Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gangs around Tara Street station

• 06-04-2005 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭

Has anybody ever noticed the gang of about 100 people that do be gathered under the bridge at Tara Street station at lunch time.
    They all look as if they haven't slept or washed in about a year, anybody know what they do be doing around there. It's a pretty discusting sight, a lot of them have young kids in prams.

Anyway to my main point, I was walking past at lunch time today and there was a guy taking all of their passports off them, in broad daylight for anybody to see.

I would guess that this was either something to do with drugs or money lending, he takes their identity off them until the get the money they owe him. I presume you need some sort of identification to collect social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Isn't there a drug rehab clinic around that area? I'd say you need ID to get your methodone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

MAJD has it in one. The rehab place is on pearce st. Id do your best to steer clear of them tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

while there is a clinic nearby i somehow doubt that your average city centre junkie would have a passport
    theyre more interested in getting out of their heads than getting out of the country.besides which they'd probably have sold theIrs.
    I'd say they might be immigrant building workers waiting for their next job or something like that.
    if there is a large amount of swarthy scruffy blokes hanging around this is usually the case.
    there are however, always loads of rough looking alco's (prams & all)hanging around talbot /marlborough st junction every eveningat 6 (approx)?
    maybe it takes them 4 hours to stagger down talbot st pisiing in every available doorway as they go.

of coourse :D they could be junkies selling stolen passports either!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

theres a methadone clinic across the bridge on abbey st. they skulk around between there and Tara St. all day. it's a disgrace IMO. i've seen gardaí walk past people openly selling heroin there before.

we really need a proper taskforce with balls and some physical protection to get the pushers, stick them in jail and get the zombies some real treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

Think this is the gang leader.......(file photo)

whats really disgusting is the fact that they drag the poor kids around with them, selfish *****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

Kingsize wrote:
    whats really disgusting is the fact that they drag the poor kids around with them, selfish *****.

these people shouldn't be allowed to have/keep kids... there's a lot to be said for sterilisation.. having kids is not a right imo

Didnt the indian government offer people a transistor radio in exchange for being sterilised (as a means of controlling the population)back in the 50's 60's ??

Hmmm how many flash nokia phones with a ganja leaf cover & the crazy frog ringtone already installed would we have to give away to alleviate this particular problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Kingsize wrote:
    while there is a clinic nearby i somehow doubt that your average city centre junkie would have a passport
    theyre more interested in getting out of their heads than getting out of the country.besides which they'd probably have sold theIrs.
    I'd say they might be immigrant building workers waiting for their next job or something like that.
    if there is a large amount of swarthy scruffy blokes hanging around this is usually the case.
    there are however, always loads of rough looking alco's (prams & all)hanging around talbot /marlborough st junction every eveningat 6 (approx)?
    maybe it takes them 4 hours to stagger down talbot st pisiing in every available doorway as they go.

of coourse :D they could be junkies selling stolen passports either!!!

They're most certainly not foreign workes waiting around, unless of course since they've arrived in Dublin they have learned to dress like your typical inner city junkie and have even developed the accent (all ri mister, u aven't got a smoke, ave ye!)

The guy who took all their passports didn't look a whole lot better than them, I'd imagine they need some form of ID to either get their social welfare or methodone. They get them back when they pay the dealer what they owe him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

yeah they are a pain in the hole, once or twice I've seen one or two of them showing off phones & camera's and things they have obviously just stolen. What I dont understand is why they are allowed to take up space there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Liberty Hall, Tara St Station and Custom House Quay are a disgrace.

Gardai do nothing about the junkies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I hear Martin Scorcese has bought the rights to make a movie on these scumbags...

"The Gangs Of Tara St Station"

Its going to be a period drama depicting the struggle between the lower class chav filth gangs and the everyday joe gangs who actually works for a living rather than living off the dole and robbing people for an income, with the political backdrop of the ongoing battle between Berties boys and Enda "the butcher" kenny....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

A reintroduction of a workhouse style system wherby the children can be educated, properly nourished and basically given a chance while the parents can work and be rehabilitated. Properly managed the idea could fund itself.

