Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worst pub/club

• 16-02-2002 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭

We've had the best pub/club so why not have a worst pub/club in whatever part of the country your in.

my votes are 'The Alley' and 'The Venue' in Galway and 'The Castle Inn' and 'The Friendly Tavern' in Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭pugwall

If it was all about the music I would have to vote for the schwalace on camdon street or is it wexford street, although I still find myself going back every couple for some cheap gargle and some southside totty!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

PJ's horrible little spot

The Gallery, forgetting the smell its just a kip, including the smell, its a smelly kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

The Clongibbon Nite Club [mitchelstown]

hate that place with a passion

They are closing Gorbys in Cork, so thats another off my hate list

worst pub ?

Doyles on South Mall, Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

"Club Life" (more commonly known as "the coo") in kilkenny... truely there is no sh1t hole as bad as this. I shared a hospital room one night with someone that their bouncers kicked the sh1t out of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

the palace.....dump if there ever was one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Horan's in tralee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Gotta be the Vatican on Harcourt Street

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Vatican is now known as gigi's or sumfink. Places I hate: The Pod and the Red Box. Are the worst places to go to try enjoy yourself. All that clubbing dance music shíte........... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

And townie knacks with their 'bokkles of Cidhar/Bukkie' poppin pills.
    Thank christ the cúnts are just fast and can't actually throw a strong punch to save themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

Pub....Pat Carrolls
    club....The couq

both in KK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Originally posted by T.G Catter
    the palace.....dump if there ever was one.

and yet you hear such good things about it, *snigger* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭Mr.Applepie

the palace may be a dump but mon-thurs it has dirnk for only 2euro so who cares if its a dump or not. ots a place to get wasted with friends! One place i actually hate is the Q bar the drinks are over priced there is no atmosphere and the music is crap!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

Have any of you guys ever been into the Turks Head in temple bar. It sucks royally and the only reason that anyone ever went in there was that it was free. I believe that they are now charging. At least it has stopped me from going back.

Originally posted by The_Bullman
    Have any of you guys ever been into the Turks Head in temple bar. It sucks royally and the only reason that anyone ever went in there was that it was free. I believe that they are now charging. At least it has stopped me from going back.

Ive been to the turks head(only once) and i had a great time. There is a good atmosphere there and the drinks wernt too expensive at them time. Although i prefer the porterhouse house across the road. You just cant beat a pint of chiller or a brain blasta :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Carobobaline

Its got to be the palace on Cameden Street-went there once for my L.C results 2 years ago and the half-hour memory still haunts me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭ayatollah

Originally posted by SearrarD
    Pub....Pat Carrolls
    club....The couq

both in KK

ah yes pat carroll's where even the arms of the chairs have tatoo's!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 franco

Fibber Magees in Galway, top of the pile for anyone over 15 at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

the palace and the redbox both suck, if i was forced to go to one though i would prefer the palace at least the music there listenable where as the redbox is just hardcore dance or techno or whatever you call it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

lol

Fibber Magees in Galway sucks the big one, as does "Da Palace" in Dublin, cheap drink though. Scrupples in Dun Laoghaire is a kip. Club Life, or Club get a Life as it's called in Greystones, is quite bad.

Isn't the RedBox just a venue? Wouldn't expect much from them seeing as though it's really just for bands and the sort.

Listenable music in the Palace? What are you smoking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

That was meant to mean that I can at least stick the music in the palace a little longer than the music in the redbox.
    I think The Pod is the venue place while the redbox is the nightclub.

BTW is listenable a word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Frankmark

For sticky carpet, smell of stale puke, flat watered down beer, and 15 yr old kn@ckers try the Hitchen' Post in Leixlip

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

Originally posted by Makaveli
    BTW is listenable a word?

Although it sounds like it should not be, listenable is a word.
    It means: easy or pleasant to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Nexus

Worst pub is Doyles/Bakery in Cork and the worst clubs are FX and Gorby's. ****in holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by Gone Shootin
    The Clongibbon Nite Club [mitchelstown]

hate that place with a passion

They are closing Gorbys in Cork, so thats another off my hate list

worst pub ?

Doyles on South Mall, Cork.

Hahaha anytime i am passing by Doyles late at night i am frequently greeted with fisticuffs and Garda hauling drunken louts from the premises :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Pedegree Corner Co. Laois truely the most horrifying place on earth.

the pedigree.........

