Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barcelona Bus Syndrome.

• 07-07-2005 11:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭

Yes, it is early July and it has begun in earnest. You can be sitting quietly on a bus going somewhere and then suddenly they invade, dozens of them. You'd think you were on a bus in Barcelona! Yes folks, the foreign students have arrived and like flying ants, they are everywhere, Spanish, French, Italians etc.

They are there chatting away, noisy as can be. Then again, have you ever been on a bus with a gang of Irish teenagers? No real difference if we are honest, except for the language.

A few years ago a friend of mine, who is nun was on a bus. There was a gang of Italian students on it. A man, who was a bit unusual or had something wrong with him got on. The students started talking about him to each other. My friend, who had spent some time studying in Rome, had very good Italian and understood every word. She said nothing. Then, when it came to her stop she got up to get off. She turned to the students and in perfect Italian said to them that they should not be talking about people like that and that some Irish people did understand Italian! :) The shock of them being rumbled and the fact that it was by a nun would have been something!:o A real 'sock it to em' story! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

i'm just upset that the spray-on pants fashion never caught on here

/letch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭Tiffany

Ironically, in Bray yesterday (swarming with them) I was walking along with a friend and as I was mentioning how they constantly block the paths, well you get the picture.... :rolleyes:

Still, it could be worse: Spanish skangers, anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

They do me head in! But the girls grow up to be such beautiful women! (still annoying though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭She-Ra

it took me 5 minutes to get from the molly malone statue to the bus stop on the corner the other day.. grrrrrrrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

In fairness to them they tend to stay in large loud groups at home too. I always thought it was they were just doing it here but it's just the difference in society. They are very social with each other and don't seem to be bothered by lack of personal sapce. I was in Madrid recently and people seemd to actual gravitate towards each other to make confined spaces. Compared to many Spanish cities Dublin looks quite small and provincial.
    Irish teens slag of people on buses when they know they can be heard and understood. I like having the tourists about and I hope we don't end up just giving out about them as they saved this country before the good times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭She-Ra

tis true, but the only thing that grates on my nerves is when i'm tryin to get home from work and 90 of them are shoulder to shoulder, there is just NO penetrating them.. and if ya DO manage it... bless yourself coz ya could be in there for some time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I just hate the way they'll stand in a big crowd where ever the feel.
    10 of them will stand in a shop entrance, completely oblivious to the fact that people are trying to get in/out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I suppose its normal in spain to completely block a path and then ignore polite requests like "excuse me" as people try to get through? no skin of my nose, i just get to plow through the little feckers with a clear conscience :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭iMax

Was on a bus this morning with about 40 of them. Found them to be perfectly polite. Not one tracksuit, crappy haircut or baseball cap at a "jaunty" angle among them. I'd take them over some of the scum who are nationals.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Yeah, was at batman begins last night (great!) and half the cinema was full of spanish people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

BizzyC wrote:
    10 of them will stand in a shop entrance, completely oblivious to the fact that people are trying to get in/out of it.
    Then the problem is you are too polite - standing on feet and poking with elbows works wonders.

Dublin people do the same.

Bambi wrote:
    I suppose its normal in spain to completely block a path and then ignore polite requests like "excuse me" as people try to get through? no skin of my nose, i just get to plow through the little feckers with a clear conscience :D
    It may sound crazy but that's what they do when at home. You just barge through them and they don't see it as being impolite. It is us who are being too senseitive about it. You can do it without being aggresive.
    I saw four old people sitting on a bench in Madrid, they were practicly sitiing on each other and nobody seemed bothered. Here you would be lucky to have two strangers sitting on the same bench let alone over crowd it. Mind you many different people would not crowd into a small smelly room and consume 4-5 litres of liquid while standing and think it's great fun. :)

christ lads, yizi'll need yoga classes if yis bend over backwards anymore to make excuses for 'em. I know we should only be moaning about skangers and all but the lecca leccas are a summer plague

When i tell someone i want to get past them and they ignore it then they're being ignorant, i really dont care what part of the world they're from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭*Sassy*

iMax wrote:
    Was on a bus this morning with about 40 of them. Found them to be perfectly polite. Not one tracksuit, crappy haircut or baseball cap at a "jaunty" angle among them. I'd take them over some of the scum who are nationals.