I worked on Cathederal street (between Oconnell & Malborough) for 3 years
    (evening shift) and the junkies were everywhere. It saddens me to learn that its still the case 3 years on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

joejoem wrote:
    showing off phones & camera's and things they have obviously just stolen.
    Did you see these people stealing said items?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Romo

For anyone seriously interested in how the opiates were gradually proscribed throughout the western world in the 20th century, I'd recommend the late Dr Norman Zindberg's book "Drug, Set and Setting". The guy was radical and called for the legalisation of heroin. He puts up a pretty strong argument, however. He did a lot of work in Vietnam, studying the addiction patterns of G.I.’s etc.

Most people are surprised to learn that up to the 1960's a substantial proportion of heroin users/abusers were from the medical and pharmalogical professions.

Book is online here.

http://www.drugtext.org/library/books/zinberg2/default.htm

seansouth wrote:
    Did you see these people stealing said items?

No and dont try to get into this maybe he owns the €400 digital camera and he is just showing it to his nice friends. The guy had burst shoes a dingy dirty tracksuit a wooly "chav" jumper that had seen better days, and looked like he had been sleeping rough. He also looked out of his brain, this guy could not afford a camera, nor would he have the brain power to work one. Scum bags are a sub species in my opinion, they can moan all they like about how unfortunate they are, but I am the one left footing the bill for them paying out half my earnings to feed house and fund these dirtbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Unfortunately, despite your opinion, they are in fact not a sub species.

They are human. Sure, they carry out many dispicable acts.

But what is your solution?

If you have the answer, then I would like to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

seansouth wrote:

public execution would probably go down well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

one chance at rehab. failure resulting in extermination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

joejoem wrote:
    Scum bags are a sub species in my opinion, they can moan all they like about how unfortunate they are, but I am the one left footing the bill for them paying out half my earnings to feed house and fund these dirtbags.

You're on 50% tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,619 ✭✭✭Infini

Dermo wrote:

Bring on the Police Brutality againts those ****ing skanger junkies! :cool:

Monkey - Self employed.

Solution to scumbag problem - build high walls around leitrim and a one way gate.

legal skag in return for mandatory sterilisation seems like a fair trade off.

Dermo wrote:

Agreed... round them all up and have gladatorial matches, let those scumbags wipe each other out...

legal skag in return for mandatory sterilisation seems like a fair trade off.

they would still have to be housed and supported. this is just zombifying(??!!!) them even more. my solutions harsh but fair. yours is too soft.

these people will always want to get out of their heads thats why the wander the streets looking like shi-t & taking anything they can get their hands on.legal skag if distibuted properly would (theoretically) cut out the need to visit dealers & or steal to feed their habit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭TheMonster

The Thai Prime Minister had the right idea - execute them all and blame it on rival gangs
    Thai Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra last week announced “victory” in a vicious, anti-drug campaign, in which police were given a licence to use “extreme measures” to stamp out the selling of methamphetamines, known locally as “yaba” or “crazy medicine”.

This three-month reign of police terror left at least 2,274 people dead. The government and police implausibly ascribed the deaths to gangland feuding, insisting that only 42 drug suspects were shot by police officers—most of those in “self-defence”. In fact, the government openly encouraged the police to carry out extra-judicial killings so that the arbitrary goals of its “war on drugs” could be met on time.

The Narcotics Control Board provided the indices: 1,765 people arrested as major drug dealers and another 15,244 as minor dealers. More than 280,000 “drug pushers” and “addicts” gave themselves up to authorities and were sent for rehabilitation. In all, some 15.5 million pills were confiscated and the street price for the drug doubled or trebled over the course of the three months from February 1 to April 30.

All 75 of Thailand’s provinces reported that they had more than fulfilled their quota of reducing the number of drug dealers by 50 percent. In some cases, officials boasted of a 100 percent “success rate”—that is, all drug dealers in their province either dead or detained. Interior Minister Wan Muhammad Nor Matha claimed that 440 local officials and politicians, including two police colonels, had been dismissed because of links to drug trafficking.

The government used a system of bribes and threats to ensure that regional governors and police chiefs carried out the campaign. Three lists were compiled: one by police; the second by local administrative organisations and village heads; and the last by the Narcotics Control Board. Officials who failed to meet their quotas faced dismissal. Those who brought in a “major drug dealer”—dead or alive—received a bounty of one million baht ($US23,600).

