Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well done George!

• 10-08-2005 2:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭

So we got a phone call last night from my cousin who lives in Boston and this was her news:

Apparently George Bush attended a baseball game in Boston the other day and to celebrate his day out he sent a number of low flying jets in over the city. However,he neglected to inform the citizens that this would be happening.

My cousin and her friends were sitting in their apartment when the building started to shake. They looked out the window only to see a plane heading for them. They all started screaming "Attack! Attack!" and went to hide under their beds.

About 10 minutes after the last jet has flown over,they get up and look out the window again and see everyone on the street lying down,hiding under cars and crying etc.

So well done Georgey! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

oh god! what a spanner.....honestly, what a bloody spanner.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Attack!?

Did they think the US Air Force F-16's were going to crash into them. poor them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Yeah,I mean you'd think someone in the meeting would have said "Eh excuse me Mr. President but maybe we should rethink this idea"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

LOL, what a muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Poor little melodramatic over-reactionists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭roberteboot

The people who ducked and lay down.Also idiots.I mean come on for **** sake.They cant see anything nowadays without panicking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Shutup Robert you spanner.

Everytime I hear of george Bush I picture him as that cartoon from the George Michael video about 3 years ago

In fairness though,it really does just prove how much fear they're living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Bunch of pansies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Schmuck, he really should have known better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

Peteee wrote:
    Attack!?

Did they think the US Air Force F-16's were going to crash into them. poor them

Yeah, wtf@american people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Sarky wrote:
    Poor little melodramatic over-reactionists...

Brilliant post, so true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

cabagges for tinking that thier own air force will try to kill them.over reacting much.

Jesus would someone not tlike tell Dubya that that is a stupid idea SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!

Americans Dead from Terrorist Attacks in Various Recent Years:

2000: None
    2001: 3,000
    2002: None
    2003: None
    2004: None
    2005: None

I'd be quaking in my boots.

Flying some fighter jets over an area isn't irrisponsible, or silly, but the reaction to it is. I wish it happened more, cos fighter jets rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

Would it really save you if a jet was going to crash into your gaff if you hid under your bed helooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

Now they know how all the innocent civilians of Iraq feel. Only a taste of what it's like there.

After the London attacks I'm not surprised they were scared. They didn't know they were American planes,they just saw planes coming at them. I'd be scared if I lived there. I just think it's really sad that people are living in such fear.

Theres a big difference between a 737 and a F-16/F-18/F-22 Whatever they decided to fly over.

If people are living in fear its their fault

joejoem wrote:
    Shutup Robert you spanner.

Everytime I hear of george Bush I picture him as that cartoon from the George Michael video about 3 years ago

Spanner.I love that word.You dont hear it enough.But it seems like alot of people think they were over reacting.Spanner.

I do love that video though.And i do think George Bush is an arsehole.I just also think the people who completely overreacted are arseholes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

There was a similar reaction here the afternoon of the first London bombings, when some fighter planes thought it would be a great idea to get out there over dublin city center & do some low flying aerial manouvers for the red bull air show.

cabagges for tinking that thier own air force will try to kill them.over reacting much.
    QUOTE]

i think if u were living there and if you saw a plane flying low, towards you, ur not going to stop and try to see what kind of plane it is are ya?

i know its been years since the 9/11 but who says its not going to happen again?

Peteee wrote:
    If people are living in fear its their fault
    That's a bit of an unfair statement I think.
    In one way you're right,it is their fault if they chose to live life in fear. I think everyone should live life to it's fullest and not constantly be worried about death.
    However,the Americans lying on the streets were mere civilians . It's not their fault that there's a war on terror. Mr. Bush is the one making the decisions. If you're feeling sorry for the people in Iraq then I don't see much of a difference. Innocent people are innocent people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

Your cousin and all thoses who ran for cover, ducked etc. should have been brought out in front of that baseball game, and publically executed, either by a fireing squd or hung, their choice, for being brainwashed by american "living in fear" propoganda. They really would believe anything that the media tells them.

I think you're being extremely narrow-minded here. 9/11 must have been utterly horrific for Americans. I guarantee you if it happened in Ireland then people would be on edge constantly. If you were there I'm sure it would have caused your stomach to turn at least.

dont be such an utter eegit.
    this person is LadyJ's cousin so a bit uncalled for, saying something like that.

if it happened in ireland i doubt you'd be walking around with an attitude like that.

American and now British propaganda.The terrorists have to do relatively little.The government and the media is doing the terrorists job for them by scaring the living daylights out of their citizens.As well as people spooking themselves.This article says something about it.Although it relates more to London after 7/7.

CLICKITY

But obviously i agree that the events of 9/11 and 7/7 must be horrific for anyone involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭WellyJ

Idiotic post.

WellyJ wrote:
    Idiotic post.

The second part actually makes a very valid point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭drunkenfool

I stand by that post, I lived there for 2 years, watched their television, read their newspapers. Its all scare tactics by the media for the US government. Go live their for 2 years and you'll see. "Today's terror risk is currently at yellow, so that means we should be alright today!!
    go USA!!

I felt i was being pretty decent as well, i did give the OPTION of how they would like to be executed. Not many people would do that. Hell throw Mr. Bush in there too, spice it up a little bit... hehe.

