Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What exactly is wrong with me?

• 16-05-2005 12:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I've posted bits and bobs on here before but I'm gonna tell everything to see if it all fits together for someone. So please excuse the long post.

First of all, I've always been a shy person. Never really spoke to anyone unless they started speaking to me. I was also bullied at school so that seriously affected my self-esteem. It only stopped when I did the leaving cert and left. Even now I'm still very conscious of what others think of me. I've only a handful of friends, my best friend lives 180 miles away, we used to be school friends and kept in contact when my family moved away. I live in a very remote area and get bored a huge amount. I never meet people so that makes things a lot worse. I've never learned to stand up for myself, never say no and get walked all over.
    Also, I've had no real contact with girls over the years, never had a real girlfriend but have had several crushes. I always went to all-boys schools (not my own choice). Over the last two years I've been in contact with a girl through the net, she lives about 60 miles from me. We've met up twice and didn't really get on either time. I scared her by being so quiet and a little clumsy and silly (lacking common sense). However she still texts and e-mails me, much to my surprise. When I was with her in person I could barely speak to her and sometimes felt physically sick in my stomach. One time we were hungry but I couldn't eat, I would have threw up if I did. I seem to create some mental barrier that prevents me from letting my guard down and trusting someone. When I'm alone I'm fine, just very lonely. I certainly have a bit more sense than when I'm with a girl.
    I'm 20 now, will be 21 in a few months, yet inside I still feel like a child. I'm about 5'8" but I still expect to have to look up at a person when I meet them. My handwriting is pathetic too, looks like a 5 year old's. Some of my thoughts are also very childish, I'm too embarrassed to say what they are. The years seem to be passing quicker than I can adapt to them. In my opinion my mind is still trapped around 1995, if that makes any sense to you.
    One thing about me that many find hard to tolerate is that my years of solitary confinement and boredom have resulted in me daydreaming a serious amount. This can make me look ignorant when really its uncontrollable at this stage. I have these images in my head of a dream world that I just drift into on a regular basis. My net friend I mentioned above is always asking me what I'm thinking, since she knows I'm always thinking of something. I over-analyse situations and get very worried or scared very easily.

I talked to my GP about this in February 2004, he said it was possibly depression and prescribed me anti-depressants. But I never got them since they cost me €40 a pop and everyone was telling me "you're not depressed." A member on here gave me a bit of a flaming for thinking I was depressed, so I don't think I am.

Ok, I've said just about everything I can. Could anyone please advise me on what's wrong with me. I know that some of this may be completely unrelated but I just wanted to mention as much as possible. I also seriously needed to let everything out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭NikNik

I seriously feel for you. I was similar to you years back. I was bullied by a family member throughout my childhood and it took its toll. I was an unbelieveably shy and nervous person. My mother took me to the doctors thinking I was deaf because when she called my name I was too shy to answer. Due to nervousness I had severe excema and my hair would fall out in chunks. I would hide under the table and lock myself in my room for hours.

Luckily I got over it on my own. Im still a bit shy and self concious so I can understand how you feel. What worked for me was keeping myself busy - especially with the things I was passionate about. For example I joined a gym to feel better about myself and met people through that. In a way I forced myself to socialise to better my people skills and help me fit in with the outside world. All I can say is keep trying - different methods work for different people and its an every day struggle.

My advice is to get out there. Join a club, sign up for a class. Try not to have too much time on your own so you don't get ideas in your head. Youre probably not as immature as you think - it doesn't sound like it. Think about the positives, not the negatives. You can see that this girl has obviously taken an interest so things may not be as bad as they seem.

Hope this helps
    G'luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭RoadSweeper

I think your opinion of youself is alot worse than it is. You have too much time alone on your hands to think up aranoid thoughts. Find something your good at, join a club and expand yourself. This way you'll make friends naturally!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

You have too much time alone on your hands to think up aranoid thoughts.

This is definitely it in a nutshell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Infini

I can understand your feelings oh too well mate. I'd recommend what NikNik said as it would get you out into a group and you'd be able to meet new people. Also try not to worry about things and try to think positively as well.

Good Luck to ya. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

for someone who socialises, you seem to think you know people pretty well.

which you dont, by the way.

for someone who socialises, you seem to think you know people pretty well.

which you dont, by the way.