But just who has been arrested or gunned down is unclear, as the allegations against those on the blacklists have not been tested in a court of law. Those whose names appeared had no way of finding out the nature of the accusations against them. Terrified of being framed up or shot dead, thousands opted to hand themselves in and submit to a course of boot-camp style rehabilitation.

Among those killed was a nine-year-old boy who was shot dead in late February. While undercover police were arresting his father, allegedly in a sting operation, his panic-stricken mother sped off in the family vehicle with the child on board. When police caught up with the car, the woman fled. Before opening the vehicle, the police fired into it at point-blank range killing the boy.

Thaksin has been able to exploit public hostility to illicit drugs to boost his popularity and deflect attention from the failure of his government to address unemployment, poverty and other social problems that lie at the root of drug abuse. However, the cold-blooded killing of the nine-year old boy sparked public outrage. Since then there has been growing criticism.

A survey conducted by the Assumption University found that 84.2 percent of Bangkok residents surveyed supported the campaign. But of those same people, 65.3 percent expressed their fear that corrupt police could frame-up innocent people. The very nature of the campaign left the door wide open for those compiling the blacklists to use them to settle personal grudges or deal with business or political opponents.

The Human Rights Commission was contacted by a number of people who said they had been wrongly included on the blacklists. Government officials called for such complaints to be directed to drug suppression officials. But as Sunai Phasuk from Forum Asia, a human rights organisation, pointed out: “Most of them [the victims] got killed on the way back from the police office. People found their name on a blacklist, went to the police, then end up dead.”

Growing criticisms

The Thai media and civil rights activists have been critical of the government’s flagrant disregard for democratic rights and its threadbare justifications for the killings. “If the police weren’t involved, why hasn’t one murderer been arrested?” asked human rights lawyer Somchai Homlaor. “The only sensible conclusion is the police are sending out death squads.”

Thepchai Yong, editor of the Nation, told the Australian TV program Dateline: “Nobody’s buying that [the government’s] line because we believe that the authorities, the police in particular, were involved in many of the killings. So if what the Interior Minister claims is true, that the killings were the result of a double crossing, or killings among drug dealers themselves, it means drug dealers are in control of the country.”

Forum Asia said that the government was encouraging police to “simply execute alleged offenders... This makes it increasingly easy for the police and other authorities to simply do away with anyone they don’t like.” The group issued a statement in late February calling for “immediate investigations into the shootings, in which some [victims] were handcuffed when killed or shot in a group. There were at least three cases which experts were able to examine and they found that the suspects had had drugs planted on them after death, and that bullets had been removed before coroners examined the bodies.”

Others have pointed out that the round-up or killing of large numbers of drug addicts or petty pushers will do nothing to halt drug trafficking as those who control the trade have connections in the highest quarters, including the police and military.

Former national police chief Pol Gen Sawat Amornwiwat declared in January that “senior state officials and politicians” were “in cahoots with drug traffickers” and that a list prepared by the Drugs Enforcement Agency in 1992 included the name of a senior Thai politician. “The main obstacle is that influential people provide support for drug traffickers and make fantastic amounts of money,” he said.

Attempts were made to silence the critics. In early March, Dr Pradit Chareonthaitawee, Thailand’s National Human Rights Commissioner, received anonymous death threats, warning him to stop taking his concerns to the United Nations. Shortly afterwards, Suranand Vejjajiva, a spokesman for the ruling Thai Rak Thai Party, threatened to impeach the commissioner for speaking to the UN about the government’s blacklists, extra-judicial killings and failure to prosecute cases involving drug-related murders.

Opposition politicians warned that the “war on drugs” could lead to international censure over human rights violations and frighten off foreign investors. The prime minister, however, arrogantly dismissed such concerns. The UN High Commissioner for Human Rights was forced to cancel a proposed visit by a special envoy, when the government refused to cooperate.

Responding to a Senate proposal to hold an inquiry into police practices, Thaksin advised the body to ignore “the thinking of foreigners,” adding: “It is not necessary for Thailand to make any explanation to the UN. We are a sovereign country. If any country wants to cut aid because of what were are doing, frankly speaking, I don’t really care.”

