Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish pubs on Holidays

• 23-06-2016 2:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering how many people here go to Irish pubs when away on holidays,
    I know some people love them but i just don't get it ,why spend your holidays in them when you have them here ,
    Each to there own and what ever makes you happy and all that but am i alone in staying clear of them on holidays ?

I stay the hell away from them. If I've traveled hundreds of miles, paid hundreds of euros on flights and accommodation, there's no way in hell I'm going to do pretty much what I can do here. If I want to go to an Irish pub, I'll stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

have you seen the state of what passes for a pub when you are away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

some of the most depressing pubs i've even been in are Irish pubs abroad.. mainly in Spain etc

Usually end up in one no matter where I go if I'm with my mates, hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

I stay the hell away from them. If I've traveled hundreds of miles, paid hundreds of euros on flights and accommodation, there's no way in hell I'm going to do pretty much what I can do here. If I want to go to an Irish pub, I'll stay at home.
    This is exactly me ,

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Where else will you watch the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I think the last time I was in an 'Irish pub' was 5 years ago in Iceland. It was quiet enough (it was bright so I don't remember what time of day it was, although it was June so there was no darkness). I just had a quiet pint or two by myself and headed about my business. There wasn't much 'Irishness' happening (whatever that is) and I didn't swoop in, making an "I'm Irish!" entrance.

I didn't go back, although I'd like to return to Iceland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

have you seen the state of what passes for a pub when you are away?

Still preferable to going in to listen to tone deaf balladeers boring the **** out of you with their dirges for back home (ffs, you'd think they were in Van Diemens land back in the 1800s, not a couple of hours flying time away) and provo songs, avoiding drunken clowns with their county jerseys falling all over the place, and trying to chat over the latest episode of Eastenders blaring in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Meh. We do pubs better then most nations on earth, I used to think like you, ensure my 'cultural experience' on holiday was untainted by chippers and Irish bars, but then you go drinking in Italy, and franky they don't even do bars in Rome, they do coffee shops that make a half hearted attemt to serve alcohol. Sometimes an Irish bar is the best and only place to go for a session.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,007 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I find them a handy place to go on your first night in a new place, especially if there's an Irish bartender. Usually better than the guidebook for advice on where to eat and drink, less well know attractions etc.

Can't understand the lads who spend the entire two weeks in the local Irish bar but each to their own.

conorhal wrote: »
    Meh. We do pubs better then most nations on earth, I used to think like you, ensure my 'cultural experience' on holiday was untainted by chippers and Irish bars, but then you go drinking in Italy, and franky they don't even do bars in Rome, they do coffee shops that make a half hearted attemt to serve alcohol. Sometimes an Irish bar is the best and only place to go for a session.

I wouldn't go on a session. Again, I've spent hundreds of euros and traveled hundreds of miles, I'm not going to do what I could do here on a normal weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I wouldn't go on a session. Again, I've spent hundreds of euros and traveled hundreds of miles, I'm not going to do what I could do here on a normal weekend.

I met a couple in Rome a few years ago from Ireland. Bit of chat and then they asked where the nightclubs were.

I'm sure Rome is one of the last places in the world people would go to for a nightclub. They didn't think it through properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Decent and reliable food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

The resort in Lanzarote I used to go to had the usual assortment of Irish, Scottish and English bars. I swear people would get off the plane, unpack, put on their GAA, Scotland or England Jersey, go to the appropriate pub and sit there for the duration.

Why the **** bother going on holiday?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Why the **** bother going on holiday?

The good weather?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I suppose they're a comfort blanket for those who can't live without watery beer and a pork sausage for week or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

The good weather?

And spend it indoors...:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I find them a handy place to go on your first night in a new place, especially if there's an Irish bartender. Usually better than the guidebook for advice on where to eat and drink, less well know attractions etc.

Can't understand the lads who spend the entire two weeks in the local Irish bar but each to their own.

Absolutely this. You beat me to it. I always visit one for exactly these reasons. The Irish pub abroad is like an informal consulate / tourist office with booze. You can get the low down on what do's and don't you should be aware of. What times to see certain things, where do good local cuisine that isn't a tourist trap. Often the Irish barman has a local boozer of his own that he would recommend that's not Irish. And often you can build up a rapport very quickly with the Irish bar man to the point that you could easily leave your bag behind the bar if you wanted to go off to see something for a few hours and didn't want to be lugging it with you.

Also if there's a match you would like to see in between doing the sights, then the Irish saloon is the place.