Who is that for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

similar situation to yourself, although im not living as remotely, i tend to isolate myself from other people, and i often freeze up in unfamiliar social situations.

i've been seeing a counsellor recently, and she's helped me an awful lot (its not just the social thing but a bunch of other people too)

perhaps something like that might be an idea? talking to others who are more familiar with these situations would probably help, my counsellor has been giving me small social goals to overcome my fears gradually.
    the whole 'joining a club' or 'getting out more' stuff is really easier said than done with such strong paranoia, you need to start with the little things.
    you definitely dont need drugs, just a bit of a hand. if you're on a budget they're generally pretty accomodating too, or they're could be free ones in your area.
    just something you should probably check out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Altheus

Yeah, like they all say. Get some air, meet some people, socialise (outside of an alcohol sphere). There's been a few threads about how to do that on here before.

I'd recommend walking, it always helped me, because I had to keep on walking, so physically I couldnt just curl up in a ball, eventually your own thoughts sorta dissapear and you pick up on what's around you. Even 5 minutes escape from your own head in an hour is a lot. (Plus the exercise is good for you!)

I'm 20, I don't feel my age, does anyone really? It seems like only yesterday I got a turtles techno drome for my 9th birthday. I regulary go to lectures and end up daydreaming for the whole thing, and my a4 pad will be covered in immature drawings by the end of it. You think your hand writing is bad, wait until you see mine, its woeful but I wouldn't consider it a major flaw. Stop trying to find faults with yourself.

I don't feel for you, you don't want people to have pity on you. It will only contribute to your lower self esteem. Respect yourself and there is nothing you can't do.

From your post I gathered that whenever you go outside, walk down the street, go into a shop, club etc. You become really self conscious that all eyes are on you and your every movement? Be honest. Thats not the case, how many people do you walk by in the street, sit beside on the bus and its just another face, you don't pass a second thought about them. The answer is practically everyone. No one you pass in the street can sense all the stuff going on in your head, you're just another face.

I recommend joing a gym, excercise will make you feel great and you'll have a certain amount of privacy, whereas if you sign up for a team sport you'll be thrown deep in and you'll have to mix with everyone almost instantly. Something I think you'll find hard to do.

Another thing, when having conversation talk about stuff that interests you rather than stuff you think will interest the person you're talking to. This way people will get to know rather than thinking they know you.

Say hello to 3 strangers each day as you walk on by. Go on try it. Be friendly, don't think you're better than someone or below someone just because they're popular, rich, better looking whatever.

Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dimitri

cant say ive experienced anything quite as extreme as you but i do know what its like to daydream to the point where its(almost) uncontrollable however wrirting what your thinking is very helpful, its serves both as a release, but when you read what you write often( i find anyway) you see most of it is paranoid fantasy and usually laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

What happened in 1995?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,566 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

unreg84 wrote:
    I also seriously needed to let everything out.
    I don't want to play amateur-shrink with you, but do you have some parental/family issues from the past that you feel maybe the root cause of most of your problems?

It's quite easy for people to say "yeah, go join a club" but that in itself can be a harrowing experience for someone to go to the first meeting on their own.

I think one thing is sure, you definately need more contact with other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

your chilhood never allowed u to develop the interpersonal skill u need to be able to feel comfortable about meeting people or engaging a stranger in conversation.. the worst thing u can do is stay alone try and talk to someone about this preferably a professional because its not depression u have for sure its just a lack of intimate relationships and the ability to express yourself confidently to other people u come across

@DublinWriter: Since I'm unreg I can say this, but I'd never admit it under my real name. Maybe this has no connection but since you brushed the subject I'll add it in.
    My dad was quite violent towards me (and my other siblings) as a child. It only stopped when I was 13. Fair enough that it only happened when I did something wrong, but the experiences still flash back on me from time to time.
    I used to (and still do to a point) get picked on by one of my brothers - again that didn't help at all.

@Zillah: I still listen to a lot of the music from that time, and sometimes I just feel like a 10/11 year old. I always think back to the way things were then and feel that they were much better than now. I lived in Dublin and had my best friend to keep me company. Now I live a lot further away, on the west coast, and I feel like I should have never left.