Following criticisms in the US Congress, the government reacted similarly this week to suggestions that the US might cut off financial aid and technical assistance to the Thai armed forces. Confident that he enjoys the support of Washington, Thaksin declared: “We have explained this [war on drugs] to the US ambassador and the US administration understands it very well.”

Thaksin, one of the country’s wealthiest businessmen, has close connections to the country’s security forces. He made much of his vast fortune through monopoly rights and state contracts granted by former military regimes.

Thaksin and his Thai Rak Thai Party won the 2001 election campaign by exploiting the widespread public hostility to the impact of the IMF restructuring agenda being implemented by his predecessor Chuan Leekpai. He campaigned on a populist program that offered handouts to rural villages and debt relief to farmers while at the same time pledging to bail out failing Thai businesses.

But the government has no solutions to the huge social problems that afflict the lives of the majority of Thais. Through its “war on drugs,” the government is preparing for further attacks on democratic rights, which will, in the future, be directed against its political opponents.

The government has already foreshadowed a crackdown on drug-related finances. A new law retrospective to February 1 is to be introduced to reward governors with 30 percent of the value of any drug-related assets that are seized. Another 15 percent will be set aside for successful detectives and for anyone providing tip-offs.

The Office of Narcotics Control Board, National Police Office and Interior Ministry plan to establish a nationwide database of dealers and addicts. Provincial government will be asked to establish special investigative offices and the Anti-Money Laundering Office will be given increased powers to tap phone lines.

See Also:

was that recently??thai government are a bunch of C__TS but whats really needed is a better solution than just sending the fukkers to jail what would would you prefer if it were you ? At least in mountjoy you'd have a roof over yr head & a constant source of gear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

A recent EU survey showed 3.4% of Irelands population use or have used ecstasy,if we lived under those laws in Ireland would be much much less inhabited place.I dont really agree with those zero tolerance laws,hear about the Australian women being executed smuggling in some hash to Bali :eek:
    now thats harsh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Suggestions made by people so far:

Sterilisation, sub species, execution, rounding them up and forcing them to kill each other, police brutality against them, build high walls around them (ie. create a ghetto), forced labour camps... have I gone back in time to Nazi Germany, or is this still Ireland? :)

Congratulations, you are all prone to nazi style fascism. If the right kind of leader and conditions come along, you will be willing to commit genocide too.... And they say it could never happen again.

Sterilisation, sub species, execution, rounding them up and forcing them to kill each other, police brutality against them, build high walls around them (ie. create a ghetto), forced labour camps... have I gone back in time to Nazi Germany, or is this still Ireland

You will be arrested and given some thought rehabilitation.

Kernel wrote:

Sterilisation, sub species, execution, rounding them up and forcing them to kill each other, police brutality against them, build high walls around them (ie. create a ghetto), forced labour camps... have I gone back in time to Nazi Germany, or is this still Ireland? :)

Congratulations, you are all prone to nazi style fascism. If the right kind of leader and conditions come along, you will be willing to commit genocide too.... And they say it could never happen again.

Shutup ye scumbag

Kernel wrote:

Silence fool... We are joking....
    Although having scum kill each other is a great idea (I think I posted that idea first, pat on the back for me)....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭*Sassy*

The government need to stop all this crap before it starts imo. The vast majority of drug addicts (esp. heroin) are people who have grown up in sh1tty families/backgrounds, who've started taking drugs because in their eyes there was nothing better to do. And then they get addicted and everything spirals downwards from there. If kids living with poverty/abuse were looked after properly somehow by the government, this would lessen the amount of junkies on the streets in the future.

As for the ones that are already there, there's no easy solution. It's easy to call them all knackers and scumbags, but they are all people and I'm sure if they could see themselves through our eyes, they would be disgusted too. Most of them have terrible emotional issues that can only be blanked out by getting completely off their faces on drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Kingsize wrote:
    Didnt the indian government offer people a transistor radio in exchange for being sterilised (as a means of controlling the population)back in the 50's 60's ??

LOL were doin this stuff in Geography at the moment!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 timamansio

kmart6 wrote:
    Kingsize wrote:

LOL were doin this stuff in Geography at the moment!!!

