Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name changes over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,542 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Regional Technical Colleges > Institutes of technology

• Registered Users Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Ucg -> Nuig

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Long Wave Radio Atlantic 252 > Atlantic 252 > Some short lived sports station that I can't remember the name of > RTE Radio 1

The sports radio channel in question was TEAMtalk 252! I think they do the premium sports numbers too,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Did it go Oil of Olay -> Oil of Ulay or the other way round.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Arabel wrote:
    Did it go Oil of Olay -> Oil of Ulay or the other way round.

other way around

also Rte 2 - Network 2 - back to Rte 2 jaysus make up your minds!!! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

NIHED - UCB -- DCU

Phoenix -- Firebird -- Firefox -- FireSomething

• Registered Users Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

What about that Prince character, I won't even try to name all those.

Whateve John Wayne used to call himself too, Marion or somesuch.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Tayto LFCs became Tayto Honest ripples

NIHE - became UL

B+I Lines became Irish ferries

Madonna became Esther

Emerdale farm -> emerdale

The Title -> Ireland on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

grimloch wrote:
    What about that Prince character, I won't even try to name all those.

Whateve John Wayne used to call himself too, Marion or somesuch.

actually i think his real name was majella

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭guest31

Karsini wrote:
    RTÉ Relays > Cablelink > NTL
    Princes Holdings > Horizon > Irish Multichannel > Chorus
    RTÉ 2 > Network 2 > Back to RTÉ 2 again

Immac > Veet
    Cadbury's Caramel > Cadbury's Dairy Milk with Caramel

A few more botched Kelloggs brands:

Fruit 'n Fibre > Optima > back to Fruit 'n Fibre
    Bran Flakes > Healthwise > back to Bran Flakes

Seems like almost every rebrand that Kelloggs tried was undone later on.

Yeah, and what was the story with that stupid new Kelloggs Corn Flakes box ... you know the one that was supposed to keep things fresher, but wouldn't fit back in the cupboard because the top was now in a couple of inches higher .. what a waste of money ... wonder how much they spent on coming up with that idea ... I never figured out how to work it either. IDIOTS !!!
    Think they have since reverted to the old, slot device which is so much easier, the other drove me INSANE ..........

• Registered Users Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

actually i think his real name was majella

John Waynes real name was Marion Morrison

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

Judy Garland's original name was Frances Gum
    Marilyn Monroe's original name was Norma Jean Baker
    Tina Turner's original name was Anna Mae Bullock
    David Bowie's original name was David Jones
    Cliff Richard isn't Cliff Richard's original name, but I can't remember what it was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

Rock 104(YEAH!!)>FM 104 (BOOO!!!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Cillut bang > cinnut bang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Power's Supermarkets > Quinnsworth > Tesco
    P7T > An Post
    Pound > Punt > Euro
    RIC > An Garda Siochana
    Bono > God
    God > Un-employed
    Minerals > Soft drinks
    Tinkers > knackers > travellers

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Hagar wrote:
    Power's Supermarkets > Quinnsworth > Tesco
    P7T > An Post
    P&T> An Post & €ircom

Gubay's / 3 Guys / H Williams

khmer Rouge > Democratic Kampuchea
    OT Irish Politicians continued to recognise them as the official government despite the facts that they were no longer in power and that they put the country more or less back into the stone age , killing 30% of the population in the process.

Anyone care to do a tree of the Irish political parties starting in 1900 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Paul Gadd > Gary glitter > Prisoner 56342

• Registered Users Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

Ah, Sky, We had it before it started scrambling.
    Sky Channel (cable channel, then on BSB) > Sky One > Sky1 > Sky One. (and with so many idents too).

Movie Channel > The Movie Channel > Sky Movies Screen 1 > Sky Premier > Sky Premier 1-4 + WS > Sky Movies Premier 1-5 > Sky Movies 1-5

Sky Movies > Sky Movies Screen 2 > Sky MovieMax > Sky Movie Max 6-9 > Sky Movies Max 6-9 > Sky Movies 6-9.

Sky Movies Gold > Sky Cinema > Sky Cinema 1-2

The Learning Channel > The Computer Channel > .tv

Darrers > Londis (were they bought out?)

Channel Five > five

TnaG > TG4

ITV > ITV 1 <region name>

HTV > ITV1 Wales

That is all that i can think of right now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭sioda

Cash's Moon's Switzers all now Brown Thomas

Jet to Stat Oil

If your from Limerick Pat Graces famous kentucky fried chicken to pat graces famous fried chicken to The Chicken Hut (Trademark infringment me thinks)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭sioda

Video City - xtra vision

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

4Xcut wrote:
    Rock 104(YEAH!!)>FM 104 (BOOO!!!)

haha i remember that, i still have a Rock 104 sticker stuck up in my bedroom:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

you know the lamest one didnt even bother to change the name.

aer lingus

2 million to tilt the bloody shamrock on the tail fin, and then they put it back any way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭meldrew

Barronstrand Street > Red Square > John Roberts Square
    Corporation > City Council
    Ardree Hotel > Jury's > Ard Ri
    Lawlors > Bobby McGees> The Temple Bar > Nineteen
    The Rogue > The Wacky Apple
    Just a few for that the Waterford crowd might recognise !

• Registered Users Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

i think the coco pops was something to do with the coco pops name being unpronable in asian countries.

think it was the same with jif. strangely enough, i find cif to be a lot less easy on the tongue.

i'd imagine opal fruits became star bursts because someone informed them that the sweets were in fact, not actually fruits.

Meet professional baseball player, Coco Crisp:
    http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/players/profile?statsId=6983

• Registered Users Posts: 13,863 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Gubay's / 3 Guys / H Williams

H Williams>Super Valu???

• Registered Users Posts: 853 ✭✭✭thejuggler

Zig & Zag > Bronx Bunny show > Podge N Rodge