@Dimitri: Gulp, if it will help. This will seriously embarrass me, but at least its the net.
    I can put a year on when this started - 1992. It takes form of a TV show that I put together in my head. One of the main characters represents me - what I'd like myself to be. The other characters are just people I know or like. I'm able to act out scenes involving different situations, sometimes these can be pretty rough, especially when I'm feeling low or in a bad mood. Its a method of escape for me, but I never told anyone about this except my best friend, he was the only one I could trust to keep it to himself.

I certainly have too much time on my hands, so I start thinking or worrying. But If I joined a club I'd probably still be very flaky to start with. I'm terrible in any social position. If I get a few drinks on me I break out of my shell and I feel like a completely different person, but once the alcohol goes I crawl back in again. I certainly don't make a habit of drinking, its usually only when I go out with my oldest brother since he's always having the stuff.

I've been considering counselling to combat this. But I'm not sure what I need just yet. Thanks for all the replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭D

Don't worry about being flaky when you join a club. Most people are when they first start something. But you do need to get out and socialise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭johnnyc

i was in exactly the same situation as yourself clumsy,shy and getting bullied what i did was join a gym become stronger and fit, also you will become more assertive & confident. You would probably meet more people there that have been in the same situation as yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

unreg84 wrote:

I talked to my GP about this in February 2004, he said it was possibly depression and prescribed me anti-depressants. But I never got them since they cost me €40 a pop and everyone was telling me "you're not depressed." A member on here gave me a bit of a flaming for thinking I was depressed, so I don't think I am.

Ok, I've said just about everything I can. Could anyone please advise me on what's wrong with me. I know that some of this may be completely unrelated but I just wanted to mention as much as possible. I also seriously needed to let everything out.

Listen to your doctor dude, some of the ADVICE given here is ok but mainly just a bunch of nonsense from gob****s who are afraid to look into themselves so they spend their time commenting on others,, :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,468 ✭✭✭Evil Phil

I suspect I know who flamed you about not being depressed. You may be depressed, you and your doctor know better than us, take mental health advice on these boards with a pinch of salt.

Are you in college? Are you employed/unemployed? What's the situaton with moving into a more urban environment like Dublin or Galway?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Instead of joining any club at random- I have a suggestion for you. A lot of your difficulty stems from problems with interacting socially with people of your own age group. You'd be surprised at how many people are in similar positions.....
    I'd suggest possibly looking into joining the likes of a society where games and role playing (even something similar to Dungeons and Dragons) occur. Often its easier to play a role than to socialise as yourself. As you feel more comfortable in role playing- its easier to introduce aspects of yourself- until such time as its not so difficult to stand on your own two feet, without being scared to death over things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭eyebrows

Altheus wrote:
    Yeah, like they all say. Get some air, meet some people, socialise (outside of an alcohol sphere).

why "outside of an alcohol sphere". alcohol is great (maybe I should just put a fullstop here :D) for meeting new people, especially if you're really shy

I know someone with the same thoughts and confidence issues you
    are going through. He joined a drama society and was able to become a
    different person for the few hours they rehearsed and performed. In the end he got to know so many nice people and his confidence and social skills improved no end. Today he is a totally different person. Thought this might help?

unreg84 wrote:
    This will seriously embarrass me, but at least its the net.
    I can put a year on when this started - 1992. It takes form of a TV show that I put together in my head. One of the main characters represents me - what I'd like myself to be. The other characters are just people I know or like. I'm able to act out scenes involving different situations, sometimes these can be pretty rough, especially when I'm feeling low or in a bad mood. Its a method of escape for me, but I never told anyone about this except my best friend, he was the only one I could trust to keep it to himself.
    What the feck is so embarrassing about that?!? Sounds like you have a creative streak, you should see some of the crap that goes on in my head! Everyone does that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ssh

unreg84 wrote:

This drives me up the wall... your Doctor "thought" you might be depressed so prescribes you drugs which may or may not react properly with you. If you actually had bought them, almost any anti-depressant will usually recmmend that you take them only with proper monitoring and counselling. At best, you'll end up wasting 40 quid a month; at worst, well... I nearly lost a friend to a doctor prescribing inappropriate anti-depressants, no doubt while taking a solid backhander from [certain pharmaceutical companies]. They say "read the label", you'd really hope your doctor could do the same.

