Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

banks in ireland - never cease to amaze me

• 27-06-2005 6:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭

ok try to do a simple wire from my bank account with AIB to a business bank account with Bank of Ireland - simple procedure or so I thought. I try to use 24 hour banking but it dosen't work so I call phone banking and they say they can't transfer money from a personal a/c to a business a/c because money "gets lost" during the transaction and it isn't safe so I am told to contact my branch only to get told AIB can't wire money to BOI because their clearing systems are different. What a joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭beezkneez

banks in ireland are ridiculous. they are very difficult to deal with especially when you go into them, very rarely are they any way helpful, absolute law onto themselves. whats the deal with their opening times? i can never get over the fact that some banks close for lunch and the ones that dont have like one clerk to deal with the lunchtime rush. if you want anything other than something simple from them they tell you that the person who deals with that is on lunch!! so am i honey!
    they should also open on saturdays, at least til lunch times. aib and boi make a billion euro a year each and as long as it stays that way they will continue to act the eijit with their customers.
    also cheques, whats the story, lodging one into an account even your own account is a nightmare, takes afew business days, surely a computer could just check the balance on the person paying the cheques account and then lodge the money. am i crazy? i can go into my bank and cash a cheque and then walk out the door and straight back in and lodge the money and it goes in straight away, very irish indeeed.

in the states when you go into a bank (also open on saturdays!) will welcome you in, sit you down with tea and then ask how can they help you. thats the way it should be here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

zap wrote:
    ok try to do a simple wire from my bank account with AIB to a business bank account with Bank of Ireland - simple procedure or so I thought. I try to use 24 hour banking but it dosen't work so I call phone banking and they say they can't transfer money from a personal a/c to a business a/c because money "gets lost" during the transaction and it isn't safe so I am told to contact my branch only to get told AIB can't wire money to BOI because their clearing systems are different. What a joke!
    Was in moneybookers by any chance mate?

I tried to do the same with those AIB w@nkers. They gave me the same guff. We all know it's anti-competitive but IFSRA are useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭zap

it's a load of bs indeed, how can you not have a system that can transfer money from an a/c in one bank to an a/c in another bank in the same country but yet I can wire money to any bank a/c in europe not problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

beezkneez wrote:

in the states when you go into a bank (also open on saturdays!) will welcome you in, sit you down with tea and then ask how can they help you. thats the way it should be here.
    That didn't work for me. I was told in HSBC in NY that I couldn't open an account with them as I wasn't a long term resident, even some manager came and told us when I complained. So I just walked 4 blocks to another branch where they did it no problem. Even gave me a cheque book straight away.

As for AIB, my sister got her list of charges a few weeks ago. The charged her for 12 ATM withdrawls. There must be some mistake somewhere as she doesn't have an ATM card. What a pack of morons. And if they do this to her what's to stop them doing it to someone who doesn't have an ATM card and doesn't recall how many times they used an ATM. Last year I also changed some hungarian currency back to euro, it had to be sent off and after a month I went back as it hadn't been credited to my account. I was told it was only 70c so they "didn't bother" putting it in my account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Aye I remember being over in Glasgow a few weeks back and was shocked to find several high st. banks open and doing brisk business on a staurday afternoon...the best you'll get here is them opening "late" till 5pm one day of the week :rolleyes:
    Don't even get me started on the 3+ day clearing process....I have a lenghty rant thread about it over on the business/finance forum.
    Bottom lie is that Irish banks are making too much money, too easily and are loowed to run unchecked with whatever policies they want, or so it would seem...it'll be interesting to see if any of them will up thier pathetic interest rates in response to Rabobank's new offer...

I doubt they care much about Rabobank. It's the regular joe they are making the money off. I always seem to be able to draw off cheques I lodge to AIB straight away though for some reason. As for Bank of Ireland, they one charged me £8 for not having enough funds for a laon payment. The money had been transferred from AIB by DD eight days earlier and the spas in BOI had it lost in the system. I had to bust my balls to get the money back from them and threatened to leave. As soon as I got my money back I shut the account down straight away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

They only let you draw off cheques if you have an account in good standing with them....all the banks do it. The cheque still hasn't "cleared" (there's that word again) but they allow you draw on it....like a temporary overdraft except in this case they're assured that the funds will be credited as soon as the cheque does clear.

