Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ep III verdicts...?

• 19-05-2005 8:27pm
    Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭

So, what did ye all think of it then?

here's me scores:

Action: 5 out of 5 (typical star wars - lightsabers rock)
    CGI: 4 out of 5 (typical lucas - very impressive visuals)
    Acting: 2 out of 5 (wooden by many, a generous 2)
    Script: 1 out of 5 (brutal is too good a word, a generous 1)

The above sums it up..shame about casting and scripting - could really have been fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

I thought the movie was fantastic. Worth the €12.50 (rip off, I know).

Action: 5 (Opening Scene was brilliant.)
    CGI: 5 (Never really thought; "Wait, that's computerised!")
    Acting: 3 (Not a huge fan of the (lack of) acting skills, but they weren't dreadful)
    Script: 3 (Good imo.)

Go see it if you haven't. And if you have, see it again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Action: 5 out of 5
    CGI: 5 out of 5 (really great stuff)
    Acting: 3 out of 5 (it went from great acting by some Obi wan,Darth Sidisious,Yoda to god dammed ****ing awful such as Portman)
    Script: 2 out of 5 (rushed, rushed and more rushed)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

7 thumbs up here!

A lot of the Dialogue was indeed clunky and at times painfull, but on the whole, it was a great film.

Would you all agree that it made up for Episodes I and II ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

qz wrote:
    deffo! it come up to the rank of the first trilogy IMO.
    Action: 5
    CGI: 5
    Acting: 2
    the whole Vader - Frankenstein hybrid at the end chopped off a whole point!
    script: 3 I hafta say I liked the script because it answered ALL of my questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,952 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

No ...
    All of the new 3 episodes were poor.
    Special effects alone do not make a good movie.A decent script would be nice.
    Star Wars :The Clone Wars Animated is the only decent thing to come out of these new films.

qz wrote:

Certainly.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

very good didnt like yoda his face was really cgi compared to EPII c3po was a little more camp than usual the cgi was well done in some of the distant views overall 8/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Pretty pointless but highly enjoyable. Most of what was so terribly wrong with the last two (acting, dialog, humour, etc.) was better here - although still not perfect by any means.

The CGI, battles, and evil/dark overtones were all great.
    wookies were, like a lot of the story, blink-and-you-miss-them. Disapointingly useless scene. And Vader sucked balls. He sounded dreadful (did they not get James Earl Jones back?) and just didn't seem to move right at all. His 'NNNNNOOOOOO!11!1' upon finding out about padame was laughable.

Goodshape wrote:
    The CGI, battles, and evil/dark overtones were all great.
    wookies were, like a lot of the story, blink-and-you-miss-them. Disapointingly useless scene. And Vader sucked balls. He sounded dreadful (did they not get James Earl Jones back?) and just didn't seem to move right at all. His 'NNNNNOOOOOO!11!1' upon finding out about padame was laughable.
    Er... It WAS James Earl Jones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Goodshape wrote:
    In fairness,
    he's not going to go from angry young man to bad ass motherfucker just because he put the helmet on. I do agree that the voice was weird/different, but it was going to be. He's just had his ass kicked, and his wife (the whole reason for turning to the dark side) has just died. He's not going to become the pue evil dude we know and love in one fell swoop.

Goodshape wrote:
    all you needed was for Vader to fall to his knees and it to start lashing rain :p

Oh, and did anyone else notice Grand Moff Tarkin being played by none other than Scorpius! Oh yes, it's him!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I actually thought Obi-Wan was some of the worst acting - when he
    looked at the security hologram and saw anakin his reaction of devastation and shock was more like, meh, bugger, aw well then, best go kill him

The dialogue had me cringing throughout tbh. But I would watch it again and did think it better than the first two attempts. Wish the casting had been a little better though. is it just me or does Hayden Christiansen seem unable to do anything other than spoilt child when he's trying to be angry and evil?

I felt he went to the darside too quick, it was like it was a switch that just got flicked

is it just me or does Hayden Christiansen seem unable to do anything other than spoilt child when he's trying to be angry and evil?

With you 100% on that one. Anybody else notice the
    lack of Jar-Jar? He was only in three shots in total and didn't say one word. I think Lucas copped on!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Marts wrote:
    I felt he went to the darside too quick, it was like it was a switch that just got flicked

Totally -
    one minute he is telling Mace Windu the laws of the jedi asking him not to kill sentator palpadine, next after aiding in windu's death he pledges allegiance to the dark side in about 4 sentences. Pretty quick decision making. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

seamus wrote:
    In fairness, ...
    No, but he could have brooded for a bit and looked cool while doing so. I agree that the transition was like the flick of a switch... could have extended all that a good bit.

