Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

As an Irish person, are you ashamed of Amanda Byram?

• 10-02-2005 3:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭

Yes, I know she's got on well, but say your sister was presenting something like "The Swan", deep down wouldn't you be ashamed? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

No I'm not cos I never heard of her. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DaBreno

She seems to be a big thing in America these days. Id be hitting her for a few bob when shes home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

Im not sure!

Im against plastic surgery really unless its to help someone who has been scarred from an accident or something but if it helps an ugly duckling turn into a swan then can it be that bad?

You should the faces on some of those women after they get it done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭littlejay

in the world of showbizz nothing surprises me.
    if you see her tell her little jay said shes a cracker....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Who's Amanda Byram, and what's The Swan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭arbeitsscheuer

God, and I thought she was English!! :rolleyes:

Thank F**k she's Irish though, one less thing that embarrasses me about being English... :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

dahamsta wrote:
    Who's Amanda Byram, and what's The Swan?
    If ya paid ur tv licence youd know. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Romo

NotMe wrote:
    No I'm not cos I never heard of her. :confused:

She's an Irish TV presenter and the former face of Roches Stores :o , used to present "Ireland AM" with fabby Mark Cagney. She presents a show on Fox and TV3, called the "The Swan". Unfortunate American women are sliced to bits by cosmetic surgery in the hope of physical perfection. The whole show is presented with a treaclely syrup type of concern for the women, that is completely false.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Romo wrote:
    Unfortunate American women are sliced to bits by cosmetic surgery in the hope of physical perfection. The whole show is presented with a treaclely syrup type of concern for the women, that is completely false.
    Good for her.

At least they're cutting up foreign women and not our womenfolk...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

SebtheBum wrote:
    God, and I thought she was English!! :rolleyes:

Well they don't call the Dubs "Jackeens" for nothing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

wow, someone on tv!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

Romo wrote:
    She's an Irish TV presenter and the former face of Roches Stores :o , used to present "Ireland AM" with fabby Mark Cagney. She presents a show on Fox and TV3, called the "The Swan". Unfortunate American women are sliced to bits by cosmetic surgery in the hope of physical perfection. The whole show is presented with a treaclely syrup type of concern for the women, that is completely false.

Oh I saw the ads for The Swan. I thought it was Amanda Bynes. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

No, I couldn't care less, why would you be ashamed of her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

The show is unintentionally hysterically funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

can't stand her, don't give a crap about the show, but ashamed of her...#bah#

stupid show for stupid women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Trigger! wrote:
    Im against plastic surgery really unless its to help someone who has been scarred from an accident or something but if it helps an ugly duckling turn into a swan then can it be that bad?
    I don't think it's necessarily the idea of getting the plastic surgery that's bad, but the way it's presented. I saw this ****ty program for the first time the other night, and I was actually disgusted. And it takes a bit to disgust me. Basically it was the message the show was giving out.

One poor woman, who wasn't ugly by any stretch, suffered from what was obviously low self-esteem. Acutely low in fact. There's a short film, comes back to ugly Amanda, who says to the "Panel", "Right, what do we need to do here?".
    Now, forgive me for being naive, but I thought they'd along the lines of "Well, we'll get her some nice clothes, make a gym regime for her, some confidence training." Now, in fairness they did say this, but the very *first* thing they said was - Right, plastic surgery, we're going to augment her nose, breasts, chin, give her lipo here here here and here, and pretty much circling every little flaw in her body.
    I'm not anti-surgery, but it should be the very *last* thing anyone should consider. The flippant way they approached it just disgusted me. Young girls will see this, empathise with this woman's poor self-esteem, and think "Surgery! That's it! They say she needs surgery, I must need surgery too!".

Yes, I'm ashamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

couldnt give a **** what she does tbh

at least she is doing well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

Shes making a living, fair play to her !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

No - it's probably good for Ireland's reputation to have a few famous, good-looking Irish women around.

That said, the Swan is a horribly exploiting show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

It is very expolited, these women are emotional wrecks before the show, something tells me that they may still be when they leave the show, no matter how good looking some surgeon makes them.

Not a big fan of amanda bryam, a bit too americanised for an irish person, but at the same time, fair play to her for getting there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭windowgazer

It is very expolited, these women are emotional wrecks before the show, something tells me that they may still be when they leave the show, no matter how good looking some surgeon makes them.

