What was the best concert you were ever at ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

Showing my age but Simon and Garfukel in Dublin. Extraordinary musicians and supreme professionals. Some gigs bring you to your feet but I was genuinely in awe and couldn't move! I'm back there now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Michael Jackson in Landsdowne Rd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

jester77 wrote: »
    Flaming Lips and Modest Mouse are ones that stand out, awesome gigs.

The Flaming Lips really put on a great show. I had never heard of them and they were supporting Bob Dylan in Kilkenny. They took about 20 people from the audience on stage and dressed them up as aliens and they just stood on stage dancing. There were these huge party popper things exploding from the stage and the lead singer at one stage went out into the crowd in this kind of hamster bubble thing :)

It was mad because there was all that and then Bob Dylan came out and just sat in the corner on his piano. He was still good but said nothing to the crowd where as The Flaming Lips were so interactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Olishi4 wrote: »
    The Flaming Lips really put on a great show. I had never heard of them and they were supporting Bob Dylan in Kilkenny. They took about 20 people from the audience on stage and dressed them up as aliens and they just stood on stage dancing. There were these huge party popper things exploding from the stage and the lead singer at one stage went out into the crowd in this kind of hamster bubble thing :)

It was mad because there was all that and then Bob Dylan came out and just sat in the corner on his piano. He was still good but said nothing to the crowd where as The Flaming Lips were so interactive.

Lol, I love both of them but it seems odd to have them as a support act for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,415 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Michael Jackson - RDS
    Arcade Fire - Olympia Theatre
    Daft Punk - Oxegen

Top 3 I'd say, any order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,240 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Also, QOTSA at Oxegen in 04 or 05. Was right at the front, it was nuts. Played a lot of heavier stuff in that set too, was in bits after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

lertsnim wrote: »
    Queens of the Stone Age at the Olympia in 2011. The band were on fire and the crowd was electric. There was some atmosphere in there that night.

Came here to post this word for word pretty much. I had an exam the next day that I failed, but it was worth it :pac:
    I've seen them three times since and they're like a fine wine, they get better with age.

Muse in the 3arena this April were unreal.
    Feeder in the academy - they're coming back in october :D
    Rammstein
    Green Day are great live. I'm not as big a fan of them as I used to be but their wembley stadium gig was amazing.
    Biffy clyro are fantastic, saw them in Belfast a couple of weeks for the fifth time, brilliant stuff as always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Arghus wrote: »
    Rammstein in the O2 back in Febuary 2012.

Unbelievable spectacle and a great atmosphere.

I can still feel the visercal roar of heat from the pyros.

When all the crowd around you, young and old, parent and child, are rapt with joyous wonder at the sight of two middle aged German fellows engaging in mock sodomy - then you know you're witnessing something special.

This. Absolutely amazing gig.

I'd also add Rush in the O2 in 2011 - partly because all the middle aged blokes pushed the women forward in the standing area and I ended up in roughly the second row for the last half an hour of the gig! Moving Pictures straight through was fantastic.

Apocalyptica were fantastic too both times I saw them - the gig in Shepherd's Bush Empire in November 2015 in particular. I was nearly 6 months pregnant at the time and the little one kicked away through the heavier songs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Jay Z's 'retirement' gig at the Garden. Jay Z is one of the best live artists of all time but he really went balls to the wall there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Radiohead at Punchestown in a tent during the Kid A tour, Oct. 2000.

Loved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

AC/DC in Punchestown.

Queen in the RDS (The Works Tour) better than the Slane gig, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

valoren wrote: »
    Radiohead at Punchestown in a tent during the Kid A tour, Oct. 2000.

Loved it.

Forgot about that gig, that was good as was their RDS show in 97. Saw Therapy? in Leisureland that was good craic and later in a pub in Limerick!
    Leonard Cohen in Kilmainham was good too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Shemale

Paul Weller in the Olympia and Audioslave in the Point, Chris Cornell made it sound like a good venue, superb singer and power in his voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Its a close thing between Micheal Jacksons Dangerous Tour at Wembley in 1992, and Ash's 1977 gigs at the London Astoria in 1997.

Micheal Jackson was all about going to see my favourite singer, and the excitment of the months of waiting, queing outside Wembley for about 4 to 5 hrs before getting inside, support from Kris Kros, before Micheal took to the stage for an amazing gig in the eyes of a 13 year old. Ash and 1977 at the Astoria was billed as their only shows that year, was advertised in NME so maybe only applied to Britain/UK. Think we went to the 3rd night of 5, and was pretty much 1800 people moshing for the duration.