It does sound like you have issues that need to be worked out. You might be depressed, you might not... I don't think anyone on boards is going to be able to determine this by reading your posts on a PI forum. If you can afford it, you should go and talk to a trained counsellor for a few sessions. Only then, if you find that talking to one hasn't at least put you in a place where you can begin to work out and rationalise your problems should you consider going to a psychiatrist and getting prescription for appropriate medication.

[edit... shouldn't name names, really, should I?]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

Original poster:

I can somewhat relate to how you are feeling regarding your self-condfidence. I was very shy about 5 years or so ago, I isolated myself alot of people and I had absolutely zero confidence in myself. I'm 19 now, I have grown up alot, I'm alot more outgoing and not as shy as I used to be but I still have alot of doubts about myself. I constantly question myself like saying to myself ''does anyone like me?'', ''is everyone better than me?'', ''does anyone care about me'' etc. I'm confident in myself as a person but I still have so many doubts about myself and I constantly worry about the future. I have noticed I worry alot when I have spare time on my hands. I find not being active makes me feel very down. If you feel like this when you are at home or something go for a walk to take your mind off things.

I crave to be around people and to talk to people but sometimes when I'm around large groups of people I get very anxious. I think you need to get out there more. You need to meet people but first you have also got to change how you feel about yourself. If you feel confident about yourself it will show to people. I believe that you need to talk someone like a counsellor who will help you build yourself up. Maybe when you feel alot better about yourself you should then push yourself out to the outside world. The fact that girl you know tries to keep in contact with you shows that you are anything but a loser. I can honestly say that things are nowhere near as bad as you think they are. It is your inner self that is making you feel like your worthless. There is nothing wrong with you as a person I can assure you and you would be shocked by the amount of people who feel the same way as you do. We all have our strenghts and weaknesses, some people are shyer than others but if everyone was crazily outgoing the world would be one headwrecking place. Your goal is that you need to believe in yourself. Go and talk to counsellors who can build your condfidence up.

I really wish you best of luck and whatever you do keep the chin up and you will feel alot better about yourself! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

Listen to your GP. Not friends, etc, do they av medical training?!? If you doubt your GP get a second opinion.

As for your handwritting-my Dad's like nearly 50 and it looks like the kid i babysat scrawled it...teachers always thought i faked notes-meh you write the way u write..

Talk to someone who will listen and possibly give you options-prefrably someone who is trained.

Keep in touch with that girl-dont over crowd her though.

As for being nervous around her...you just av to acquire ppl skills, I think that joing a drama group would be an excellent idea- it may be a bit daunting at first-but c'mon your 20, you're the one who's gonna av to look after you from now on.

Don't sit around on your own-do stuff. Get a job even-a sociable one, try working in a shop or a restaurant-not ideal wage wise but sociable...might help you come to terms with ppl problems..

Alana wrote:
    Listen to your GP. Not friends, etc, do they av medical training?!? If you doubt your GP get a second opinion.
    FFS the most a GP will do is prescribe pills! The poster's experience proves this. When it comes to personal issues, they work on the "When in doubt, it's mild depression, whack them on 30Mg of Prozac/Seroxat or whatever the SSRI of the week happens to be" rule.

GPs, Dentists and Psychologists are amoung some of the screwed-up people I know!

@Evil Phil: I'm working at the moment. I'm originally from Dublin and considered moving back for a very long time. I just get the usual "too dangerous for you" stuff from my parents. I'll need to get another job up there too, but I'm not too happy with my current job anyway (different topic, different board).

@DublinWriter: I'm inclined to believe you there. I was prescribed Lexapro but I questioned whether I really needed them, plus the price totally put me off. I'd get a second opinion before putting that prescription to use.

@eyebrows: The last time I met up with my friend I mentioned here, she jokingly suggested getting me drunk to keep me chatty, lol. It does work but I need something more permanent.

How much would counselling set me back if I were to try a few sessions? I'm saving up to move out of my parents' house so I have a bit of a stash. I just feel that I mightn't be able to do this on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Uthur

I highly recommend councelling or psychotherapy - a good councellor would
    really help you more than anything else.

