Worst thing you ever inhaled?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭Thoie

Accidentally inhaled tequila straight into the lungs and back out the nose. Horrific. I can still feel the burning. It was worse than the warehouse full of anhydrous ammonia (though presumably less lethal).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

My dog recently had a blocked anal gland sorted by the vet while I was in the room. It's hard to believe a fuzzy family pet can smell like the depths of hell. I could still smell it days later as the stench molecules latched onto the inside of my nose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

There's this traditional perfume that local women in Dubai wear and it's the most foul smelling thing ever. You sometimes get a random whiff of it as you walk by a shop or someone walks by you and I genuinely have to move as quick as possible to get away from it. It burns my nose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

A gang of us were knacker drinking in a partially demolished old building in the middle of town on a particullarly cold evening so we
    decided to light a fire.

Just as the fire got going ,one of the lads disappeared for a few minutes.Nobody was really taking much notice when he returned with an old paint tin and placed it in the middle of the fire.
    Within a few minutes there was a loud pop and the most vile,disgusting smell filled the air around our sheebeen.

It was one of those smells which almost made you pass out when it hit your nostrils.
    Turns out there was some paint left in the tin and the dirty bastard had shat and pissed into it and resealed it before bringing the vile concoction to the boil in his improvised pressure cooker.

We ran for cover with our flaggons in hand as the paint/sh1te/piss mixture began to splatter everywhere.
    The air in the town center filled with the disgusting aroma ,with everone we met asking "jesus lads,whats that smell?"
    30 years later I still feel sick when I think about it.
    Dirty Bastard.

I've heard people called a boiled shyte but I never realised it was a real thing. That was some bollix!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Had a job in a supermarket when I was a kid and used to be on floor cleaning duties a lot. Never forget getting a whiff of ammonia from one of the bottles in the mop cupboard. Having your lungs stop working isn't a nice feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

I had a Summer job in school working for a metal fabrication company. It was one of the really hot Summers, and the company got a job to do some work on the roof of a meat factory. This same meat factory had also been on strike for a few weeks.

So, we had to pass the picket line to get into the factory. The place had obviously not been cleaned in a few weeks. I will never forget that smell when we opened and walked in:eek: My eyes just watered up and a few of the guys even threw up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

The Missus Hair dye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭12Phase

A wasp!
    I was sneezing and I took a deep breath and next thing I has a wasp in my mouth.

Didn't sting my mouth thankfully but it stung me under the eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

pudzey101 wrote: »
    The Missus Hair dye

the wife's fake tan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,065 ✭✭✭✭josip

Forgot to turn on the extractor in the school lab when mixing up ammonia.
    It was still undiluted out of the big brown jars, I think about 17M.
    I will never forget that.
    My brain screamed "you are going to die!".
    I don't remember an actual smell, I remember my body instantly starting to shut down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Cleaning out the bin last weekend and one of the bags had torn and three week old canned dog food had been festering in the bottom in the heat wave we've had. I tipped the bin over to clear out the rubbish at the bottom and the pile of dog food that had turned to mulch in the sun and was now wriggling with maggots fell out onto the ground. The smell was like a cross between God's waiting room and the bowels of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Hamadeusentman

I inhaled heroin in a town in northern Spain with a chap from Bray once. He kept on going in to the communal kitchen in the piso I lived in and taking tin foil. I didn't have a clue what he using it for until I asked him one day and he arrived back from his room with the tin foil, the heroin and a tea spoon. He offered it and I said feck it so inhaled using the plastic shell of a biro he had. We chatted for about a minute until I made an excuse and went next door into my bedroom where I lay on my bed and experienced the most incredible feeling on earth for about twenty minutes before falling asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Stale Orange juice is absoluetely vile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Possibly a Gitanes french cigarette. Like inhaling a boxing glove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I mentioned on another thread, some chicken that had been misplaced after shopping and ended up under the stairs under a load of plastic bags.

Over the next few weeks with the smell getting worse, we eventually called the an bord gais as it smelt like gas at one point - guy came out and did the scan and told me its probably a rat or mouse under the floorboards.

Before ripping up the boards we decided to have a look through the bags, when the bag was finally opened it just attacked my nostrils, it was a like a physical assault, everything in my body was telling me to retch and run ...

we had to bury it, it was that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Smell from a work colleague who wore the same shirt every consecutive day for 3 weeks. During the hot summer of 2013.