As for the Rabobank thing; you're right...they [the banks] make their money off the people out there who work a normal job, have a normal mortgage and loans and do normal things. Most of these normal people still don't use net banking...and a lot of them have capital sitting in current/savings accounts earning SFA interest.
    Perhaps part of the blame in the Irish banking sector lies with the account holders themselves...the choices seem to be opening up the last while...but how many people are actively moving and seeking out the best rates?
    BoI is loosing my business as soon as Rabo get back on to me....I'll keep a current account for clearing my pay cheque and doing ATM stuff but that'll be about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

zap wrote:
    Actually, they do have a point.

You would be surprised how many people transfer money into business accounts (landlords, companies etc) without telling the bank it's a business account. Then they don't give a reference, and 3 weeks later come back and scream at the bank because their rent/bill etc is late/lost (because the recipient doesn't know who it came from, because there was no reference).

So, they're protecting themselves from morons screaming at them down the phone..that's bad, why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Easily_Irritated

You should have just used a moneygram, zap. its cheap and instant. Surprised AIB didn't tell ya.

All the stuff yer complaining about is all EU regulations. Unfortunatley Im working in a bank at the min, saving for traveling. And all the banks here are the same all because of the same EU guidelines that must be followed.

But whoever said it is less hassle to send to another country than from AIB to BOI is dead right. Its mad the european banks were so worried about making money transfers easy in the eurozone that they sorted that but made national banking a pain in the arse for everyone!

I hate the bank!

FX Meister wrote:
    I doubt they care much about Rabobank. It's the regular joe they are making the money off. I always seem to be able to draw off cheques I lodge to AIB straight away though for some reason. As for Bank of Ireland, they one charged me £8 for not having enough funds for a laon payment. The money had been transferred from AIB by DD eight days earlier and the spas in BOI had it lost in the system. I had to bust my balls to get the money back from them and threatened to leave. As soon as I got my money back I shut the account down straight away.

if a DD doesn't make it the recieving account it wouldn't be Boi at fault it would be AIB

Just because the AIB ac was debited doesn't mean anything. An AC is debited regardless then they decide where the money goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

zap wrote:

Sounds like a load of crap to me.

All Irish Banks use the same clearing system.

You can lodge money to a BOI account in many ways

1) Walk into any BOI and lodge cash/cheque to the account
    2) Post a cheque to the relevant branch of the BOI.
    3) Set up them up as a third party beneficiary on your internet/telephone banking
    4) Call into your AIB branch and say you want to do a same day value electronic transfer to a BOI account. There will be a fee for this.
    5) Call into your AIB branch and say you want to do a two day value electronic transfer to a BOI account. There will a negligible fee for this.
    6) Ask the beneficiary for a pre-printed lodgment slip for his BOI account, walk down to your AIB branch and lodge cash/cheque in - this is called a credit transfer and the money will hit his BOI account two days later.

The amount of misinformation spouted by customers and inexperienced/ill-informed bank staff makes me want to blow my brains out.

Not illinformed, just dont like my job :D

I'm not too fond of mine either but if I don't know what I'm talking about, I find out the right answer.

Banks have a bad enough name as it is. The amount of negative vibes coming from customers (some justified, some not) gets worse every year.

Ah sure I know that, I hate listening to the feckers!

Im still unsure of what you're thinking I said that wasn't correct. Banks dont follow EU gidelines? Hmmmm

DD magically get lost in systems!? Don't think so....

Hmmmm :D

Ah sure I know that, I hate listening to the feckers!

Im still unsure of what you're thinking I said that wasn't correct. Banks dont follow EU gidelines? Hmmmm

DD magically get lost in systems!? Don't think so....

Hmmmm :D

I typed my posts without seeing your comments

the 'ill-informed' reference was directed at the person who told zap about there being two different clearing systems.

Ah grand! lol

Thought you were getting at me and that I'd hafta open a can of whoop ass on ya :D

Yea, thought that fella was wrong alright! :)

Lads I've got news for ya, money does go missing in computerised systems, including the banking sector all the time. I know a bloke who gets a utility bill every 2 months. He never pays it but dutifully he's informed that he's paid the last bill by DD. I know another bloke who dutifully receives app. €50 a month, every month into his account and the same bloke sees app. €20 go out every 3 months to an unknown party.