You may or may not have a mild case of depression - but I'd let an expert decide on that one. I'd also skip the drugs unless nothing else works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Dreamcatcher

unreg84 wrote:
    I'm working at the moment. I'm originally from Dublin and considered moving back for a very long time. I just get the usual "too dangerous for you" stuff from my parents.
    Well, it sounds like you would be a lot happier moving back to Dublin(or an urban environment) for a start. Living in a city, you're more "anonymous" and can blend in with the crowd. If you're living in a rural area/small town, you're more likely to feel that you "stand out" (if you are feeling a bit paranoid to begin with). Also, it sounds like your parents may be being a bit overprotective towards you - this would be another reason to move into a place of your own, so that you can mature and become independent.
    unreg84 wrote:
    I'll need to get another job up there too, but I'm not too happy with my current job anyway (different topic, different board).
    I would echo what Alana said about getting a social/customer facing sort of job. I would recommend doing it part-time only to begin with if you could afford this. Speaking from experience, this really helped me to "come out of my shell". I was around 22 at the time, and was in much the same viscious circle that you have described. At the time, I was going through a spell of unemployment, and then one day, I was in an impulsive mood and decided to answer a "staff wanted" ad in a fast food restaurant window. It was a relief at the time that there was no interview or loads of questions. I just filled out the form, and it was "when can you start". The key to this for me, was that the atmosphere was just so busy that I didn't have "time" to think/worry about whether people liked me etc. or not!! In the end, I realised that customers and staff DID come to like me, because I was good at the job - the customer could trust me to make a nice sandwich - my colleague could trust that I'd take an order for them - the supervisor could trust that I would clear tables in my spare time.
    I only did this job for approx 6 months, but somehow, it helped me to interact with people better; customers came and went - you might never see them again, but if they came back to you, it was a complement.
    Feel free to keep in touch with how you get on, OP - you are not alone - a lot of people feel just as lost, but they don't wear it on their sleeve - some even just put on an act instead - At least you're being honest with yourself, and want to realise a truer version of the person that you are/want to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Dreamcatcher

Oh, and do NOT trust the GP - far too many people do - it's like the local GP is like the local priest or somthing - ignore these people.
    I've had a similar experience more than once with a lazy GP, who just reached for the prescription pad because he just couldn't be arsed to use his brain(saying I was "probably" depressed, when I wasn't)- plus I had to pay the consultation fee for the privelege(If I had been a couple of years older I would've had the cop on to walk out and not have paid him a penny,,).
    If I had a euro for everytime, I, as a lay person, has outwitted a GP, with logical argument, I'd be a rich woman.

But by all means, DO do some research among family and friends to find yourself a good GP(this is difficult though, as the best are refusing to take on any new patients).
    I myself am currently looking for a decent GP - I will pm you if I find someone who is good enough.

best of luck meantime,
    dc

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

unreg84 wrote:
    One of the main characters represents me - what I'd like myself to be. The other characters are just people I know or like.

Why dont you be this person?

I can relate to you because, while not as bad, I was quite similar to you. Not able to talk to people etc etc

You just gotta speak your mind. You think people give a **** about what you say, they dont. I've learnt that since I came to college. People are gonna accept you for who you are, and if they dont, they arent worth it.

Just say whatever first pops into your head in a situation (if its funny all the better)

Stop overanalysing the situation and go with the flow.

Above all (and this is horribly cliched, but just do it) BE YOURSELF (or the person you'd like yourself to be, which is exactly the same thing)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

socialising isnt as easy as it seems. but that is the main thing in life. it is very important. i know this as someone very close to me isnt what u would call a people person. but u know what, sometimes thats the way some people are. there is nothing you can do to change it. be what u want to be and do what makes u happy as life is to short for regrets. be at ease with yourself and try not to analize everything u do. sometimes u have to take what doctors say with a pinch of salt as they are not gods. sometimes they are two quick to pop pills and see that as the soloution to life. talking is the best medicine there is. sometimes people are just lonely and need a friend. after all we mainly learn from others so thats why interaction is so important. so as hard as it is, if u do want to change then look into gyms or clubs. if the worst comes to the worst u dont have to go back. try it once and see, there is no harm in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Op, i'm the same age as u, and I couldn't be any more bubbly loud etc, if you wanna ever PM me to chat, or if ur moving back to Dublin, I might be there (think i'm moving) and I'll take u out ;)

