Irish pubs on Holidays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Cina wrote: »
    You're not doing a drinking holiday right if you don't at some point somehow end up in an Irish Pub despite doing your best to avoid them.
    What is a "drinking holiday"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Minera

I pay hundreds of euros go away to soak up all the cultural sights, sounds and people, but sometimes I like to sit back and do F all for a week and part of that is making lazy (nonsensical) conversation about nothing in particular and I usually find that in an irish pub abroad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Tbh I only go abroad for the cheap whores.

No way, they're like Ballymun in the sun. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,197 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I agree with the posters who say its a good idea to visit on the first night and get some local gen. For the most part I avoid them though. I don't go on holiday to sit in a pub especially an Irish one I'd rather be out and about doing things. Abroad they are usually the most expensive and dirty kips going too and nothing much irish about them in reality. A few drinks at the end of the night I'd rather somewhere the locals go and less touristy...

There is one exception I guess if I wanted to catch a big match where yeah an Irish bar is probably the place to be alright.

Have to say one exception to what I said comes to my mind. Down in Nice there is a pub in the town called Ma Nolan's. Irish owned and staffed. More like a luxurious kind of sports bar. Lovely place with big screens, nice staff and food. No tat on the walls or Wolfe Tone records apart from an accent behind the bar you wouldn't think it was an Irish bar at all... lovely place..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I don't think they are that bad. I'd go to them if I was on one of those package sun holidays. I remember going away with my friend's family when I was a teenager and her parents went to the same bar every night and some nights we would go with them too. The two men that ran the bar also were in a ballad band and they were quite good. It had a good atmosphere and i have some fond memories of the place.

If I'm on a city break or wherever, I'd usually check one or two out. Doesn't stop me from going to all the other places, sites, bars etc.

In France, I make a beeline for the Irish pub.

The alternative is 2 old fellows drinking Pernod in a café talking about the Algerian War while kids kick a "Flipper" machine.

I get the cultural thing, but when I've spent the day going from museum to chateau I just like a drink in nice surroundings and the cafes where French people drink are usually anything but.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

What is a "drinking holiday"?

99.9% of holidays that Irish people go on.

Wah-hey! Up ya boy ya! De ladz are on tour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

In France, I make a beeline for the Irish pub.

The alternative is 2 old fellows drinking Pernod in a café talking about the Algerian War while kids kick a "Flipper" machine.

I get the cultural thing, but when I've spent the day going from museum to chateau I just like a drink in nice surroundings and the cafes where French people drink are usually anything but.
    I wouldn't be the biggest fan of France but some of them aul lads in the cafes can be great craic once they know you're not English or from Kerr . . . oh!:o

I just like a drink in nice surroundings and the cafes where French people drink are usually anything but.

Unless you are staying in some one horse town the back arse of nowhere there are loads of really nice French bars with nice surroundings and I say that from having lived there and been all over the country. Irish bars abroad are in the main not nice places certainly compared to a decent French bar.

The Irish bars in the main especially in Paris are no longer Irish. They all sold up when the French business men saw what a killing they were making and made generous offers. When I lived there they were irish owned, staffed and run and it was a home away from home to watch the Dubs or your favourite soccer team as there was no other way of seeing a match and the ex-pats once you were known would be on happy hour rates anytime they went in.

Now they are ran by the French, staffed by under paid disinterested Eastern European staff, piss beer and not an idea of how to run an Irish bar and what makes an Irish bar like friendliness, ambience etc... many have started closing. In truth you see more French young people drinking there which is the trend now but bad for business as they might watch a match over one demi and I've seen a few been ran out of places because they didn't think they had to buy a drink at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Pub culture in Ireland has a long history, but at its core is a very real sence of community a sense of togetherness and friendship, Sure 90% of social activities in Ireland is based around alcohol and pubs.

So when we go away foreign and you see the signs it naturally attracts you and others(well not everybody), For the most part Irish pubs in Portugal and Spain (and I have been in hundreds of them) are friendly,good food,sports bars and with the ballad band/singer on later sure were can you co wrong.

The Chinese have there restaurants everywhere and we Irish have our bars I don't see the problem.

Anyway Irishness is a commercially viable business, and it seems to work.

Was in a airport just outside Kiev in Ukraine a few years ago and low n behold the bar inside was an Irish one, Well it had a shamrock and a sign saying wexford and that was it :-)

There is also an Irish bar in Schipol airport in Amsterdam that doesn't sell Guinness and there used to be one in Nice airport also but that's now gone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,102 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

Just wondering how many people here go to Irish pubs when away on holidays,

I stay away from them unless there's a hurling or football match I want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Don't know what's not to like about an Irish pub. If I spend the day traipsing around in heat, getting a cultural overdose, eating in local cafés with often incomprehensible menus... I like to relax with a nice cold pint in the evening for an hour. If there were lots of German pubs, or Italian pubs, or Spanish pubs I'd be happy to go to them. But often the only place which ticks all the boxes is an Irish pub.

Handy when you want to see a GAA match or the likes.

Cant say id extend the need to go beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,311 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Once overheard an American asking someone for an Irish pub. This was in Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Let's be honest here. The type of foreign destination were talking about here are the Benalmadena & Puerto Del Carmens where the choice of nightlife is your bog standard Irish traditional pub or the tacky British dives encumbered by St.George's flags, white plastic patio chairs and every football jersey under the sun pinned to the ceiling.

