Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unhygienic?

• 02-09-2005 9:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭

I overheard 2 girls in the steam room of the gym last night saying "There's no way I'm having a shower now I can't blow dry my hair here". So they just got dressed after working out and being in the sauna/steam room and went home with sweat all over them. That's pretty sick. Also, my girlfriend is not irish but she's amazed that the girls at her soccer club don't shower after playing football, they just put their clothes on and go home!?! What's it all about? Are irish girls ashamed of their bodies or afraid to shower in front of each other or are they just unhygienic??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

that's disgusting, scumbags!

i'd say it's mostly fear of showing their wobly bits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

paperclip wrote:
    that's disgusting, scumbags!

i'd say it's mostly fear of showing their wobly bits.

I'd have to agree with this comment, I don't think they'd be as open as males would be with regards to the whole communal shower situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Hank_Scorpio

What's wrong with blow drying with a towel on? I've heard in my gym that the girls just go into the sauna butt naked. Seems cool, but turn that situation around in the guys gym and it's yuck! Why can't men wear pants in the sauna??? I think that's unhygenic.

I don't know why they didn't shower. Maybe they thought their clothes were dirty and it was pointless showering and getting into dirty clothes so they just save the shower until get home. Maybe they only lived a minute or two away.

I have to say most girls I know are hygenic and smell gorgeous all the time. So to answer your question... I don't know!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

That's not as uncommon as you might think. When I went to the gym I seen this all the time. Another sick thing is guys working out and then just jumping in to the swimming pool. YUCK !!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Jumping into the swimming pool is kinda sick.

When I lived near college I used to walk home from the gym to have a shower, cause it's more comfortable to have one at home.
    But then when I realised that the showers in the gym were more powerfull, and nice and hot I stopped doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

K-TRIC wrote:
    That's not as uncommon as you might think. When I went to the gym I seen this all the time. Another sick thing is guys working out and then just jumping in to the swimming pool. YUCK !!!! :eek:

Im not a swimmer or anything but would you not sweat as equally if you are swimming or are you saying its a splash and dash to cool off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

K-TRIC wrote:

How is that sick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

sick because they haven't showered the sweat offa them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭eyebrows

em... ok. I have to say you's are all hygenic freaks. dont see the problem in going home first then having a shower. Sure what about builders(or someone who sweats alot but dont have showers at work). omg thats disgusting. a builder getting sweaty and not showering. I cant believe someone would do that. I'm never leaving my house again in case I meet someone who hasn't showered. gross.

well what I'm trying to say is - why are irish girls more afraid to expose their bodies to other girls than their european counterparts? Is it a catholic thing? Is it the same reason they're crap in bed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

yeah i dunno, i agree with fischerspooner here...
    its pretty disgusting to do something like that, i would even consider it unhealthy...
    i also think that our european cousins are far more hygenic than we are, and in general take care of themselves better than us..
    we are a little slapdash in the whole thing..
    i dont think its disgusting to work out and jump straight into a pool though...not at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

petes wrote:
    Im not a swimmer or anything but would you not sweat as equally if you are swimming or are you saying its a splash and dash to cool off?
    It doesn't matter, you sweat like mofo when you're swimming. That's what pool water is: water, chlorine, sweat, saliva, skin, dirt, and a load of other you can ask you're lifeguard. K-TRIC, you weren't drinking pool water before you made this discovery, where you? Be honest!

As for leaving the gym in your own dried-on sweat - it's ok once in a while but otherwise disgusting.

adonis wrote:
    i also think that our european cousins are far more hygenic than we are, and in general take care of themselves better than us..
    Yeah but some don't shave their armpits *shudders*

nah that's just a myth. Or maybe it was true 30 years ago.

I remember a school trip about 7 years ago. We were in a water park in Germany. A young curvaceous brunette in a flattering pink bikini was stepping into the pool. Our youthful horny pubescent eyes roamed her voluptuous body. Then, she stretched her arms up revealing the glorious furry blackness of her armpits... that memory still haunts me.

well if this german lassie was as hot as you said she was, I'm sure I could let the armpit thing go...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

something about hairy armpits on a woman that doesnt seem right. when doing a fas course about 6 or 7 years ago there was this woman from france who loved to show off her hairy armpits

I dunno, not really into those 70s porn flicks :). I wouldn't be able to look away from her bushy armpits with that curiosity-mixed-with-horror expression on my face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭pdunno

i dunno what the big deal is, they probably just went home, got in the shower and put on clean clothes!! Most soccer teams round our way don't have showers so usually after the match we'd just throw back on our tracksuits, home, showered and changed into clean clothes in half an hour! What's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

And what about girls schools having showers after PE. I remember years back a girl asking a group of us "so do you's all stand in the shower slagging each others dicks", to which the reply was "do you all stand there slagging each others rotten tits and piss flaps", she said they didnt take showers after PE, and that her mates in other schools didnt either.
    Now that is bad, sitting the rest of the day in school, a room crammed fully of sweating teenage girls (OK some of you may like that thought!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

sick because they haven't showered the sweat offa them.

