Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Great B.IE Slang Phrase Challenge- R U IN?

• 13-04-2005 1:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭

THE CHALLENGE IS TO COLLECTIVELY INVENT A UNIQUE PHRASE AND TRY TO MAKE IT PART OF IRISH SLANG.

When I was about 12 I had a best mate called John. We had some stupid saying we made up. About a year later I heard some stranger say it and I thought it was interesting how slang and sayings get thrown about in Dublin. Of course I forget what that old phrase was and I never heard anyone say it again, but Im sure it is possible to "invent" one.

Popular culture is often ripped off and how many of us have done impressions of Ali G, father Ted or the Budweiser frogs.. Id rather if the final saying is something unique, origional and almost random...

What I propose is that a few of us here on Boards.ie make up some sort of phrase, one which is almost random and 100% origional, and try pump it into Dublin life by saying it constantly to our friends and family aswell as posting it [not too much] on a few irish boards and sites and chatrooms..

WHY?
    To see if its possible.

HOW do we know if its successfull?
    If people in cork start saying it instead of "Langer" or people in Dublin start saying it instead of "bud" ..[for example]...

How will we know when the final phrase is decided?
    Im sure we're grown up enough to agree within the thread fairly easily..

What should the phrase describe?
    anything- a feeling, a type of person, a car, a popular Irish item.. etc...

So, people, lets hear some suggestions, all of which must be origional.. To ensure the final phrase decided on is 100% origional it should be modified slightly by someone else posting in this thread ...

I have an origional phrase which some of my friends have taken to saying but its too rude to repeat here :p

any thoughts?? :):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

great idea. i'll have to have a wee ponder on this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

how about, em... originality is tough.... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭ExOffender

Don't mean to shout, but this is kismet, this is fate, etc! My cousin and I have invented the best slang ever! It's just one word: "Crapfork". It describes the opposite of serendipity. The 'crapfork' occurs when something you had been looking forward to is cancelled or turns out to be crap, or is in some way a disappointment.

How it came about is this: I don't know what the cutlery situation is in all your gaffs, but we have this one fork, that's part of a set that no longer exists. I don't know why it's still in use, since everyone hates it. It's bigger than all the rest, yellowy, and it has a taste to it that just ruins whatever you're eating. It's collectively known as 'the crap fork'. The whole crapfork paradigm is this: you get home from work, you're knackered, starving, you sit down to a delicious meal... and you've got the crapfork. It applies to so many situations that I think it really has the potential to take off.

I know you wanted it to be altered and 100% original and all that, but my cousin and I talked about trying to get it circulating and never got around to it. Whaddya think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

The Great B.IE Slang Phrase Challenge- R U IN?

Boards.ie creating slang?

What Glenstal twat thought up of this ****e... I see a 12 clicked future for him...

I'm going to **** over a Slydice special

bye bye

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

lol Searrard your such a dickhead.......

oh wait, thats not essentially b.ie slang :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

lol Searrard your such a dickhead.......

oh wait, thats not essentially b.ie slang :)
    All hail - We're not worthy...

/me tips hit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

ExOffender wrote:
    Don't mean to shout, but this is kismet, this is fate, etc! My cousin and I have invented the best slang ever! It's just one word: "Crapfork". It describes the opposite of serendipity. The 'crapfork' occurs when something you had been looking forward to is cancelled or turns out to be crap, or is in some way a disappointment.

How it came about is this: I don't know what the cutlery situation is in all your gaffs, but we have this one fork, that's part of a set that no longer exists. I don't know why it's still in use, since everyone hates it. It's bigger than all the rest, yellowy, and it has a taste to it that just ruins whatever you're eating. It's collectively known as 'the crap fork'. The whole crapfork paradigm is this: you get home from work, you're knackered, starving, you sit down to a delicious meal... and you've got the crapfork. It applies to so many situations that I think it really has the potential to take off.

I know you wanted it to be altered and 100% original and all that, but my cousin and I talked about trying to get it circulating and never got around to it. Whaddya think?

Very funny, I have two crapforks and it sucks when all the good ones have dissapeared. That is a good saying

We too have crapforks. Truly crapfork when you're lookin forward to a great meal an you get the crapfork... you almost want to wash a different one to use instead but cant quite be bothered :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭solo1

I had a girlfriend who was a crapfork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭Steveire

Stira. It means hot girl. info
    Spoirt. It means (loosely) to have a good time. I've actually heard other people shout this one around town late at night when people are let out of clubs, but that was a long time ago.
    Crapfork is a good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

i'm loving crapfork!!!
    i'm gonna use it everyday,
    cos life is generally one big crapfork for me really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

CRAPFORK IT IS
    What Glenstal twat thought up of this ****e
    me

Crapfork took a while to warm to but yeah I like it

So Crapfork it is... Im glad everyone liked the first suggestion- pretty nifty.