So in Geography class you're handing out transistor radios and sterilising people? Are you sure? Sounds more appropriate to Biology class or something like that! ;)

As for the ones that are already there, there's no easy solution. It's easy to call them all knackers and scumbags, but they are all people and I'm sure if they could see themselves through our eyes, they would be disgusted too. Most of them have terrible emotional issues that can only be blanked out by getting completely off their faces on drugs.

yes, lets not forget that dirty, filthy, theieving scumbag junkies have no control over their lives....no choices. ill remember that the next time someone tell me theyve been mugged or burgled. ill remember to be nice to them.
    its easey to call them knackers and scumbags because THEY ARE knackers and scumbags.

purdee wrote:
    yes, lets not forget that dirty, filthy, theieving scumbag junkies have no control over their lives....no choices. ill remember that the next time someone tell me theyve been mugged or burgled. ill remember to be nice to them.
    its easey to call them knackers and scumbags because THEY ARE knackers and scumbags.

A little on the aggresive side but well said nonetheless...

Im sure lots of people have problems, emotional or otherwise, but that doesn't justify someone jacking up on heroin, I have no sympathy.
    If that was the case Ireland would be like something from Dawn of the Dead...
    At the end of the day its a choice, they choose to jack up, other emotionally scarred people don't...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

seansouth wrote:
    Unfortunately, despite your opinion, they are in fact not a sub species.

They are human. Sure, they carry out many dispicable acts.

If you have the answer, then I would like to hear it.

Not continually giving them money and methadone would be a start.

They should be put in a treatment plan and put to work. If they fail to finish it or go back to drugs then they should be cut off. Not option for dole/income support/ free anything, ever.

On completion of the program they are given a job, if they refuse /leave , then they are on their own as above.

Failing all that the thai's have the right idea, I think a few more people in this country could do with being "dissapeared" :)

Kernel wrote:

The Jews/Gypsies ( tradional ones, not pikeys) and the handicapped are not a blight on the country, these poeple are. They help no-one. All they do is cost the country money and ordinary law abiding people their posessions/money/lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

There is a solution that seems to reduce crime rate, and it's mandatory military service, like in Germany or Italy. I'm not the best one to quote statistics on it, but a friend I know with a sociology degree told me all about it recently..someone more knowledgeable care to elaborate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭sleepwalker

theres some sorta clinic/rehab type building around there and also the samaritans so there always hanging around that general area all times of the day

Pet wrote:
    There is a solution that seems to reduce crime rate, and it's mandatory military service, like in Germany or Italy. I'm not the best one to quote statistics on it, but a friend I know with a sociology degree told me all about it recently..someone more knowledgeable care to elaborate?

I think thats a great solution but they should'nt be mixed in with normal folk. They should be put in to cannon fodder regiments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

The adults can do what they like and ruin their own lives but they should not be allowed to drag their children through it.

The children of these people should be protected. They should be put into a caring environment, educated and given a chance at life that they may not currently have. These children deserve so much more than they currently have. We are a rich country can we not help the people who really bloody well need help. The parents should only be allowed access if they can prove themselves to be responsibe enough and willing enough to take proactive steps in theirs lives to improve the conditions in which their children are living.

Who on this earth has the right to actively destroy the life of another??

A.

I've been thinking about this & it occurs to me that somwhere along the way these people have been let down by the state or the system or whatever you want to call it.i
    ts no coinincidence that these people are from similar backgrounds/areas you wont find many d4 accents down among the jakeys.
    they are a by product of our selfish "get rich & f*CK yiz all" society but that does not make it right for them to walk around town & drag their poor kids into a life of sh-it.
    If we talk about this in a Civil Liberties comtext a parent's right to concieve is more important than the consequent kid's right to a decent life. something must be done to address the balance.
    we must also accept & study the fact that some people want to get wrecked out of their heads all the time.
    Lets face it nobody will be on here complaing about crowds of middle class alcoholic women despite the fact that theres probably loads of them about.
    whats really annoying though is the inaction of the Gardai, when drugdealing is happening under their noses & they do nowt i wonder if thyve been ordered from above to"patrol & ignore" lets face it they're more than willing to lay a few slaps on some harmless yuppie/hippies so why not intervene here?

Stekelly wrote:
    The Jews/Gypsies ( tradional ones, not pikeys) and the handicapped are not a blight on the country, these poeple are. They help no-one. All they do is cost the country money and ordinary law abiding people their posessions/money/lives.

completely agree with everything youve said Stekelly.

