Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do you drink excessively?

• 24-06-2016 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

In Ireland there is a serious problem with people binge drinking multiple times a week?

Why do you drink excessively? Are you bored? Addicted? Nothing else to do?

Could you go out and not drink for the night? Stay off it for a few months?

Whats your story and are the government to blame for the lack of facilites in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭Sono

I drink because I enjoy the social aspect to it and I don't know any different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

enya kenny wrote: »
    In Ireland there is a serious problem with people binge drinking multiple times a week?

Whats your story and are the government to blame for the lack of facilites in Ireland?

I drink for many reasons, but high up on the list is so that I don't have to listen/read ****e like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

Hi, My name is Sciprio and i'm an alcoholic.

I used to drink a lot. Not so much multiple times, it had dwindled from 2 or 3 blow outs a week down to 1, but that was eye watering 4 or 5am stuff. It was a mix of a genuine fondness for social life and a distraction, a stress release. Certainly no one to blame, I did it and I don't regret any if it, except maybe now I appreciate how hard it was for my wife. It was probably part of a way of life in rural Ireland for the generation before me, so we all did, but most of my friends gave up the lifestyle before I did. Then baby arrived and that was that really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Define binge drinking? If it's the 2 pints in the same day definition made up basically at random in the 80s you can f**k right off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I like the taste of certain types of alcohol. I like getting tipsy. I can and do go out out without drinking of a Saturday. I've gone to dance gigs sober and had the time of my life. I can and have gone long periods without drinking but I'd rather not as I quite enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

I dont drink, the view up here on my high horse is fantastic.
    I got a taste for business a few years ago, prior to that it was beer or cider but sadly gave up about 3 months back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 enya kenny

Define binge drinking? If it's the 2 pints in the same day definition made up basically at random in the 80s you can f**k right off.

In my eyes > 6 pints in one sitting more than twice a week

It's fun

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Because everyone else does it and i am a sheep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,539 ✭✭✭The Specialist

Boredom, the relaxation after a few cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Because I've two fcukin hands, and only the one mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Look at this article. Disgrace!

http://www.thejournal.ie/report-ireland-alcohol-2838729-Jun2016/

I drink excessively as I enjoy loosening up a bit and feeling more relaxed, and going with the flow a bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I drink excessively regularly because I am socially awkward and it relieves me of any anxiety for a few hours of happiness once or twice every week. I am quiet, I am passive, my drinking doesn't affect anybody negatively in any way and I am perfectly healthy. So really I don't see the 'problem' here despite what anti drinkers will tell me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Because it'd be rude not to get steaming locked after Robbie scored that header

Because I love drinking and spending time in pubs, its just great craic.

Id have a good few pints at least twice a week, the last few weeks with the good weather it's more like 5 times a week in the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I like a few pints when I am out, and maybe a couple of shorts depending on the company, or if I have had a particularly busy week at work maybe a couple bottles of beer to unwind. On the other hand, might go a month or more without touching a drop.

I too have never missed an appointment or a days work as a result of drinking. If have something of importance on the next day, or involves driving before a certain time, then its just one or two or nothing at all. Dont care whose over or what the ocassion is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Started off as a coping mechanism as a result of complex PTSD, became an addiction, I'm now a non-drinker. I basically used it as an anaesthetic, to numb my emotions and memories. Also as a form of self-harm, according to the professionals.
    Could you go out and not drink for the night

Yeah not a bother, could even do it at the height of my addiction! Home drinking was my problem.
    Stay off it for a few months?

Well I don't plan to drink ever again. That's the plan anyways! Longest I've ever been off it was around 9 months when I was pregnant, didn't really miss it at all at the time.

You know, in my experience (of both public and private addiction centres in Ireland), it's one thing the HSE actually does really well! They provide really good counselling and help for those with alcohol problems, both inpatient and outpatient, because alcoholics cost them a lot more in the long run with all the associated cancers and other diseases. I guess it probably depends what part of the country you're in though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Just seems to be where the social scene is. I hate it but I've got to take part to be social.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

Very occasionally, I like to take a holiday from relentless consciousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Elemonator wrote: »
    Just seems to be where the social scene is. I hate it but I've got to take part to be social.