There are plenty of skangers in Spain, believe me. They are the exact same as the ones here, and just as annoying. They swarm around on stupid noisy mopeds with their caps perched at an angle just like the fellas here! Just remember that the ones who are here are being sent over by their parents to learn English, so they're more likely to be fairly respectable.

Bambi wrote:
    When i tell someone i want to get past them and they ignore it then they're being ignorant, i really dont care what part of the world they're from.

It really depends on what way you are using the word ignorant. As they don't know any better it is lack of knowledge, if you mean they are doing to be rude I think you are wrong. You can't expect people from all aound the world to arrive in Ireland and then know exactly how to behave or the cultural differences.
    When they are here we are the hosts and should treat them nicely. And before you say when in Rome ... bear in mind I think the rest of that goes or they will kill you.
    Tourists are still a vital part of our economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Jesus h christ. The Irish really are a bunch of miserable ****ing ***** arent they?

The most unwelcoming, begrudging, arseholish bunch in the world.

Every ****ing year this same **** comes up, people moaning about Spanish students. There is nothing wrong with these people! Heaven ****ing forbid if they speak above wisper level on public transport, and heaven forbid if they gather in *gasp*, GROUPS! Dublin is a tiny little town, alot of people who are friends and want to stay together on holiday will sadly block it up a bit!

Can anyone for just five minutes have a little patience and realise that these people enjoy coming here and also put money into the economy? They harm noone, unlike our indigenous population, and the women are complete rides half the time!

The idea of the Irish as a welcoming race is so ****ing wide of the mark, its unreal.

Jesus h christ. The Irish really are a bunch of miserable ****ing ***** arent they?

That's nonsense it's is beginging to get a bit like that but no where nearly that bad. Regardless of what has happened in London those living there are not friendly to tourists. Tourists about during rush hour anywhere bugs people.
    And what are we begruding? There seems to be a growing number of people that just use media worlds and phrases without actually thinking :p
    I friends from all around and they really do rate the Irish people as friendly when here. The novelty of tourists has really worn off from when I was a kid in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that people bemoaning spanish students are just a whingey bunch of ****s looking for any excuse to whinge.

Shut up.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The most unwelcoming, begrudging, arseholish bunch in the world.../...Can anyone for just five minutes have a little patience and realise that these people enjoy coming here and also put money into the economy? They harm noone, unlike our indigenous population, and the women are complete rides half the time!

The idea of the Irish as a welcoming race is so ****ing wide of the mark, its unreal.
    Nail on head sir, nail on head. That said I find the Irish much more welcoming outside the country.

Agree with morningstar on this one too. The Spanish have way less hangups about personal space than we do. It's very refreshing. Going on the rip in Madrid is great crack. I can heartily recommend it. Funny thing is though, that I found them not as chatty with complete strangers the way the Irish are. EG I was on the tear in Madrid recently and overheard two Irish blokes chattin' away about Portmarnock. I had to jump in with, "Jaysus, they let northsiders in, standards are slippin". One of them replies " it's worse than that, I'm a culshie". Big chat was commenced and much drinking ensued. The Spanish I was with were quite taken aback by the idea that the Irish would address strangers in such a familiar manner.

I won't even go on about the price of beer and being allowed to have a ciggie in peace(and the big mad rides everywhere) :D .

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I think that anyone who travels to another country, and acts in a manner that has no appreciation for the customs of the people around them is ignorant.

Although, at least they are well behaved.
    Apart from getting in the way, they do nothing wrong.

The Irish are a welcoming race (in public anyway) we just reserve the right to moan about foreigners behind their backs.