The story Zap was told was relayed to me almost verbatim by one of the 24hr online staff when I tried to a) add a Eurozone (using IBAN) account to 24hr online (not allowed-but they'd do it over the phone, wtf is the fcuking difference apart from a greater likelihood of a fcuk up over the phone???), so I asked could I b) set up a moneybookers beneficiary account (BOI, College Green) to which I was told "no business accounts" allowed-go to your branch.

Fcuk all use is what they are. For anyone interested-you can bank in any EU country you choose and I believe ABN Amro have completely free online banking with free Eurozone transfers and customer support available in ENGLISH from HOLLAND!

murphaph wrote:
    Lads I've got news for ya, money does go missing in computerised systems, including the banking sector all the time. I know a bloke who gets a utility bill every 2 months. He never pays it but dutifully he's informed that he's paid the last bill by DD. I know another bloke who dutifully receives app. €50 a month, every month into his account and the same bloke sees app. €20 go out every 3 months to an unknown party.

Yea, Doubtful.

Firstly why hasn't your mate(s) actually done anything about finding out what the story is?

Secondly, if the bill isin't actually getting paid from his account then surely its the fault of the bill providers sending the letter in error?

Thridly, so what if 50 goes into his account. You don't have to authorise money being transfered into his account.But surely he'd want to know where its coming from?

Forthly, the approx 20 that goes out every few months. I bet its either a min payment for a credit card that is set up when u initially apply for your credit card and most ppl forget about. Or some random payment he set up ages ago. Why doesn't he just go into a bank and find out?

It all sounds a bit exagerated to me!

P.s. you have very 'dutiful' friends!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

I hate banks!

Was in one this morning, withdrawing €80. Firstly I had stand in a que for at least thirty minutes, there were two of four desks open and staff floating around! The air conditioning was diabolicle (sp). When I finally got to the desk, to be served by some ditz only about three years older than me, and asked to withdraw cash, actually my mam asked for me cuz she has all my cards-ey thingies, I was asked for ID cuz "Well I dont know you personally" So does that mean she has to know everyone in town and tourists that come in! Then she asked me if I had a pass card. If I had a passcard I wouldn't be in front of your desk!
    Then when I produced my school ID, its the best I've got, I'm 17, she asked me for "Actual ID"! My mother standing beside me and she wants Garda ID cuz she doesn't know me personally! Ditz! Eveyone knows you have to be 18 for that and she had my details on my bank card, and on her computer screen!

okay I'm done I just had to rant, she was so bloody annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

you wouldnt be saying that if some evil mother and son fraud couple had stolen your passcard and a few bills you'd thrown in your wheelie bin. Its called identity theft.

Do ya want your cash to go to some Afghan opium dealers?

Draupnir wrote:
    you wouldnt be saying that if some evil mother and son fraud couple had stolen your passcard and a few bills you'd thrown in your wheelie bin. Its called identity theft.

Do ya want your cash to go to some Afghan opium dealers?
    I know that, yeah, okay, granted but she was really irritating, cuz its never happened before, and we nearly even had to go get one of the staff their that knows us really well, and my school ID is a proper ID its just not approve by the state, I've used it for numerous other things...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,902 ✭✭✭✭28064212

I'm confused. You went in with just your account number (presumably) and no ID aside from a school thing that could easily be faked and you're complaining that she wouldn't give you cash?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

No, well, kinda, mam had all my acount stuff in this booklet thing she keeps it all in, statements and that, and the ID, its not a garda one or anything but it is signed by the principle and some county guy

If I was you, I would have said thanks very much for being good at your job to that teller.

Someone could easily steal the bank details from your house and a few bank statements too and then just throw together a nice fake school id.

Cha ching, little Christy's confirmation money is mine thanks very much.

I dont live in Dublin or Limerick, my house doesn't get broken into on a regular basis, and everything official-ey is kept in a locked filing cabinet and only taken out when organised. Its been bred into me to be super organised and I just think baks should be twice as good at it so to speak.

Yes, banks should be organised, its true. They should certainly make sure they dont give someones money away to anyone who claims to be that person. This reminds me of something:

"Hello, my name is Mister Burns, I believe you have a letter for me"

Need I go on?

By the way, I live in North Dublin, quite close to the city centre, have done all my life, and havent been broken into ever, not once. So easy on the broad sweeping generalisations.