Kingsize wrote:
    I've been thinking about this & it occurs to me that somwhere along the way these people have been let down by the state or the system or whatever you want to call it.i
    ts no coinincidence that these people are from similar backgrounds/areas you wont find many d4 accents down among the jakeys.

Why is it the states fault they started taking heroin or whatever? the failing in your theory is that if it were true every person from socially deprived areas would be a junkie. this is not the case. Many people choose to contribute to society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭IANOC

bring on electronic tagging for moderate crimes such as drugs,abuse etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭✭Garibaldi

I must admit to being a bit curious about just how much more government spending takes place in my area than in these areas that have been forgotten by the system. Can't everyone get gas/electricity/phones/tv if they want them? Anything beyond that is provided by private enterprise. There's no one shooting up on my street because they can't get Sky+ or the jacuzzi to work. Fact is that they're in an endless loop of antisocial behaviour. Can anyone actually cite a case where large scale rehabilitation actually worked in areas such as these FBTSs, giving hope for a brighter future to everyone living there? If so, I'd really like to know because otherwise, it seems that it's too late for anyone currently able to walk/talk/actively learn in these places. As soon as kids become "aware" of their surroundings, and the depravity that is expected from those who live there, the cycle is set to continue. Just how do you break this cycle without having to exterminate everyone above the age of 3 years? The methadone approach doesn't seem to me to be working. What's the point of giving more drugs to a junkie? It's just a change of focus. I see them every day, shambling past my office - Dawn of the Dead was a goddamn documentary! God forbid you should drive your car/bike into work here either. There's some kind of shelter/hostel out the back of my office. Every single day there's gangs of the swollen headed, drugs besozzled knackers waiting to take a swing at you (I've had a wing mirror broken off and several scuffles) for disturbing their drug/alcohol distribution activities. All because I want to get into the company car park! They're a useless sub culture with what must be zero quality of life, either that or they're on a different scale. If I thought they could be rehabilitated into decent, hard working citizens, I'd support that programme 100%. However, I don't. Any urban renewal in these areas is just going to be a new, temporarily nicer looking ghetto (anyone seen Ballymun/Santry Cross [Santry Cross, my arse] lately? It's already showing signs of decay and they haven't even finished building the shaggin place!!). Basically, it'll take a lot more effort, and a lot harsher methods, in the short term at least, to bring this problem under control.

skywalker youve missed my point please dont pull one sentence out of my arguement without reading the rest i come from one of those areas im not a junkie but in many ways the odds are stacked against people from this background.
    if its that easy to live in these areas wanna swap?
    didn't think so.
    The greatest lie ever told was that all men are created equal,it allows governments to ignore the poor.Crony Capitalism which is what we have in Ireland encourages people to make money regardless of the consequences.
    This is exactly how the black economy works
    dont get the violin out just yet i wasnt being a bleeding heart just bleeding honest.lets not play the innocent junkie anymore everybody knows what happens when you take heroin so why do these people still take it ??
    Many of todays junkies got their first taste of smack during the hash drout of 1996.
    Its not as simple as saying we can all get sky one if we want to so why take smack ??
    most of these people are unemployable regardless of their rehabilitation.
    its jsust like paddys day when all the kids in town get shi-t faced the question is what else is there to do?
    these people are Fukked terminally there is no way back into society for them thats how theyve been let down.
    The fact that the gardai ignore them & their criminal activity only re affirms by example of how useless our police force/judicial system really are.
    lets face it i have no intention of becoming a skaghead & can avoid it but if were to end up in prison,which could be for something as petty as not paying a parking fine i have a very good chance of becoming a junkie.
    there is something inherently wrong there.
    My real problem is the SHI_tty life their kids are brought into.
    If the parents cant look after them who is going to intervene ?

I wasnt trying to misrepresent you, I was just pulling that part of the arguement and rebutting it. I did read your entire post. I dont see it as a failing of the state or of society in general. As you've said yourself lets not play the innocent junkie.

/edit to reply to kingsize's edit above.

"if its that easy to live in these areas wanna swap?
    didn't think so."

How do you know where I or anyone else lives. I could be typing this from the flats. Dont presume.