Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

d4s / skangers

• 27-05-2003 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭

Moving to Dublin and decided I'd better learn the slang terms. What's the difference between a D4 and a skanger? In Cork we just have the one breed - knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

im not from dublin and even i can answer this :p

D4 = posh 'i was born with the silver spoon in the mouth' type person

skanger = knacker/scum etc.. ( see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=65274&highlight=skanger )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

D4 people play rugger and drink heiny and say roysh a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

they also wear levis that are 2 long with tears in the Bottom Rugby shirts "collors Up" and deck shoes (god i hate them )

Knackers have Burbery hats sitting on the top of there greasy heads flecky bumtashes and 1 gold earing for him soverign lots of the them for her.
    He / she will also wear tracksuits and Nike air max and smoke Johnny Blue and she will have a pram.

Now this is ware it gets complecated knackers will also wear levis but theres will be skin tight and rammed up there arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

Another important difference.

Skangers will call anyone who isnt a skanger 'posh'
    and
    D4s will call anyone who isn't posh a 'Skanger' and claim that they themselves are not 'd4 types' at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

all the male "skangers" can be easily spotted now as they wear baseball caps with a razor sharp crease in the peak, the caps seem to hover above their heads too, i dont know how they keep them on.

i always thought skanger was just a female term.

allllrrriiiioooooohhhhhhh bbbbrrrrrrruuuuuuddddddaaaaaaaa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭FoXXy

D4s will call anyone who isn't posh a 'Skanger' and claim that they themselves are not 'd4 types' at all

scangers u can spot because unlike d4's they insist they're not posh. god forbid the consequences of being seen as posh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

In Cork we just have the one breed - knackers.

and to be honest k, they all live on the southside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Mantel

Originally posted by rubadub
    all the male "skangers" can be easily spotted now as they wear baseball caps with a razor sharp crease in the peak, the caps seem to hover above their heads too, i dont know how they keep them on.

Usually combined with the reverse mullet displayed proudly underneath the peak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Skangers dont know that they are skangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by SprostonGreen

Yes they do, because they're trying to be hard.
    sssswwwwwwwwaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Originally posted by SprostonGreen

i wonder what they call themselves then. if they get beaten up and robbed by some scumbags do they say "i got beaten up by a guy just like me"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭solice

no they say that they got beaten up by there neighbour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 trunks

if your looking for a good comparisment between D4 and DXX double figuers

:p

http://www.rte.ie/tv/pathstofreedom/prog1.html

it like the just like youuu know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I see so our ultimate guide to D4s vs skangers is "Fair City". I knew that show had to have some purpose (it's certainly not entertaining). :-p

argh@ faircity!! such a huge waste of space!!
    its got to be the one show i cant stand to watch... none of em can act and the accents are almost painful to listen to :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

skangers you see them in town, you walk by them the smell of johnie blue oozing out of their pores, and then they say HERE BUD WHAT ARE YOU LOOKING AT BUDDY,I WILL BLEEDING BURST YOU BLOODY POSHIE WITH YOUR NICE CLOTHES OY THINK YOUR BETTER THAN USE I WILL BURST YOU, then you hear anto get over here will ya what the story tommo when were ya released from the joy.
    killa look it is anto.
    scumbag.
    then you have the rugby type you going to old wesleys, and watch the game and have a cup of tea and eat scones, that was a blinding match...
    hahahahhahahha fools

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭jim_bob

k None of you lads are saying you are D4 or Skangers
    what do u class your self as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

Originally posted by jim_bob
    k None of you lads are saying you are D4 or Skangers
    what do u class your self as

good point. I would class myself as a dublin 2,6,8,16 or 24 depending on where I decide to sleep rough ( i am not a heroin addict though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭jammy_dodger

Im not from dublin 4, But id be "classed" as a posho
    Personally i don't think i am, but Anto says different.