Where the men are vicious and the women are worse, a kip, a hole, a dank pit of pain and chart music.....

but we still went....

rem Rafters 18th birthday when we brought a stipper there Azezil...

REM 'TITANIC GUY' EH AZEZIL!

its been a while since i fell over laughing for a few hours over that one, what happen was...Azezil runs down to WIT finds SearrarD and bites off all his fingers and cuts out his tongue ...the end

REM 'TITANIC GUY' EH AZEZIL!
    yes we'll just forget that little episode!, can't believe someone identified me as "Titanic guy" lol

searrard just told me about it - never speak to me again!!!!

Titanic.jpg

Searrard has just passed out and collapsed in a heap on the ground beside me!!!!

there's no way i'm giving him cPr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Originally posted by ayatollah
    searrard just told me about it - never speak to me again!!!!

this sounds interesting ... dish the dirt ;)

times like this i'm glad my ugly mug ain't on the net ,,., i hate u all! :p

its only a matter of time - azezil !!

the end is nigh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 $ynergy

why azezil i do believe this is you!

Titanic.jpg

pffft i'm too good looking for people to laugh at :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

Hairy lemon, frequented by long haired too-old losers perving on young'uns

Doyles : dump

Bakery is grand once you get inside, its the knackers that dont get in there or henrys that cause all the problems

Goat broke lose: too CIT

I used to hate rosie o gradys but I like the renovation, much less "irish"

Personally I cant stand the Star, way too studenty for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I haven't set foot in the Palace for a good couple of years, and I don't ever plan to again.

Dishonourable mention also goes to Zanzibar and Pegs (spit) on the corner of Nassau St.

azezil was in prob the worst club in about 100miles, the pedigree corner and the titanic Celine Dion song came on.....(did i mention the club was ****e!)

azezil locked out of his tree stood up on a table, on the balcony overlooking the Dance floor and put his arms out wide like ole kate winslet....next thing ye know azezil is hit by a flying bottle and fell off the table....

i split myself laughing for a few months at this....a few years later i get to college and in my first week i get talking to a girl who lives near athy...so i get talking to her about the club and my few stories crop up, and when i mentioned the one about the guy who stood up on the table...she screams "Titanic Guy!...you know him?"...i fell around for a few more months laughing my ass off....

Azezil you're a living legend man :P

azezil was in prob the worst club in about 100miles, the pedigree corner and the titanic Celine Dion song came on.....(did i mention the club was ****e!)

azezil locked out of his tree stood up on a table, on the balcony overlooking the Dance floor and put his arms out wide like ole kate winslet....next thing ye know azezil is hit by a flying bottle and fell off the table....

i split myself laughing for a few months at this....a few years later i get to college and in my first week i get talking to a girl who lives near athy...so i get talking to her about the club and my few stories crop up, and when i mentioned the one about the guy who stood up on the table...she screams "Titanic Guy!...you know him?"...i fell around for a few more months laughing my ass off....

Expect a knock on your door within the next 2 mins... BITCH!! LMAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by daveirl

Bad pubs in Cork,
    The Goat Broke Loose,
    The Thirsty Scholar
    The Maltings
    The Mardyke Tavern
    Doyles
    + loads more!!!

I dunno i have always had a laugh in the Filthy Squalor, generally i go to the Lobby for some tunez and good clean fun :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

The Beacon court town harbour. its a kip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

ah but u know u love the moving dance floor...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

The Palace in Dublin, or Club LA in Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Club Soda, in Carrick on Suir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Originally posted by Kalina
    The Palace in Dublin, or Club LA in Waterford.

Club LA or Club laah as it is known locally is a dive. Is that place still open?

its still called lah but for the big sign outside saying
    "the rythmn room"

still a kip and still wet carpet and still expensive and still has the strippers on rag week

ROFL quality azezorilil qaulity!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

And it's still a dive!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

does any remember "pa's" at the back of the shopping centre in dundalk, the worst ****hole club in the worst **** hole town in Ireland, the club looked like macdonalds on acid, plastic seats even a bar that a uncanny resemblance of the famous golden arches complete with the over head boards advertising differnent happy meals I mean drinks, god that place was dodgy, thankfully the place closed down a couple of years back.

does anyone have the misfortune to stubble into this place??