Ibrox Bar in Playa Las Americas Tenerife, I'm looking at you. *Shudders*

Irish pub is the lesser of two evils really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I also never understood people who go away on holiday even to Manchester or Spain etc and spend the majority of their time either drinking in the hotel lounge or a nearby Irish bar. What a total waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Farmers tan, GAA jerseys, sweaty red freckled faces, and a smell of sweat. No Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

I wouldn't go on a session. Again, I've spent hundreds of euros and traveled hundreds of miles, I'm not going to do what I could do here on a normal weekend.

Jaysus, Id say you would have bee great craic at the Euros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Don't usually visit them, unless someone else with us insists on going. The best ones are in France. They are not diddly eye dye places at all, not very much OIRISH going on, the French just seem to like the "pub" thing as opposed to the local cafe bar.

Anyway, I had it all sussed. Was going to be in Bayonne in France for the Ire/Sw game on the Monday. Looked up t'internet, found a place called Katie Dalys. Fab. Said I'd ring them but forgot, as you do, and then when there was no reply, on the day, looked up Goggle only to find that the place was CLOSED on Mondays. Oh my days.

Anyway, went to their facebook page and asked where two lovely cailini could watch the match in the town since they were closed. They gave us a rec for a Basque Bar nearby, so off we went.

Ha ha, this is rugby country so believe it or not there was NO football on the effin telly. But since I speak the cupla focal en Francais, I explained to the barman what we were looking for.

Well I never!, He turned on the massive screen, got us two seats in front of it, gave us free tapas, and we had our flags and whistles, so before too long a crowd arrived bit by bit. We had a right laugh with them all. Fun Day/evening. The commentary was in French, but we tuned into RTE Radio 1 on the phone and followed it all no bother.

Thanks Katie Daly's. Some day will go back to see you, but NOT on a Monday.

I hope you liked my little story...... lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Farmers tan, GAA jerseys, sweaty red freckled faces, and a smell of sweat. No Thanks.

In Bondi Junction perhaps. I often find they're the best place to meet the locals, who are also fond of an Irish bar too unsurprisingly!

Wouldn't be hugely interested in going to an Irish bar on holiday, unless I met some Irish friends and we wanted a session.

When I lived in France I made an Irish bar my local (Green Goose... best Irish bar in Paris; none of that Christy Moore shite forced down your throat, either)

Otherwise I can take them or leave them. However, I'd have no time for those who roll their eyes at people who go to Irish bars abroad. Not everybody wants to go to contemporary-history museums or look at ancient ruins. Or maybe they do, but not every day.

Sometimes you wanna go...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

conorhal wrote: »
    Meh. We do pubs better then most nations on earth, I used to think like you, ensure my 'cultural experience' on holiday was untainted by chippers and Irish bars, but then you go drinking in Italy, and franky they don't even do bars in Rome, they do coffee shops that make a half hearted attemt to serve alcohol. Sometimes an Irish bar is the best and only place to go for a session.

My brother in law lives in Rome and he has brought us to some great bars. No Irish ones though. Cocktails for a fiver and good music (no diddly eye sh*te).

Why in one of the most stunning cities in the world would you want to be stuck in an Irish bar?

I've been all over Europe and I wouldn't bother looking for an Irish bar. Sitting listening to some lad in a gaa jersey almost in tears about how he loves Ireland, this foreign food is muck and the locals don't know how to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

What is the point in going on holidays if you are just going to head to an Irish bar, its as bad as the Brits going to an english bar and watching fecking "Only Fools and Horses" when they go away.

The only time I have ever gone to an Irish Bar when I have been on holidays is to watch a match like the Ireland vs Holland game in 2001 in Lanzarote (with the added bonus of Dutchies to slag!) or Steve Collins vs Chris Eubank in 1995 in Magaluf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

gandalf wrote: »
    What is the point in going on holidays if you are just going to head to an Irish bar, its as bad as the Brits going to an english bar and watching fecking "Only Fools and Horses" when they go away.

The only time I have ever gone to an Irish Bar when I have been on holidays is to watch a match like the Ireland vs Holland game in 2001 in Lanzarote (with the added bonus of Dutchies to slag!) or Steve Collins vs Chris Eubank in 1995 in Magaluf.

Because people you know enjoy doing that.

Shocking I know.

gandalf wrote: »
    Because most people are only going there in the evening, or for a couple of pints? Not the whole day?

Next time I go to Chez Max beside Dublin Castle, I'm going to walk up to some French tourists and sardonically inquire as to why they're in a French joint when they're on holiday.

Béotiens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Because most people are only going there in the evening, or for a couple of pints? Not the whole day?

Next time I go to Chez Max beside Dublin Castle, I'm going to walk up to some French tourists and sardonically inquire as to why they're in a French joint when they're on holiday.

Béotiens.

That place is great, just wait till Bastille Day!

I also never understood people who go away on holiday even to Manchester or Spain etc and spend the majority of their time either drinking in the hotel lounge or a nearby Irish bar. What a total waste.

Because people tend to do things on their holidays that they enjoy, isn't that the point of taking time off?