Would it be ok if I used it in this sort of context? :

my 2 mates and I walk into the pub and I sit down. 2 girls sit next to us but one mate has a guy on either side of him rather than a girl on any side. "jasus Lennie you got the crapfork there"

I guess its abit like the short straw?? or you could just say "CRAPFORK" when your pissed off I suppose.. Anyways it is now our job to make slang history by making the first ever intentionally invented slang.

Everyone say it to your friends, text people, post on boards and chatrooms and tatoo it to your forreheads.. CRAPFORK

incidentally, we have a crap knife in our house, its the one my folks use for the dog and cat food and its got a red handle. it pisses me off that my mum insists on washin it with the rest of our dishes.
    We also have a crap cup which my mate John used to call the cavity cup- it has a deep hole in the handle which gives most people a horrible eery feeling.

anyways...

CRAPFORK - spread the word.

you think we can do it?? any more strategies? it would be great to get it on TV/Radio...... come on guys- i know you have connections....

womoma wrote:
    my 2 mates and I walk into the pub and I sit down. 2 girls sit next to us but one mate has a guy on either side of him rather than a girl on any side. "jasus Lennie you got the crapfork there"

That's fine. How we did it was just to say 'crapfork', it's sympathetic, like 'sh1t buzz' - "Aw, bit of a crapfork there, eh Lennie?"
    incidentally, we have a crap knife in our house,

We also have a crap spoon, but it doesn't have the same ring to it, and I use forks more anyway. 'Crapfork' just seems to have that ring. I really hope it does catch on.

I think a few publicity stunts may be in order..

new sig

womoma wrote:
    Crapfork took a while to warm to but yeah I like it
    likewise :)

working nights eh... what a crapfork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

One from a mate of mine (some of you may know his as Ed);
    "gindo"
    And that's g- as in goat not g- as in ginger.

It means "gift" of "great" or "something uncommonly good or appeasing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Ha! Excellent. The OP's cousin told me about this ages ago few when they came up with the idea. Have to say when she told me she thought it was gonna hit the bigtime I was a little skeptical. I should have just jumped on the bandwagon. Bit of a crapfork for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

I'd like to declare my first official use of the phrase "crapfork" in MSN Messenger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭windowgazer

...Just had to push my summer holiday back by three weeks...complete crapfork if u ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Maybe it would be better if people used it in real life. I will as soon as the opportunity arises. Im in England so Maybe I can spread it here too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭fatherdougalmag

In college we had 'elleff' as in the letters L & F. It was an abbreviation of LFD or 'left for dead' or just plain crap. "This PC is elleff".

Another one we had was 'six bells' for when something extraordinary happened. In fact, it all became part of a lingo we had that nobody else understood. "Six bells! Look at the top-ten hits on yer one! Your 3". Can be used interchangably for 'Jaysis'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Why has someone suggested crapfork when we already have such true moments of genius as the all new verb, "to typedef"?

I'm already using "typedef his sister" as a conversation staple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Typedef is soooooooo last year,,, crapfork all the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,363 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Two mates of mine, who are both brothers have pretty much invented their own language. They've started so many phrases and expressions going in Galway that it's ridiculous. It's actually quite easy to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,613 ✭✭✭Lord Nikon

Me and a mate have this one "blow it up" or "blow it up ref".

As in the ref should blow the whistle to finish the game.

So, say if you where in the pub having a few and I said "We'll blow it up after this pint", translates into "we'll finish and go after this pint". Whatya think?

It can be used for many different situations, when you want to finish or end something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

CrapFork is really starting to grow on me too, I say we get Ray Darcy to settle this one, he did get Langer into the Oxford dictionary. Get the entire population to see if its as good as langer.

crapfork is definatly a goer - if someone disagrees theyll have to start their own thread and compete with the crapfork lobby! hehehe..

Does anyone know where I can find a list of radio stations numbers??

I texted Sean Moncrief today but the show was wrapping up with Henry Mc Keen.

Here is the Newstalk 106 txt number: 086 6000 106
    Text them anything using crapfork between 3pm and 430 and you have a good chance of it getting read..

We may need some help from our friends in the TV/Media forum to plug it on radio/tv...
    It would be great if we could get that cork dinger in Fair city to say it..but then again it would be great to get her to get her boobies out..

All in support should put it in their sig, and msn personal messages, my space, audioscrobbler etc.
    Why stop at Ireland? Lets go for the english speaking world! :D

we definatly need a media stunt of some sort- any clix?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sharza-

I suggest putting it up on wikipedia and on the Boards wiki, im going to start using this slang this weekend, going to a 21st on friday, so ill spread it around abit :)

someone with the definition in their sig should stick it up on urbandictionary.com too...
    (i considered just copy and pasting... but i'm not gonna take credit for someone elses work)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

"jocelyn brown" is a lovely euphemism for bustin for a crap
    share & enjoy

:) crapfork mentioned on Newstalk 106fm today at approx 16:15

crapfork added to urbandictionary.com today at 17:24

more more more

come on guys.. i think were about 2% there...we may need more help..

