Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Hay 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,987 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

cut early Saturday. 1 field shaken out yesterday, the rest today. Not an overly heavy crop, should save handily enough, once the forecast is not all wrong !!

Post edited by 2smiggy on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

You won't make much money on that if you can't do any of the work yourself. Probably looking at a minimum of 4 runs of the tedder, that alone would be close to €500, maybe another €200 to mow, you're almost at 100/acre before you bale it

Talk to your contractor. They might be able to do a cost on the whole job if they have a tedder. If they can't then they will often have lads coming to them asking if they know of any ground for hay/silage. They should also steer you clear of any lad that might be tough to collect from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭roosterman71

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭dryan

Cut Thursday evening. Will bale this evening.
    Exposed field, got the full force of that wind for the last 3 days and has done really well.
    Needed that sun today to top it off. Got 3 runs of the tedder in total.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,153 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Got 2 fields knocked this morning with a 10ft trailed mower conditioner gates wide open at the back so laid out nice. Good high exposed fields so hopefully a combination of a breeze and sun will see it saved with minimal input.

We usually don't bother with hay but the crop on these two fields were a perfect hay crop so with the supposed window we're taking the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Must be me but I thought today was disappointing, the breeze was grand for dying, but it was right dull all day here in west Clare. I shook it out, the ground had dried a bit but I'm on a mud farm, you just wouldn't want to get any rain or it would be a mess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Sami23

Pretty much the same here in Galway with the Sun popping in and out all day but I thought it dried out well considering. Once the week keeps on improving like it is forecast we should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Austinbrick

Contractors baled a field for me today. Smashing hay.18 round 150 square. Cut it last tue. Tedded twice. Once before rain on Fri and yesterday. The wind took care of it.

Up next is a field of rushy hay. Cut on thur night and fri morning. Will tedd twice , one done, and bale thur.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Only in the door here after the mowing hay for customers all day..you'd often wonder how lads manage to hide meadows till this stage of the year

Still, if he does do the contracting route there should be a few hundred euro profit.

If he can manage to just tedd it twice and have 7 or 8 bales to the acre and get his 30 euro a bale. The main risk is if a contractor is around to do it all on time.

And having said all that, it's very tempting to rent it and let someone else watch the forecast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭cher nobyl

Your "pint" being you had one too many? As bad and all as mr Nolans forecast, thats too much credit your giving him, also, I think you mean "NGO"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭RockOrBog

There's an old lad a few miles away that cocks a few acres of hay with a pike every year, he cut a few days ago. He would be the type of man keeps to himself mostly.

He has a 35 and an oul side turner rake, brings them in with a cock lifter and pikes it into the shed.

Usually when he cuts it will teem rain for a week straight but he's on the ball this year.

The last of his kind surely.

Well K mac , have you decided yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 BeGrand2025

”We go for quantity, not quality”

A lot of lads don’t think of making first cut until July.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

In fairness alot of it is the acres scheme holding lads up cutting.Looking like the country will be awash with hay for sale this year

The weather forecast seems to have changed again, I just read the farming forecast there, and met Eireann and Yr are predicting rain for today in north Kerry, it did rain here over night

Little drop of rain last night or today be no harm. We have the next 5 days of serious heat to get everyone over the line 🌞

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭k mac

Ya will probably ring the contractor and get him to mow…waiting for him well be the next problem. Had mist here last night and still this morning but looking at yr promising serious temps on Saturday and Sunday

Im not actually, dont know anything about the man other than I dont follow his forecast, but he's definitely not some "NHO shill"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,987 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

Cut on Saturday, but it would be fit to be baled this evening to be honest. Will give it the extra bit of time. It's nice to not be under pressure with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,541 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Be God Sophie girl talking weather and hay and weather enthusiasts on a farmer's forum. You could be unlucky and end up with a load of bachelor farmers courting you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Mod note, had to delete this as inappropriate.

Post edited by blue5000 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,541 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

<snip>

Ah fuks sake Jb. My post was playful. Yours is downright sexist, misogynistic and patronising. That was totally wrong.

Post edited by blue5000 on

What does LMAO mean?

Will we just get back to chatting about Hay here and leave any other rubbish for another forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,228 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Laughing My *bum Off

I've a field tedded once and it looks like it's enough.Contractor not around till thur. No point tedding it and letting it go too brittle over next 2 days. I think I'll be protecting the goodness in it.

When was that cut - be unreal to get away with one tedding.

I've stuff cut since Saturday but very slow to save so far mainly due to the last 2 damp/drizzly mornings wetting it.