I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that people bemoaning spanish students are just a whingey bunch of ****s looking for any excuse to whinge.

Shut up.

Your ideas intrigue me and I would like to subscribe to your newsletter :D

Every ****ing year this same **** comes up, people moaning about Spanish students. There is nothing wrong with these people! Heaven ****ing forbid if they speak above wisper level on public transport, and heaven forbid if they gather in *gasp*, GROUPS! Dublin is a tiny little town, alot of people who are friends and want to stay together on holiday will sadly block it up a bit!

Can anyone for just five minutes have a little patience and realise that these people enjoy coming here and also put money into the economy? They harm noone, unlike our indigenous population, and the women are complete rides half the time!

usual whining marion-finucane-calling response, "us irish are terrible" blah blah. Yeah how dare we criticise anyone except ourselves. Everythings our own fault dont you know, so bladdy backwards in this country Marion etc etc

the leccas are a bleedin nuisance. And i've no idea how the hell you learn a foreign langauge by roaming the city in packs of SIX MILLION roaring your head off in spainish at your mates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

He he, this thread is funny because actually the other day, my boyfriend and I were on the bus on the top deck, and I'd say most of the other passengers were Spanish or Italian. My boyfriend though they were Italian, then I heard one say "bambino" so I thought they were Spanish. Dunno though :)

Twas gas, there were just so many of them!

Do they stay with families during the summer or something over here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Bambi wrote:
    the leccas
    Whats a lecca ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bambi wrote:
    usual whining marion-finucane-calling response, "us irish are terrible" blah blah. Yeah how dare we criticise anyone except ourselves. Everythings our own fault dont you know, so bladdy backwards in this country Marion etc etc

the leccas are a bleedin nuisance. And i've no idea how the hell you learn a foreign langauge by roaming the city in packs of SIX MILLION roaring your head off in spainish at your mates
    I think you've just proved his point.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I think there was a point there and you never even saw it *stabs*

leccas= my mates term for hordes of forrign language students, due to the sound of their combined voices when they approach resembling "lecca lecca lecca" :D

Your ideas intrigue me and I would like to subscribe to your newsletter :D

Name added to the list. Expect your "Culling of the idiot masses" newsletter bi-weekly.

Act now and you can subscribe to "Boardsers say the darndest things" for a mere €33 per year. We'll also throw in a special set of goggles to protect your IQ from threads like this.

BizzyC wrote:
    I think that anyone who travels to another country, and acts in a manner that has no appreciation for the customs of the people around them is ignorant.

If you are going to use the word ingnorant understand that you aren't being very clear.

ignorant
    adj

1. Knowing very little; uneducated.
    Thesaurus: untrained, illiterate, uneducated, superstitious, vulgar, crude; Antonym: learned, tutored.
    2. Knowing little or nothing about it.
    Example: ignorant of the facts
    Thesaurus: unaware, unconscious, uninformed, in the dark, green, misguided, inexperienced, unwitting, innocent, naive, misinformed, benighted; Antonym: cognizant.
    Form: ignorant of something (usually)
    3. Rude; ill-mannered.

Derivative: ignorantly
    adverb

Etymology: 14c: French, from Latin ignorare not to know.

So are these people being intentionally rude or just lack the knowledege in your eyes. To be intentionally rude you need to understand you are doing something wrong IMHO.

Name added to the list. Expect your "Culling of the idiot masses" newsletter bi-weekly.

Act now and you can subscribe to "Boardsers say the darndest things" for a mere €33 per year. We'll also throw in a special set of goggles to protect your IQ from threads like this.

Sign me up. May I humbly put forward my services as a feature writer, with reduction in subscription charges naturally?

Sure, why not?

The doctor told me not to get idiots into my IQ ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭morlan

You must remember that Spain has a far larger population than Ireland and therefore their cities are designed to cope with large crowds of people. Look and Barcelona and Madrid, they're footpaths tend to be twice as wide and not to mention the countless communal squares and plazas.. Dublin is just a small provintial town compared to many Spanish cities and it lacks the capacity for dense crowds. We also tend not to hang around outside because of the ****e weather.

