11 police shot, 4 officers dead after coordinated sniper fire at Dallas protest rally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

lawlolawl wrote: »
    Whereas the guy sniping people with a rifle didn't?

Which has happens multiple times across America and yet the police didn't resort to blowing a suspect up .

Was a case where another mass shooter was arrested in a park with no shots were fired by the arresting officers.

There cops not executioners a judge and jury should make that decision. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Are you seriously suggesting that it's OK to shoot Police officers?

I have to state again I'm against any Black man or any colour getting shot for no reason. Jail for any Policeman as they are not above the law.

Your post is load of bollocks

That's not what I said at all. I suggest your comprehension skills are bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Gatling wrote: »
    Which has happens multiple times across America and yet the police didn't resort to blowing a suspect up .

Was a case where another mass shooter was arrested in a park with no shots were fired by the arresting officers.

Yes, because all mass shooting events are exactly the same and should be handled with identical tactics.

Do you actually think about anything you post before you post it?

tritium wrote: »
    Still too high mind you, but actually well below the numbers of cops being murdered on duty, which sits at a steady 160ish most years

Don't think that's correct it's around 40-50 killed in the line of duty other deaths include accidents and natural causes too while carrying out duties but I'm open to correction

Yes, because all mass shooting events are exactly the same and should be handled with identical tactics.

Using bombs is a legitimate police action when you could arrest a suspect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

So what would you have done differently.... the guy had no intention of surrendering all the negotiation failed. He said the end was coming and that he wanted to kill more white people.
    Cops are placed in mortally dangerous scenarios judges and jurys are not you cannot even compare them. Shooter was taken out whether that was with a bomb or bullet doesn't matter. They had to protect everyone and he wasn't going to surrender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

RustyNut wrote: »
    That's not what I said at all. I suggest your comprehension skills are bollocks.

Shoot me!

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,038 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Look it's clear that Police officers should have walked in, unarmed, straight into where the Shooter was cowardly hiding and taken one for the team, because their family deserve to be heartbroken, for having a son, husband or dad trying make world a safer place.

Your faithfully
    Boards.ie members

EVENFLOW

Using bombs is a legitimate police action when you could arrest a suspect

The police tried negotiating with him and he said he was going to kill more people and they thought he had some kind of IED somewhere nearby that he was going to detonate.

But I'm sure you think they are lying.

screamer wrote: »
    So what would you have done differently.... the guy had no intention of surrendering all the negotiation failed. He said the end was coming and that he wanted to kill more white people. .

He could have been subdued using a multitude of tactics and options .
    He was cornered in a parking structure the same robots used to kill him would have easily used to survey what exactly the shooter was carrying they happen to be fitted with advanced imaging systems .
    Flash bangs and gas could have been used ,
    Bean bag or baton rounds ,
    Tasers ,
    Swat teams with heavy duty ballistic shields could have subdued the suspect.
    He could have easily been waited out too .

But let's blow him up that's was the only option i would love to see the offical reports on that discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,793 ✭✭✭tritium

Don't think that's correct it's around 40-50 killed in the line of duty other deaths include accidents and natural causes too while carrying out duties but I'm open to correction

Your correct(ish)-of the death for cops FBI gives an average of 64 felonious cop deaths per year, or ballpark similar to the more controversial segment of police killings I referenced

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_American_police_officers_killed_in_the_line_of_duty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Heartbreaking hearing the father of one of the dead police officers speaking. Horrific thing to do - couldn't give the slightest hoot about grievances towards the police. Show some ****ing sense of responsibility and start doing a bit of reflection as to what is causing higher rates of crime among particular communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Far more whites are killed by police officers than black.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭dimwittedrep

What they did is cowardly act, as they target people who can't defend themselves. That is a coward, no doubt about it.
    Genuinely thought you were talking about cops executing unarmed civilians here until I deciphered your agenda.
    Did you get as far as the word "Dallas" in the title of the thread? These are US cops. To call them defenseless is laughable.