Unfortunately the Astoria is now gone due to Cross Rail, and Wembley now demolished and rebuilt again, but both are ahead of any gig since.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The Stones at Roundhay Park, Leeds, 1982
    Bowie at Milton Keynes Bowl, 1983
    Queen at Knebworth, 1986

They were all pretty good, but the best concert I was at was on 13 July 1985. The day after I sat my last exam I got a train down to London and the following day over to Wembley to see Live Aid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,130 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Beasty wrote: »
    They were all pretty good, but the best concert I was at was on 13 July 1985. The day after I sat my last exam I got a train down to London and the following day over to Wembley to see Live Aid

Id say that was an amazing day. Such iconic talent sharing the one stage.

Live 8 and Live Earth were amazing id say too but seeing the oringal live aid in person must of been very memorable

Would love to see another live aid type show take place but its very doubtful

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,543 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Id say that was an amazing day. Such iconic talent sharing the one stage.
    Smuggled a camera in and placed myself maybe 25m away from the stage shortly after the gates opened at 10am. It was very hot and I managed to make it until 10pm without a toilet break!

Took over 500 photos that day. Had to draw the line somewhere though and flatly refused to take any photos of Spandau Ballet....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Ian Dury & the Blockheads, The Grand, Clapham, 1990 ish . . .
    Pink Floyd, Wembly Stadium - London 89'
    Roger Waters @The Aviva, Lansdowne Rd, a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Rammstein at the point three or four years ago. Just incredible. The husband still watches YouTube footage of it to this day.

Special mention to Slipknot who were a support act to Metallica one year and were completely amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭davidglanza

Rod Stewart nowlan park Kilkenny.
    He was outstanding from start to finish..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

And So I Watch You From Afar - every time I've seen them.

Girl Band - The Pav, Cork, 2015. Ripped the gaff a new one, the place was packed and the mosh was suitably violent (moreso than Slayer the other week, believe it or not)

The Altered Hours - Again, they're great every time, but the album launch gig earlier this year in the Kino was special.

B Positives in Debarra's last summer. Just such unbelievable craic. A band that good should not only be playing once/twice a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,130 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Saw Biffy Clyro in the marquee in 2014 and it was the highlight of my year. 2014 a **** year for me (Deaths, Garth brooks cancelling the croke park shows, Waterford hurlers were **** and other things) long may that year be vanished from my mind lol

Biffy are an amazing band live

Christy Moore love or hate him always puts on a good show, Saw him earlier this year and it was a good show

Saw Bryan Adams last may in the 3arena and his voice was supurb (meant to put that gig down on my earlier list)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭bigar

Beasty wrote: »

And we have a winner ;)

Mine was Queen in Brussels on August 24, 1984. The first concert on their Works tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

And So I Watch You From Afar - every time I've seen them.

They're an amazing live band. I just wish they could translate that more their albums though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Fleetwood Mac....at the old point depot 2003

brill from start to finish, not a bum note made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭discobeaker

Afew that stick out for me are seeing James brown in vicar street and getting to shake his hand.

Seeing biffy clyro in whelans and the voodoo lounge in Dublin years ago,think it was before album 3 came out but it was so memorable just because the size of the venue getting to see such a great band and the music was so intense.

Neutral milk hotel in vicar street was something else and Also anytime the eels play is an experience. Oh and faith no more in the Olympia,amazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Flaming lips and DE La Soul at electric picnic one year. Both amazing gigs with great crowd interaction.

Wu Tang at oxegen were brilliant too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Toss up;

Metallica, RDS, 2003. Went with a friend and a few boardsies. One of whom happened to be working at the gig and gave us pit passes. Close enough to the fire displays that we could feel the heat. Rocked.

Foos, Marley Park 2007. It was a double header with NIN. When their set finished, the field emptied and I just walked up in spitting distance of the stage until the Foos came on and rocked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

All Electric Picnic ones here:

2005: Three in a row on the main stage, The Herbaliser, Toots and the Maytals and LCD Soundsytem, an incredible day on Sunday and hooked me to the Picnic for life.

2007: Iggy Pop & the Stooges, an incredible gig with amazing energy.

2013: Robert Plant, an amazing gig with a great back up of Massive Attack musicians and world music musicians.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Pim Pictus

Turbonegro in Whelans, 2003. Will never be bested.