I have found after half a dozen OJs or Lucozades, your just as giddy or broke anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Are you asking or stating?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Because Alcohol is a poison and I have a lot of demons I need to kill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,807 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Enya Kenny, do you drink excessively? What's your story?

wakka12 wrote: »
    I drink excessively regularly because I am socially awkward and it relieves me of any anxiety for a few hours of happiness once or twice every week. I am quiet, I am passive, my drinking doesn't affect anybody negatively in any way and I am perfectly healthy. So really I don't see the 'problem' here despite what anti drinkers will tell me

I was like that too (and still probably will be). Once Friday came, I'd usually drink excessively, out of boredom and to chill out. I'm quiet, passive, never violent or mean, and can afford that lifestyle. I don't have kids, or a partner at the moment.

The main way it was negative for me was that my family knew I was drinking too much, and so were worried about me (even though I never even got into fights/arguments with them). Mondays mornings in work started to get a bit ropier as the years went on, so you'd want to watch out for that creeping up on you.

I haven't been drinking since the week between Christmas and the New Year, and before that, it was August. I been to gigs in that time (and the full Electric Picnic weekend) without alcohol and I've been fine.

I don't think the Government are to blame for the lack of facilities (but I'm not saying they're helping either). There seems to be things like AA, Al-Anon and others all around the country so I'm sure there's help nearby for whoever needs it. They just have to make use of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

I drink water excessively. Alcohol? No I've been off that for over 7 months, best decision I've ever made. No interest in the stuff at all

I continue to go out. Life doesn't stop if you give it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I drink for many reasons, but high up on the list is so that I don't have to listen/read ****e like that.

Too close to home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭kronnn

I wonder if the fact that in a lot of bars, a non-alcoholic drink can cost pretty much the same as an alcoholic one, plays into people drinking more than they set out to \ know they should etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I just love the taste of beer.

The drunkeness that comes with it is an unfortunate side effect,but sure fcukit,I'll put up with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Emmadilema123

I don't usually drink excessively but when I do it's because I'm stressed. And I don't mean it's making me feel better but that the stress makes me hyper so I drink faster. I have had 3 glasses of wine and 1 cider in the last 15 months though.

I'm not a big drinker but I think most people who do take a drink occasionally have had those nights were they have accidentally crossed the line and had too much. It's the people who can go home relatively sober after 10 pints that I would be more concerned about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

kronnn wrote: »
    I wonder if the fact that in a lot of bars, a non-alcoholic drink can cost pretty much the same as an alcoholic one, plays into people drinking more than they set out to \ know they should etc.

Really? Where I live a pint is a fiver, and a soft drink is half that. Pints of water or cordial are free.

I'm not drinking these days for medical reasons, and apart from hankering after the odd glass of red wine or guinness on a Friday evening I do not miss getting plastered at all. I like being awake and smug on Sunday mornings now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Sure, isn't the government always to blame :)

Last time I had a feed of drink was may I drank 2/3 of a bottle of whiskey only a pint bottle of Guinness the odd time since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Enya Kenny, do you drink excessively? What's your story?

I was like that too (and still probably will be). Once Friday came, I'd usually drink excessively, out of boredom and to chill out. I'm quiet, passive, never violent or mean, and can afford that lifestyle. I don't have kids, or a partner at the moment.

The main way it was negative for me was that my family knew I was drinking too much, and so were worried about me (even though I never even got into fights/arguments with them). Mondays mornings in work started to get a bit ropier as the years went on, so you'd want to watch out for that creeping up on you.

I haven't been drinking since the week between Christmas and the New Year, and before that, it was August. I been to gigs in that time (and the full Electric Picnic weekend) without alcohol and I've been fine.

I don't think the Government are to blame for the lack of facilities (but I'm not saying they're helping either). There seems to be things like AA, Al-Anon and others all around the country so I'm sure there's help nearby for whoever needs it. They just have to make use of it.