Have to say though, I still enjoyed every second of it :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Flick of a switch? It was building up since Episode II, manifesting itself in confusion of loyalties, conflicts of interest and some Sith-esque moments (i.e. the Tuscan Raiders in Episode II).

I enjoyed it. The CG was stunning, the acting was very good in parts (awful in others -
    Portman wasn't as bad as some suggest though, I think Closer might have helped her in some scenes, whereas Christensen had nothing similar to draw from
    ). Christopher Lee must be getting pretty pissed off with some of his recent parts though ;)
    Grevious was a bit of a non-event. His saber battle with Obi-Wan was a bit disappointing, especially after Clone Wars, not to mention the battle aboard the cruiser at the start. Vader arising from the bench was a little unfortunate, Robocop walked with more grace when he got up first.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Saw it this evening. Absolutely not going to evaluate this as it was a strangely emotional experience for me to see somthing that had such effect on me over 20 years ago coming to an end. I'll turn my critical eye on it at a later date. All I'll say is that I think any Star Wars fan will enjoy it. Lets do a reverse of the Matrix and pretend the first 2 films don't exist instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

hated it...see my review in the review section...

I'm sorry i am *trying* to post a review but the computer wont let me...yet i can post everywhere else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

That was fantatic. Right up there with Empire for entertainment value. First of all the CGI was so good I didn't realise it was there most of the time. The action was top notch better than anything we've seen before. The dialogue wasn't as cringe worthy and there was much less of it (thanks to fast pacing and action). Unlike AOTC which has boring bit - action bit - boring bit -action bit etc. this movie doesn't let up at all. If it's not action on the screen it's pure drama. There were several times during the movie where I was in heart-wrenching shock from some of the stuff that goes on.
    Anakin killing Younglins, the stormtroopers turning on the Jedi, Obi-Wan leaving Anakin to burn alive, the entire Padme story
    . Action highlights are (I'll restrict to my top 3)
    The entire opening 10 minutes, Yoda vs Sidous, Anakin vs Obi
    All I can say is that this is second only to Empire and in time I may consider it the best of all 6.
    On the comment made about Anakin turning dark a bit to quickly. It was being built up so well all through the movie (and Ep.II) and then at the final moment I don't know, he just gave up to easily. He had good reasons for going dark and they were very well played out but at the final moment it just seemed too quick. Still it doesn't bother me much. You could clearly see what drove him to the dark side. Btw Hayden showed why he was picked for Anakin/Vader in this movie. He played conflicted evil very well IMHO. He wasn't enjoying what he was doing, he HAD TO do it for Padme.

Bacchus wrote:
    Btw Hayden showed why he was picked for Anakin/Vader in this movie. He played conflicted evil very well IMHO. He wasn't enjoying what he was doing, he HAD TO do it for Padme.
    I completly agree with this statement
    I was expecting him to be seduced to the darkside like Obi was says he is in A New Hope
    Vader was seduced by the darkside of the force
    when this was not the case, He paused when he had Dooku on his knees and he knew it is wrong to kill an un-armed man, however it was Palpatine who pushed him over the edge, and it was Palpatine who gave him a cock-and-bull (IMO) story about Darth whats-his-name the wise (althought giving his facial expressions, if he did exist then I would say Sidius was the apprentice)
    sorry about the rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Loved it but then i knew i would. Sad to see it over now hope the TC series happens or lucas does more movies or spin off`s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭jones

Action: 5 out of 5 (lightsabers! need i say anything more)
    CGI: 4 out of 5 (some of the best CGI i've seen)
    Acting: 3 out of 5 (come on its star wars its always going to be ropey)
    Script: 2 out of 5 (once again we're watching star wars here scripts arent on the top of Lucas' check list)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Really liked it, best of the first 3 episodes. Some slightly anoying aspects though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭film_gonzo

I was mightily impressed by the film. Very little gripes. I felt that the script and especially the dialogue was alot better than most of the others.(Only one or two cringe moments for me)
    Everything I felt served to move the plot on and I was happy that Lucas dived straight into the action instead of faffing about with politics or a clunky love story.
    Speaking of which I actually felt that there was a connection between Padme and Anakin in this one. In the others the love story was very ham-fisted.
    One or two CG gripes aside I was happy with the look of the picture. Suitably dark and grimey. All the colours, especially of the CG creatures and ships, were a darker shade than anything previous lending a more realistic edge to them.
    All in all, the Star Wars I was hoping for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

I have to say I was very, very impressed with the film, id give it 8.5/9 out of 10.