Also, due to our small population, the Irish tend to have a lot more personal space compared to other large European cities. We are all quite reserved and polite, we automatically say 'Sorry' if we touch off each other in the slightest. The Spanish are used to being crammed together - if you need to get by you just push and shove!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Spicy Lauren

There is nothing wrong with these people! Heaven ****ing forbid if they speak above wisper level on public transport, and heaven forbid if they gather in *gasp*, GROUPS!

True.
    I find Irish slappers much more annoying, with their high pitched voices and their complete lack of class and intelligence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Well said (to Karl Hungus as well - sign me up for that newsletter too).

Incidentally, in a poll of a load of countries last year on who their favourite tourists are, Ireland came 2nd last as our behaviour abroad is generally seen as very annoying to the locals - we tend to behave much worse than other nationalities when abroad, I would say much worse than the foreign students do over here.

The Spanish have very different manners to the Irish & British people. When we say "thank you", "please", "excuse me" etc and they don't, it is not because they are rude, it is just because their culture doesn't require it. Countries like Japan are even more polite than Ireland, so we are probably seen as very rude to them when we are over there.

The Spanish students bring in MASSIVE amounts of money to our economy every year, and as they normally stay with host families this money goes directly to every day people & families, not just to big corporations.

As for the comments about them sticking together - don't try and tell me that Irish students would behave any different if sent in a group to Spain.

eoin_s wrote:
    Well said (to Karl Hungus as well - sign me up for that newsletter too).

Incidentally, in a poll of a load of countries last year on who their favourite tourists are, Ireland came 2nd last as our behaviour abroad is generally seen as very annoying to the locals - we tend to behave much worse than other nationalities when abroad, I would say much worse than the foreign students do over here.

Are you sure we were the 2nd worse? I know there was a survey recently and we weren't 2nd worst or even in the bottom ten. I know there was a survey taken in spanish resorts and Ireland was not looking good. Not 100% sure myself but you might have mixed it up. I know when I am away I don't want to be with a bunch of irish people and avoid them in general and I think that is how most irish people are on holiday IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Are you sure we were the 2nd worse? I know there was a survey recently and we weren't 2nd worst or even in the bottom ten. I know there was a survey taken in spanish resorts and Ireland was not looking good. Not 100% sure myself but you might have mixed it up. I know when I am away I don't want to be with a bunch of irish people and avoid them in general and I think that is how most irish people are on holiday IMHO.

This was last year, so things may have changed but I am sure it was 2nd last (just ahead of the British). I think Germans were the most popular, because although they may not have been the life of the party, they are quiet, tidy and very polite.

I always cringe when I am abroad and see a bunch of micks taking the mick. They dominate every environment they are in, and can be quite intimidating to the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭keevita

Tiffany wrote:
    Ironically, in Bray yesterday (swarming with them) I was walking along with a friend and as I was mentioning how they constantly block the paths, well you get the picture.... :rolleyes:

Still, it could be worse: Spanish skangers, anyone?

im living in barcelona at the moment, spanish skangers,well catalan ones anyway= v funny. they´re called nens. so their equivelant of ´storee bud?´ is ´que pasa neeeeeeeeeen?´ try saying that to the spanish students! :D

morlan wrote:
    You must remember that Spain has a far larger population than Ireland and therefore their cities are designed to cope with large crowds of people. Look and Barcelona and Madrid, they're footpaths tend to be twice as wide and not to mention the countless communal squares and plazas.. Dublin is just a small provintial town compared to many Spanish cities and it lacks the capacity for dense crowds. We also tend not to hang around outside because of the ****e weather.

Also, due to our small population, the Irish tend to have a lot more personal space compared to other large European cities. We are all quite reserved and polite, we automatically say 'Sorry' if we touch off each other in the slightest. The Spanish are used to being crammed together - if you need to get by you just push and shove!

