Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Southside-V-Northside?? WTF??

• 03-08-2005 11:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭

whats the deal with southsiders having something against northsiders as if they are "higher class" or sumthin. i personally have nothin against southsiders (im a northsider) but they seem to look down on me as if im scum r sumthin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

WTF?

Why don't you use the search function and see how many times this retarded ****ing topic is posted....?

loike,wtf, loike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Maybe you are scum. Did you stop to consider that?

But no, seriously, topic has been done to death, always ends up with a load of flaming. It's just a stupid topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 MO141278

AMEN!!!

but go southsiders anyway!
    :) hehehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭KroG

Yup Southside rules :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

south coast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭phil15

thats exactly what im talking bout. i dont hav anythin against u guys and already u are dissin northsiders. come up 4 air. u are so childish and prob even older than me anyways.

i don't give a flying **** which part of dublin you are from.....

but I'll advise you of one thing....if you keep writing in text speak you will be banned for stupidity. There is a whole keyboard in front of you...use it. Some abbreviation is grand but your sentences are bordering on gibberish

RuggieBear wrote:
    i don't give a flying **** which part of dublin you are from.....

but I'll advise you of one thing....if you keep writing in text speak you will be banned for stupidity. There is a whole keyboard in front of you...use it. Some abbreviation is grand but your sentences are bordering on gibberish
    well you may have a point but i also think you are trying to stray from the topic.

living at a certain location doesn't make you any more superior than anybody else even if they live in an area with a bad rep.

don't know how southsiders would live without brown thomas

phil15 wrote:
    well you may have a point but i also think you are trying to stray from the topic.

you got me.....at least you are typing clearly now.

but seriously this is a tedious debate that has been done to death countless times on boards...and you really don't help your argument of southsiders looking down on you when you make remarks about Brown thomas and rubbish like that. Makes you sound like you have an inferiority complex and are generalising as much as those people you have "a deal" with....

if it has been done to death, i wasnt part of it, and obviously you were. why dont you just let people who wernt there when it was done before have their opinion instead of complaining. anyway, if i posted on one of the previous post about this there would be a riot about bringing up old posts and stuff.

phil15 wrote:
    anyway, if i posted on one of the previous post about this there would be a riot about bringing up old posts and stuff.

very true....sometimes, there is just no winning.... ;)

i only wanted to know what the story was with it. didnt expect an argument. i expected people would express their opinion and respect others opinions.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

east coast massive aigh lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

North side rules tbh

YAY!!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Culchies > Northsiders + Southsiders. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭horseflesh

Why can't we just unite against the common enemy; the culchie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

phil15 wrote:

I'm a northsider but hey, look, it's funny how you moan about people making generalisations...and then you go and make a broad, sweeping generalisation yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,912 ✭✭✭✭28064212

horseflesh wrote:
    Why can't we just unite against the common enemy; the culchie.
    Because you'd lose. We have tractors and pikes and everything

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

not this crap again, its being discussed to death, in region- east- dublin city FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 dynasty crew

Why do dubliners always go on about this as if they're the only people that this happens to. It's the same anywhere (yes places outside of dublin exist), there will always be a rivalry between two places beside each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Megatron

Why do dubliners always go on about this as if they're the only people that this happens to. It's the same anywhere (yes places outside of dublin exist), there will always be a rivalry between two places beside each other.

we do this because those places you speak of outside of Dublin are not as important as dublin .... full of Chulchies i hear ... :p

why dont you start your own culchie rivalry post?

or why dont you go to the Dublin City board?

or why dont you learn how to speak proper english?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭Downtime

phil15 wrote:

Pot meet kettle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

Its Pronounced Nuclear, The s is silent :p

On Topicish: This has come up 4 times since i joined, it wasn't resolved then and it probably won't now, let it go!

Awaits the next "God i hate scumbags" Thread.

On topic: there are people on both sides of the liffey that are Posh twats/scumbags.

phil15 wrote:

what would be the difference between what you and i posted?

Mossy Monk wrote:
    what would be the difference between what you and i posted?
    i said speak not type. i can barely understand what culchies say. its like their own language.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Nidge

phil15 wrote:

I don't really know what you mean by this, I've never bought anything there, and if you mean what would we do without it because it's supposedly on the Northside, then you're wrong, because there's one on Grafton Street.

