Simple things you don't see anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭Chiorino

jamesbere wrote: »
    USSR

I love how this post was thanked by Ronald Reagan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Lt Dan wrote: »
    Channel 4 Teletext / ceefax had a fun set of games , that made use of the green , red and yellow coloured buttons on the remote. Buzz something or other.s

it was called Bamboozle :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

Olishi4 wrote: »
    it was called Bamboozle :)

Jesus that use to knock a good 20 minutes fun before watching a match or going to bed , that and the footy on ceefax. All before internet got cheaper to be on for longer

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Phone booths

Casette tape players

Soda Stream

Cans and bottles with deposits returned (precursor to recycling)

Internet dialup

Ceefax old school

Soda Streams are still available in many electrical shoos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Phone booths

Casette tape players

Soda Stream

Cans and bottles with deposits returned (precursor to recycling)

Internet dialup

Ceefax old school

They're back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

keano_afc wrote: »
    You cans till buy Lolo balls, saw them in Debenhams yesterday. I got one for my 8th birthday, in 1987. When you got bored you could take the ball out and play football with it, made for an interesting game.

Oh my god! You're right!
    http://www.debenhams.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/prod_10052_10001_171060696199_-1

Mine was blue and yellow and came free with PG Tips.
    Loved it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

I remember the first time I say a footballer wearing white boots. It was the 1994 (or 1995) Champions League Final AC Milan player wearing them. Johnny Giles thought he was hilarious suggesting to Bill that the player (who was rubbish btw) had just made his First Communion

First time I saw non-black boots was on John Barnes for Liverpool. It might have been an FA Cup game but Barnesy came out wearing white boots. I was fucking mortified.

I think Roy Keane was the last black-boot man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Toys in cereals. Rub on tattoos in crisp packets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I don't get any more mails from Nigerian princes looking to deposit a large sum of money in my account, I hope they got all of their problems sorted out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Housephones.

I was in a house recently where one rang, Igot fierce craic out of it :D

weatfest wrote: »
    Static straps hanging off the mud flaps on cars.

Sorry, for being dense, but what were they actually for ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Mexico '86 chewing gums that you got a free sticker with featuring Pedro or whatever the mascot was called in the corresponding teams kit.
    And bees, when I were a boy there were bees everywhere in summer, black ones with red derrieres too, I haven't seen one of them in decades.

Taking the static out of the car. I think in the 80s when you got into a car you were violently electrocuted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

maudgonner wrote: »
    Lolo balls.

People using the orange plastic wrap from Lucozade bottles on their headlights during foggy weather.

And the associated gangrenous blisters that came from them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Housephones.

I was in a house recently where one rang, Igot fierce craic out of it :D

You need to get out more. I only know one person without a house phone. Plenty still about.

Toys in cereals. Rub on tattoos in crisp packets.

Let me guess, some do gooder got them banned. They were awesome! Some sweets and chewing gums also had rub on tattoos.

In fact, the sweets were a hell of a lot more creative back 20 years ago

All those cheap 10 p bars: Stringray, Cola Bar, chomp (still around) Orange bar like a chomp what were they again?, Taz (yum) Touchdowns (lovely) , Dan Bars (brilliant) Black jacks, high sours, Macroom & Mintcrisp(horrible but...) Kilpso (awkward) and then the crisps.... Coke Cola in the early 1990's use to have huge cans for one punt - bigger than the normal size. Oatfield of Donegal were also brilliant with their sweets (some are still around - Emerald ) bullyseyes, Lucky dip, refreshers ,jawbreakers , wham bars, fruit salads, pop tarts; Christmas Selection boxes were bigger and had more variety ie Cadbury .

Burger bite crisps - yum

Today, it is all rubbish and a bit bland. Just the big named corporate stuff - Cadbury have kepted their goldies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

You need to get out more. I only know one person without a house phone. Plenty still about.

Oh god, really?
    Oops :o

I think he meant the old models that was either hung up on the wall or on the table piece. Plenty have those chordless phones and are there for the internet really.

Coke Cola in the early 1990's use to have huge cans for one punt - bigger than the normal size

Supercans. I think Fanta etc had them too. I remember being sent on a school trip in the 80s and my ma put one in my bag and it was the best thing that ever happened to me. I didn't think they lasted into the 90s? The pull off ring too, they were great!

I had one in October 1993, the day Spain bate Ireland at Lansdowne during the WC 1994 qualifiers. Could barely finish it. Never saw them again, bar Pepsi, but drinks that pee

I think I remember that game did we lose 3 or 4 nil?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

3-1, John Sheridan's 'consolation' goal actually turned out to be very, very important in terms of qualifying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

we beat Spain in 89 to qualify for Italia 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

we beat Spain in 89 to qualify for Italia 90

Yes but we lost to them at home in the qualifiers for '94 after drawing 0-0 in Seville (Aldo had a perfectly good goal disallowed). Maradona was playing in Seville at the time and he lauded very high praise on Keane's performance that night.

Mini Boglins, and their flashy American cousins, Monsters In My Pocket. I had about a hundred Boglins, and my cousin a similar amount of Monsters. When one of us would be downstairs in one of our houses, the other would sneak upstairs and tool up with their entire collection of toys so that you could pelt the bejeezus our of the other as they came up the stairs looking for you.

We were in trouble on a daily basis because pelting someone with 100 Boglins or Monsters is much more fun than picking up 100 Boglins or Monsters.

Still have my Boglins in my Grannys attic, with my Pog, My Little Pony, Barbie, Sylvanian Families, and Top Trumps collections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

The sun in summer (miss those warm hot summers)
    Perms were all the rage in the eighties
    Adult dungerees .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Taking the static out of the car. I think in the 80s when you got into a car you were violently electrocuted.

They were to stop you from getting carsick :)

See, back in the 80s we knew that the source of carsickness was static electricity. You know the way now you see cars going around full to the brim with vomit? And how when you open the door you get washed away in a sea of spew? If they just fitted a little rubber strip it would cut out all of that instantly.

They were invented by the same people that make those copper bracelets that cure arthritis, I believe.

3-1 - John Sheridan got a consolation goal at the end. It was a bit doom and gloom there after. then that night at Windsor. Funny watching a young less serious Roy Keane go potty in celebration , thinking that they did enough , and Charlton telling everyone to calm down cause Denmark were still playing. I think Terry Phelan and Paul McGrath took exception to the NI manager calling the team Mercenaries, things got a little tetchy. Though Bonner says that after the game the NI players met them for a jar and wished them well for the World Cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

mickdw wrote: »
    This is still a regular occurrence where I live.
    Now if it's a choice between city traffic stuck nose to tail or 2 lads stopping to gossip about the neighbours the odd time, I will happily go with the rural option.

Sure tis a grand time to rest the eyes

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Apparently static electricity in the car caused some people to get "car-sick" and these things were supposed to Earth the car, discharging any static buildup. Rubber tyres don't conduct electricity.