Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BESS students

• Registered Users Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

I wish! (not the dirty dancing bit)

Nah.. I've just seen girls I would consider (and still somewhat do consider) friends change. They've become deeply shallow, vacant, childish, graceless, snobbish and naive of the common man.
    The friends they've made I have no time for, as they were inherently as the above. They look at you, see what you wear, hear how talk and immediately think themselves better than you.

I despise them..

That aside.. I see msn is working again.

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭gom

There are two fundementally different types of BESS students.

Type 1. Those that aim to take BUSINESS as their main subject after 1st year.
    Type 2. Those that arim to take other subjects and aren't too worried about Business as a subject.

Type 1 is the sterotype BESS student we all hate. These people should have gone to UCD and studied Commerce. Maybe gone to Smurfit BUsiness college afterward and get a spoonfed masters. Type 1 are in college to get out of there and get a job as a stock-broker/PR guru/house-wife.

Type 2 are there to study Economics, politics or sociology. They may take Business also but their main area of interest are one of Economics, Politics or Sociology. They are in college to be educated and if you choose any of the non-business subjects and no business subject you will be liberated from teh idiots that you associate with BESS.

Personally I think Business should be seperated from BESS and that there should be an Independent Business school. After being at teh BESS Faculty mayhem at the start of the year with lecturers threatening to kill each other and seeing the attitudes of Business lecturers to the rest of the course I feel Economics, Sociology and Politics would be best suited in an independent school and not part of any faculty at all. THe BESS degree will still exist so don't go crying to daddy just yet about why he is voting PD.

The got the restructuring all wrong. Faculties are a waste of space and should be gotten rid of. The only place Faculties have any place is when there is a pool of many small, different courses that can't form a school.
    My ideal make up for BESS faculty restructuring is much like this:
    a) An Independent Business School
    b) An Independent Social Science School(Economics, Sociology and Politics... possibily philosophy also)
    c) A School of Psychology and Social Work (Social studies based in this school with links to the social science school)

No BESS faculty but a BESS course

gom wrote:
    Type 1. Those that aim to take BUSINESS as their main subject after 1st year...

..Type 1 is the sterotype BESS student we all hate. These people should have gone to UCD and studied Commerce.
    Funnily enough the people I am referring to originally wanted to do commerce in ucd and explicitely said so to me in 6th year. One chose trin cos her fella was goin there, and the other followed her cos they were best friends :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

gom wrote:

Type 2. Those that arim to take other subjects and aren't too worried about Business as a subject.

Type 1 is the sterotype BESS student we all hate....

Type 2 are there to study Economics, politics or sociology...
    Grouping BESS students into categories like that is just as shallow and as prejudicial as the people you are mocking.

I am far from the sterotype BESS student. Nobody can in earnest refer to me as the stereotypical BESS student, but I will do either Business and Economics or pure Business next year.

Rather than being the "sterotypical" BESS student I see myself as the typical BESS student; a relatively middle-class (well, Apex, is Leixlip middle- or working -class?) guy who likes the general area of economics and politics and has since found that he doesn't like sociology and prefers business to politics.

Yes my choice of degree is also somewhat career-orientated (financial rewards) but so what? I'd rather be pretty damn employable than relatively employable.

But hey maybe that's just cause I have an idea what unemployment is like

Grouping BESS students into categories like that is just as shallow and as prejudicial as the people you are mocking.
    Prejudicial yes, shallow no. I don't claim to paint them all with the one brush, that would be silly. But I will point out that in my opinion (and from my personal experience) there is an alarmingly larger amount of these types in that faculty than most others. There is nothing wrong with saying this.. Would you disagree if I told you there are far more fascists in st petersburg than dublin?
    a relatively middle-class (well, Apex, is Leixlip middle- or working -class?)
    I severely dislike talking in terms of classes. There are different cultures and demographics in different areas, so point taken w.r.t. leixlip.
    guy who likes the general area of economics and politics and has since found that he doesn't like sociology and prefers business to politics.
    Fair play.. Nothing wrong with studying what you enjoy. Quite the opposite infact.
    Yes my choice of degree is also somewhat career-orientated (financial rewards) but so what? I'd rather be pretty damn employable than relatively employable.
    I've said this before but you seem to be under a mildly false impression.. Business grads do earn a tidy amount, but not as much as engineering, system and physical science grads. As well as law and high level med-sci grads (doctors, dentists etc.). {see right hand column: http://www.pittsburghlive.com/x/search/s_192370.html } Tbh qualified plumbers are up there too.
    My point is you don't find us flaunting our future..
    But hey maybe that's just cause I have an idea what unemployment is like
    I've tried to think of something, but I can't say anything, either for or against this. I've no opinion, like with the citizen referendum, i spoiled my vote.