Sorry, but that is just...... rubbish. Have you ever been in town on a Saturday? People would literally walk THROUGH you if they could get away with it. No one says sorry. Yeah Spain has a big population but the streets are no more or less crammed than they are here. And as for Spanish people being used to being crammed together and not minding their personal space as much, that is complete bullology!! They are just the same as us! Honestly, I don't know where people come up with these ideas. People in Spain might speak a different language but they are just the same as us (except for obvious cultural differences). Send a gang of students of any nationality anywhere and they will act similarly.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

eoin_s wrote:
    As for the comments about them sticking together - don't try and tell me that Irish students would behave any different if sent in a group to Spain.

I refuse to believe anything like this until you post a source.

Anybody can pull "facts" out of their arse try proving them

*Sassy* wrote:
    Sorry, but that is just...... rubbish. Have you ever been in town on a Saturday? People would literally walk THROUGH you if they could get away with it. No one says sorry. Yeah Spain has a big population but the streets are no more or less crammed than they are here. And as for Spanish people being used to being crammed together and not minding their personal space as much, that is complete bullology!! They are just the same as us! Honestly, I don't know where people come up with these ideas. People in Spain might speak a different language but they are just the same as us (except for obvious cultural differences). Send a gang of students of any nationality anywhere and they will act similarly.

Have you been in a Spanish City? Have you been in a Spanish appartment?
    I find it hard to belive you have been if you don't see the differnce. Spanish people are certainly different to Irish people as can been see by out pub culture versus their cafe one. THey went through a devistating civil war more recently than us and have a few differnt mixed culture (Catalan etc..) from the same country. To say they are the same as us indicated you ignorance of history and present. THe obvious cultural difference include years of living in big cities with home density at a level we are no where near.

http://www.nationmaster.com/graph-T/geo_pop_den

115. Spain 78.43 people per sqkm

139. Ireland 52.74 people per sqkm

Big difference and that's just people not homes. OUr tallest building isn't even residential or close to some of their standard ones.
    You don't know what you are talking about

Excuse me, I lived in Spain for a year and a half, in 3 different cities, WITH Spanish people. So don't try and tell me I don't know what I'm talking about please. Anyone can go and pull statistics off the internet. I fail to see how historical events affect peoples' perception of personal space. Anyway, you are obviously much more clued in than I am. I won't take up any more of your time with my 'ignorant' ramblings.

*Sassy* wrote:
    I won't take up any more of your time with my 'ignorant' ramblings.
    Good,I doubt you are telling the truth considering what you already said and the stats I have given also show otherwise. There isn't much manipulation on such straight stats like number of people versus amount of land. Instead of just giving your opinion you lambasted everyone else

You doubt I'm telling the truth about what? The only reason I replied to this thread is because I actually do know a lot about Spain. Anyway, I don't see what your points have to do with the original issue. And where did I lambaste anyone? I simply pointed out that Irish people are just as unlikely to say sorry when bumping into someone in the street. How that has anything to do with the height of buildings and civil war I don't know. I did specify that apart from the obvious cultural differences (caused by things such as Franco's dictatorship) we are generally the same - as people.

Good,I doubt you are telling the truth considering what you already said and the stats I have given also show otherwise. There isn't much manipulation on such straight stats like number of people versus amount of land. Instead of just giving your opinion you lambasted everyone else

great, your stats are rock solid. Way to go on the the stats. but good chap.

bottom line:

The sheer numbers of these kids, their inability to figure out that blocking streets and entrances is wrong makes them a nuisance. yis can whine about how terrible us irish are as well, and slappers and skangers and all that usual irrelevant guff just because you're amazed some irish people would dare to moan about anything other than each other but the fact stands.