Not a big fan of amanda bryam, a bit too americanised for an irish person, but at the same time, fair play to her for getting there!

Why do Irish people ALWAYS think any fame is good fame?
    'Ah yeh, sure fairplay to her for getting the job, sure the show may exploit people with low self esteem until they're completely warped and throw them out at the end of the series with nothing to cling to but their plastic bits, ah yeh, but sure fair play'. JUst because she's got her mug on the TV in foreign shores, doesn't mean she's all that. You could look at it that no American presenter would touch the show on moral grounds (ehm....well... maybe not... but u see my point!) :mad:
    In fact I think the words 'fair play' should be ommited from our vocabulary altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭GeorgeBailey

I wouldn't be too bothered about her doing the show. After all she wants to make her living, fair enough. I wouldn't even be too bothered about the Americans making the show. If that's what the American people want then let them have it.
    The people that truly disgust me are the people at (I)TV3 who thought it would be a good idea to show this trash to the people of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Didnt she used to go out with Patrick Kielty. I had never heard of her until the g/f informed me of this. As far as being ashamed..eh..no..couldnt give a toss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

when the this crazy internet doohickey first took off, myself and my brother bought amandabyram.com, I can't remember why we thought she'd be famous.....maybe she had just started the tv3 breakfast thing.

is there any way to do a whois history on a domain? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

shokin programme, she's a crappy presenter too, v woodin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

the irish are great when it comes to begrudgery arent they?

fair play to her whoever she is for being successful in whatever she is doing. If more irish people got up off their arses and applied themselves the world would be a better place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I wouldn't even be too bothered about the Americans making the show. If that's what the American people want then let them have it.

Exactly - Americans wouldn't find this as strange as Irish people do (not that that will last too long - plastic surgery is becoming mainstream here too).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

You'd have to be impressed with how far she's come considering her apparent lack of talent/charm/personality .... and all those other cliched factors that seem go towards making a successful tv presenter.

As such it can't be denied that (career-wise at least) Amanda has certainly made a mountain out of a mole face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭windowgazer

Pigman II wrote:

As such it can't be denied that (career-wise at least) Amanda has certainly made a mountain out of a mole face.

rofl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Yeah, aren't RTE doing some sort of low-budget rip off - slicing up Dubs who feel they need bigger breasts but can't afford to pay for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

simu wrote:
    That said, the Swan is a horribly exploiting show.

Bingo....the whole show gives me the creeps. The whole attitude of the show sucks.... "Well, you are so ugly thew only way we can help you is to perform surgery"

All the woman end up looking the same....a surgeons embodyment of "perfection". UGH!!!

Oh... and Amanda should be ashamed of herself appearing on such a show unless she is willing to go under the knife as well. :(

The Swan is disturbing. None of these women were dogs and they all end up getting plastic surgery. Its a bit like going into PC World and asking them if you need a new PC - what answer do you expect!

Fair play to Amanda Byram for making moolah (she only went over there to get over whatshisname and an agent saw her).

All the women end up look like clones: big hair, big tits, big teeth. Superficiality at its worst. But sure, that's the way nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

This thread is utterly useless without pics of Amanda Byram, preferable in lingerie or swimsuit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭solas

as horribly exploiting as the show is..I'm addicted to it. It holds a terrible fascination and the results never cease to amaze me. I've never been one to promote uneccessary cosmetic surgery but all and anyhow..Amanda Byram has achieved international sucess with the show, which is a great thing. Very few Irish celebs have made it so big, so good for her.
    What's wrong with having a beautiful sensitive woman as an ambassador for Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

rkm wrote:
    If ya paid ur tv licence youd know. :p
    We pay it but dont actually watch TV at the moment (not since i moved and got rif of sky :( )

Hever heard of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

1065451765533_0.35491316303616216.jpg
    amanda-bryam.jpg

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Did she present some sort of dating big brother type show, also in America?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,550 ✭✭✭✭muffler

you would be ashamed if you kicked her out of bed.

God I love women!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

byte wrote:
    Did she present some sort of dating big brother type show, also in America?

Paradise Island i think it was. Used to watch repeats of it on TV3 really late when I couldn't sleep.