Haha, so you'll swim in dead skin, hair, scabs and god knows what else, but not sweat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I would not use a communal shower tbh but most places have cubicled ones anyway or if it's a swimming pool you can leave your swimming gear on.

Some girls put lots of effort into drying their hair apparently so maybe they prefer to do it at home. Me, I just let the wind do the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Is it the same reason they're crap in bed?

excuse me?
    have u slept with every irish girl to justify that statement?

just because u have a foreign girlfriend, no need to make comments like that matey.

on topic/ i would prefer to shpwer at home, depending on how far i lived, if it was a communal shower, but if it was cubicles i'd shower there grand.
    i just dont like getting naked infront of people i dont know, nothing wrong with that, its not like id never shower again!

i agree with the getting into the pool after the gym though .....yuck.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Don't see the big deal tbh. Generally I'd prefer to shower at the gym or wherever but sometimes I'd go home first. Some GAA club showers are so filled with muck you come out dirtier than you went in, also some dressing rooms/showers get so warm and humid that you're as covered with sweat by the time you're dressed as you were before you went in.

but why? why wont you use communal showers? What's the problem? 2 girls above have just said "I wouldn't use them to be honest", why not? Are you uncomfortable being naked in front of other women? From my experience irish women ARE uncomfortable being naked even with a sexual partner, in the beginning anyway, but this is not an issue in our more liberated euro neighbours countries. An uncomfortably naked chick makes for a crap lay too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

ye, manor house in raheny doesn't have showeres!

very smelly.
    rubadub wrote:
    And what about girls schools having showers after PE. I remember years back a girl asking a group of us "so do you's all stand in the shower slagging each others dicks", to which the reply was "do you all stand there slagging each others rotten tits and piss flaps", she said they didnt take showers after PE, and that her mates in other schools didnt either.
    Now that is bad, sitting the rest of the day in school, a room crammed fully of sweating teenage girls (OK some of you may like that thought!)

but why? why wont you use communal showers? What's the problem? 2 girls above have just said "I wouldn't use them to be honest", why not? Are you uncomfortable being naked in front of other women? From my experience irish women ARE uncomfortable being naked even with a sexual partner, in the beginning anyway, but this is not an issue in our more liberated euro neighbours countries. An uncomfortably naked chick makes for a crap lay too.

Only a privileged few get to see me nekkid tbh. There's a huge difference between being naked in front of strangers and being naked in front of a lover.

Why don't you start a thread on your bad experiences with Irish women seeing as you're so obsessed by the topic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Providing they were having showers at home, wouldn't see the problem, personal choice. What makes you think European girls are less uptight? Are you basing this on the topless beach stereotype? I wouldn't consider Irish girls to be particularly prudish.

And you should definitely shower before swimming. Not talking a 20 minute shampoo or anything, just a rinse is all that's needed. What makes you think you sweat more while swimming? Sweating is a cooling mechanism, the pool water compensates.

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Am I obsessed by this topic? Oh no...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

You're making a sweeping generalisation of an entire nation from your sole experiences.

I may add I disagree with you on all counts.

From my own experience that is, not going to be silly and claim the entire nation is one of nudible man eating savages ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭crazymonkey

From my limited experience foreign girl's seem to be into their apperance and personal grooming more than Irish girls do, (and they do shave their armpits, along with other places) But maybe its more to do with the girl than where they are from,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Not getting dragged into argument...

If you are dirty/smelly then you wash, what the people mentioned in the OP did wasnt nice not disgusting as outlined afterwards, its their problem that they dont wash.

Ah... you know you want to. Pity you're not subscribed - it might make for a good debate in S&S.

what's S&S? And while I'm at it - you're a mod - I was banned from the fitness forum a few weeks ago for calling some bodybuilder guy that goes to my gym a tw*t, because all he ever talks about is doing steroids and sells t-shirts of himself on websites etc. The guy doesn't even use boards and I wasn't allowed explain myself. Yet I've been called "fuktard" in threads before and nothing happened to them. Why is this?

Sex and Sexuality forum - for subscribers and mods only.

Different mods have different policies - I only mod the forums under my avatar there and tbh I know nothing about the fitness forum. All that steroids talk freaks me out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I have never seen a Irish woman with hairy armpits, but have seen a few foreign women with them. I was shocked a few months ago with one, thought she was great looking, then leaned back with a small T-shirt, they were worse than my own, and I'm a hairy bastard.

The other odd thing is cublicles in womens showers, I have never seen nor heard of cubicles in mens changing rooms (maybe if there is only 1 or 2 showers) but they seem the norm in womens. Some women are surprised that mens changing rooms do not have cubicles and thought changing rooms would be indentical in the same buildings. Most reasons I have heard is that they are self concious and want to be hidden away, another said it was because of all the crap they bring to the shower with them.

The cubicle thing is also strange for toilets, women going into mens toilets in packed pubs, fellas with their lads out. Yet a man goes into a womans toilet and all hell breaks loose, even though they are locked away with nothing on show, not like they are pissing in the sinks, red raw badly packed kebab hanging out for all to see. I was at the pixies last week, there were a few girls blatantly staring at lads cocks in the toilets, they were not with each other either (girls or fellas)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Next person who brings up the topic of sex gets banned.

