Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Underage drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

rb_ie wrote:
    It's breaking the law, therefore anyone doing so should face the consequences. As should those who sold the underager the alcohol.

I'm asking you is it so evil to have a pint before you're 18? You think people should be given a criminal record for having a pint? And furthermore, you want a 20 year old to be liable to get a criminal record?!?!

What is your reasoning for that? Do you really think that that's gonna fix the problems we have in this country re: drinking ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

DaveMcG wrote:
    you want a 20 year old to be liable to get a criminal record?!?!
    Yes, if they chose to break the law then they should be ready to face the consequences.
    DaveMcG wrote:
    Do you really think that that's gonna fix the problems we have in this country re: drinking ?
    I would hope it would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,335 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Any government that brings in a law to raise the drinking age from 18-21 would soon find that 18-21 year olds would actually turn out at the voting booths and vote them out of power. It's a ridiculous concept that will not solve any problems, and it will never happen.

It's as likely to happen as them dropping it to 16 tbh.
    Well, with any hope they'll bring in tougher legislation regarding underage drinking and with McDowell still around it could be quite likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,371 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

Im 15 and drink on a regular basis,that being said i would rather sit at home and have a couple mates up to my room (which my mother allows) cause she knows that i will just drink on the streets and the only reason i drink on the streets is cause my friends prefair to do it... but now if we had like a pub to go to that would be all good, because there is usually trouble around this area, fights the odd time and harrasement by the garda...

harrasement by the garda...

You think im joking? friday night i got arested for the first and last time!!! i had two cans of miller (not much) and one open and the garda drove up on the field we were on ( so like anyone would i threw the cans away ) next thing happens the garda comes over to me and starts poking me in the stomache with the torch and he winded me i told him if he did it again i would make him eat it! ( not a smart thing to say ) then he put me in the back of the car and started beating me with his batton and when i asked the driver for help he elbowed me in the face and said "There's help for ya"...

Did you learn your lesson?

Of course i did the lesson was "garda are pricks so stay the hell away or just run!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

rb_ie wrote:
    It's as likely to happen as them dropping it to 16 tbh.
    Well, with any hope they'll bring in tougher legislation regarding underage drinking and with McDowell still around it could be quite likely.

The likelihood of any change in the legislation is rather slim I'd imagine.

On the subject of the actual enforcement of underage drinking laws, do people actually get JLO's if they're caught knacker drinking? "Go home lads" is probably a much more popular line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

then he put me in the back of the car and started beating me with his batton and when i asked the driver for help he elbowed me in the face and said "There's help for ya"...

If this actually happened did you make an officiaol complaint or do anything about it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,335 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

You told him you were going to make him eat his torch. I'm sure loosely speaking that's a threat. What did you expect to happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭patzer117

You think im joking? friday night i got arested for the first and last time!!! i had two cans of miller (not much) and one open and the garda drove up on the field we were on ( so like anyone would i threw the cans away ) next thing happens the garda comes over to me and starts poking me in the stomache with the torch and he winded me i told him if he did it again i would make him eat it! ( not a smart thing to say ) then he put me in the back of the car and started beating me with his batton and when i asked the driver for help he elbowed me in the face and said "There's help for ya"...

LOL.

Ok, you're a perfect example for this thread. Do you like drinking? (Answer: Yes).

Why do you drink? Is it because it's cool? or because all your friends do it? You obviously don't care that it's illegal right? Do you think the drink helped you have the courage to tell the Garda to eat his torch?

And most importantly, what do you think the legal age for drinking should be? What age do you think people should start to drink?

grimloch wrote:
    The likelihood of any change in the legislation is rather slim I'd imagine.

On the subject of the actual enforcement of underage drinking laws, do people actually get JLO's if they're caught knacker drinking?

I got one :(

patzer117 wrote:
    LOL.

Ok, you're a perfect example for this thread. Do you like drinking? (Answer: Yes).

Why do you drink? Is it because it's cool? or because all your friends do it? You obviously don't care that it's illegal right? Do you think the drink helped you have the courage to tell the Garda to eat his torch?