Far more whites are killed by police officers than black.
    And there's far more white people in the US than black. Your point?

Media calling him a coward too. I never really got that line of reasoning tbh.
    Interesting that they're so keen to call a US Army veteran a coward and a lunatic. So the US Army doesn't have any process for vetting cowards and lunatics or do they actively recruit them?

What they did is cowardly act, as they target people who can't defend themselves. That is a coward, no doubt about it.
    Genuinely thought you were talking about cops executing unarmed civilians here until I deciphered your agenda.
    Did you get as far as the word "Dallas" in the title of the thread? These are US cops. To call them defenseless is laughable.
    well if you read post I included women and children so they dont really go around with Guns unless you want tell us all something we dont know?

EVENFLOW

well if you read post I included women and children so they dont really go around with Guns unless you want tell us all something we dont know?

In Dallas they do. The police said there were 20+ civilians in the area with body armour and rifles that they had the weed through...

In Dallas Kids go around with guns?

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

Interesting that they're so keen to call a US Army veteran a coward and a lunatic. So the US Army doesn't have any process for vetting cowards and lunatics or do they actively recruit them?

In fairness people can change after they leave the service or people could have slipped through.

Not being scared of death does not make one brave. Being scared and facing it because you have to make you brave.
    This man went out with an agenda to kill a whole load of people based on race. Who in the world did he help with this action? Police are going to be edgier now in case of copycats or just more like him which will lead to more pointless deaths in the black community. He had no real plan for the future he just didn't care. He was a lunatic.

Bravery would have been about trying to enact real change no matter the personal cost. This guy just caused havoc for a bit. I guess if his goal was to cause more tension he could be called brave but still a lunatic.

Interestingly when people mention that the police have it tough because people are so armed no one has responded with the criminals would have guns anyway so it is irrelevant. I mean I don't agree with that reasoning but where did the pro second amendment people go to?

Christy42 wrote: »
    In fairness people can change after they leave the service or people could have slipped through.

Not being scared of death does not make one brave. Being scared and facing it because you have to make you brave.
    This man went out with an agenda to kill a whole load of people based on race. Who in the world did he help with this action? Police are going to be edgier now in case of copycats or just more like him which will lead to more pointless deaths in the black community. He had no real plan for the future he just didn't care. He was a lunatic.

Bravery would have been about trying to enact real change no matter the personal cost. This guy just caused havoc for a bit. I guess if his goal was to cause more tension he could be called brave but still a lunatic.
    So you can only be brave if it's for "good"? Otherwise you're a coward?
    That makes zero sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

So you can only be brave if it's for "good"? Otherwise you're a coward?
    That makes zero sense.

No but there should be an end goal of being brave. As I said if he had objectives he could be called brave. If his aim was to create increased race tensions and sacrificed himself for this goal then sure he could be called brave.

It seems more likely to me that he simply didn't care about living or dieing at which point he can't be called brave. Obviously this is all conjecture but risking death does not make you brave by itself.

"Lads, I could have been killed when I was burning down that orphanage. Where's my medal for bravery?"

Christy42 wrote: »
    No but there should be an end goal of being brave. As I said if he had objectives he could be called brave. If his aim was to create increased race tensions and sacrificed himself for this goal then sure he could be called brave.

It seems more likely to me that he simply didn't care about living or dieing at which point he can't be called brave. Obviously this is all conjecture but risking death does not make you brave by itself.
    He did have objectives. You don't like them so you don't think he was brave.
    If he didn't care about dying he'd have just stood in the middle of the road. He didn't. He tried to protect himself through using cover and keeping mobile.
    Every last argument you've come out with has been "I don't like what he did so he can't be brave" and my prediction is your next slew of reasons will be likewise.

