Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish J1'ers wreck Isla Vista apartment!

• 29-09-2005 08:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.ucsbdailynexus.com/news/2005/9922.html

I just find this quite funny! It sums up Isla Vista. The place is absolutely mad. I spent the summer there and know of a good few of the lads involved in this mess but the place is insane. I spent the summer in IV and had the best time ever...such a hilarious, insane place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

They should be sent back and made face civil proceedings to be honest. They've given Irish students and, indeed, Irish people a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

scumbags tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

Hope they are tracked down and named and shamed at the very least.

Scum tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭dawballz

That is fairly bad alright. The place is a mess, even without the writing on the wall.
    ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Discraceful. I hope the people involved are dealt with harshly.

Being students/on a visa doesn't excuse that kind of behaviour or make them not responsible for their actions. If they release names it could get interesting.

Although, I've a sinking feeling that little will be done about it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

did anyone see the pictures on the news, or better still does anyone have the pics?
    And why is there a british flag written on the wall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭wayfarer

This always occurs during summers in America, although maybe not on the same scale as this. I was over San Diego this year and we found it really hard to get a place just because we were irish. We'd ring up asking about a house or apartment and as soon as they found out that we were over on a J1 from Ireland, they'd have nothing to do with us. This was just because of the students who were there before us and the problems they caused for the landlords. We did the same so I cant really complain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sparky_S wrote:
    did anyone see the pictures on the news, or better still does anyone have the pics?

The same reason there were pictures of Osama Bin Laden all over the place!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

That is just pathetic, they should be held responsible for that damage and made pay up!!!! Muppets like those give us all a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

cheesedude wrote:
    I just find this quite funny!

Yeah real funny. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Scumbags. Should be named and shamed. Nationally.

The thing is they probably aren't "scumbags" rather a bunch of rich boys over on Daddy's credit card.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

The thing is they probably aren't "scumbags" rather a bunch of rich boys over on Daddy's credit card.

What they did makes them the scummiest of scumbags in my books. Sure most others would agree. I refered to their actions, not what you seem to assume I assumed was their social class ;)

Yeah that's true. Rich fùckers off their heads on coke. Should all have their passports taken off them. Nothing wil happen though, hush hush pay-off and that will be the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Man....best summer EVAR!!

Yeah that's true. Rich fùckers off their heads on coke. Should all have their passports taken off them. Nothing wil happen though, hush hush pay-off and that will be the end of it.

What the **** is that supposed to mean? Stop acting like a degenerate. A hush hush pay off????

Get over the class thing. They were just out of control on holiday. I don't condone what they did and I know some of them.

Sangre wrote:
    Man....best summer EVAR!!

Damn right it was.

They should have their passports taken off them? for what? Nothing they did was illegal, it was their own accommodation that they vandalised. If they were made to pay a security deposit and ended up losing it then nobody would care. Its only reason its making the news is because some poor american student has lost his deposit through no direct fault of his own. Why are people so outraged?

Eh, who the **** cares if their daddy paid for it or if they were scrimping by on their savings for the summer. Either way they are ****ing muppets with little to no cop on or maturity.

Hang them I say.

nesf wrote:
    Eh, who the **** cares if their daddy paid for it or if they were scrimping by on their savings for the summer. Either way they are ****ing muppets with little to no cop on or maturity.

Hang them I say.

Wow you really put a lot of thought into that one; hang them because they're immature and because they have no cop on :rolleyes:

wayfarer wrote:
    Wow you really put a lot of thought into that one; hang them because they're immature and because they have no cop on :rolleyes:

Here's some batteries for your sarcasm detector. It seems to have run out.

wayfarer wrote:
    They should have their passports taken off them? for what? Nothing they did was illegal, it was their own accommodation that they vandalised. If they were made to pay a security deposit and ended up losing it then nobody would care. Its only reason its making the news is because some poor american student has lost his deposit through no direct fault of his own. Why are people so outraged?

While I never use this language on boards (thank god search engine down :))

WHAT THE FU<K!!! Nothing they did was illegal? it was RENTED accomadation that DIDN'T belong to them. If you had sublet your room out, would you be happy if that happened to you? Would you call the Guards? You probably wouldn't, just "take it on the chin" - Yeah right!!!
    They are scum. They should be named and brought to the fore for their "crime". The security deposit won't cover it, and some poor f*cking college student has to pay for it. There's a front door missing ffs!!!

*have I just risen to flame bait?

Papa Smut wrote:

*have I just risen to flame bait?

Probably :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

TBH, the damage in those pics is pretty mild compared to the trail of distruction I witnessed at an apartment complex in Nevada about 5 years ago. The ones responsible skipped town and the owner was left with a bill for $$$$$! I seen toilets ripped out of the floor, excerement on the walls and worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

^^
    Exactly. It's not that bad. I think everyone's jealous because they wished they could have gone over and thrashed an apartment this summer! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh yeah, that is exactly what i wanted to do. piss on the carpets, draw on the walls, take the front door. my ideal vacation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Bond-007 wrote:
    TBH, the damage in those pics is pretty mild compared to the trail of distruction I witnessed at an apartment complex in Nevada about 5 years ago. The ones responsible skipped town and the owner was left with a bill for $$$$$! I seen toilets ripped out of the floor, excerement on the walls and worse.