Hurl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 334 ✭✭skywanderer

Was in the pubs only a few weeks ago and some old lad who was drinking all day left rip a Guinness fart, twas vile, stunk out the whole place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭team_actimel

A girl I went to secondary school with reeked. I've never smelled anything like it since. It was a funky smell like a mixture between the worst smelling cheese and bins. Every time she walked near my desk I had to hold my breath. She was a rather large girl so I dunno if the stench was embedded in her rolls, there was no escape!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭tampopo

Someone else's fart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

I worked in Pernis, Rotterdam for a time a few years ago and the highest levels of carbon monoxide on the planet was in the 1.5km area I was working in! surprisingly though, this was the least of my worries as I was literally surrounded by toxic clouds of highly carcinogenic gases, poisonous effluent leaking everywhere and steam pi$$ing out of pipes left right and centre!

give me steaming dog poo anyday of the week over that contract!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

When I worked as a cashier an auld cracked farmer used to come into my workplace every day.
    You'd know he was in the vicinity by the stink of piss and unwashed body suddenly pervading the air, but on top of that he'd gotten wet gangrene in two of his fingers.
    He also kept them wrapped in the filthiest pus stained piece of bandage I've ever seen .
    He'd come to me to pay for his goods with his smelly fingers handing me the cash.
    I used to try to hold my breath to avoid the stink but it was so bad there was no escaping it.

A similar experience was had on the 123 to Griffith avenue a good few years back (perhaps some others may remember this too?) When I got to the top deck there was a lone man at the back and everyone at least halfway up the bus. All the windows were open. Then the smell hit me. As if he hadn't washed in decades and rolled round in offal. In the heat of the summer the smell was unbearable. And not a sh*te was given by him...

That smell could not be healthy, it would burn your nostrils :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

A rotten egg cracked open, nothing like it.
    Rotten rat corpse was bad too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Gone off raw chicken.

That is one of the most disgusting things ever.

When I was 16 I worked in the deli of dunnes stores and one day we were told to deep clean the chilled fridges Isle. So at one point I get a ladder and start to clean the top/roof of the fridges and came across a pack of chicken fillets. Some customer must have thrown them up there. Now while they weren't up there for months they were up there for weeks past best before and the packaging was puffed out (from the gases)

So I brought them them over to someone else working there (you never guess what I found type of thing) and stupidly or out of curiosity he pokes a finger through the cling film....... Oh my goodness! The smell was absolutely disgusting. It simply cannot be described!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

aluminium component from deoderant, around mid - 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭allybhoy

I shook hands with Joachim Löw the German manager the other day...

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

On a bus from Dundalk to Dublin, a wee bit hungover with a few other lads down the back of the bus. It was a nice warm day, must have been around exam time.

A gentleman who reeked sat amongst us. Rather scruffy and dirty looking and raggedy clothes.
    He then opened his bag and took out some newspapers from his bag and started unfolding them, as he did, stenches filled the bus.

It was horrible, the guy had all types of fish wrapped up in his newspapers and started to examine them.

He then carefully re-wrapped them and back in his bag. I don't know if it was the smell lingering or if it was the scent embedded into my nostrils, but it lasted until a couple of hours after I got off that bus.

I'm not sure how I didn't puke......this was also back in the day when the bus took a good 2 hours from Dundalk to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Boom_Bap wrote: »

.........He then carefully re-wrapped them and back in his bag..
    :confused::rolleyes:;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

Our teacher split some chemicals and the likes in the back room of the science labs, we were tasked with cleaning it and the drain since it was blocked. We were helping the lad who does all the repairs. There was no classes in that room for the day and we had to be given ventilation masks.

To name a few of the things we dealt with;
    Ammonia, Yeast, Sherpa heart, eye and lung all gone off from people throwing it down the drain when doing the experiments months ago.
    Some sodium alignate (used in bleach)
    And scraps of half eaten ham and chicken sandwiches along with copious amounts of rotten onions and other veg.
    We had the outside door open invade of projectile vomit.
    That was foul

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

Walking past a pig farm, the stench was so strong it could probably have sprouted legs and followed us. We were trying not to breathe until we got far enough away from it, I thought we'd never get far enough away from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Stig Inge

Stone the flamin crows