I do have a few thoughts on how it could have been improved though
    firstly I really wanted to see the ghost like image of Qui-Gon Jinn at the end of the film like there is at the return of the Jedi.

Secondly I thought Anikin's fear over his wife was a little too thin, I would have believed his move to the dark side more if something had of happened to Padmé, for example she is caught in an attack, wounded and almost looses the children, but doesn’t. Anikin in a blind rage goes on a killing spree, after the ones who have done this on a scale much larger than the one seen in ep 2 when he goes after the Tuscan Raiders, THEN he is lured to the dark side by Palpatine. This is how I imagined his fall to the dark side would of happened in the film

Anyone have any comments on what I have suggested above?
    Those points would be my only real criticisms about the film

weemcd wrote:
    firstly I really wanted to see the ghost like image of Qui-Gon Jinn at the end of the film like there is at the return of the Jedi.

Anyone have any comments on what I have suggested above?

Yes.

Qui-Gon Jinn isn't in Return of The Jedi, ghost-form or otherwise. And it's spelt Anakin, not Anikin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭OY

I thought the movie was very worthwhile. For me all of the loose ends are now cleared up.
    1. We now know how Luke managed to grow up and Tatooine and never know about his sister. And the same with Leia.
    2. I never understood in the originals how someone as evil as Darth vader could turn against the emperor in the end and now i get it! For me in the originals i always thought in Jedi all of a sudden this 'conflict' in vader comes up and it was a little unbelievable.
    3. I wanted to see how yoda escaped and ended up in exile, and the same goes for ObiWan.

There is so much more to this. Like we saw how the Empire was born, how sidious was deformed with the lightning, how the Jedi were hunted down. (Loved seeing yoda escape Order 66 when he jumped and killed the guards in one move.)

So story wise, seeing all of this for me was awesome and it makes me want to watch A New Hope this weekend.
    Saw it this evening. Absolutely not going to evaluate this as it was a strangely emotional experience for me to see somthing that had such effect on me over 20 years ago coming to an end.

I agree entirely! There was many scenes where i was affected for sure, most have already been mentioned...
    - The younglings
    - The jedi being slaughtered by order 66 was particularly well shot. I had my hand to my mouth the whole time.
    - Despite the arguments over the quickness of the turning i was moved by the pledging allegiance scene.
    - Where Anakin chokes Padme OMG
    - The fire scene was just sad... ObiWans lines. "You were the chosen one." "I loved you like a brother, etc."
    - Padmes last words: "There is good in him. There is good in him. I know it!"
    - Even Yoda saying "I have failed. I have failed."

One last thing, and i know i have been talking a lot! This is regarding the character of the emperor:
    I loved the emperors character. He is a wuss! I never noticed that all the man is is a manipulator. He says so himself that he will never be as strong as Vader but he really is weak in comparison. When he is fighting Yoda he attempts to run! I always knew that he surrouded himself in power but it really hit home that he was never that strong to begin with. All he works with are lies. His best lie: "It appears that in your anger you killed her!"

I was happy with the movie. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

musician wrote:
    All I'll say is that I think any Star Wars fan will enjoy it. Lets do a reverse of the Matrix and pretend the first 2 films don't exist instead.

That's exactly what I said to my friends when we came out of the cinema!
    This is one of the best films I've ever seen, and certainly the best of the 6. Everything that was bad about the first 2 has just been eradicated: The script, acting, special effects, editing, camerawork, cinematography (the beginning is just amazing for this), the characters are really fleshed out... It's just so so f**king good.

I wanna go see it again.

Just...

PERFECT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Eh.

I always thought that Lucas could not write about anything but simple topics.

This film just proved this for me. The dialogue... :eek:

Pretty explosions tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

cringe factor +10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭cellulite_sally

I enjoyed it, acting was horrid, script I thought was okay as it tied all 6 films together nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 koala

ye i liked the effects etc but it was a bit too bang bang clash bang waloop, but Hayden Christensen did it for me, he is bleedin gorgeous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭formatman

Great movie overall , needs another viewing though.Lucas has set the standard again for effects , better pace than the first 2 ,
    didn't explain how R2 goes from everything but the kitchen sink to one that can't fly etc in 4 5 and 6

And the other negative was his obsession with dragons , leave that for Harry potter movies and Peter jackson to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Going to see it Sunday looking forward to it, first hour and half of Phantom Menace was like an extended ep of Fraggle Rock, the only redemption was the final battle with Darth Maul, to an otherwise shocking movie. Expected better from Attack of The Clones, or as I refer it to as "The OC in Space"
    Best parts were the first glimpse of Anakin turning dark, and Yoda and Count Dooku.
    Empire is by the far the best, Return of The Jedi was a stop gap started good but half way through completely fell to pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭sprinkles

qz wrote:
    Yes.