Your comparing the Simpons to real life? hmm heh...
    Granted a generalisation is unfair since my next door nieghbour has been robbed three times... but on first thought of robberies they are just two places that come to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Lambsbread

Le Rack wrote:
    I dont live in Dublin or Limerick, my house doesn't get broken into on a regular basis, and everything official-ey is kept in a locked filing cabinet and only taken out when organised. Its been bred into me to be super organised and I just think baks should be twice as good at it so to speak.

Banks have to very careful with fraud, especially with the amount of credit card fraud that has increased dramatically recently.

I've been living in Limerick for a long time and my house has never been broken into. Identity theft only requires someone to take some old statement, bill or even letter from the trash. It's a little easy to do these days and I think the bank was probably right to err on the side of caution.

Back to the orignal thread, banks in Ireland are very poor. It reminds me of that ad for a UK bank (think its nationwide) where the customer is treated with complete contempt and then goes down the road to a better bank. The first bank is like AIB and BOI. They make you feel like they're doing you a favour by doing any sort of transaction. *clenched fists*

i was in AIB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

Le Rack wrote:
    And the girl in the bank is supposed to just know that you keep all your personal information documents in a safe place then I guess? They are probably told what forms of ID to accept from people, driver's licence, National age card, passport and you should be fairly glad they do regardless of how safe you think your documents are. A filing cabinet with a lock would do little to stop a determined thief. I also didn't think you needed to be over 18 to get a National age card as your DOB is printed on it?

I've never been asked for ID in the bank though, and I don't know anyone who works in there. Mostly though I'd have my card on me and use that, though more often I'd just use the hole in the wall. If you want to withdraw over your daily limit you need to go in. Maybe the ID check is a new policy, or just being enforced now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭the jew

jor el wrote:
    I also didn't think you needed to be over 18 to get a National age card as your DOB is printed on it?
    Now you know differently.

yeah, you have to over 18 to even apply for an age card and then it takes months to get it. The reciept you get is as good as sh!te cuz all you need do is scan it into a computer and photo shop to a bit to make a copy. I know loads of people who just have reciepst and go mad cuz they cant get anywhere with them

An the filing cabinet thing wasn't to do with the bank wan, it was just yer man talking bout theft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Ishmael

beezkneez wrote:
    also cheques, whats the story, lodging one into an account even your own account is a nightmare, takes afew business days, surely a computer could just check the balance on the person paying the cheques account and then lodge the money. am i crazy? i can go into my bank and cash a cheque and then walk out the door and straight back in and lodge the money and it goes in straight away, very irish indeeed.

I thought they only cash cheques if you have enough money in your account to cover the money on the cheque, and if the cheque bounces they take it from your account?

Edit: BTW is it possible to transfer money from an aib account to a boi account over the phone, personal accounts not business accounts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

1. Take money out of account in AIB.
    2. Walk to Bank Of Ireland Branch, probably next door to the AIB.
    3. Lodge Cash into B.O.I account.

4. OMFG IT'S DONE!!!

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,762 ✭✭✭WizZard

Lump wrote:
    1. Take money out of account in AIB.
    2. Walk to Bank Of Ireland Branch, probably next door to the AIB.
    3. Lodge Cash into B.O.I account.

4. OMFG IT'S DONE!!!

John
    Quite. However useless to someone like me who works in an area where banks are not common - Sandyford Ind. Est.

The bloody BoI here won't even accept cash lodgments. So that puts paid to that idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭voxpop

Ishmael wrote:

Edit: BTW is it possible to transfer money from an aib account to a boi account over the phone, personal accounts not business accounts?

yep , I have a personal BOI account setup on my 24hr banking - just log onto the website and I can transfer all the money i like online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

On a side note, I just lodged a BOI cheque in my AIB account. I asked the teller how long it would take to clear, and she looked at the cheque and said "Oh, thats Bank of Ireland... that'll take 5 days".

5 days??!?

I'd understand if it was the Bank of Mozambique or something, but its another friggin' Irish bank. Ridiculous. I'll never understand that.

My mother went in to BOI O'Connell Street a few months back. There was a guy in front of her in the queue openly dealing drugs over the phone, aranging times and amounts. He was speaking quite loudly and it was hard to not hear him. The staff didn't seem to have a problem with it and when my mother complained she was told that he was a very good customer of theirs. Nice to think they treat drug dealing scumbags money in such high regard.

