Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drone

• 08-04-2025 11:18PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, I was thinking of getting a drone for a small bit of herding

I work full time but I got a loan of a drone last year for a few weeks, I found it very handy for checking sheep on an outfarm and also we had a bull running with the cows and I found it handy for checking the bull bullying cows. If I went to physically check cows they go mad looking to be moved

II'm Not being lazy , all my stock get checked, but i have family and matches too and it's not easy be everywhere

I was hoping for suggestion s for drones I don't want to spend mad money as I'd only be using for a few months of the year

Tia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

"If I went to physically check cows they go mad looking to be moved" ??

Why, I wonder!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

I got a DJI Air 3 fly more combo which comes with a bag, 2 spare batteries and a charger for 1579€ last year. I've heard they go on sale regularly now especially since the Air 4 came out.

I'm delighted with it. Can check the cattle a few km away at any time, not lazy at all. It handles fairly strong winds too and will find its own way home if you lose connection.

Was especially handy when a neighbor's cattle were "accidently" finding their way onto my land.

Definitely go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Omallep2

II'm Interested here also. Does anyone know if these can be worked from say 60km away from drone. I ask as I live away from farm. I have a neighbour who herds stock when I'm not there but if I could remotely operate the drone it would give me more peace of mind....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭ThreeGreens

You are not allowed to operate a drone beyond visual line of sight. (It's possible to do for specific types of drones with pilot training but not for what I think is being talked about here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,237 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

I have had drones for a few years now and there are a lot of variables to keep in mind when choosing one. I would recommend giving these guys a call, they helped a friend of mine also involved in Farming pick the ideal drone for his needs. I dont have any affiliation but I am an occasional customer and am well impressed with their help and knowledge when it comes to picking the right drone and accessories.

https://droneworksireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭myfreespirit

Is that actually the case here in Ireland?

How does that work with these new drone deliveries in Dublin, for example? Does the drone operator have to have it in their sight while it's in the air?

Not doubting what you're saying, just curious about the line of sight rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Sami23

Exactly - no one will pay heed to any line of sight craic out the countryside on a farm looking at their animals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

I use a DJI Mini 3 to check for bulling about 3km away as the crow flies, clear line of sight, cattle get used to it very quickly, They dont lift their head at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭blackbox

I would expect they have the appropriate training and licences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭jd06

A friend of mine also uses it for checking cows bulling too, plus he has a dodgy water supply so he uses it to check the water troughs.

He reckons it's a game changer

Hi, does your drone have the screen on the controller or does it work through your phone

I wonder which is better, iv a samsung smart phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

I got the controller with the screen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,923 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

In normal weather what’s the flight time on a battery. I’d no idea you could fly a few km with a drone at that money. Quite the technology

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,724 ✭✭✭893bet

I got one for around 600 at Xmas. DJI mini 3 I think. Flight time prob 20-30 mins depending on wind and doors you run it at. Reception can get shakey over a km away. And like said by law you are supposed to be visual able to see it…..no chance at more that 500 yards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭Markus Antonius

I usually get about 20-25 mins before I need to return and switch the battery. If I'm just stationary and observing I could get 40-45 mins. I find that the further away I need to go, the higher altititude I need to maintain the signal. I'm considering getting better antennas (kind of like what the Ukrainians are using :D)

What I like about the Air3 is that it manages the wind at higher altitudes well and also has a higher zoom camera to check every corner of the fields. This was key for me last year when I was searching for the dogs who got lost out in the bog. I found them in about 15 mins by panning back and forth with the high zoom camera.

The remote gives really good feedback on signal strength. I got the one with the screen built-in, was glad I paid a bit extra for this.

One thing to note is that I find it very loud, it is like a lawn mower in the sky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭ThreeGreens

Yes, that is correct.

See the IAA Website.

"Up to what distance and height can I operate my drone?In the open category, you must not operate your drone beyond visual line of sight (BVLOS) or above a height of 400ft (120m) above ground level. 
    Always check airspace restrictions from the aeronautical notice U04."

The food deliveries need both pilot training and to prepare a safety manual for their specific operations and that needs to be approved in advance by the IAA.

If your drone has a camera, you're also legally obliged to register with the IAA as a drone operator.

See here for more info

https://www.iaa.ie/general-aviation/drones

They do prosecute some people every year but that's usually because they come close to aircraft or large groups of people or make a real nuisance of themselves (or post their activities on social media).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Have a Dji mavic pro with a good few years now, a bit battered and a huge amount done but never gave a bit of bother. I'd imagine the newer ones now are a huge step up in performance given the rate technology moves at. I regularly sent it 3000 meters out on a calm day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭farmertipp

that's great range in fairness. I have an air 2 s. don't think I'd get that range but my controller is an older version. might upgrade to the air 3s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

would you have a link to better type antennas. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭myfreespirit

👍 Thanks for that - wasn't aware of those regulations, but they make sense for sure.

Hi folks , just ordered the dji mini 3 as a few of ye plus my friend seem to have them and are happy with them.

The mini 3 has been replaced by mini 4 but seems to be almost double the price.

Thanks for all the info, really appreciate armchair farming from now on😀🤣

Fair play - where did you end up ordering from.

Did you price around much as it's something I've been thinking about for years but never seem to get around to doing it.

EElectro City , 520 euro, only 1 battery

Alot of the mini 3 are without the screen on the controller but my one has, like I say the mini 3 has been replaced by the mini 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I use drones professionally. That's a great price for the mini 3 and it's a great machine. I'd go with the screen on the controller (not the phone attached) like @jd06 has done. Much handier, less fiddly and less can go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Just to add, I usually operate my drones (and make a living taking photographs) in places I’m unfamiliar with, apartment complexes (where you can easily lose radio contact), large established housing estates full of massive old trees, sports arenas with high stands and unpredictable wind sheer, farms I’ve never set foot on, and industrial areas, all with the usual headaches of insurance, certification, and keeping clear of airport exclusion zones, etc. So I’m constantly on edge, always trying to orient myself.
    The drones have excellent return-to-home features, but in urban environments, especially with tall buildings and wind tunnel effects, it can still be a proper stressful nightmare. Even with good tech, when you’re flying in wind tunnels and dodgy signal zones, it’s always a bit of a gamble.

That said… flying over land you inherently know should be pure pure fooking pleasure. Your playground, your home land.. you can actually enjoy the process. And honestly, at the price they’re at these days, I’d say it’s well worth having one, even just for the craic, or to catch those incredible sunrise, sunset shots, the livestock, the amazing things you see that nobody else does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,306 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I was down visiting the developments at Rosslare Europort from the viewing area on the height at the road above the port.

In the corner of one of the parking areas at the development was a drone operator with their building site gear, high vis, hard hat. They sent their drone up and did a whole tour of the development work presumably for those in the boardrooms behind the developments. Thought it interesting and there was a good seabreeze at the time too.

my wife got me one at Xmas and it is way way way more craic than I thought it would be. Some technology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭148multi

DDon't know what drones they use on sites, but do know the can mark out profiles, including gps and layer depths