Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

It's called multi tasking my friend. Anyway they were doing grand till the started thinking they were better than they were.
    I've a trailer of turf emptied since and heading into shower now and we'll head to Castlebar to watch us get slaughtered in the rain!😢

I got knocked unconscious by a sod of turf this evening:(
    So i'm afraid I won't be going anywhere this evening.

tanko wrote: »
    Was just thinking the same, I'm in two minds here, if i go back to the slurry we might win 4-3:pac:

I take it you didn't go back spreading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Shannon757 wrote: »

Sounds sore , you wouldn't even think a sod of turf could knock someone unconscious

Bullocks wrote: »
    Sounds sore , you wouldn't even think a sod of turf could knock someone unconscious

12 foot high walls of turf. I wasn't surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,413 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

knocked a lad out with a piece of fodder beet years ago, we were pulling the headlands and throwing it into a trailer and I missed the trailer

Should have been a corner for Iceland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,546 ✭✭✭tanko

I take it you didn't go back spreading.

Nope, watched it all unfortunately. Just finished slurry and steak eaten. I'm feeling thirsty now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Apparently that guy brings cattle to Kildare chilling twice a week and brings a load of straw back every time.
    That's hay :)
    He must never have come across the RSA or Gardai. He should do himself a favour and buy a flat trailer. Crazy load and strapping. People like him give genuine hauliers a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Grueller

Changing a tyre should be part of the normal driving test. If ya can't do it you can't get a licence.

The niece was in transition year in school and had a 12 class module on life skills. Included wiring a plug, checking oil , coolant etc in a car, changing a puncture, bleeding a radiator, putting up a shelf and a few others I can't remember. Thought it was a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Grueller wrote: »
    The niece was in transition year in school and had a 12 class module on life skills. Included wiring a plug, checking oil , coolant etc in a car, changing a puncture, bleeding a radiator, putting up a shelf and a few others I can't remember. Thought it was a great idea.

That sounds handy. You wouldn't want to put anything up on my shelf though..... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

It's called multi tasking my friend. Anyway they were doing grand till the started thinking they were better than they were.
    I've a trailer of turf emptied since and heading into shower now and we'll head to Castlebar to watch us get slaughtered in the rain!😢
    Good win for ye this evening lord we where desperate bad. I hope ye go on and win it now can't stand the rossies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

naughto wrote: »
    Good win for ye this evening lord we where desperate bad. I hope ye go on and win it now can't stand the rossies

You and me both. Great win, think ye will still get further. Today could be our all-Ireland. Ye looked very flat today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Grueller wrote: »
    A good initiative and one that should be supported more by other schools.
    Personally I deplore any (adult) man or woman who cannot change the wheel of a car, check the engine for oil/water, wire a plug or rod the sewerage pipes/septic tank.
    I do appreciate that we (farming fillies ;)) are experienced by necessity and are restricted by our physical strength but in most cases adapt and use machinery to complete a task.
    I also think that schools should be more proactive on teaching children how to grow veg, dress poultry etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Great win indeed for Galway. Hard to call the final. I don't think we seen the last of Mayo this championship. But Shur look, if we get over London next weekend we'll probably go the whole way :-) :-) :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Base price wrote: »
    A good initiative and one that should be supported more by other schools.
    Personally I deplore any (adult) man or woman who cannot change the wheel of a car, check the engine for oil/water, wire a plug or rod the sewerage pipes/septic tank.
    I do appreciate that we (farming fillies ;)) are experienced by necessity and are restricted by our physical strength but in most cases adapt and use machinery to complete a task.
    I also think that schools should be more proactive on teaching children how to grow veg, dress poultry etc
    I also don't see why the theory test can't be doin school too

Ronaldo missing the penalty was class :)

Base price wrote: »

I see more and more national schools with poly tunnels. Great idea it is to get kids to connect with their food.
    My own young lads teacher had an incubator in the classroom and they hatched out a clutch of chickens. The young lad was only talking about it earlier, he named one... Eggward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I see more and more national schools with poly tunnels. Great idea it is to get kids to connect with their food.
    My own young lads teacher had an incubator in the classroom and they hatched out a clutch of chickens. The young lad was only talking about it earlier, he named one... Eggward.

On a completely unrelated topic, are ye feeling confident for tomorrow's match:D Must admit stuggling to get excited about this one?:D:D

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    On a completely unrelated topic, are ye feeling confident for tomorrow's match:D Must admit stuggling to get excited about this one?:D:D

Ye boys won't raise a sweat ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Ye boys won't raise a sweat ;-)

They will be sweating well if they beat ye and looking into the cats eyes again though.:D

Daughter had her friend her for a sleepover last night, they slept out in oh's lorry. When the other girls mam came to drop her stuff up last night the 2 girls were going across the yard one with a sledge hammer and the other with a pick axe :eek: Great to see kids being kids and playing outside not stuck in on game consoles/phones

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

whelan2 wrote: »
    Daughter had her friend her for a sleepover last night, they slept out in oh's lorry. When the other girls mam came to drop her stuff up last night the 2 girls were going across the yard one with a sledge hammer and the other with a pick axe :eek: Great to see kids being kids and playing outside not stuck in on game consoles/phones

Lorry wouldn't start for them?

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Anyone going to the Galway county show today ? It's lashing rain of course but I don't mind , we got the pit finished and covered yesterday before it started

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭longgonesilver

greysides wrote: »
    Lorry wouldn't start for them?

Remodelling the interior.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,055 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Remodelling the interior.

Hi ho, hi ho.....

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Bullocks wrote: »
    Anyone going to the Galway county show today ? It's lashing rain of course but I don't mind , we got the pit finished and covered yesterday before it started

silage made & Mayo bate, ye're flying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,420 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

At an Irish dancing feis today. Some carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

_Brian wrote: »
    At an Irish dancing feis today. Some carry on.

That'll cost ya ...........
    Hopefully ye'll bring back a few medals