One of my friends is from 'D4'...well 2, one moved. And I can tell you this person is the biggest bum you will ever meet in your lifetime.....lazy scruff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

me is from sandycove neither posh or skanger. just right or so i hope, people look at me though a say thug because i have a shaved head :ninja:

Well Im pretty sure I'd be classed as D4. Live in Leopardstown, school is in D4 :/

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,219 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Originally posted by rubadub & solice
    i wonder what they call themselves then. if they get beaten up and robbed by some scumbags do they say "i got beaten up by a guy just like me"
    no they say that they got beaten up by there neighbour
    both wrong - they say "me naybour starta on me bu oi buurst him - de fukker's in hospidle wid multipl stabs te da face! Dats de last toime heel troi an ave is go, de bollix"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I'd be classed as a "fuhkin' culchie" by the average skanger.

both wrong - they say "me naybour starta on me bu oi buurst him - de fukker's in hospidle wid multipl stabs te da face! Dats de last toime heel troi an ave is go, de bollix"

hehehe it took me a while to figure out wot u were saying. nice one :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Skangers must

1 Call your mother "aul one" and your father "aul lad".
    2.. Possess bum fluff on upper lip. (also applies to "young ones").
    3.. Social life revolve around "Doctor Quirkey's, de "Harp" or "De Back
    Gahe" (The Back Gate).
    4. Always have a 10 box of "johnny blue" on you.
    5. Faded blue levi's rammed up the **** must be worn sometimes
    accompanied by the raggedy yellow or orange Asics tracksuit top.
    6 Enormous sovereign rings worn on every finger. For the girls large
    and studded hoopy earrings are your only man.
    7.. Diamond jumpers and Scanda Jacket essential part of wardrobe.These compliments the tracksuits down to a tee.
    8 Lots of experience in sitting down back of bus and terrorising
    people as well as grafitti on seats.
    9.Standing at the door of the Dart and wishing your wares upon 'every
    bitta skert' that comes near you has also been known to be popular.
    10.. Posters of Tupac to be placed on bedroom wall. For girls David
    Beckham or Ronan Keating will suffice.
    11.. Always carry a packet of Rizla.
    12.. Portrait of **** embedded into at least one corner wall.
    13.. Chain hanging out over jumper.
    14.. Know the Macari's Takeaway menu off by heart.
    15.. Be mates with a Doyler, Rayo, Whacker, Git or Mousey.
    16.. Girls are all called Natalie, Jasinteh, Janet, Imeldeh, Maggie,
    Sharon or Tracey. Not that some of these aren't nice names but when said
    ;with an accent from the 'Mun you could cut bread with, then they take on
    another significance.
    17.. Moped essential as is driving around with the helmet on top of the
    head.
    18.. Pram and small child essential for the young knackerette.
    19.. Spit on pavement at least every three seconds.
    20.. All your relatives live on the same street.
    21.. Nearest thing to nature you have been is swimming and fishing in
    Canal or swearing at culchies when they come up "from the f***hin country".
    22.. Copy of the Sun in back pocket at all times.
    23.. Pretend to follow League of Ireland football but only go for the
    fights.
    24.. Celtic jersey with own name on the back.
    25 "Buuurdd" must be at least "preggers" or have a "little f**ker".
    26. Rotweiller essential to keep up the hardman image and tell people
    who even look crossways at it that you'll "bate de f**hkin bollix off them,
    English pox" even if they're from Cabinteely.
    27. City center consists of Henry and O Connell streets - the odd venture
    to Donnybrook kiddies disco for the "oul soft roide" is necessary at least once a month.
    28. Get extra points for shagging your mates motts and your cousins at
    these events.
    29. Left school before 16.
    30. Time spent from June to October is collecting for bon-fire.
    31. House called something imaginative like "Celticsville".
    32. Name written on at least ten lamposts around your house. i.e.
    Anto=a queer or Natalie=is a man.
    33. Shrill whistle at everyone and walk with arms swinging and
    exaggerated limp.
    34. Common greetings called out to friends include "Stary?" or "Arihe Shaymo?"
    35.. Name must end with an o at the end.(Example Anto, Rayo,Pado, Micko
    and with and e sound for the girls Nahalie, Tracey.

And a bit of a history of the big schmoke as the culchies call it

Dublin - the true story

A Corkonian thesis from a UCC final year project which received a 1H1.

Dublin was founded in the 8th century by the Vikings, when they realised that
    the best way to cause lasting damage to the country was to build what leading
    Viking at the time, Hagyar Ringsend, termed "A ****ehole for the ages".