Nidge wrote:
    I don't really know what you mean by this, I've never bought anything there, and if you mean what would we do without it because it's supposedly on the Northside, then you're wrong, because there's one on Grafton Street.
    actually im not wrong, you just took it up wrong. therefore you are wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭ANarcho-Munk

eeeemmmmmmoooooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭snappieT

RuggieBear wrote:
    you got me.....at least you are typing clearly now.

but seriously this is a tedious debate that has been done to death countless times on boards...and you really don't help your argument of southsiders looking down on you when you make remarks about Brown thomas and rubbish like that. Makes you sound like you have an inferiority complex and are generalising as much as those people you have "a deal" with....
    But I'm a Northsider, and it just so happens that I enjoy shopping in Brown Thomas. First you say southsiders shouldn't discriminate against northsiders, then you differnetiate between the north and southsiders again.

On a side note, nothing will beat some club on Junior Cert Night. Strictly northsiders downstairs, southsiders upstairs. Sucked.

phil15 wrote:
    i said speak not type. i can barely understand what culchies say. its like their own language.

aaaaaaaal roight bud, yeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    i am amazed how some think everyone outside the pale sound the same

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

phil15 wrote:
    Did you ever think that maybe it is because you can't speak English...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭m_stan

what a stupid thread. are you really expecting any answers or just trying to start a flame ? really - some people have more time than sense !

btw - I'm a nortsider and couldn't give a rats *rse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 yousowould

roysh, lets sort this out once and for all.

so there i was, other side of the bridge, we're talking O'Connell Bridge, and theres a goy selling newspapers who shouts something in Northside, which i dont understand, though i think i catch the word, 'Hedild' in there somewhere.

The whole focking street is just, like, burger bors, with all those peasants in them getting their dinner. We cross over onto this traffic island, and this goy- twenty quid jeans and hundred-quid runners, usual scobie uniform- he bumps me with his shoulder as he's passing me, we're talking on purpose here. i turn around , roysh, and hes come back towards me, going 'Have you got a bleedin' problem?' Im there, 'You just bumped into me. Did your old dear not teach you how to say sorry, or was she too busy on the game?

so basically, roysh, what separates humans from animals? da liffey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

phil15 wrote:
    whats the deal with southsiders having something against northsiders as if they are "higher class" or sumthin. i personally have nothin against southsiders (im a northsider) but they seem to look down on me as if im scum r sumthin.
    There's just as much scum (as in joyriders, shoplifters, thugs, etc.) on the southside as there is the northside. There's also just as many snobs on the northside as there is on the south.

Tallagh (Jobstown, etc.), Clondalkin (Neilstown, Bawnogue), Ballyfermot, Crumlin, Drimnagh, Palmerstown, Inchicore, Dolphin's Barn, The Coombe, James Street, Pearse Street.... They're all on the southside of the Liffey. Even the likes of Ringsend is full of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Another one of these threads........ :rolleyes: didn't we just have one not so long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

We should just burn all compasses and be done with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: BLEEEEEEEDIN' STOOOORRRRY BUD... WAAH?! :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

southise c unts :D nah only mesing this thread is sad surely not another one delete please :rolleyes:

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Did you ever think that maybe it is because you can't speak English...?
    i thought about it.....and i was amazed when i realized i could. my parents are so proud of me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

I think the "WTF" covers this whole thread adequately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

it boils down to this: Northsiders have an inferiority complex and southsiders have a superiority complex
    the divide in dublin isn't really northside/southside along the liffey, its really an east/west divide, the axis of symmetry runs north-south down through the middle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭gregos

This northside you speak of - where is it?

ok so some people here have a point, others are retarded or challenged. i'm not saying anything else cause there are too many retards drooling all over this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 dynasty crew

what does roysh mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

actually whenever I have strolled up to the northside I have found the Northside to be very Anti-Southside and not vice versa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭baby*cham*bell

yousowould wrote:
    roysh, lets sort this out once and for all.

so there i was, other side of the bridge, we're talking O'Connell Bridge, and theres a goy selling newspapers who shouts something in Northside, which i dont understand, though i think i catch the word, 'Hedild' in there somewhere.

The whole focking street is just, like, burger bors, with all those peasants in them getting their dinner. We cross over onto this traffic island, and this goy- twenty quid jeans and hundred-quid runners, usual scobie uniform- he bumps me with his shoulder as he's passing me, we're talking on purpose here. i turn around , roysh, and hes come back towards me, going 'Have you got a bleedin' problem?' Im there, 'You just bumped into me. Did your old dear not teach you how to say sorry, or was she too busy on the game?

so basically, roysh, what separates humans from animals? da liffey
    the r'ock publishers are gonna sue you're little ass!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Culchies > Northsiders + Southsiders. :)

I agree : 0 > 1 + ( - 1,000,000)

Haha! -1000000 for those evil southsiders! That'll show em! *shakes fist*