And most importantly, what do you think the legal age for drinking should be? What age do you think people should start to drink?
    I know i am that is why i replied thank you very much! and know it didnt i was on my second can of miller for gods sake, and no i dont think its cool or because my friends do it, it helps to have a better time and that being said by no means do i think people can't have a good time without drink and yes my best friend wrote a letter to Mr. McDowell...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

rb_ie wrote:
    I got one :(

Well then I'd hazard to say that you were the exception rather than the rule. You're one of two people I've ever heard of to get one. In fact I don't even know what the hell a JLO is.

I think Irishpimpdude stands as one argument against underage drinking. Threatening a guard after having a few drinks was hardly a good idea.

The thing is it wasnt the drink,as i wasnt even tipsy... it was me! all me! not the drink and tbh anyone in this day and age can get drink no matter the legal age.

grimloch wrote:
    Well then I'd hazard to say that you were the exception rather than the rule. You're one of two people I've ever heard of to get one. In fact I don't even know what the hell a JLO is.
    JLO = Juvenile Liason Officer. Basically, a guard comes round to have a talk with you about what you did. Mine only came once but I've heard of other people having them come round more times.
    My JLO told me straight out, "It's ok to have a few cans, just don't get caught in a field by the gardaí" :D
    I wouldn't mind except it was the first and last time I ever "knacker" drank.

The thing is it wasnt the drink,as i wasnt even tipsy... it was me! all me! not the drink
    Imagine the trouble you'd of gotten yourself into had you been drunk so.

yes my best friend wrote a letter to Mr. McDowell...

Ohh right sure that will make all the differnence cause he is really going to care bout something like that!!!!

Read this thread http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=318353 it contains the letter...

Very interesting reading :rolleyes:

Lets see they will def nail who it was now that you/youe friend have said they were driven a Ford Mondeo,cause thats the only one the Gardai have :rolleyes:

Also the great description of the two 'offending' officers!!! Tall and from Dublin....Short and from outside dublin!!! That really shortens the possibilities.....

There was a report writen up,so im sure is could be pulled up and the garda's names would be on there!

Do you really think that they would actually keep such a report if there is the possibility of them getting pulled up over it....

Well they are sending out a JLO so wouldn't they have to? For my address? and details?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

The enforced drinking laws and higher ages don't work in America and they sure as hell wouldn't work here.

I'd seriously question any politicans sanity if they tried to push a 21 age limit. Forced out by students and probably their parents who don't want their 18+ kids suddenly becoming criminals because we all know they're never going to stop.

Tbh i think the age should stay as it is... no need to change it there is just going to be more problems then asked for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭bingo9999

well lets look around, in france, ger, italy etc they have it at 16. (actually i heard italy has none but cant be sure) and they dont have this problem while here and america and im sure britain (asbo's n stuff) do have it. Pushing it to the extreme wont really help imo. They develop a sensible attitude there because they have some wine or something there. Also I think its pretty hard to be mature about something if your covering it up and taking it underground. If your gonna go to the trouble of getting to a field or bush and hiding then your not gonna stop after one or two whereas you would in a social setting. Just my two cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,761 ✭✭✭✭Victor

robinph wrote:
    I think you could drink at 16 though if your having a meal in a restaurant, and its younger than that at home with your parents, but I cannot remember the age for that.
    You are only restrictions on drinking in public places, anyone can drink at home, assumming their parents allow it (no, this doesn't extend to drinking in a "free gaff").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

DaveMcG wrote:
    Hey guys,

just wondering, what's everyone's thoughts on underage drinking? ...
    So, thoughts? Is it ok? Does it encourage hooliganism or something? Is it bad for our health?

Depends how much said underager's drinking. No harm in any one, no matter how old having a 1 or 2 pints in a bar IMHO - but 13 year olds getting locked on 2 litre bottles of cider in an alleyway before vomiting in some old granny's letterbox is bad.

Horses for courses