BS. By your justification, muggers should go free because murderers commit worse crimes. Cop on for christ sake, they're scum, rich scum at that, and should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law either here or in the U.S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

I've seen worse, but in fairness you never trash your own place. You always go to some randomers and trash theirs. The fact that these guys were so stupid to allow their names get taken in connection to that kinda damage is dishearting.

Don't really see it as funny, amatuer, not very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Why did this make RTE's 9 o clock news last night? Did nothing newsworthy happen at all yesterday?

I fail to see why this is interesting to anyone except the people involved & those that know them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭ionapaul

skywalker wrote:
    Why did this make RTE's 9 o clock news last night? Did nothing newsworthy happen at all yesterday?

I fail to see why this is interesting to anyone except the people involved & those that know them.
    It's interesting because these people are brought shame on the Irish as a people in a foreign country. Just as people were upset after the world focused in on 'the crazy Irish priest' who fcuked up the British Grand Prix and then ruined someone's opportunity of winning gold in the Olympics, people here are upset that some ****, absolute and utter scum, have done this. It isn't funny, it isn't original, it is just idiotic...they knew they probably wouldn't be caught and, to paraphrase Monty Burns, chose to 'wallow in their own crapulence'. If our caring society wasn't in place to neutralise the effects of natural selection, these idiots wouldn't leave any decendants as the owners of the property would be free to track them down and do the needful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

So what Colleges were they from? DIT was mentioned, apparently there are others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

something similar happened when i was j1'ing in Boston....some idiots decided to trash a place during a house party and broke all the appliances (doors off ovens, fridge, microwave) and pulled all sinks and toilets off the walls....

disgusting, mindless vandalism.

These fuckwits should be found and made to pay for the repairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 332 ✭✭Ann Elk

skywalker wrote:

I agree - it's scandalous that this makes the mews when no-one seems even remotely interested in finding that Katrina one who thrashed New Orleans :D

Yeah but Ruggie, at least it was someone else's house, to do your own place is idiotic as well as mindless.

No I also said it was mindless. To trash someone else's is mindless , to trash your own is idiotic and mindless.

bunch of fcuking nobheads

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

I remember a bunch of south dublin tossers doing this kind of stuff in Munich 20 years ago. Probably the J1 tossers daddies in fact , its in the genes now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

IMO name and shame the p****s, and should face the full rigours of the law for their actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Pack of gheys.

They should be hung and urinated on, then dried off, and then put on fire.

chump wrote:
    Pack of gheys.

They should be hung and urinated on, then dried off, and then put on fire.

lol!

pack of gheys!??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Sparky_S wrote:

Looks more like the Basque flag to me tbh. Damn those filthy drunken Micks trying to put blame on a bunch of Spaniards! In otherwords GET OVER it. People here seem to be more concerned that these few peoples actions will cause national shame rather than the fact that the subleaser is down 15k now. Get over yourselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

NoelRock wrote:
    BS. By your justification, muggers should go free because murderers commit worse crimes. Cop on for christ sake, they're scum, rich scum at that, and should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law either here or in the U.S.
    Thats not my view, Of course justice should prevail, they are scummers but I have seen the handy work of worse ones. Not saying they should get away with it. Not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,212 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Why the hell is everyone assuming their rich? Jesus, anything to bash the southside these days..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

I dont find that funny. They should be sent back to work the the money off then black listed from entering the country again. Dirt bags.

Probably the same cnuts that would mouth off about how landlords are scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dloob

cheesedude wrote:
    The same reason there were pictures of Osama Bin Laden all over the place!!!

Well seems to me that we are dealing with a potential terrorist cell here.
    Someone tell Fox News!
    A trip to Egypt for some "questioning" could be order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dilly1

You are probably right there, because I have seen that happen before only in Ireland, some obnoxious well off Irish idiots (who arent from D4, not even from Leinster, but have the accent) wrecked a hotel room in Galway City and they didnt give a toss they just laughed about it when we met them in Cuba nightclub after it happened. The Irish are becoming more like the English every year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭bullrunner

first of all i dont condone this kind of thing.

Secondly somebody said they hadnt broken any laws...destruction of private property is against the law, is it not? and vandalism too.

thirdly...apart from a picture of a trashed apartment where is the proof that these irish people did it? (slight contradiction of secondly..i know)...who is to say that the student didnt come back and trash his own apartment? or that some people didnt break in and squat there for a while before he did return (front door was broken off after all)

fourthly...if any college was to disclose any information on the 'alleged' perpetrators of this crime, then are the colleges themselves not breaking the law by disclosing private information on people? (open to corrections on this..but think this is a crime).

Also for the management company to be contacting all the colleges and giving out these students details is a disgrace...if they were really interested in resolving this they would contact the Irish police with their details and let them find the culprits!

Overall I think they probably did trash the apartment...but find it difficult to see 15k worth of damages. I would also like to see more conclusive evidence that they wrecked the place before they get tried and convicted in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

filthbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

FFS no excuse for that sh*t... they should be named and shamed on every newspaper throughout the country, if anyone does know their names and where they're from, email it with the link to every newspaper..... that and a good hiding should square things up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭loz

Dilly1 wrote:
    The Irish are becoming more like the English every year.

Thats a little racist .............

Loz ( English )