Ah no its really not ever going to be a problem for me. I could go the whole summer without touching alc if I needed to, I never have an urge to. I just enjoy it. I only drink when Im in social situations as well, and before Im scolded and told to work on my social skills or whatever and not use alcohol as a crutch. My social skills are okay , I get on with people. People like me generally, I just find it difficult and tiresome to fake nice conversations with people. Drinking allows me to enjoy casual conversations with people a lot more. No amount of trying is ever going to make me enjoy talking to new people or meeting friends of friends at their partys or whatever

wakka12 wrote: »
    Ah no its really not ever going to be a problem for me. I could go the whole summer without touching alc if I needed to, I never have an urge to. I just enjoy it. I only drink when Im in social situations as well, and before Im scolded and told to work on my social skills or whatever and not use alcohol as a crutch. My social skills are okay , I get on with people. People like me generally, I just find it difficult and tiresome to fake nice conversations with people. Drinking allows me to enjoy casual conversations with people a lot more. No amount of trying is ever going to make me enjoy talking to new people or meeting friends of friends at their partys or whatever

I didn't mean to aim all of my post at you. It's just that there are elements to what you were saying that are common with my own situation. And don't worry...I've told the lads that the intervention is off. For the moment. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I would not say I drink any more than the EU average just like the rest of Ireland.

s4uv3 wrote: »
    Really? Where I live a pint is a fiver, and a soft drink is half that. Pints of water or cordial are free.
    A soft drink is half the price of a pint, but you get (less than) half the quantity too. 250ml V 568ml.

Fair enough about the tap water and cordial, but I'm sure some pubs aren't fond of supplying that since there's no profit in it. (And notice I said some.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I don't drink excessively. Less than 14 units per week generally, many weeks no alcohol at all.

I used to drink too much. Then I copped onto myself. Simple really.

I don't like hangovers, but I like alcohol. So I limit my alcohol and enjoy it, without a hangover the next day.

I'm also really paranoid about how much people close to me drink. If himself has 2 cans a night after work, three times a week, I worry. Joys of growing up surrounded by alcoholics :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Nobody has ever asked me that question to my face.

Because if they can see my face they already know the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Only at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

I assume for most people it's to stuff their inhibitions into the closet so they can get with men/women. Certainly was for me anyway. I went on mad ones until I ended up with a steady GF for 7 years, then went on mad ones for 2 months until I met my wife.
    I'm old now and like fancy beer/whiskey/wine/gin, and hope to show my kids that nice drinks are class and not to bother with 7 euro Spar wine, but I will almost certainly fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

Alkie.

Love beer. Love being twisted.

shove yer pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Yes. Some people. No. Most people.

Sometimes. No. No. No.

None of your business. No. No. No.

None of your business. No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I rarely drink and when I do is is not much - a glass of wine at most.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,226 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Because I genuinely enjoy it. I don't get rude or aggressive so I don't negatively affect others. I don't drink in such a way that I get hangovers (i.e. I don't mix drinks that shouldn't be mixed, I eat beforehand, and I stop drinking if I'm getting too drunk) so I don't miss any work.
    Because it really does make conversation easier (I am not that good socially) and is a great way to unload work stress. Because it's way easier to pull if you're on the pull. Because you can stay awake for longer if you're doing an all nighter.

Now for the downside. There's a stigma in Ireland around telling someone they have a drinking problem, there's a collective idea here that 'ah sure we all do it, who are you to judge'. That needs to change. Some people really should just not drink and they should be told so. If so told, they should heed it.

As for drunk people who assault hospital staff, they should receive prison sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Non-alcoholic beer works better for me than soft drinks cos I end uo swamping soft drinks so over the night the non-alcoholic drink costs me less.

I like a drink. I like to get tipsy and drunk.

It's because of the letting go. I like to let go and lose myself. These days my tolerance is shot to pieces. A few pints and I'm done. I couldn't even look at spirits. The worst I will do in a state of inebriation is talk at length and fall over.

Good times.

Which reminds me of the upcoming beers.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I've never been big into drinking. Still do drink but not as much as most Irish people. Also have started getting proper hangovers this year, so disliking drink even more!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,962 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Because i'd rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy*

May not be an original excuse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Which reminds me of the upcoming beers.

:p

A shameless plug!