Anyway, being shy is horrible, and I just figure "screw it", and work away. I to have an "alter ego". I call her "kate", and she helps me on the occassions when my own confidence fails me. Use this alter ego of yours, and the very best of luck. The less your bothered about what people think, the better you do. Just don't let not being bothered about what people think turn into not looking good........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

unreg84 wrote:
    However she still texts and e-mails me, much to my surprise. When I was with her in person I could barely speak to her and sometimes felt physically sick in my stomach. One time we were hungry but I couldn't eat, I would have threw up if I did.
    You were nervous. It's called "butterflys in your tummy". Perfectly normal. Hey, I was talking to the girl from Spar at the bus stop earlier (we'd never had a proper conversation and I felt we had little in common, as we were out of our roles of cashier and customer) and I felt just a little nervous. I'm not big on small chat unless I can "control" the conversation. A little awkward, but perfectly normal.

One thing I would recommend is saying "hello" or "How's it going?" to the people in you ordinary life, the postman, girl in the shop, whoever. It make the more complicated conversations easier.
    Oh, and do NOT trust the GP
    Thats a little too far. Fair enough don't **blindly** trust the GP (or anyone else), but the GP has met the OP, you haven't. The GP has medical trainging, you don't (I presume).

Hi again, thanks for all the replies.

@Victor: I assumed it was the butterfly problem. However she made it seem so damn wrong that I was acting this way. I don't completely understand her, we don't really get on in person yet I ended up sleeping with her the last time we met. Afterwards she told me it "meant nothing."
    I do say "hi" or "hey ya" to people in shops, usually just being nice.

@naughty_girl: I might take you up on that offer. :)

I do want to move back, I suppose the only things holding me back are my job and fear. I might get a job in a different area of work just to get a change of scenery, getting bored with what I'm doing now.

Today I've been feeling a lot worse, although this is probably a separate topic.

I fell out with the girl I mentioned, and it was due to the night we had last weekend. She told me that it "meant nothing" and we were just friends. So I told her the next day that she was right and we should probably stay friends (since I didn't want to ruin things). But then she freaked and said "that's all we ever were, JUST friends". But how come she slept with me? Anyway, she's ignoring me now.

I know things could be worse, but they're the worst they've been in a long time. I'm going to take a look into counselling next week - I badly need it.

unreg84 wrote:
    But how come she slept with me?
    Did she sleep with you or have sex with you?

Victor wrote:
    Did she sleep with you or have sex with you?
    We had sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Was there much drink taken? I know a good few girls who accidently slept with a friend cause drink made them see sparks that mightn't have been there- or were not evident enough to act on them sober. If you were sober, it might have been a mood thing.

Try not to worry about it - you had sex, proving you can attract people and that you're a nice guy. Be happy you got some, and if she's ignoring you, it's her deal. Not yours.

Best of luck with sorting yourself out- remember deep breaths (but not darth vador style ;) ) and smile. Walk tall, if you believe you're confident, fun, bubbly, sexy etc other people will to. They'll also believe it if you think you're stupid, boring, etc.

BTW sorry to hear about the girl blowing you off (pun not intended), but if you had fun then just forget about it. Sex is sex- it only really means something if you're in love, it's your virginity or it has reprecussions. Don't sweat it- it's only a bit of (very fun) friction.

unreg84 wrote:
    What exactly is wrong with me?
    unreg84 wrote:
    We had sex.
    I'm not seeing as much of a problem as I saw the other day.

@Victor: I kinda see what you're thinking, but it was my first time. I was desperate, she was willing, so it just happened. I got so sick of thinking to myself "everyone else is doing it so why not me?" For a long time I wanted to lose the "virgin" tag in a hope that it might make me see myself better. Don't get me wrong, I have strong feelings for this girl but I assume she doesn't feel the same way about me if she said it meant nothing. Plus she lives a little too far away anyway.

After it happened I got really scared that she was going to get pregnant, I think its the paranoia thing again. There were no accidents to bring on such a fear and I used protection. It was then that she said she wanted to help me think straight if she could help at all.

I suppose there's nothing more to add so I wanted to thank you all for listening to me over the last few days, you've been great.