"Lads, I could have been killed when I was burning down that orphanage. Where's my medal for bravery?"
    Useless strawman argument. Nobody has claimed burning down an orphanage constitutes any almost certain risk of death.
    You're grasping, just like the other guy you're reflexively stating "I don't like what he did so it can't have been brave" and falling flat on your face when it comes to actually explaining why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

tomofson wrote: »
    And if the attitude of the american police force towards the black community doesn't change sharpish then this will become a common thing in america...

Dallas Pd is recognised as being the one of the most progressive police departments. Since their new black Chief took over there has been a massive and steady decline in police related shootings and complaints of use of force. Only half the police are white which represents a proportionally lower number than the country itself. They have de-escalation policies and great community policing as well as a transparency policy beyond equal. In fact, if you wanted to teach other departments how to do things you'd probably show them Dallas as an example.

There is no "american police force", there are scores of them. Blaming Dallas PD for the actions of police in New Orleans makes as much sense as blaming your local Mosque for bombings in Iraq.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭TommyKnocker

walshyn93 wrote: »
    Whenever a black person is shot by police the FBI launches an investigation so you can take your paranoid conspiracies elsewhere.
    Is this the same FBI that want to lock Edward Snowden up for life but found Hilary C had no case to answer? It is, ok then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Earlier this week l watched the chilling police murders of two African American men and then yesterday, I viewed the horrifying video of the Dallas gunman riddling a fallen police officer with bullets. My first reaction is one horror to all these murders and my next reaction is one of relief. Relieved that for all our problems, cronyism & corruption in this little country, we don't face the problems that American society faces right now. Glad I don't live in a country where the colour of my skin could be the cause of my death. At the hands of those who have sworn to serve & protect all citizens. We've seen too many videos of hyper aggressive officers acting more like gunslingers, than officers of the peace. The inevitable consequence of this in a society that is dominated by the gun, is the bloodshed on the streets of Dallas the other night.

As Little CuChulainn already pointed out, The Dallas PD is one of the most progressive departments in the country. So there was a kind of cruel irony to the losses they suffered. I think it's also important to acknowledge, that the majority of police officers are undoubtedly good, decent people with a genuine desire to protect and serve all citizens. They need support and their ideals need to be fostered and integrated better with the communities they serve. The only long term solution I can see, is a wholehearted engagement between the community and the police. And it is the standards of progressive departments like the Dallas PD, that need to be copied and implemented across America. This change need to be instigated at the Federal level and should not be left to individual States. Otherwise it could end up in legislative cul-de-sacs.

Once again on Thursday night we witnessed yet another bloody gun rampage with a military style assault rifle. From the massacre of innocent toddlers at Sandyhook, to the murderous attack on the LGBT community in Orlando. You wonder when will America ever cop on and take some serious action? And by America I mean the Lawmakers, in particular, The House Republicans who are much too cosy with the NRA and gun industry interests. Everyone may indeed have The Right To Bear Arms, but surely possessing military style weaponry has gone way beyond what the founding fathers intended. It's a complicated & passionate debate that should have really been resolved years ago and as long as some continue to sit on the fence protecting the gun industry, these mass shootings will continue.

Looking back to Thursday night, I think the Dallas PD deserve real credit for their restraint that night. Guys were walking around with rifles & hand guns on open carry, some even wearing body armour. And while it might have been legal for them to do so. In the heat of the moment, I think we would have forgiven the police if they had of mistaken them for attackers and engaged them. Yet they didn't and that's pretty commendable imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

frag420 wrote: »
    Did you miss the part when he opened fire with an automatic rifle aiming at police and anyone a couple of shades lighter than him?

I missed the automatic rifle. Does everyone who shoots people have to be lead by a delusion?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭walshyn93

tomofson wrote: »
    And if the attitude of the american police force towards the black community doesn't change sharpish then this will become a common thing in america...

Even if it does what makes you think BLM will even care? They're gaining power and soon will be becoming very rich off this. They NEED cops to be racist now, otherwise they look like the biggest bunch of scumbags.