This statement was proved true over time. Luckily for the rest of Ireland,
    Dublin is located on the East Coast. This means that the prevailing southwesterly
    wind generally takes the smell across the Irish Sea to Britain. In the 1950's
    Britain retaliated by building Sellafield nuclear power station. The Irish Sea is
    now one of the cleanest in the world, the radiation from England and the filthy
    pus and bile from Dublin nullifying each other.

It is a pity for us all that Dublin is not located 50 miles further east.However, many "Dubs", or "Gob****es" as they are known to the rest of us, would go
    even further! This is because Dublin is all that remains of what was once called "West Britain". Dublin people share many characteristics with the English people,including an amazingly low alcohol tolerance, ridiculous accents and the ability to get into a barroom brawl with Mahatma Ghandi and Mother Teresa.

Indeed, many young Englishmen come to Dublin for "stag nights"- not for the
    nightlife, but because all of the sluts there are falling over themselves to be
    impregnated by anything with a foreign accent in order to claim "choil'benefih'",
    or "children's' allowance" as it is called in the civilised world. But beware!

Dublin beer is much more expensive than ordinary beer. This is because it is
    watered down with expensive mineral water. You see, due to Dublin being a pox-ridden eyesore, which leaks revolting pus into our beautiful land, they have no clean tapwater. In fact, 86% of Dubliners don't even know what a tap is (the other 14% knew that it had something to do with beer). As a result, the beer is watered down with mineral water,as I said, and now the average Gob****e must fork out well over the odds for a pint.But don't let this put you off visiting cosmopolitan Dublin, where absolute knackers mix freely with some of the world's snobbiest c*nts. Let the heroin, car theft, annoying whinger ****, syphilis infested prostitutes and Europe's crappest traffic system put you off going there instead. Exits are by road, air and sea only, and are usually quite busy, so be patient. VISIT CORK. For information on Cork, please contact the tourist board on 021 343434. It's worth it. Ah Dublin! Capital of Ireland. Europe's smallest
    capital and also its smelliest. Step off a train at Heuston or Connolly station and breathe in that unmistakable aroma of piss and puke. But it's the people of Dublin who make our capital city what it is. We call them 'Jacks' because of a visit to Dublin by Queen Victoria which saw the locals line O'Connell Street while waving Union Jacks at their visitor. Ask anyone with even half a brain how many counties there are in Ireland and they will tell you 32.

But not our friends in Dublin. For some bizarre reason they firmly believe there are only two:
    1)"Dooblin"and
    2)"dowen da coontry".

Next time you're in Dublin, check out the excellent selection of Radio Stations, both of which play the same five songs all day. Whether it's 98fm or 104fm, tune in at any time of the day to hear Robbie Williams and The Lighthouse Family. You'll never get tired of it !!!

Anyway, here are the most asked questions about Dubs.

1) Why do Dublin people **** in the streets
    instead of a toilet?

2) Why do they refer to all other Irish people as Sheep Shaggers when we all know damn well what they're doing with those horses. A man from Ballyfermot (probably called Anto) recently got divorced from his cousin so he could marry his horse.

3) Why is their knowledge of Irish geography restricted to "da nart soide and da sout soide"? Why does their knowledge of Irish history go all the way back to the 1980's?

4) Why do they complain about "doze bleedin' ******s coming over here taking ere women and ere jobs" when Paul McGrath is "yer only man" and "God Bless Phillo"?

5) What the fu*k language are they speaking?

6) Why is hurling a culchie game until Dublin win a match when it suddenly becomes "Hooorlin',da fastest field sport in da bleedin' wooorld".

?7) Why can't they go for a drink without trying to stab each other afterwards?

