Mass shooting in Orlando Nightclub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,782 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Yes, they are. Why you keep wondering when their PR teams send out a tweet of condolence is beyond me however.

Trump does his own, Hillary signed hers, so it was not her PR team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Propaganda has really worked well on you, you've nothing to fear in most Muslim countries or Russia.
    Do you really believe your going to get attacked going to Russia?

I don't know. But I would be afraid for my safety with the laws they have there. And my Russian friends have told me I wouldn't be safe there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Its dead Jim

What for exactly? The shooting didn't begin until after 2 a.m and no one knew the full details until well after that. Could have been a gang shooting, could have been a robbery, why would Clinton's aides have woken her at 3 a.m to make her aware of something the Police hadn't even confirmation of until after that?

Her response was posted just after 6 a.m - she was hardly sleeping in!

When did Trump respond? Just after 1 p.m. Why is that poster not calling him out?

Ridiculous anti-Clinton rubbish. No need for it at all.

I'm expecting her to be the shooter next. She just happened to not be available to tweet when it happened. Coincidence? I think not. Sleeping is a convient alibi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭rjpf1980

This is obviously an Islamic terrorist attack.
    It happened during Ramadan, it happened close to the 11th of the month (3/11 in Madrid, 7/11 in London and of course 9/11 in New York) the attacker was Omar Mateen, an Afghan-American national radicalized by Islamic extremism who was being watched for years by the FBI, who used an assault rifle...
    It doesn't take a genius to figure out that this was religiously motivated when the victims were LGBT in a gay nightclub in Florida, probably the most gay friendly state in the U.S. If any group of people would be a target for an Islamic extremist this would be it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

Lyaiera wrote: »
    No. They just deny LGBT people their rights and promote a culture of hate.

As a Christian allow me to say, you haven't a ****ing clue what you're talking about, have any Imams ever made statements to cherish and accept homosexuals? Because the Pope bloody well has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,506 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I don't know. But I would be afraid for my safety with the laws they have there. And my Russian friends have told me I wouldn't be safe there.

Yea if your going to be openly gay in public isn't not the wisest idea to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,566 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

She was asleep in the middle of the night?

Wow, what a heartless cow.

She can well afford a microwavebed , 8 hours sleep in 5 mins.

What for exactly? The shooting didn't begin until after 2 a.m and no one knew the full details until well after that. Could have been a gang shooting, could have been a robbery, why would Clinton's aides have woken her at 3 a.m to make her aware of something the Police hadn't even confirmation of until after that?

When did Trump respond? Just after 1 p.m. Why is that poster not calling him out?

relax yourself, I was only pointing something out :)

It was 2.20pm our time, 9.20am NY time.
    Trump 1.07pm Irish time which is 8.07am NY time.

Hillary claims she is far more on the ball than Trump...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Superhorse wrote: »
    I've been watching the news networks since this morning when it became obvious this was a massive attack and RT, CNN, Al Jazerra etc... have had rolling coverage with sky spending the day covering the Royals. Yes they are on it now as the headline on the hour but nothing like the usual coverage.

It's a planned event in their own country they'd already got a lot of staff ready for. When the Queens do is over they'll probably spend more time on the shooting. There's no conspiracy here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

Propaganda has really worked well on you, you've nothing to fear in most Muslim countries or Russia.
    Do you really believe your going to get attacked going to Russia?

Tell that to the 22 year old Dutch woman who was drugged and raped while on holiday in Qatar in March, she reported it to police there and they haven't allowed her to leave the country and she'll find out next week if she's being charged with adultery, see it's ''her'' fault that she was attacked and under Sharia law a rape isn't rape unless at least 3 men witness the rape taking place. I'm sure she's feeling very safe, she'll probably be stoned or lashed as punishment for her crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,915 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

As a Christian allow me to say, you haven't a ****ing clue what you're talking about, have any Imams ever made statements to cherish and accept homosexuals? Because the Pope bloody well has.

