Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

wow - thats queer YOKE alright.
    Something from behind the Iron Curtain!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Cartell identifies it as a motorhome.

Here's a 911 in Merrion Street this evening.
    Picture_023_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭Borgman100

isn't that Shane Horgan's 911??

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Saw this big yoke today, anyone know what it is?
    IMG_1971.jpg

It's a Mercedes Benz 710 (says it on the tin :D)

4WD light army truck from the 60/70's (see the MG hatch in the roof ?) The body on it is standard army fare of the time. Would have been either a rolling toolshop, kitchen or most likely a command vehicle with lots of radio equipment at the time. Could also have been ex border police (Bundesgrenzschutz). In either case it would have been a shade of green originally.

These are quite popular for going to Africa on the cheap with a minimalist camping outfit in the back.

When I was in the army my "company vehicle" was a MAN with the same "shed" on the back
    bw_lkw_05t_gl_MAN_630L2A_Ko_SK050-001.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Sound Peasant... Didn't even see the 710 on it lol!:o

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

A few bits a pieces I spotted:

Nice Irish MGB GT, looks like its undergoing a restoration of some sort.
    Image018-1.jpg

Absolutely mint Merc 3.5l, I want one of these!
    Image009-1.jpg

Hungarian Lada
    Image001-1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,960 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Fiat 500 spotted on Stoney Road, Dublin.

Fiat500ZV88443.jpg

I can't recall where I saw this 2002.

BMW200271D866.jpg

Volvo GLT spotted on Ossory Road, Dublin.

VolvoGLTXSI712.jpg

MB 230 CE spotted on Leinster Avenue, Dublin.

MercedesBenz230CE83D4424.jpg

MB 190D spotted on Newcomen Court, Dublin.

MercedesBenz190D86MH88.jpg

Nissan Patrol spotted on Clonliffe Avenue, Dublin.

NissanPatrol88D25029.jpg

Pre '87 Hiace spotted in Donabate, Co Dublin.

ToyotaHiace.jpg

Not really a classic I suppose but Senators are getting quite rare. They still have a lot of 'presence'.

OpelSenator90D56345Rear.jpg

OpelSenator90D56345Front.jpg

The Senator is a classic in waiting. I love the look of them.
    They are getting scarce now all right but they were never a very common sight that I can remember.

Genealogy Forum Mod

Hermy wrote: »
    The Senator is a classic in waiting. I love the look of them.
    They are getting scarce now all right but they were never a very common sight that I can remember.
    20 years ago I used to drool over them. I thought they were the bee's knees. My bosses wife used to have an orange coloured 3.0 litre one and I thought she and the car were georgeous at the time but, I suppose I was young and innocent! :)

I've never seen an orange Senator but there's a nice pale blue one often parked on the Clontarf Raod.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Camarague

I've noticed people remarking fondly on the Hiace - what is so special about them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭artic

Love those pics,its nice to see all those cars again. I wonder why people leave their classic car out in the weather like that 2002 ?. It looks like it has been lying for a while. I think that hiace has seen its day. Great van in their day bulletproof.Keep those pictures coming .In their day the hiace was the van to have,very reliable and great for high mileage,its only downfall was if it came into contact with water it would rust in ftont of your eyes.

1971 Beetle on the R128 - two child seats in the rear would indicate everyday use.

VWBeetle73D60.jpg

And a 1985 Renault T1200 on Nottingham Street, Dublin.

RenaultT120085D8275.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭MercMad

Great spotting there lads !

I passed the owner of that green W108 Merc last Friday, I was driving my W111, and his eyes nearly popped out of his head. The green is a fab colour !

I see that Beetle regularly too.

I used to work for an Opel dealer and my boss always had a Senator. First the older "A" model then the "B". The 3.0 was nice but when the 3.0 24V engine arrived with Dual Ram system it was fantastic. Smooth, much more powerful than the 12V and made a lovely sound through its twin rectangular tailpipes. Loads of torque which transformed the car.

They handled very well, had electronically adjustable shocks and a really well engineered rear suspension and were way ahead of their time. The leather trimmed console lifted the interior quite a bit.....................but still no wood !

• Registered Users Posts: 22,035 ✭✭✭✭Esel

I've never seen an orange Senator but there's a nice pale blue one often parked on the Clontarf Raod.
    I've seen an orange boss's wife a few times though! :)
    MercMad wrote: »
    .....................but still no wood !
    So, it just didn't float your boat? :D

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 914 ✭✭✭okistag

TRIUMPH CLASSIC OWNERS CLUB

Thursday Technical Evening

Alan Egan who is a member of the TCOC invited our members over to his home to view his Triumph GT6 MK2 rebuild.

He gave us talk on many topics of the restoration, including a chat on diff's and also giving us a demo on Zinc Plating of various parts.

The shell is complete as is the chassis, its now at the exciting stage of the rebuild, putting the jigsaw back together.

Alan you are doing a remarkable job and I take my hat off to you my friend, well done. It will fantasic to see another well restored classic back on the road for another 30 plus years.

While there this evening I had taken a few photo's I do hope you enjoy.

Jack Epstein

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH19.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH14.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH13.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH21.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH23.jpg

AlanEganGT6REBUILDTHURSEVETECH3.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

She's a Mk1/Mk2 ya? Jaysus it looks very well, love the strip. What colour is it do you know? Do get us pics when it's together.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭tc20

^^ wow thats a fantastic job, it looks brand spanking new. As LM said, look forward to progress pics if possible.

Yeah magnificent work there, I'd love to have both the time and the space to do that to my cars.

Anymore info on the Zinc plating ?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Redrocket

yeah, any more info on the zinc plating? afaik DIY zinc plating is possible, just needs a few test runs to get right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Seen in Tallaght every day :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

VW at Walkinstown, Jag at DCU

• Registered Users Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭mustang68

VW in Terenure and the BMW in Grand Canal Square
    74802.JPG
    74803.jpg
    74804.jpg

Wow lovely straight Monza "A", gorgeous cars, shame about the europlates though.

Gotta love those 6 Series, I was behind one yesterday, same colour but Polish or Latvian reg.

She's a Mk1/Mk2 ya? Jaysus it looks very well, love the strip. What colour is it do you know? Do get us pics when it's together.

Hi

She's a Mk2, and yes the strip does suit it very well. Alan who owns and is restoring the GT6 said the strip has been on the car as far back as the 70's, so he decided to keep it and rightly so.

It is finished in white the original colour, Triumph 19 is the colour code, and the strip is maroon.

I will be posting more pics as and when I get them.

Maybe Alan you would be so kind to post some as you go along.

Cheers Jack

Spotted these three in Howth today.
    Picture_025_Small.jpg
    Picture_026_Small.jpg
    Picture_027_Small.jpg

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

okistag wrote: »
    Hi

I will be posting more pics as and when I get them.

Maybe Alan you would be so kind to post some as you go along.

Cheers Jack

Please do - that looks fascinating

A few of our members heading to Wexford yesterday afternoon.

IMG_8700.jpg

IMG_8734.jpg

IMG_8683.jpg

IMG_8673.jpg

IMG_8665.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 36,166 ✭✭✭✭ED E

A couple of VW campers...
    Picture_169_Small.jpg
    Picture_173_Small.jpg

Do you remember where these were?

Thanks,
    Lethal.

This one is parked in Cardiff Lane, Dublin 2 and doesn't appear to have moved for some time now.
    Picture_169_Small.jpg
    And this one was parked by the Long Hall in South Great Georges Street the one time I saw it.
    Picture_173_Small.jpg
    Why do you ask?

Genealogy Forum Mod