The weekend is coming - we need everyone to shout it accross pubs across the land, write it in the toilets, tatoo it to your forehead, put it in your lyrics, etc etc...

:D:D:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

instead of crapfork we say 'what a pile of ****'(can be shortened to 'pile of ****' but things can change
    the greatest achievement i have with this word thingy is pwnd as i was there when it was made up and we decided to always use it,a simple mis-spelling of ownd

also try sayin' 'fact!' after what you say and then somebody has to say 'better believe it'
    other words we have used...hmm
    pump=unbelievably flucky good luck happens
    (this is due to a project in college where we had to build a solar powered water pump in 10 weeks and have a competition etc for 50% of our final mark, we worked our asses off for 10 weeks on a rag pump idea and on the day it didnt feckin' work-losing us 50%-so our group went home apart from 1 guy.he proceeded to build a pump in 10 minutes from loose materials around the place that not only worked but was one of the best,this now led to us gettin like full marks instead of 0 wahay! we are fluky bastardos!)
    pmup=the opposite of that
    pmupance has replaced comeupance

thanks and all but.. we dont need any more words.. we have our word.. and the word is crapfork..

Im hoping to hear some crapfork stories after the weekend

nobody has posted in 2 days..crapfork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I LOVE IT!! ha ha ha ha! I've just laughed for the past ten minutes reading this! I'll text Today fm and redfm once they start (I think they start at 6, is it?) it's only ten to 6, I still have an hour to go, crapfork! ha ha ha! love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

I've posted it on the 96fm website, it has to be approved before they'll show it though I think... crapfork! ha ha... I really do love it! ha ha ha ha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mad Mike

Excellent idea womoma - and inventing words is a sport that we Irish can claim some tradition in:
    The origin of the word "Quiz"

That 'quiz' thing is generally held to be a myth. Still a funny one, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

the word bogie is pretty universal, you like you can send someone on a bogie, food can be bogie, a person can be a bogie anything thats dodge can be a bit bogie.

like Gus did star wars, ill have to regulary send crapfork to sean moncrieff on newstalk 106..
    Im looking forward to the first report of a non official use of crapfork but think it may take some weeks of hard work and more publicity stunts.... I asked the media peeps for help but it has so far fallen on deaf ears..
    We may need to hire some models or a ad truck or make a song about it...or maybe get a plane to write it in the sky? possobly take out an ad in The Times or convince Bertie to get it tatooed on his hands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

only read thread today! fabulous! gonna spread it round like ..eh... crap on a fork???
    oh and a lil question can crapfork be used as a verb like for example
    'that day was so crapforked twas unbelievable' [its so hard to make sentences i never realised before lol!!]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Shyster

Brilliant!! 100% behind the crapfork campaign, will do my duty to broaden the vocabulary of the people of Cork like!

Thanks for signing up peeps. :)
    **** it really seems to be taking off now yaay

The definition of crapfork is less important than the word.
    Its more important that it be used as much as possible. Slang tends to evolve and develop pretty quickly anyways, so if you say "today was so crapforked" youre still using the word- which is the most important.

Im finding myself describing anything crap as crapfork, mostly because I remember to add the "fork" whenever I say "crap", e.g. "No offence Rob, but your latest sculpture is pretty crapfork"

Anyways- some good news, some proper graffiti artists may be considering doing a piece, Ive already offered 20 yoyos towards a crapfork commission. The biggest problem will be getting a site permitted. I wonder would the GPO let us do the front of the building? If its done illegally somewhere dont blame me. seriously.
    Perhaps we could get it integrated into the irish flag? Or possibly rename Croke park, "Crapfork Stadium" ?? I think it has a nice ring to it.

In other news, Bertie Ahern has tatood crapfork on his hands [see attached picture], Im pretty sure its Bertie anyways. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

ExOffender wrote:

LMAO. I'll probably remember that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

my friend made up the word "giraffin" as in the animal giraffe. it describes just totally chillin out or relaxing with no intent upon how to do so! because giraffes lead an incredibly relaxed life. wev circulated it throughout school and we also came up with "skangbog" which has taken the town by storm! Its a cross between a skanger (scumbag) and a bogger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Hester

Hehehe, just saw this thread. Great idea!

However, I just googled crapfork ("did you mean: crawford" :rolleyes: )and there were 9 results... some of which were dated from before this thread!! :eek:

Check this out: http://leandra.deviantart.com/journal/1865640/

i noticed crapfork on deviantart when i googled it but I reckon we can make allowances for that as its just a combination of 2 words being used for an ID.. no biggy really..so hester- r u with us?