Well said brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Just so incomprehensible to think gay people are being massacred in 2016 in USA, almost exactly a year on from the Charleston massacre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Circumstantial evidence doesn't mean anything. I've been to Russia and Iran and both are no more dangerous than anywhere else I've been in Europe or America. I can't believe people would decide never to visit any Muslim country purely because of what they read in the news. Such wilful ignorance in this day and age is really depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

But the Bishops in Ireland said allowing gay marriage would destroy in the institution of marriage. They even threatened to stop performing any marriage. They told their parishioners to vote against equal.

And yes, I have heard Imams and Muslim people in general call for equal marriage, and LGBT rights. Just as I've heard Christians do the same.

MadYaker wrote: »
    Circumstantial evidence doesn't mean anything. I've been to Russia and Iran and both are no more dangerous than anywhere else I've been in Europe or America. I can't believe people would decide never to visit any Muslim country purely because of what they read in the news. Such wilful ignorance in this day and age is really depressing.

You for real? I think I wouldnt want to visit a muslim country because Im gay and if I held hands with my boyfriend I could be executed, probably at best arrested or beaten up . I doubt Id call any woman,christian, jew or trans person ignorant for not feeling safe visiting any muslim country either.

I am a secular atheist left liberal who supports women's rights, LGBT rights, the right to choose, freedom of speech, great economic equality and opportunity, the end to militarism and war and world hunger etc etc etc.
    Tick the liberal box and I share your view.

We have to wake up and smell the coffee people.

Militant violent Islamic fundamentalism globally whether in organized political groups or movements or in the form of crazed lone shooters inspired by its barbarian ideology is at war with moderate Islam in the Middle East, at war with Hinduism, at war with Buddhism, at war with Christianity, at war with democracy and liberal secular values and any other ideology that it considers haram.

These savages are going to have to be wiped out.

You can blame Jimmy Carter for not being tough enough with the Ayatollahs or Reagan for arming the mujihaddin fighting the Soviets or Clinton for not killing Osama when he had the chance or Bush for overthrowing Saddam or Obama for cutting and running from Iraq or any other supposed "cause" of the violence and you would be dead wrong.

The root of this attack and all the others before it is militant Islamic extremism.

To defeat the enemy we must name it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭SnakePlissken

And yes, I have heard Imams call for equal marriage, and LGBT rights.

Can you give an example of one? Otherwise people may accuse you of spoofing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

I remember reading not so long ago about an openly gay Imam in Australia. If that's not cherishing and accepting homosexuality I don't know what is!

rjpf1980 wrote: »
    I am a secular atheist left liberal who supports women's rights, LGBT rights, the right to choose, freedom of speech, great economic equality and opportunity, the end to militarism and war and world hunger etc etc etc.
    Tick the liberal box and I share your view.

We have to wake up and smell the coffee people.

Militant violent Islamic fundamentalism globally whether in organized political groups or movements or in the form of crazed lone shooters inspired by its barbarian ideology is at war with moderate Islam in the Middle East, at war with Hinduism, at war with Buddhism, at war with Christianity, at war with democracy and liberal secular values and any other ideology that it considers haram.

These savages are going to have to be wiped out.

You can blame Jimmy Carter for not being tough enough with the Ayatollahs or Reagan for arming the mujihaddin fighting the Soviets or Clinton for not killing Osama when he had the chance or Bush for overthrowing Saddam or Obama for cutting and running from Iraq or any other supposed "cause" of the violence and you would be dead wrong.

The root of this attack and all the others before it is militant Islamic extremism.

To defeat the enemy we must name it.

Im the exact same as you, Im as liberal as you can find in almost any other category. But I just cannot stand seeing people promote islam as a religion of peace when it is causing so much pain in this world, more than any other religion. There is something fundamentally wrong with the religion if it breeds more violent extremism than any other group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Its dead Jim

In fairness, if someone was campaigning against me being treated as equal I would find it hard to believe that I was being cherished an acceptance.

Then we have what the Pope says is meaningless to a lot of Christians, mostly Protestants in the US, some of which have no problem with therapy camps. If that is how a Christian cherishes and accepts I really wish you won't cherish and accept me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

wakka12 wrote: »
    Im the exact same as you, Im as liberal as you can find in almost any other category. But I just cannot stand seeing people promote islam as a religion of peace when it is causing so much pain in this world, more than any other religion. There is something fundamentally wrong with the religion if it breeds more violent extremism than any other group.