ApeXaviour wrote:
    Prejudicial yes, shallow no. I don't claim to paint them all with the one brush, that would be silly. But I will point out that in my opinion (and from my personal experience) there is an alarmingly larger amount of these types in that faculty than most others. There is nothing wrong with saying this..
    I agree there's more snobbery in BESS than anywhere else in the college, but I also say it's genuinely marginal. The post I replied to and quoted basically painted, with one brush, business students = bad.
    I severely dislike talking in terms of classes. There are different cultures and demographics in different areas, so point taken w.r.t. leixlip.
    As do I, but its non-BESS that tend to bring it up regarding BESS heads. Yes, the average class (sociological, not educational sense) of BESS is higher than elsewhere in college but to be honest wtf. I wouldn't look at Course X any differently if its average class was different to the college in total. Believe it or not, and this is coming from a BESS student, class means nothing.
    I've said this before but you seem to be under a mildly false impression.. Business grads do earn a tidy amount, but not as much as engineering, system and physical science grads.
    You quote a Pittsburgh newspaper. America's topography is completley different to ours.
    • Firstly there are proportionally FAR more business graduates in the USA than here and also less science/engineering etc (probably due to the money culture there). I don't know how much economics you know but this will essentially result in a lower average cut for the standard business graduate, even when you factor in America's greater economic strength.
    • Secondly, America has always had an "entrepreneurial" element, whereby more engineers/scientists set up their own businesses than here. So in essence they're business-esque anyway.
    • Ireland has always had a policy of having excess science and engineering students, and via the Celtic Tiger they have all been getting an "economic rent" because of the huge boom of making viagra and the added construction needed etc. However Ireland's production sector is waining, dying I say. Look at how hard the Dot Bomb hit, and it hit that sector the hardest.
    • By and large, American business schools suck! Both BESS and those awful UCD types are seen as in the top 15 in Europe.
    As well as law and high level med-sci grads (doctors, dentists etc.). Tbh qualified plumbers are up there too.
    Lawyers make tonnes, but mostly due to their horribly antiquated and self-interested Society. But that's another matter. And I never disputed that docs and dents don't make more, GP's have to train for 9(?) years so feck they deserve more.
    I've tried to think of something, but I can't say anything, either for or against this. I've no opinion, like with the citizen referendum, i spoiled my vote.
    Would you disagree if I told you there are far more fascists in st petersburg than dublin?
    Hehe probably, going by the citizenship referendum.

Oh and I saw you today - you looked very serious for such a nice day. Nice shirt though.

You saw me!? That shirt is missing three buttons :D I was pissed off cos I'd just bought a second hand bike from staggs. Tried to cycle it away, the chain lurched and I nearly went into a feckin oncoming car. Brought it back to them to point this out: "oh yeah.. the chain and block need replacing". At least I'm not payin any more for it though. But I was expectin to cycle home, wasted frickin trip :mad:

Yep, between the Garda station and the Ball Alley. Me, girlfriend and her dog were the other side of the road eating chips walking towards her house. In light of what Kevin said to me yesterday I made sure to watch you until you were safely past, lest I be called snobby for "only saying hi"! :D

Sucky about the bike. I hope you bought yourself some ice-cream to console yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

Snobby banana what were you doing eating chips? I do hope they weren't curry cos that be wk as fook.

In light of what Kevin said to me yesterday I made sure to watch you until you were safely past, lest I be called snobby for "only saying hi"! :D
    I sorta remember seein a couple with a dog.. I really didn't take note though. Why didn't you say hi? What the fuk is wrong with only sayin hi?? I expect nobody to sit and chat or anything.. NEVER listen to kev w.r.t to these things. He'll only have you overthinking and second guessing yourself.

You were the other side of the road....

Yeah should have mentioned that.

I know.. as I said I remember seein yis.

SHOUT! :D

angryb is a chicken he never says hello. we'll get him next time apex don't worry. chloroform never fails.

Apex: I would have looked like a total spanner if you didn't reply now wouldn't I?! Considering as I said hi to a fake Kev last week I'm a bit more careful.

Kev: Feck off I clearly gave you and Guiney a nice, warm friendly "heyas". As a BESS student, chloroform sounds tasty.

Oh it is tasty..

and

So if I had recognised you (your face is not imprinted on my memory yet cos that time I was talkin to u in the buttery it was dark and I was tryin to watch the match.. the other times I didn't realise it was you and thus didn't take note) and run in slow motion across the road, arms spread out to re-uniting background music. Are you honestly telling me that you'd be slightly weirded out!?

Kev get the C-Cl4 ready

Weird, no. Sexy, no comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

C-Cl4!! *claps hands* Now I remember!!

(I was trying to think of that the other day [in order to shut up a pair of UCD commerce head twins who thought I was stupid] but it_just_wouldn't_come!)

u wanted to use chloroform on both of them? that's just being greedy.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

got any pic's?

Pic's of what exactly?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Andrew 83

Just on the whether you should be discouraged from doing BESS because of D4 thing....

I'm a final year BESS student and I do Sociology and Politics. I haven't found the stereotypical BESS students to be too prevalent. Though there are a good few about, the vast majority of BESS students don't fit the stereotype.

I don't think you'll have too many problem with being called a 'bogger' or anything. There does tend to be friendly banter among people (Northside Dublin, southside Dublin, west Dublin, the North, certain counties, outside Dublin generally) but I haven't encountered anything malicious. There's lots of people from outside Dublin in BESS anywya so you won't be all alone in your non-Dublin-ness.