I was in Florence on FA cup Saturday and wanted to see the game but couldn't find an Irish pub, but managed to pursuade the waiter in a little cafe to turn on the telly and it was being shown. Place was deserted anyway.

And before anyone chimes in with "you were in Florence and watched football? You LOSER!!", I visited the Boboli Gardens before and the Ponte Vecchio after the game and then had a sumptious Tuscan dinner and a vat of Chianti in the evening.

I wouldn't spend my whole holiday in the bloody Irish pub but an hour is fine just for the sake of it.....and if the Irish pub has a good large terrace outside on a square with umbrellas and table service then it's no different to any of the local bars in the square except that it serves Guinness as well as Spaten, or San Miguel, or Perroni, or Kronenbourg, or Dommelsch.

Finally, if I'm on holiday in a warm city in summer and am parched and fancy an alcoholic thirst quencher in the form of an ice cold cider then it's bee-line to the Irish Tavern for a Magners on ice. Nowhere else will have it :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭xabi

Cause local bars are non-existent or crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭crusha101

I don't avoid them it just isn't something that springs to mind when on holidays, I was in the south of France last week and found an Irish bar for the Belgium and Ireland match , they had rte coverage and a good atmosphere couldn't complain about that.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

And spend it indoors...:D

Sure tis too hot outside :pac:

I've watched the last three Ireland Euro games in Irish bars, no better place. The craic was unreal last night. That's when they come into their own imo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

I'd also like to add that the Irish pub is a good place to go to to meet local woman who are interested in Irish blokes. First night in Dusseldorf got the shift off a German bird in the Irish pub in the Altstadt. Result!

Never mind abroad: the idea of going to an "Irish" pub in Ireland is the mother of all turn-offs, except for the blaring 24-7 sports on all the tvs drowning out your conversation (often with the addition of loud music). They are never turned off in these supposedly "traditional" Irish pubs. Awfully anti-social experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

xabi wrote: »
    Cause local bars are non-existent or crap.

And of course you couldn't think of a single other thing to do on holiday besides go to a bar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

We've gone to one or two a few times when we've been away , wouldnt be one for the sing songs or any of that craic now . When we were in salou 2 years ago there was a really good ony called Danny Boy right beside our hotel so we'd a few drinks and dinner in there one or two nights. A mate of mine was reping for Temple Bar over there at the time too so we went there cuz he got us drink promos. wouldnt go seeking them out but if i hear of a good one or fancy a smithwicks or a properly poured guinness when im away id go and find one.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Normally there is always someone in the group that wants a pint of decent stout which means everyone has to go to the Irish bar.

Yeah often go to them. First thing I do when I arrive in a place on holiday is find an Irish bar that shows Gaa, soccer etc so that I don't miss out on sport while there.

I spend a lot of my time on holidays drinking so bound to spend a fair bit of time in Irish bars.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Meh, I wouldnt go and seek out an irish bar to go drinking in but a good few of them do decent grub and the bar staff are generally very helpful in terms of letting you know about local stuff etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

They're great places for rounding up all the idiots so you can avoid them elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

You're not doing a drinking holiday right if you don't at some point somehow end up in an Irish Pub despite doing your best to avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Cina wrote: »
    You're not doing a drinking holiday right if you don't at some point somehow end up in an Irish Pub despite doing your best to avoid them.
    What is a "drinking holiday"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Minera

I pay hundreds of euros go away to soak up all the cultural sights, sounds and people, but sometimes I like to sit back and do F all for a week and part of that is making lazy (nonsensical) conversation about nothing in particular and I usually find that in an irish pub abroad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Tbh I only go abroad for the cheap whores.

No way, they're like Ballymun in the sun. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I agree with the posters who say its a good idea to visit on the first night and get some local gen. For the most part I avoid them though. I don't go on holiday to sit in a pub especially an Irish one I'd rather be out and about doing things. Abroad they are usually the most expensive and dirty kips going too and nothing much irish about them in reality. A few drinks at the end of the night I'd rather somewhere the locals go and less touristy...

There is one exception I guess if I wanted to catch a big match where yeah an Irish bar is probably the place to be alright.

Have to say one exception to what I said comes to my mind. Down in Nice there is a pub in the town called Ma Nolan's. Irish owned and staffed. More like a luxurious kind of sports bar. Lovely place with big screens, nice staff and food. No tat on the walls or Wolfe Tone records apart from an accent behind the bar you wouldn't think it was an Irish bar at all... lovely place..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

I don't think they are that bad. I'd go to them if I was on one of those package sun holidays. I remember going away with my friend's family when I was a teenager and her parents went to the same bar every night and some nights we would go with them too. The two men that ran the bar also were in a ballad band and they were quite good. It had a good atmosphere and i have some fond memories of the place.