Qui-Gon Jinn isn't in Return of The Jedi, ghost-form or otherwise. And it's spelt Anakin, not Anikin.

I think he meant that he would have liked to see Qui-Gon Jinn as a ghost ala the ghosts in Jedi.

Over all I thought it brought the whole thing to a nice close. i def tied up all the loose ends, even if you could see where it was all going near the end (what with having seen the original films and all)

Action was amazing.
    Acting was good in parts
    but even Obi Wan let the side down with his heart felt scene watching the security camera. I mean they should have reshot that for sure. And don't get me started on the Noooooooo! from Vader. laughable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

And don't get me started on the Noooooooo! from Vader. laughable!

He sounds like a simpsons character, it was in some episode with Kent Brockman, where he says "Nooooooo"

I was reminded instantly and cringed.

Absolutely terrible scene, that one.

Great movie though, well made with some great emotional value, I was very impressed by the Clone Troopers turning on the Jedi, that was done rather excellently.

I was hoping for more elaboration on the start of the Rebel Alliance, and the turning of Anakin to Vader felt way too rushed, there was fantastic build up throughout AOTC and the first half of RoTS that indicated his inner struggle, but it really happened wayyyy too fast....one minutes he's saying "No, what have I done?", next hes murdering young kids. :p

Overall though, an extremely admirable movie from Lucas, I wasn't disappointed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Sweetness!

I saw it tonight and I thought it really made up for the last two tumbs up all round but I have one question where was Boba Fett, I thought he was meant to re appear in this episode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭Buck Owens

I Saw it tonight as well and I loved it, the story is brillant now that it is complete and all the questions are answered, but then again I wished I cared more when i saw scenes like Padme's funeral and the Jedi being wiped out.

But then again Seening the limbless and burned Anakin scream "I Hate You" at Obi Wan was about this Trilogy's equivelent of the "I am Your Father" Scene.

The 2nd best Star Wars film after Empire. Acion wise the best of the lot. Yoda was amazing, I felt like cheering at the scenes where he jumped up on Chewbacca's back and when he floored Palatines guards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭Sweetness!

Buck Owens wrote:
    I felt like cheering at the scenes where he jumped up on Chewbacca's back and when he floored Palatines guards.

I know those scenes were great, Yoda kicks ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Loved Yoda's move when breaking into the Jedi Temple where he throws his lightsaber through one of the stormtroopers, jump up on him and pulls the laber out of his chest. Such a cool move.

btw, Buck Owens, you may want to use spoiler tags there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

sprinkles wrote:
    I think he meant that he would have liked to see Qui-Gon Jinn as a ghost ala the ghosts in Jedi.

bingo.

yeah thats what i want now, sould they re-cut rotj to include qui gon?
    seems like they should include him now if they explained he
    has found immortal life?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Best way I can think of to sum up Episode III is:

Subtle, with a capital B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Saviour_Angel

This was certinaly the best out of the 3 new films but I think it lacks the passion of the oringals...

Oh and does anyone else think that when vader is in his black suit, do ye think he's a bit thin ??? Guess he must have packed on a few pounds in between this film and a New Hope..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Bill Gates

Saw it the other day at Ster Century (the big one), wow that's a cool cinema screen!

I thought it was awesome. So many memorable moments. The light sabre battles were just astonishing, the force powers (yoda knocking out the emperors guards omg!), the way Lucas gave us the final piece of the Star Wars jig saw puzzle. 100 x better than LOTR :)

Some of the acting and a lot of the script could have been better, but if you went to that film expecting shakespeare in space then you are an idiot. :p The space battles were not nearly as good as the ones in 4,5 & 6.

9.5/10 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

saw it last night and i gotta say one of the coolest things was that Jar Jar didn't open his mouth

Oh and does anyone else think that when vader is in his black suit, do ye think he's a bit thin ??? Guess he must have packed on a few pounds in between this film and a New Hope..

It was still Hayden Christensen in the suit. He wanted to actually be Vader as we always new him, rather than some stunt man doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

weemcd wrote:
    yeah thats what i want now, sould they re-cut rotj to include qui gon?
    lol, I can just see Luke looking over his shoulder; "Wow it's yoda, and obi wan, and I guess that must be my dad, and.....some guy with a beard......"