bash gaelic ,my true love

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,385 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

I wonder if Australians are currently cringing at the AFL's dilution of the talent pool or if Japanese people are bemoaning Sumo's damage to the more global form of wrestling.

population is a key factor also, we have the 127th biggest nation in the world.

but when you add in the GAA, Rugby, our proximity and obsession with the premier league plus being relatively ok at alot of other sports (boxing, golf, horse racing, athletics etc etc) then the pool or talent for soccer is being diminished.

we just dont have enough resources for top class soccer players in a sport that is global.

I think the horse racing industry whether jockey,trainer,breeders and owners do more than relatively okay even away from Ireland and UK

lawlolawl wrote: »
    To be fair, the amount of nations playing rugby is fairly small as well.

England has a massive population. Rugby is religion in Wales and New Zealand.South Africa and Austrlaia are not too shaby either lol. The Argies are the biggest improvers.

Look at Irelands record before 1995 . Not tje greatest is it despite the triple crowns and Lions representation.

To actually have the IRFU have the ability to fund and keep professional players in Ireland and attract a few world clasd guys to Munster and Leinster (World Cup winners !) is no mean feat

OldRio wrote: »
    Don't forget Tommy Bowe, Tomas OLeary, Mick Galway and Shane Horgan

How could one forget Shaggy's try against England ,straight off the GAA grounds of Meath

Even Robbie Hensaw played a bit for Athlone GAA (and was talented soccer defender)

Keith Wood played a bit of hurling and wasn't bad woth kicking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Originally Posted by Bracken81 View Post

seamus coleman is another one, shay given as well i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

How many lads under 6 foot make it in NFL or to a lesser extent AFL?

this guy might be heading there :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Watching Portugal win last night, as well as the exploits of Wales, Norn Iron and Iceland should finally put to bed this myth of Ireland (this part) punching above our weight in international sports. From the olympics, to rugby to soccer we are not anything special.

Does the GAA creating a mindset that the local inter parish final being the pinnacle of human sporting achievement rob us of athletes who could represent Ireland on the international stage by effectively ghettoising them at a very young age?

There are still numerous secondary schools around the country where the.principle is a "real GAA mam" and kids are basically unofficially banned from other codes. All the money, attention and favours go to the gaa kids. More importantly it creates a pathological "big fish, tiny pond" mentality.

The only reason Ronaldo played football is because he was never any good to hurl.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

So the GAA is the reason we under-perform at international level... yet it only hosts the rejects of said international sports... Right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭toxicity234

Aw.
    This stuff again.
    Ok. Lets ban all sport apart from soccer when that way went we don't get to a world cup we can all cry together.
    and if you want to make the argument by just removing soccer and insert any sport you like.
    Pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

I fear you have never witnessed a Wicklow county final sir!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

biko wrote: »
    To answer the OP - no, GAA doesn't rob anyone of cricket talents.

I won't be too sure of that. There are two brothers currently on the Dublin Minor hurling panel who were outstanding youth cricketers. One represented Ireland at U15 and U17 level and would have been a sure pick for the next U19 World Cup, the other represented Leinster at U13, U15 and U17 and would have also had a good chance of making the international team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

There are only 10 rugby playig nations in the world so if you happen to be probably the only one of the ten where it is your number 1 sport then they have a fairly good chance of being the bets at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Damage us globally? What does that mean?

I think it's fair to say that we would lose fewer football/rugby players to GAA if GAA didn't exist/wasn't as popular as it is, but that goes both ways and the players make that choice.

You can debate just how much of an impact it has on the rugby/football teams, but either way, 'damage' doesn't come into it for me, at least not in the sense mentioned in the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭EndaHonesty

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Indeed. Look at Conor Mc Gregor.

Arguably one of the most internationally recognizable and successful Irish athletes alive and he got there by himself with no state funding or support.

Conor McGregor was on the dole until he turned pro, so one could say he received quite a lot of state funding and support...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Samaris wrote: »
    Ireland has a small population base (as already noted), other sports generally more important to them and just probably won't have the range of opponents in training that people living in bigger countries will to hone their skills.

Two words shoots ya argument down...New Zealand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

There are only 10 rugby playig nations in the world so if you happen to be probably the only one of the ten where it is your number 1 sport then they have a fairly good chance of being the bets at it.

There are 102 rugby playing nations in the world.

http://www.worldrugby.org/rankings/mru

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

pgj2015 wrote: »
    There are 102 rugby playing nations in the world.

http://www.worldrugby.org/rankings/mru

102? And we're in the top 10? The OP may have the auld chip on the wrong shoulder altogether...