Now you can argue that their nuiscance factor is due to a cultural misunderstanding, but does it take a degree in cultural studies to figure out that ignoring someone who's politley trying to squeeze past you is'nt the done thing? Does it take my bag having to used as a battering ram to navigate this culture clash?? yeah, usually it does. Cultural misunderstanding me arás

it's plain bad manners on a basic human level. Its has sweet FA to with culture, and even if it did, that's what they're over here for isnt it? To learn the language and culture of another country? so they might as well learn that that type of behaviour is a no-no.

I agree. Nothing to do with culture (and the people to land ratio :rolleyes:). If you bang into someone in the street in Barcelona you'll know about it pretty quickly. Same as here. Kids will be kids and will not be on their best behaviour when unsupervised.

*Sassy* wrote:
    And where did I lambaste anyone? I simply pointed out that Irish people are just as unlikely to say sorry when bumping into someone in the street.
    *Sassy* wrote:
    Sorry, but that is just...... rubbish

that is complete bullology!
    Yes being very reasonable and respectfull of what others think. :rolleyes: You didn't point anything out you just said everybody else is wrong.
    *Sassy* wrote:
    Yeah Spain has a big population but the streets are no more or less crammed than they are here
    You see that is your opinon and not supported by the facts. The streets are more crammed than here because there are more people per square foot. They have a huge appartment style life as so they are more accustomed to living close to each other. If you don't agree say why and don't just dismiss it.
    *Sassy* wrote:
    I did specify that apart from the obvious cultural differences (caused by things such as Franco's dictatorship) we are generally the same - as people.
    I think one of the obvious cultural differences is the fact they aren't so bothered by personal space. So what you think is obvious seems strange to me and unstated. These are my opinions from my experiences you can disagree but you don't need to just say it's not true because you say so!

I saw groups of teenagers over there act exactly as they do here and people weren't bothered or surprised by it. So I don't think the spanish see it as rude I don't see irish teens act the same way all the time so I feel it is a cultural difference and I think people should be tolerant. I also think people should be polite and not dismiss opinon off hand

I think people should be tolerant. I also think people should be polite and not dismiss opinon off hand
    ... and pigs might fly.

I also think people should be polite and not dismiss opinon off hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Flukey wrote:
    Yes, it is early July and it has begun in earnest. You can be sitting quietly on a bus going somewhere and then suddenly they invade, dozens of them. You'd think you were on a bus in Barcelona! Yes folks, the foreign students have arrived and like flying ants, they are everywhere, Spanish, French, Italians etc.

They are there chatting away, noisy as can be. Then again, have you ever been on a bus with a gang of Irish teenagers? No real difference if we are honest, except for the language.

A few years ago a friend of mine, who is nun was on a bus. There was a gang of Italian students on it. A man, who was a bit unusual or had something wrong with him got on. The students started talking about him to each other. My friend, who had spent some time studying in Rome, had very good Italian and understood every word. She said nothing. Then, when it came to her stop she got up to get off. She turned to the students and in perfect Italian said to them that they should not be talking about people like that and that some Irish people did understand Italian! :) The shock of them being rumbled and the fact that it was by a nun would have been something!:o A real 'sock it to em' story! :)

Nice one :D similar thing happened to us on a train one time,there was a group of Spanish students really loud (and scruffy as well :rolleyes: ) and there was a few of us drinking cans,anyway a mate of mine speaks very good Spanish and he whispered to us that the Spanish were slagging us about drinking (those lightweights never drink anyway :rolleyes: ) so with that we sat tight for a while when my mate suddendly jumps up and started shouting at them in Spanish,he said "not so smart now are you,you thought no Irish spoke your language you bunch of **** :D they looked at him in amazement and moved down the carraige in silence as we jeered,result,mind you it could've been worse if we would've been nasty about it they would've got a slap for bad mouthing us when we were minding our own business..im not having a go at all of them.but quite a lot of them are ignorant fcuks,and fcukin noisy c unts as well

dont be so intolerant, the "slagging" is merely a cultural misunderstanding which is a direct result to the annual rain fall on the plains in spain offset against GNP. I have some statistics here to prove it...