Time to update everybody. :)

I've made up again with the girl I haven't stopped talking about, lol. I asked her yesterday if we were ok and she said "yeah, why wouldn't we be?" So I mentioned our argument and she said "forget it, doesn't matter now." So I don't know the reason but maybe I'm better off leaving it that way, no point in bringing it up again.

One thing I forgot to mention in my posts is that my sleep is very erratic. I just feel I've nothing to get up for, and I'll often stay up very late. I've even had trouble getting up for work too, I'm just too bored with the job I guess.
    But anyway, I've booked an appointment to see a counsellor, I'm hoping that it might help me work my issues out. Thanks again.

unreg84, I was just about to suggest the counsellor, but since you're goiing, I don't need to.

I was, and still am in most ways, in the same boat as yourself as regards socialising. I'm seeing a counsellor at the moment, and it has helped so far. I've still a long way to go yet, but going to the counsellor was the best thing that happened for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Good luck with the counsellor. Don't forget, its never too late to change your life around.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Go with the counselling, but I think you seem to be generally okay..... most people live in a made up world inside their heads, some of them just think it's real, more than others. ( speaking from experience here)

I do think you should try and regulate your sleep as much as possible, irregular sleep can make you very miserable, and make things seem worse than they are ( I'm yammering on from experience here too).

It is a bit crap to be with someone for the first and have them tell you it 'meant nothing' - not sure if that did upset you, if it didn't, no worries, if it did, then trust me, it gets better. Honest. ( speaking from....oh you get the picture).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭the raven

you'll find it easier to sleep if you get into certain habits just before you go, i.e. try going to bed at the same time every night even if you don't feel tired; if you watch tv usually before bed, try making sure it ain't anything unsettling or overly stimulating; you could try listening to soft music when you go to bed; even reading a book or whatever;
    if you find yourself mulling into the wee hours try simple breathing exercises as you lie in bed, concentrating on the slow breathing. this focus will help to whittle down the erratic thoughts goin' on. of course (if you try this...) you might find yourself trailing off and again thinking 'bout whatever sh!t that's goin' on but at those points you'll remember this post and go back to doing the exercise.
    - eventually (...eventually...) it'll bring you to an easier state of mind in which your body and brain will find it easier to calm down and shut down for the night. you might compare it in a sense to counting sheep...

these may seem overly simple but they'll aid you in getting better quality sleep ;) hope it helps mate. a lot of the stuff above seems awful familiar to me as well, i guess we've all been there or are yet to get there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Belladonna

Someone made a really good point in one of the posts that I want to point out to you again because it's really very true .
    It is that while we think other people may be watching us or judging us and therefore we feel self conscience, in truth most people are too self centered to even bother with what you or I may be doing as we walk down the street or enter a room.
    I had the same fear as you, to a certain extent, but once I realized that to most people I am invisable and that people generally can't be arsed about what I am doing anyway, it gave me a wonderful freedom to just be myself and it has helped me a lot. I hope it helps you as well.
    Another thing that I have learned as I've gotten older is that I wrongly assumed that those more beautiful or smarter than me had no worries like I did. But once I got to now them guess what? They had the same fears that we all do, so you see? We all have those feelings from time to time, just know that you aren't alone.
    Good luck in counseling :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Yeah I was like that up until I was about 14. I met my first GF through the net and was terrified of meeting her and wouldn't agree to meet in person, and when I finally came across her in town was really awkward and embarrassed. Eventually I just came out of my shell after knowing her.

Me, I was lucky that something like that was forced upon me, but I suppose you have to realise at some point that a life bottled up to yourself can be a bit of a waste and realise that saying what you feel and opening up to people, while it is difficult at first, is not going to lead to something awful. Some people will like you, some people won't. So what. It just means you'll have close friends that accept you for who you are, even if you're a lil' messed up (aren't we all:P).

Once you come out of the shell once, you'll realise that people aren't so intimidating. They probably think a lot of the same thoughts that you do, and when you experience that closeness it'll probably be one of the happiest times of your life. You just have to step out and take the risk, because what's the worst that can happen? Maybe show your internet friend this thread?

I still go silent when I meet new people and venture into the unfamiliar, but you just have to expand what you see as familiar and step outside your comfort zone. I know it's easier said than done though:P