8) Why can't they accept Aslan are never going to make it 'cause they're sh1te?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lorax

lmao @ gophers post
    you just described most of castleknock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Gael

What about Colin Farrell, people? He's the epitome of the two combined. He went to school in Castleknock College for God's sake and I've never seen anyone try so hard to be a scanger. He's almost quaint in the way he tries so hard to use the word **** in EVERY SINGLE SENTENCE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Loved Gophers post there :-)
    But it raises a question I've been wondering for ages. It comes from this point in Gophers post:

33. Shrill whistle at everyone and walk with arms swinging and
    exaggerated limp.

Right, what is it with the fukking limp??? And sometimes they do this squinting thing with one of their eyes too. This isn't just a Dub skang thing either - I'm from Meath and the town where I live is filled with little sh1tes that do this too. So, an honest answer is what I'm looking for, cuz watching them limp and squint is really fukking annoying....but funny at the same time. I reckon its to do with trying to look hard or look like they've been in the wars or something. Or maybe its to fool you into thinking they're slow so that they'll be off with yer mobile before you know whats happened? Or maybe its cuz their fukking Levi's are ramped all the way up their holes?
    Please, what causes this weird behaviour?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

'd4' and 'skanger' are essentially two nicknames dreamt up by the cozy middleclass to pidgeon-hole the entire upper and working classes in order make the middle class feel smug and superior to both - whilst maintaining a comfortable distance from (and complete lack knowledge of) both.

George Orwells England is alive and well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 630 ✭✭✭50Cent

Sangre you just seem like a wannabe.
    Well Im pretty sure I'd be classed as D4. Live in Leopardstown, school is in D4 :/

So no you arent classified as a D4...sorry.:cool:

But if you live in those nice houses in the heights or those red brick houses down from the race course...you arent doing TOO badly...but you aint D4...hehehe :D

Lads your all forgetting...scangers have schmopeds(NRG ****) and "me schmoped cud outdo ur ****en ferrari ani day (said in very aggressive, scum tone).

schweee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

In response to Pigman
    IMO skanger is a term invented by skangers themselves and their mates.For example,some of my friends who are real borderline alcoholic hash heads with law trouble might say something like"I got into a row with a load of skangers last night"ommiting the fact that everybody regards them as a skanger.There are two types of people who live in the poor/middle class areas most of us live in-the 75% who like to get occasionally locked,get into the odd row,smoke the occasional joint,snort the odd line or take the odd pill......and then there are the guys who get drunk every day,smoke hash more than they smoke cigarettes,may do heroin,go out specifically with the intention of rowing etc.Alot of skangers are sound enough but at the same time they arent the types you would go out of your way to tell that your house is empty this weekend.Sound,but untrustworthy.
    And anyway skangers dont say D4s-they say poshies,or more commonly rich kunts.
    Its not really a class thing-people on the Northside talk more about skangers probably more than the D4s do.
    Did you ever take the How Skanger Are You test on www.p45.net ?(think thats the URL).
    I got 96% so oil break yer fcukin face bud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭jammy_dodger

Here's the proper skanger test URL

http://www.p45.net/funomatics/skanger/skanger.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Who can forget they drink Dutch Gold!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Stephen
    I'd be classed as a "fuhkin' culchie" by the average skanger.

If the first person who posted moves to Dublin they two will be a "fuhkin' culchie". Dubs dont realy know what a "fuhkin' culchie" is.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Originally posted by Gael
    What about Colin Farrell, people? He's the epitome of the two combined. He went to school in Castleknock College for God's

I think he went to Gormanston College. How do I know that. I think I went there too :)

-edit-
    Ok aparently he attended many schools.

Taken from www.hollywood.com

Raised in the Castleknock section of Dublin, this son of a soccer player admits to a somewhat rebellious youth, attending several schools and indulging in beer drinking. After spending a year in Australia, he returned to Ireland and enrolled at the Gaiety School of Acting but left after a year when his career began to take off.

Chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

D4 types typically divide into:

"classic" - see above
    "subversive" - where they know the reputation d4 types have so make some attempts to hide it by disguising their accents, clothes, mannerisms, or behaviours. Most typically seen during the ages of 14-18, where loud individuals on the back of the 46a will have competitions to see who can sound like the loudest knacker, and then get off at White's Cross. (For those that don't know it: Left is Blackrock, Right is Foxrock) This stage typically wears off when they start making money for themselves, or more likely, come into contact with an actual knacker (usually violently).

Any subversive can easily be distinguished from a proper knacker by the fact that a) They will be physically clean, b) No scars.