Yea, Doubtful.

Firstly why hasn't your mate(s) actually done anything about finding out what the story is?

Secondly, if the bill isin't actually getting paid from his account then surely its the fault of the bill providers sending the letter in error?

Thridly, so what if 50 goes into his account. You don't have to authorise money being transfered into his account.But surely he'd want to know where its coming from?

Forthly, the approx 20 that goes out every few months. I bet its either a min payment for a credit card that is set up when u initially apply for your credit card and most ppl forget about. Or some random payment he set up ages ago. Why doesn't he just go into a bank and find out?

It all sounds a bit exagerated to me!

P.s. you have very 'dutiful' friends!

Ok, how shall I put this so everyone understands. I know these people very well, almost better than I know myself. I know that what I originally stated is 100% correct. Of course the utility provider's billing system could be at fault, but that's fully computerised so that can't be, right? :rolleyes:

The reason why friends of mine don't report this to the bank and utility provider? Eh-you do the math.

The story Zap was told was relayed to me almost verbatim by one of the 24hr online staff when I tried to a) add a Eurozone (using IBAN) account to 24hr online (not allowed-but they'd do it over the phone, wtf is the fcuking difference apart from a greater likelihood of a fcuk up over the phone???)

IBAN transfers, if you go to a branch require you to fill out all the details on a form. Doing it via the phone means someone in the call centre fills one out for you. It's not the same as putting a domestic bank account on the system.

BuffyBot wrote:
    IBAN transfers, if you go to a branch require you to fill out all the details on a form. Doing it via the phone means someone in the call centre fills one out for you. It's not the same as putting a domestic bank account on the system.
    Of course it's the same, it's just a different number format. Online IBAN transfers are allowed by loads of banks in Europe to eurozone accounts (at the same cost as a domestic transfer, as stipulated by EU law), but none allow it here. If they wanted to make it easy to do the transfer, they could add that functionality to their interface, just like AIB make you call them to add a non-AIB domestic account to the interface. It's all in an effort to make it a chore to move money from AIB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 839 ✭✭✭zap

ok firstly to the guy who is winging about getting asked for id, you should have been asked for id school id is worth ****e. How are they to know who billy head master is could be your big brothers signature for all they know. I have no gripe with that just the bank doing a good job for once. If ya don't want the hassle get an ATM card hardly rocket science. Secondly to the guy who said withdraw money and walk into BOI branch alot of good that is since I work 7:30 - 17:00 and the bank opens 9 - 4 with a late opening monday until 5.

Of course it's the same, it's just a different number format. Online IBAN transfers are allowed by loads of banks in Europe to eurozone accounts (at the same cost as a domestic transfer, as stipulated by EU law), but none allow it here. If they wanted to make it easy to do the transfer, they could add that functionality to their interface, just like AIB make you call them to add a non-AIB domestic account to the interface. It's all in an effort to make it a chore to move money from AIB.

The point is, they aren't the same. A domestic transfer goes through a fairly simple route while an international one goes through a more complex process.

Yay for Europe! The problem is, here, is that for the volume of traffic generated by these transactions is it really worth their while investing the development time to automate the process, and make changes to the legacy mainframe systems most Irish banks use.

murphaph wrote:
    Ok, how shall I put this so everyone understands. I know these people very well, almost better than I know myself. I know that what I originally stated is 100% correct. Of course the utility provider's billing system could be at fault, but that's fully computerised so that can't be, right? :rolleyes:

The reason why friends of mine don't report this to the bank and utility provider? Eh-you do the math.

The bank system is fully computerised, your point is?

Also, you should warn your friend that no one gets money for nothing. its coming from somewhere and I can tell ya it won't be coming from the bank, cos they're tight feckers who wouldn't be giving money to some random for no reason. So its more than likely coming from someone else account. Which doesn't necessarily mean, that if this money is being put in your mates account in error he/she won't have to pay it back to the customer if it is a mistake and the customer being debited notices.

Only 2 weeks ago the same happened with a customers in my bank and the one loosing the money took a civil case against the other customer and won and all funds had to be paid back! So be warned. If your mate is 'magically' geting this money from some unknown source and hasn't got the intelligence to find out from where he could easily be paying back the full amount when whoever is being debited realises! :D