Why do you drink excessively?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

kronnn wrote: »
    I wonder if the fact that in a lot of bars, a non-alcoholic drink can cost pretty much the same as an alcoholic one, plays into people drinking more than they set out to \ know they should etc.

Really? Where I live a pint is a fiver, and a soft drink is half that. Pints of water or cordial are free.

I'm not drinking these days for medical reasons, and apart from hankering after the odd glass of red wine or guinness on a Friday evening I do not miss getting plastered at all. I like being awake and smug on Sunday mornings now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

enya kenny wrote: »
    In Ireland there is a serious problem with people binge drinking multiple times a week?

Why do you drink excessively? Are you bored? Addicted? Nothing else to do?

Could you go out and not drink for the night? Stay off it for a few months?

Whats your story and are the government to blame for the lack of facilites in Ireland?

Sure, isn't the government always to blame :)

Last time I had a feed of drink was may I drank 2/3 of a bottle of whiskey only a pint bottle of Guinness the odd time since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Enya Kenny, do you drink excessively? What's your story?

I was like that too (and still probably will be). Once Friday came, I'd usually drink excessively, out of boredom and to chill out. I'm quiet, passive, never violent or mean, and can afford that lifestyle. I don't have kids, or a partner at the moment.

The main way it was negative for me was that my family knew I was drinking too much, and so were worried about me (even though I never even got into fights/arguments with them). Mondays mornings in work started to get a bit ropier as the years went on, so you'd want to watch out for that creeping up on you.

I haven't been drinking since the week between Christmas and the New Year, and before that, it was August. I been to gigs in that time (and the full Electric Picnic weekend) without alcohol and I've been fine.

I don't think the Government are to blame for the lack of facilities (but I'm not saying they're helping either). There seems to be things like AA, Al-Anon and others all around the country so I'm sure there's help nearby for whoever needs it. They just have to make use of it.

Ah no its really not ever going to be a problem for me. I could go the whole summer without touching alc if I needed to, I never have an urge to. I just enjoy it. I only drink when Im in social situations as well, and before Im scolded and told to work on my social skills or whatever and not use alcohol as a crutch. My social skills are okay , I get on with people. People like me generally, I just find it difficult and tiresome to fake nice conversations with people. Drinking allows me to enjoy casual conversations with people a lot more. No amount of trying is ever going to make me enjoy talking to new people or meeting friends of friends at their partys or whatever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

wakka12 wrote: »
    Ah no its really not ever going to be a problem for me. I could go the whole summer without touching alc if I needed to, I never have an urge to. I just enjoy it. I only drink when Im in social situations as well, and before Im scolded and told to work on my social skills or whatever and not use alcohol as a crutch. My social skills are okay , I get on with people. People like me generally, I just find it difficult and tiresome to fake nice conversations with people. Drinking allows me to enjoy casual conversations with people a lot more. No amount of trying is ever going to make me enjoy talking to new people or meeting friends of friends at their partys or whatever

I didn't mean to aim all of my post at you. It's just that there are elements to what you were saying that are common with my own situation. And don't worry...I've told the lads that the intervention is off. For the moment. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I would not say I drink any more than the EU average just like the rest of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Really? Where I live a pint is a fiver, and a soft drink is half that. Pints of water or cordial are free.
    A soft drink is half the price of a pint, but you get (less than) half the quantity too. 250ml V 568ml.

Fair enough about the tap water and cordial, but I'm sure some pubs aren't fond of supplying that since there's no profit in it. (And notice I said some.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't drink excessively. Less than 14 units per week generally, many weeks no alcohol at all.

I used to drink too much. Then I copped onto myself. Simple really.

I don't like hangovers, but I like alcohol. So I limit my alcohol and enjoy it, without a hangover the next day.

I'm also really paranoid about how much people close to me drink. If himself has 2 cans a night after work, three times a week, I worry. Joys of growing up surrounded by alcoholics :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nobody has ever asked me that question to my face.

Because if they can see my face they already know the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Only at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I assume for most people it's to stuff their inhibitions into the closet so they can get with men/women. Certainly was for me anyway. I went on mad ones until I ended up with a steady GF for 7 years, then went on mad ones for 2 months until I met my wife.
    I'm old now and like fancy beer/whiskey/wine/gin, and hope to show my kids that nice drinks are class and not to bother with 7 euro Spar wine, but I will almost certainly fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

Alkie.