Amanda has her own career to think about and she can't look a gift horse in the mouth if TV execs in the US are flinging money at her to present their programmes. She needs to make money while she is in vogue and if she didn't present the programme someone else would. She would have cut her career dead if she took some moral stance on the content of the programme and would have gained a reputation for being difficult.

Heard her being interviewed by Dave Fanning some weeks ago and he asked her did she not have a problem with the concept of the show and she basically said she was reassured by all the work the team does with the women around their emotional /psychological state...

In the interview with Fanning it also came to light that her TV career in the US was a total fluke. She was at home in Dublin and her flat was flooded, she got a call from a friend in LA who invited her over for a few days break from the flooded flat.. She went and was at lunch one day when an agent recognised her from TV in the UK and he was looking for someone to front the Paradise Island programme.. If her flat hadn't been flooded she'd never have been in LA etc etc... funny old world.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

I’m ashamed that poor Amanda Byram hasn’t yet seen that big black spot on her face, does she need eye surgery? Come on, if here eyes were ok she see that spot – it needs a bit of a slicing and dicing. Does she not want to be perfect?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

seamus wrote:
    I don't think it's necessarily the idea of getting the plastic surgery that's bad, but the way it's presented. I saw this ****ty program for the first time the other night, and I was actually disgusted. And it takes a bit to disgust me. Basically it was the message the show was giving out.

One poor woman, who wasn't ugly by any stretch, suffered from what was obviously low self-esteem. Acutely low in fact. There's a short film, comes back to ugly Amanda, who says to the "Panel", "Right, what do we need to do here?".
    Now, forgive me for being naive, but I thought they'd along the lines of "Well, we'll get her some nice clothes, make a gym regime for her, some confidence training." Now, in fairness they did say this, but the very *first* thing they said was - Right, plastic surgery, we're going to augment her nose, breasts, chin, give her lipo here here here and here, and pretty much circling every little flaw in her body.
    I'm not anti-surgery, but it should be the very *last* thing anyone should consider. The flippant way they approached it just disgusted me. Young girls will see this, empathise with this woman's poor self-esteem, and think "Surgery! That's it! They say she needs surgery, I must need surgery too!".

Yes, I'm ashamed.

You've hit the nail on the head there seamus... exactly how i view it as well...
    The show is actually horrible... I've seen it a few times and I have to turn it off after a few minutes...

Personally if I was in the same position as Amanda Byram I wouldn't do a show like that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Gizzard

who is Amanda Byram?

I'd like to see a version of this show for fellas full of cybernetic enhancments.

Amanda: "Anto...before you were a wimp. Now you are Terminator 1000 series!"

Anto: "Oh my GOD! I look beautiful!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

monument wrote:
    I’m ashamed that poor Amanda Byram hasn’t yet seen that big black spot on her face, does she need eye surgery? Come on, if here eyes were ok she see that spot – it needs a bit of a slicing and dicing. Does she not want to be perfect?!!

Beauty spot. Cindy Crawford has one. I presonally think she's rather attractive. In fact when they reveal the bítches with their new ridiculous títs and face jobs, 90% of the time I find your one Byram to be at least 10 times more attractive than any of them.

I've watched the show quite a few times, it's fascinating in a "these people are fúcking mad" kind of way.

I wouldn't be ashamed of her at all. Fair play. Question - has she had any surgery? I don't think so but I wouldn't be positive on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

if i ever see amanda byram it will be all i can do to stop myself from twatting her! unless paddy keilty or richard blackwood are in the same room i'll be laying some prison surgery on her !

Gizzard wrote:
    who is Amanda Byram?

That's her on the left I think...
    mwbeachbeauty.jpg

Also amanda-bryam.jpg

and 1065451765533_0.35491316303616216.jpg

The Swan is all about "Changing awareness"
    http://www.cosmeticsurgerytimes.com/cosmeticsurgerytimes/article/articleDetail.jsp?id=102225

Anyway, enough of that. Where are all the pics of Amanda in a swim-suit!

Kingsize wrote:
    if i ever see amanda byram it will be all i can do to stop myself from twatting her!

What will be all you can do? What's it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

sorry i was trying to be clever, lets just say if i ever see her theres a good chance she'd get a boot in the hole!

Why? Are you jealous of her good looks? Or are you just a mean spirited person. I'd say if you ever bumped into her you'd be falling over yourself, dribbling like an incoherent fool.