I fully agree with this article. However,of course people are going to be afraid. They can't help it. How can they? Most of them know at least one person who was killed in 9/11. It's in people's nature to be afraid of death.

1984 anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

lol even more proof that hes a muppet :rolleyes:

Worst post... ever

Rhyme wrote:
    Worst post... ever

I dont know.Yours was pretty pointless.

Ouch, im scorned... perhaps drunkenfool will execute me

7/7.
    please stop calling it that

Yeah sorry.It actually pisses me off too but i was writing quickly and figured everyone would be familiar with it.

Its a good example of how the media fell over themselves to relate those attacks with the attacks of 9/11 in order to increase the fear and the strength of their story even though there was very little comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

fighter jets for a baseball game!? tis a bit much!

u would never see bertie deploy our one eyed monkey attached to a balloon holding a grenade over the all ireland final

Yeah sorry.It actually pisses me off too but i was writing quickly and figured everyone would be familiar with it.

Its a good example of how the media fell over themselves to relate those attacks with the attacks of 9/11 in order to increase the fear and the strength of their story even though there was very little comparison.
    yeah its sickening isnt it :rolleyes:
    magick wrote:
    fighter jets for a baseball game!? tis a bit much!

u would never see bertie deploy our one eyed monkey attached to a balloon holding a grenade over the all ireland final
    lol

The media this... the media that... oh the evil media! They're coming for you! OH stay away ebil media harr harrr....

you're talking about the media as if they are deliberately trying to control the american people. What the hell would be the point on every news station in america reporting BS... Just to scare the pants off of millions and millions of americans, because they get a kick out of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Am i the only one who doesnt really care about George Bush? Feck it, he has planes at his disposal, id prob play with them too.

First post is a bit vague though. ie. George Bush was at a baseball game and decided to send in a few low flying planes. Any particular reason why? I cant see him doin it just for the craic like

ColHol wrote:
    Am i the only one who doesnt really care about George Bush? Feck it, he has planes at his disposal, id prob play with them too.

First post is a bit vague though. ie. George Bush was at a baseball game and decided to send in a few low flying planes. Any particular reason why? I cant see him doin it just for the craic like
    Apparently it was to announce/celebrate his arrival in Boston.

ColHol wrote:

IT was to celebrate the fact he was at a baseball game. He loves his baseball, our george. HE celebrates everything with low flying aircraft. His birthday, he celebrats saturdays, christmas, easter, holloween.. Hell, even when he takes a crap, he just loves to celebrate it with low flying aircraft. Is there anything better than a low flying aircraft going "NNNNNNNNNNNNNNEEEEEEEEEEEEUUUUUUUUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMMMMM" over you under your command, to make you feel like the most powerful man on the planet?

mang87 wrote:
    The media this... the media that... oh the evil media! They're coming for you! OH stay away ebil media harr harrr....

you're talking about the media as if they are deliberately trying to control the american people. What the hell would be the point on every news station in america reporting BS... Just to scare the pants off of millions and millions of americans, because they get a kick out of it?

THEYRE COMING FOR ME?!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭por

LadyJ wrote:
    So we got a phone call last night from my cousin who lives in Boston and this was her news:

Apparently George Bush attended a baseball game in Boston the other day and to celebrate his day out he sent a number of low flying jets in over the city. However,he neglected to inform the citizens that this would be happening.

My cousin and her friends were sitting in their apartment when the building started to shake. They looked out the window only to see a plane heading for them. They all started screaming "Attack! Attack!" and went to hide under their beds.

About 10 minutes after the last jet has flown over,they get up and look out the window again and see everyone on the street lying down,hiding under cars and crying etc.

So well done Georgey! :rolleyes:

What a crock of s**T, I cannot find a single word about Bush being at a baseball game in Boston or any sort of fly by in the past 6 months.

Can you supply a link to a news story about this , if not you or your cousin are making it all up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

me hides under car .Je suis ooberly scared.

por wrote:
    What a crock of s**T, I cannot find a single word about Bush being at a baseball game in Boston or any sort of fly by in the past 6 months.

Can you supply a link to a news story about this , if not you or your cousin are making it all up
    It was in Fenway park. All I know.
    She wouldn't just make it up! :rolleyes:
    Also,I doubt it would make the news. Anyway,believe what ya like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭por

LadyJ wrote:
    It was in Fenway park. All I know.
    She wouldn't just make it up! :rolleyes:
    Also,I doubt it would make the news. Anyway,believe what ya like.

What do you think he is there every odd game, of course it would make the news, and the fly over is something that doesn't happen everyday.

She made it up !!!!

por wrote:
    What do you think he is there every odd game, of course it would make the news, and the fly over is something that doesn't happen everyday.

She made it up !!!!
    Like I said,believe what ya like. I'll be talking to her soon enough and I'll grill her then. Relax will ya! :rolleyes:

por wrote:

She made it up !!!!

OH yeah, just for the laugh, like? She woke up this morning and thought "Wow, my friend in Ireland would just love it if I made up a far fetched story that could never happen in a million years and is totaly unbelievable... but what?!?! ... hmm... pool? No, he doesn't play pool!... GOLF!!!... nah, that's been done... Oh, I have it, BASEBALL!... AND LOW FLYING AIRCRAFT!!!!! Yes, I tihnk that's a winner right there"