Love beer. Love being twisted.

shove yer pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

enya kenny wrote: »
    In Ireland there is a serious problem with people binge drinking multiple times a week?

Why do you drink excessively? Are you bored? Addicted? Nothing else to do?

Could you go out and not drink for the night? Stay off it for a few months?

Whats your story and are the government to blame for the lack of facilites in Ireland?
    Yes. Some people. No. Most people.

Sometimes. No. No. No.

None of your business. No. No. No.

None of your business. No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I rarely drink and when I do is is not much - a glass of wine at most.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Because I genuinely enjoy it. I don't get rude or aggressive so I don't negatively affect others. I don't drink in such a way that I get hangovers (i.e. I don't mix drinks that shouldn't be mixed, I eat beforehand, and I stop drinking if I'm getting too drunk) so I don't miss any work.
    Because it really does make conversation easier (I am not that good socially) and is a great way to unload work stress. Because it's way easier to pull if you're on the pull. Because you can stay awake for longer if you're doing an all nighter.

Now for the downside. There's a stigma in Ireland around telling someone they have a drinking problem, there's a collective idea here that 'ah sure we all do it, who are you to judge'. That needs to change. Some people really should just not drink and they should be told so. If so told, they should heed it.

As for drunk people who assault hospital staff, they should receive prison sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Non-alcoholic beer works better for me than soft drinks cos I end uo swamping soft drinks so over the night the non-alcoholic drink costs me less.

I like a drink. I like to get tipsy and drunk.

It's because of the letting go. I like to let go and lose myself. These days my tolerance is shot to pieces. A few pints and I'm done. I couldn't even look at spirits. The worst I will do in a state of inebriation is talk at length and fall over.

Good times.

Which reminds me of the upcoming beers.

:p

I've never been big into drinking. Still do drink but not as much as most Irish people. Also have started getting proper hangovers this year, so disliking drink even more!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 63,316 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Because i'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy*

May not be an original excuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Which reminds me of the upcoming beers.

:p

A shameless plug!

Winterlong wrote: »
    A shameless plug!

Perhaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Wiseman Drinkwater

Used to drink far too much and for the wrong reasons. Now rarely if ever drink and considering knocking it on the head altogether. I'm far healthier, happier and self-confident without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Laeot

I drank for 26 years up until 101 days ago.

It started as a few cans in working class Dublin in 1990 and ended up with a major 150 units a week problem and being caught drink driving.

At the start and in the middle and up until near the end it was fun and I did it because it became my life .. And my addiction.

Then the fun stopped and I nearly lost everything.

Sad but true.

Have a beer for me if you can handle it!

Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

I like the taste. It also helps me to forget my troubles for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

s4uv3 wrote: »
    A pint of coke in my local is about 8.50. It takes 3x200ml bottles to fill a pint glass, with less than a shot glass left over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I used to drink to forget, it nearly put me in the ground a few times..glad that's behind me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Laeot wrote: »
    I drank for 26 years up until 101 days ago.

It started as a few cans in working class Dublin in 1990 and ended up with a major 150 units a week problem and being caught drink driving.

At the start and in the middle and up until near the end it was fun and I did it because it became my life .. And my addiction.

Then the fun stopped and I nearly lost everything.

Sad but true.

Have a beer for me if you can handle it!

Enjoy.

Well done on your sobriety. You're incredibly strong to manage that.

I hope you're able to completely turn your life around now. Keep up the hard work you've put in, you're fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I cant stand canned or bottled beer. I can only drink draught. I'd never drink in the house ever, but when I go out I would have a gallon....that would only be about once every six weeks or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Used to drink far too much and for the wrong reasons. Now rarely if ever drink and considering knocking it on the head altogether. I'm far healthier, happier and self-confident without it.

Same as....remember feeling pure shtie after one night and just taking look at where I was going and gave it up more or less
    (Get slagged for never going out/going home early nowadays)

It's fair easy to fall into the trap of relying too much on it....for any number of reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

for the craic! lol :D:pac::)