Knackers will know the words to classic Irish tunes, the national anthem, and will usually be beating the **** out of you. d4 types will not know any Irish ballads because, frankly, that sort of thing just doesn't happen. (if you see someone "posh" singing Danny Boy - they're someone who - quiet now - goes to mass. Sidle out quietly before any of your friends see you with them.)

I think Colin Farrell is cool man. I dont think he TRIES to be a knacker and i dont think he is one either. He is what most men would like to be...Filthy ****en Rich and is a complete ladies man.

I respect him mainly for the ladies bit...he wouldnt be a bad guy to make friends with if you moved to HollyWood.
    "subversive" - where they know the reputation d4 types have so make some attempts to hide it by disguising their accents, clothes, mannerisms, or behaviours. Most typically seen during the ages of 14-18, where loud individuals on the back of the 46a will have competitions to see who can sound like the loudest knacker, and then get off at White's Cross. (For those that don't know it: Left is Blackrock, Right is Foxrock)

I live to the left of Whites Cross(actually lived, i just moved last july).

The right isnt exactly Foxrock...thats more Leapardstown but it is a way(of many different ways) to get to the Real Foxrock...The Village. Foxrock Village is where the real snobs are @. Little Ditsy half pretty 46A girls would get on and talk about their nails or some ****. basically utter wannabes. I dont like foxrock girls...very rarely do you come across a REALLY hot one anyway.

Ranleigh is another posh area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Originally posted by dendenz
    Ranleigh is another posh area

I dont know Ranleighl, do you mean Ranelagh ?

Thats not posh, there are a lot of bedsits and flats there, granted a lot wealthy people live there, because of proximity to city and all that but it does have a reputation of being stoodentvile also.

Cept of cours for Ken Doherty who is a rich native !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

Clearly the government needs to forget their silly under 21 ID idea and instead introduce a 'Location Card' scheme. Wouldnt it be nice if bouncers could just ask where you were from and you could show an unforgable card? 'Tallaght? Ehhh no bud, not tonight'. Same thing in cinemas, cafes, whatever! Would reduce the trouble in Dublin by a huge amount.

D4 could be platinum, blackrock / foxrock / malahide / drumcondra / other okish areas could be gold, anywhere else could be mud :)

Hell, why not just make the 'mud' population wear their badge on the outside of their clothes. Thatd get rid of even the need to ask them to show it! Could just avoid them on the street!

[edit] typo

Originally posted by 50Cent
    Sangre you just seem like a wannabe.

So no you arent classified as a D4...sorry.:cool:

But if you live in those nice houses in the heights or those red brick houses down from the race course...you arent doing TOO badly...but you aint D4...hehehe :D

Try telling that to the peasents :/
    Nah I meant other people would brand me like cattle with the term D4.
    And God no I dont wanna be a D4er, some of the people Ive met in my school are the biggest bunch of prícks I've ever met, no respect for anyone or anything.

Yeah, I live in those houses :/

hey did you go to Hollypark?

Ineed a spellchecker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by richindub2
    Clearly the government needs to forget their silly under 21 ID idea and instead introduce a 'Location Card' scheme. Wouldnt it be nice if bouncers could just ask where you were from and you could show an unforgable card? 'Tallaght? Ehhh no bud, not tonight'. Same thing in cinemas, cafes, whatever! Would reduce the trouble in Dublin by a huge amount.

D4 could be platinum, blackrock / foxrock / malahide / drumcondra / other okish areas could be gold, anywhere else could be mud :)

Hell, why not just make the 'mud' population wear their badge on the outside of their clothes. Thatd get rid of even the need to ask them to show it! Could just avoid them on the street!

[edit] typo

snob

Originally posted by Tusky
    snob

knacker

Fight fight, love a good argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,082 ✭✭✭✭Stark

And while we're at it, why not shape it like a star?

Was in Centra the other day in town buying a bottle of coke and a Snickers with a friend of mine and he was giving out to me about stereotyping people because I was talking about skangers, and guess what they go in and say Hi Bud to the clerk and buy six Dutch gold, needless to say I got an apoogy

Originally posted by k.oriordan
    And while we're at it, why not shape it like a star?

Good idea, but I think thats been copyrighted already.

But he has a point, the main reason a bouncer will let you in is because of your accent/clothes. they just think, oh he must have a load of money to spend etc..