Read the charter, or just take me at my word/whim. Whichever really :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,314 ✭✭✭Talliesin

simu wrote:
    Only a privileged few get to see me nekkid tbh.
    I've never really gotten that. I'd be naked right now if it wasn't that this office has frontage and apparantly naked programmers isn't part of the corporate image we're trying to convey (then I'd be less hot, and not need to shower as much - bringing it all back to the original topic).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

im always naked at home,that's why it takes so ling to answer the door :)

meh i don't know why they won't shower without a hairdryer but i suppose they could shower when they go home.It's all the same because it is not like they will be wearing those clothes again after they shower.It's only a few minutes difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Maybe those girls were going home to have sweaty sex that they could not have in the ladies locker room.
    Shame they wasted all that time changing they could have went straight
    home in thier sweats.

Bening naked infront of people who are also naked and changing is not such
    a big deal everyone justs gets on with what ever they are doing.
    Not like your the only naked semi naked person in the room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Simu wrote:
    Only a privileged few get to see me nekkid tbh.

ahh the rules of I will show you mine, you show me yours.
    That changes when you have to give birth, really your not bothered who
    comes in to have a look, but at least they ask before they go shoving fingers
    up to have a feel how far along you are.

Used to be in this country you had a bath once a week and a wash once a day.
    Now it seems it is showers twice or 3 times a day.
    Well I guess if you have a healthy sex life you may need to shower that much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

I dont think it's disgusting at all. Too many people get overly concerned about this stuff. If they're just after being in the gym and go straight home, what's the problem? Fresh sweat doesnt smell bad, only stale sweat does...
    Juimping right into a swimming pool? Yea it'd be nicer if they had a quick shower first, but it really doesnt make a huge difference to what's in the water of the pool.
    Communal showers? It seems most of the Irish women I know would feel uncomfortable in them. I have no idea why. Irish men I know never have a problem with it. I mean come on people, it's only skin!
    Unshaven armpits? Society conditions us into thinking it's unattractive. I've had a girlfriend who didnt shave. Didnt bother me at all. Sure I like it better when women shave, but I wouldnt consider hair to be a turn off.

....and I wonder why people call me a hippy. hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭larryone

Thaed wrote:
    Used to be in this country you had a bath once a week and a wash once a day.
    Now it seems it is showers twice or 3 times a day.
    Well I guess if you have a healthy sex life you may need to shower that much.

That's a good point. When I was young saturday night was bath night. Any other day of the week it was just armpits crotch and feet in front of the sink. Oh, and the back of the neck too...

I shower 4-5 times a week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 368 ✭✭Maynooth

I overheard 2 girls in the steam room of the gym last night saying "There's no way I'm having a shower now I can't blow dry my hair here". So they just got dressed after working out and being in the sauna/steam room and went home with sweat all over them. That's pretty sick. Also, my girlfriend is not irish but she's amazed that the girls at her soccer club don't shower after playing football, they just put their clothes on and go home!?! What's it all about? Are irish girls ashamed of their bodies or afraid to shower in front of each other or are they just unhygienic??

i shower when i go home after the gym, whats the big deal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

If I go to the gym I will shower when I get home. But tbh, I live across the road from the gym so it's not really that big a deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Yeah, I do that too. My clothes are sweaty from working out, so I go straight home and have a shower after a workout, and change.

Talliesin wrote:
    I've never really gotten that. I'd be naked right now if it wasn't that this office has frontage and apparantly naked programmers isn't part of the corporate image we're trying to convey (then I'd be less hot, and not need to shower as much - bringing it all back to the original topic).

Well, I like wearing nice clothes and they're great for protecting you from bruises and scratches and so forth. 24-hour nudity was wisely left behind in the stone age imo.

Thaed wrote:
    ahh the rules of I will show you mine, you show me yours.
    That changes when you have to give birth, really your not bothered who
    comes in to have a look, but at least they ask before they go shoving fingers
    up to have a feel how far along you are.

Again, being naked in a hospital or a doctor's clinic is totally different from being naked in front of strangers in a leisure-club type setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,575 ✭✭✭✭Victor

larryone wrote:
    That's a good point. When I was young saturday night was bath night. Any other day of the week it was just armpits crotch and feet in front of the sink. Oh, and the back of the neck too...
    AND BEHIND YER EARS!!!!!one
    simu wrote:
    Again, being naked in a hospital or a doctor's clinic is totally different from being naked in front of strangers in a leisure-club type setting.
    Yeah the strangers in the leisure club aren't wearing latex gloves. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

K-TRIC wrote:
    Another sick thing is guys working out and then just jumping in to the swimming pool. YUCK !!!! :eek:

Hum well i suggest you don't go swimming again...if you find that "YUCK", then how about the sweat that is dissolving from every swimmers skin while they are swimming, the amount of saliva/nasal fluids in the water, the occasional kid/dirty person that pees in the water, the dirt from other swimmers who haven't showered before entering the pool... :eek: