Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Watch the Channel 4 Promo for 'Lost'

• 05-07-2005 12:57am
    Registered Users Posts: 43,835 ✭✭✭✭

Watch here! (click 'Play Ad')
    OR Download it here

Very weird... to say the least!

Not sure if i like it... gives out the wrong message of what the show is actually about. Hopefully future promos will show more action - such as footage from the plane crash etc.

Oh... and did the ad remind anyone else of an advert for some sort of new Calvin Klein fragrance?! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,912 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users Posts: 9,002 ✭✭✭mad m

Holy crap.Looks like a bunch of Trinity heads going home after a Trinity ball or a few debs students calling it a night on Killiney beach. :D

That was very weird.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Apparantly it is in British cinemas with War of the Worlds,ive never heard of a tv show being advertised in the cinemas...C4 must be pushing it in a big way! lets hope they make better promos for feck sake! lol it kind of makes it looks like some sort of dancing musical...although I have seen some wierd ads for deadwood where no actuall footage is shown...it goes to each cast member and has a voice over. its a lot better than that lsot one anyway.

go to http://www.hbo.com/deadwood/video/index.shtml#
    in the bottom scroll down menu...click on season 2 launch trailer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,842 ✭✭✭steveland?

Well that was crap... Locke in a ringleaders outfit? All that dancing?

Channel 4 put off the release of the season (apparently) so they could get some exclusive promo footage... if this is what they delayed it for I'm going to be very... very angry...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

steveland? wrote:
    Well that was crap... Locke in a ringleaders outfit? All that dancing?

Channel 4 put off the release of the season (apparently) so they could get some exclusive promo footage... if this is what they delayed it for I'm going to be very... very angry...
    why would you be angry? you can see it on rte2.. whats the loss?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,002 ✭✭✭mad m

@tvnutz

Yeah I actually liked that trailer for Deadwood.Even though I've never looked at an episode. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭OFDM

Can't believe they showed that in America.

sar84 wrote:
    why would you be angry? you can see it on rte2.. whats the loss?
    "Jack just sent me a photo of the island he's on... jammy beggar"

That explain it?

• Registered Users Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

steveland? wrote:
    "Jack just sent me a photo of the island he's on... jammy beggar"

That explain it?
    lol yeah i guess that explains it a bit alright :)

I actually specifically stay away from RTE showings of Lost because of those ads... as I said in another thread though I think I overdosed on Lost when it was only new :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Waltons

Ok, that was a bit strange. I have to say I kind of enjoyed it though...

• Registered Users Posts: 55,474 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

It was strange, but nowhere near as bad as I thought it was going to be after reading Stevelands post. I think it was pretty well done, actually......

• Registered Users Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

WT ****ing F!

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭Frankieboy

Just watched the ad.

Has it been aired yet? The ad? I really hope there is someone from Channel 4 on boards. That ad gives no preview of what happens in Lost. The promo from RTE is what made me watch and it was after watching I got hooked. And I thought RTE were bad, well they are!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

steveland? wrote:
    Locke in a ringleaders outfit?
    The way I saw it, he's dressed a conductor, and he's controlling the way they all dance/move.

Very strange ad alright.

mad m wrote:
    @tvnutz

Yeah I actually liked that trailer for Deadwood.Even though I've never looked at an episode. :)

ye at least their was no dancing in the deadwood ad! lol (and deadwood is very good by the way!) :D

I also presume C4 will show clearer and better promos as the time approaches?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Scruff

basquille wrote:
    Watch here! (click 'Play Ad')
    OR Download it here

linkies no workies

• Registered Users Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

Yeah they do

Ye there is something wrong with the links now...:p they were working 10 mins ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭beanyb

It worked for me just now...

Anyway, that ad is weird!! It doesnt show what Lost is like at all, definitely wouldnt make me want to watch it.

But, what made me watch Lost was what I heard about it from other people who'd seen it and were raving about how great it was, not RTE's ads or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Baldie

I told ye Lost was a musical....
    And ye thought it was about a plane crash....
    tut tut.... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

Oh My God that is bloody awful

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭s8n

I liked it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Scruff

/puts on nerd hat
    You see the dance symbolises the relationship dynamic between the group. Note how Kate was dancing with the 2 lads etc. And then we had those on the periphery, blah blah blah

i thought it was good. Intruiging if you hadnt been watching it already, a bit of WTF that could make you tune in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭s8n

could'nt have put it better myself scruff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Did anyone listen to what's being said in it? "One of us is a cop" and "one of us is a martyr".

Who's the cop? Maybe one of the other people that haven't featured in this series I guess or was it the FBI guy escorting Kate maybe? What about the martyr?

Strange ad though, very Calvin Kline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭herobear

the cop=the marshall wo died in episode 3

the ad just gets a big wtf from me...although i thought locke's position as conductor was interesting

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭bambam

Lost! the new fragrance from jean paul gaultier :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 43,835 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Looks like C4 / E4 have finally decided on a launch date...
    Channel 4 has finally set a date for the premiere of Lost in the UK.

The cult show, which has already wrapped its first season in the States, will occupy the Desperate Housewives timeslot - Wednesdays at 10pm - from August 10.

Also akin to Desperate Housewives, new episodes of Lost will premiere on E4 immediately after the Channel 4 episode ends.

Channel 4 has already kickstarted its promotional campaign in cinema theatres and intends to launch TV teaser commercials shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭doh.ie

Cheers for the promo links, Basquille. Heard about this earlier in the week, but hadn't had a chance to see it.
    mad m wrote:
    Holy crap.Looks like a bunch of Trinity heads going home after a Trinity ball or a few debs students calling it a night on Killiney beach. :D That was very weird.

LOL! Weird is not the word... I quite enjoyed seeing the cast dancing like fools for no reason, but then most of us here know the show and can see the funny side.

However, as a promo for a show that has never aired in the UK before, this is a complete dud... What were the marketing people at Channel 4 on?! This is hopefully just a teaser trailer and there will be a proper one, complete with actual pilot shots, in the run-up to August 10th.

I'd heard C4/E4 had filmed those Channel 4 montage promos with various celebs telling us what they hate/love/want to be remembered for/age they were when they lost their virginity/etc which would be reworked to include the Lost cast around the time of the show's launch. Likewise, there were supposed to be those where the cast spoke to the audience (stuff like "Watch Lost, on Channel 4...") a bit like how Pro7 do their logos with the cast.

But as for this promo... perfume ad indeed! Eau d'Lost. Best laugh in a while, though!
    tvnutz wrote:
    Apparantly it is in British cinemas with War of the Worlds,ive never heard of a tv show being advertised in the cinemas...C4 must be pushing it in a big way!

Only one I've ever seen trailered in a cinema was Dark Skies, but that was in the US, not here. They do promote TV shows in the US in cinemas much more than here or in the UK, though.