If I'm on a city break or wherever, I'd usually check one or two out. Doesn't stop me from going to all the other places, sites, bars etc.

In France, I make a beeline for the Irish pub.

The alternative is 2 old fellows drinking Pernod in a café talking about the Algerian War while kids kick a "Flipper" machine.

I get the cultural thing, but when I've spent the day going from museum to chateau I just like a drink in nice surroundings and the cafes where French people drink are usually anything but.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

What is a "drinking holiday"?

99.9% of holidays that Irish people go on.

Wah-hey! Up ya boy ya! De ladz are on tour!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

In France, I make a beeline for the Irish pub.

The alternative is 2 old fellows drinking Pernod in a café talking about the Algerian War while kids kick a "Flipper" machine.

I get the cultural thing, but when I've spent the day going from museum to chateau I just like a drink in nice surroundings and the cafes where French people drink are usually anything but.
    I wouldn't be the biggest fan of France but some of them aul lads in the cafes can be great craic once they know you're not English or from Kerr . . . oh!:o

I just like a drink in nice surroundings and the cafes where French people drink are usually anything but.

Unless you are staying in some one horse town the back arse of nowhere there are loads of really nice French bars with nice surroundings and I say that from having lived there and been all over the country. Irish bars abroad are in the main not nice places certainly compared to a decent French bar.

The Irish bars in the main especially in Paris are no longer Irish. They all sold up when the French business men saw what a killing they were making and made generous offers. When I lived there they were irish owned, staffed and run and it was a home away from home to watch the Dubs or your favourite soccer team as there was no other way of seeing a match and the ex-pats once you were known would be on happy hour rates anytime they went in.

Now they are ran by the French, staffed by under paid disinterested Eastern European staff, piss beer and not an idea of how to run an Irish bar and what makes an Irish bar like friendliness, ambience etc... many have started closing. In truth you see more French young people drinking there which is the trend now but bad for business as they might watch a match over one demi and I've seen a few been ran out of places because they didn't think they had to buy a drink at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

Pub culture in Ireland has a long history, but at its core is a very real sence of community a sense of togetherness and friendship, Sure 90% of social activities in Ireland is based around alcohol and pubs.

So when we go away foreign and you see the signs it naturally attracts you and others(well not everybody), For the most part Irish pubs in Portugal and Spain (and I have been in hundreds of them) are friendly,good food,sports bars and with the ballad band/singer on later sure were can you co wrong.

The Chinese have there restaurants everywhere and we Irish have our bars I don't see the problem.

Anyway Irishness is a commercially viable business, and it seems to work.

Was in a airport just outside Kiev in Ukraine a few years ago and low n behold the bar inside was an Irish one, Well it had a shamrock and a sign saying wexford and that was it :-)

There is also an Irish bar in Schipol airport in Amsterdam that doesn't sell Guinness and there used to be one in Nice airport also but that's now gone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Just wondering how many people here go to Irish pubs when away on holidays,

I stay away from them unless there's a hurling or football match I want to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Don't know what's not to like about an Irish pub. If I spend the day traipsing around in heat, getting a cultural overdose, eating in local cafés with often incomprehensible menus... I like to relax with a nice cold pint in the evening for an hour. If there were lots of German pubs, or Italian pubs, or Spanish pubs I'd be happy to go to them. But often the only place which ticks all the boxes is an Irish pub.

Handy when you want to see a GAA match or the likes.

Cant say id extend the need to go beyond that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,537 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

Once overheard an American asking someone for an Irish pub. This was in Dublin :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

Let's be honest here. The type of foreign destination were talking about here are the Benalmadena & Puerto Del Carmens where the choice of nightlife is your bog standard Irish traditional pub or the tacky British dives encumbered by St.George's flags, white plastic patio chairs and every football jersey under the sun pinned to the ceiling.

Ibrox Bar in Playa Las Americas Tenerife, I'm looking at you. *Shudders*

Irish pub is the lesser of two evils really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

I also never understood people who go away on holiday even to Manchester or Spain etc and spend the majority of their time either drinking in the hotel lounge or a nearby Irish bar. What a total waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Farmers tan, GAA jerseys, sweaty red freckled faces, and a smell of sweat. No Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Jaysus, Id say you would have bee great craic at the Euros!