I'd say not to worry about it and just get here and enjoy your four years and find the subjects you like out of those in BESS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

ApeXaviour wrote:
    They've become deeply shallow, vacant, childish, graceless, snobbish and naive of the common man.
    The friends they've made I have no time for, as they were inherently as the above. They look at you, see what you wear, hear how talk and immediately think themselves better than you.

Exactly what i'm trying to avoid with students there. I can't stand that attitude that some have of thinking their better than you. As gom split the BESS students into two categories, I fall into category 1 but i couldnt be arsed travelling as far as UCD for commerce, its an extra bus im not willing to take. I'm going to do BESS for the course and not for who'll be in it and i guess thats the main thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

whatever kev said about being greedy
    Firstly they were male, Paddy Cosgrave-type twins. And secondly, no, I just wanted the chemical term for chloroform. Not the actual substance. Although it WOULD have been amusing to knock them out and cling film them naked to lampposts..stupid male BOPS, rah..

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Pet wrote:
    Firstly they were male, Paddy Cosgrave-type twins.

now thats a scary thought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 New-to-this

DrIndy wrote: »
    Maybe was Blackrock - it was a mostly black uniform.....

Naaa I think there's is grey, Cudda bin Nure, they wear all black in 5th and 6th year....Hah still can't believe they wore there uniform out

Hey, em, Don't want to annoy anyone on here, but I was jsut wondering, I cant really decide between Commerce and Bess, Bess just seemed more appealing because of the conomics part to it, the prospectus' haven't really explained much to me, well the UCD one hasn't anyway, Could anyone cite the differnces between Commerce and a more business orientated bess course? Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭themetallifan

No, it's just a stereotype.....although the thing is, that the small number of arrogant "D4-heads" that are in the faculty, are the ones who decide to be class rep, run for SU positions etc make this stereotype persist, as that's the only side that the rest of us see.

But, anyone I know in BESS, couldn't fall further from that stereotype.

Ah right, sound for clearing things up for me:)

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Jegger

gom wrote: »

Type 1 is the sterotype BESS student we all hate. These people should have gone to UCD and studied Commerce. Maybe gone to Smurfit BUsiness college afterward and get a spoonfed masters. Type 1 are in college to get out of there and get a job as a stock-broker/PR guru/house-wife.

Type 2 are there to study Economics, politics or sociology. They may take Business also but their main area of interest are one of Economics, Politics or Sociology. They are in college to be educated and if you choose any of the non-business subjects and no business subject you will be liberated from teh idiots that you associate with BESS.

Personally I think Business should be seperated from BESS and that there should be an Independent Business school. After being at teh BESS Faculty mayhem at the start of the year with lecturers threatening to kill each other and seeing the attitudes of Business lecturers to the rest of the course I feel Economics, Sociology and Politics would be best suited in an independent school and not part of any faculty at all. THe BESS degree will still exist so don't go crying to daddy just yet about why he is voting PD.

The got the restructuring all wrong. Faculties are a waste of space and should be gotten rid of. The only place Faculties have any place is when there is a pool of many small, different courses that can't form a school.
    My ideal make up for BESS faculty restructuring is much like this:
    a) An Independent Business School
    b) An Independent Social Science School(Economics, Sociology and Politics... possibily philosophy also)
    c) A School of Psychology and Social Work (Social studies based in this school with links to the social science school)

No BESS faculty but a BESS course

I think your pretty much wrong in almost all of what you said. People who are interested in subjects like sociology and politics should probably have taken these as part of a TSM. While the students who like business take BESS. I also agree with what people have already said, that taking business to 4th year possibly combined with economics or politics makes you mush more employable than do a single degree in a subject like sociology. I'm currently doing BESS and the general feeling towards sociology is negative and so while valuable for 1st year students in understanding society it really is the least useful subject in the BESS program. That said i don't your idea of disbanding BESS and creating 2+ different courses out of it is very good. BESS offers the unique combination of Business and Humanities and the option to take a language that other courses eg. Commerce, just doesn't offer (i know commerce can be taken with a language but each one is a different course with different points).

Now back to the topic of BESS students. Yes, there are many south Dublin girls and some guys and yes they do give BESS and the arts block and the Ed Burke a bad name. I once heard someone commenting on the orange glow coming from the Ed Burke! :D but don't worry about them they aren't the brightest of people and there are loads of really nice people in BESS (some are even from south Dublin!).
    Peace!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

Hey, em, Don't want to annoy anyone on here, but I was jsut wondering, I cant really decide between Commerce and Bess, Bess just seemed more appealing because of the conomics part to it, the prospectus' haven't really explained much to me, well the UCD one hasn't anyway, Could anyone cite the differnces between Commerce and a more business orientated bess course? Cheers

New - to - this:

There is a thread, probably on the first page of the forum, entitled the BESS thread. All the info you need about BESS is in that thread. There was no need to drag up not one, but two ancient threads. I started this thread before I started college. I'm now in 4th year.

-hils