Just an opinion on this. May be wrong. When we had weekly asymmetrical warfare in Northern Ireland during the ''Troubles'' one just never knew what was the next horror we would hear of on the morning news, plus we stopped driving ''up north'' out of fear of bombs. This guerrilla terrorism is not representative of Islam just as the terrorists in the North were not representative of their respective religions. These terrorists are militant extremists enthralled by regressive Wahhabism and hatred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

RobertKK wrote: »
    It was 2.20pm our time, 9.20am NY time.
    Trump 1.07pm Irish time which is 8.07am NY time.

Hillary claims she is far more on the ball than Trump...

There are many reasons to criticise Clinton but this is just nip picking. The first person to run to twitter anytime something happens wouldn't be my top priority when picking a president.

Well we have some people looking for Ibrahim Halawa to be rescued from an Egyptian prison. His father is a leading figure in the Muslim Brotherhood and a member of the European Council for Fatwa and Research (ECFR) at the Clonskeagh mosque which airs the fatwas of Yusuf al-Qaradawi.
    One of the fatwas is to kill gay people, another is to kill a person who changes their religion from Islam.
    Is it any wonder the Irish government seem rather slow in trying to get terrorist supporting Ibrahim Halawa back into this country.
    He actively supports a group which calls for the death of people, like gay people which we saw happen last night.

wakka12 wrote: »

The majority of the victims of militant violent Islamic extremists are Muslims and the people doing the fighting against ISIS and other extremists groups with sweet feck all help from the West are Muslims.

Islam is not the problem. It is militant violent Islamic extremists

As I said in a previous post. To defeat your enemy you must first name it.

RobertKK wrote: »
    Well we have some people looking for Ibrahim Halawa to be rescued from an Egyptian prison. His father is a leading figure in the Muslim Brotherhood and a member of the European Council for Fatwa and Research (ECFR) at the Clonskeagh mosque which airs the fatwas of Yusuf al-Qaradawi.
    One of the fatwas is to kill gay people, another is to kill a person who changes their religion from Islam.
    Is it any wonder the Irish government seem rather slow in trying to get terrorist supporting Ibrahim Halawa back into this country.
    He actively supports a group which calls for the death of people, like gay people which we saw happen last night.

If Halawa was back in this country he would probably walk right into the George and blow himself up.

Whatever this crazys ideology was, well done to the NRA for making sure firearms continue to be easily available to the populace at large regardless of their grudges, mental state etc. Eternally faithful to the second amendment. Well done lads.

There are many reasons to criticise Clinton but this is just nip picking. The first person to run to twitter anytime something happens wouldn't be my top priority when picking a president.

It normally wouldn't bother me, but I said she was probably asleep during the event, she confirmed it, that was all, I was happy that what I had posted was correct earlier and I hadn't being misinforming people.

Just an opinion on this. May be wrong. When we had weekly asymmetrical warfare in Northern Ireland during the ''Troubles'' one just never knew what was the next horror we would hear of on the morning news, plus we stopped driving ''up north'' out of fear of bombs. This guerrilla terrorism is not representative of Islam just as the terrorists in the North were not representative of their respective religions. These terrorists are militant extremists enthralled by regressive Wahhabism and hatred.

Only a minority of Germans were hard core Nazis but when they monopolized violence and took control of millions of Germans it led to general war.

The Islamists are a minority of a minority of Muslims but they are in danger of seizing control of Islam and taking millions of Muslims to cowed or scared to oppose them under their control.

They have to be stopped and stopped right now with absolute determination and ruthlessness.

We must stop downplaying the threat of militant extremist Islamic extremism.

rjpf1980 wrote: »
    If Halawa was back in this country he would probably walk right into the George and blow himself up.

Well he was activley involved in rallies and on stage during Muslim Brotherhood rallies in Egypt, then played the innocent card.
    The Halawas just spread hate, and it is no loss to this country if Egypt wants to keep one of the terrorist supporting family members in jail.