If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Random EV Thoughts 2 - The Jimnying

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

My stuff on Adverts, mostly Tesla Pre Highland Model 3

Public Profile active ads for slave1

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,619 ✭✭✭wassie

When they have an event on at Johnstown Estate and the carpark is busy, Ive seen a few times people parking ICE cars in the EV charging spots as they go and use the gym. Could very well have been someone similar 'playing dumb'.

Witnessed an incident last year when another EV driver whom was charging passed comment to a patron as they came back to their ICE vehicle (with sweat towel in hand) about the irony of parking in a dedicated EV spot in order to save walking an extra 50m to go to the gym.

Highly amusing for all standing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

The issue here has always been that the councils and ESB Networks insist that there needs to be a single grid connection per charging post

This is despite the ESB guidelines clearly allowing multiple chargers per grid connection

The way to do it economically is to do the ground works for an entire street at a time and install the chargers as demand increases.

There's some nice bollard shaped chargers which could be installed and they don't need to take up pavement space. You could just do a small concrete pedastal in between 2 parking spaces

All of this requires forward planning and thought and so far the councils have preferred to fund private companies installing DC chargers and wash their hands of the whole thing

"The internet never fails to misremember" - Sebastian Ruiz, aka Frost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭the_amazing_raisin

Most likely this, although the car park wasn't that busy at the time

The Superchargers aren't even in that great a place, there's spaces closer to the gym

I am also always amused by people parking as close as possible to the gym door. I remember one of my PTs telling me to always take the spaces at the back of a car back to get some extra walking distance in

Tempting but I wasn't willing to start an argument over it. I probably should have reported them but the chargers weren't that busy otherwise and I wasn't bothered

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

Even if you reported them, the Hotel state its not their responsibility. you have to report to Tesla.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,071 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Volkswagen owners 🙄

https://www.electrive.com/2025/07/16/uk-nged-rolls-out-ev-chargers-at-substations-to-decarbonise-fleet/

This is pretty clever, National Grid in the UK (equivalent of ESB Networks) is installing DC chargers at substations to ensure their vehicles always have access to a charger

The goal is that their staff should never be more than 10 miles (16 kilometers for those of us who don't use Britannia units) from a charger

Infrastructure wise they should be relatively cheap to install and if they use battery storage units then they'll have some power even if the substation is down

https://www.electrive.com/2025/07/16/hanoi-to-ban-ice-motorcycles-in-the-city-centre/

From July 2026 all petrol mopeds and motorbikes will be banned in the city of Hanoi

Its intended to extend the ban beyond the city center and to fossil cars by 2028

This is pretty significant given motorbikes and mopeds are a lot more common than cars in Vietnam

Personally I think it's a great idea, it'd be great to see what Irish cities look like without cars, just pedestrians, bikes and (electric) buses

I'd be in favour of exceptions for disabled drivers, as well as deliveries and taxis during the night and such

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Im actually shocked by that. They are everywhere in all south east Asian cities. They're choked with noise and fumes though but they are the lifeblood of the economies there too. I hope they have a way for people to replace them for their livelihoods.

The plan seems to be to turn the money tap on big time and give a subsidy for city residents to switch to electric

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,310 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

New volvos don't sound great…

https://insideevs.com/news/765981/consumer-reports-volvo-ex90-issues/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,860 ✭✭✭✭josip

Saw my first Cenntro today. Are there any in Ireland?

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,045 ✭✭✭Panrich

I know that beauty is in the eye of the beholder but what a hideous looking yoke. I can’t imagine how the open front wheel arch could be good for aerodynamics either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,424 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I expect it's never going fast enough to matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,860 ✭✭✭✭josip

I don't think these things are designed for speeds where aerodynamics is a significant factor 😀

I think it's only for last km type delivery in urban areas so things like turning circle and overall length take priority over wheel arches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,129 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I agree on the looks but isnt aerodynamics pretty unimportant at low speeds, these are presumably only urban runabouts. Are they even runabouts? Look like something you'd see in a college campus or large commercial premises for mobility

Are they road legal here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,619 ✭✭✭wassie

Not sure of this is posted before. But unsurprisingly this video is explaining how EV sales numbers coming out of China are unreliable…..

Basically he suggests this practice fits a recurring pattern in China of hyping industries with massive state support, faking data, and relying on propaganda, potentially leading to unsustainable bubbles.

I've no idea of the truth of it. They certainly have the technical ability. They've spend the last decade or more building their automotive industry to an incredible level. But it's a police state. Everything is a secret.

It's massively funded by the state. They are building their economy at the expense of western economies. It's a trade war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,174 ✭✭✭creedp

Indeed and yet Musk is the problem so let's all buy Chinese. This is one policy that may yet bite us hard on the posterior. Course European/Japanese/Korean manufacturers have massively contributed to this by not focussing earlier on delivering better value EVs. Not helped by Govt incentives which encourage the purchase of expensive cars. Look at the Irish incentives which rewarded people buying €60k cars. Not that the Irish market dictated manufacturers plans but it's an indication that anything goes so long as we get a few EVs on the roads. All about the KPIs

Similarly there is an EV power war ongoing with people panting to get into 500bhp+ family cars. In what world is this sensible. In a few years these cars will be in the hands of younger drivers which could cause mayhem and people will be scratching their head about how this could happen and coming up with even more draconian measures to stop people driving more than 30kph in urban areas or the ridiculous 60kph on rural roads. I know Garda I just touched the accelerator of my 600bhp family runaround and next thing I was doing 100kph😁

Insurance will level that out, they're good at that.

Powerful EVs are already in the hands of young people btw.

I’ve never paid less for insurance that for my M3P. Nearly 500bhp and not an eyebrow raised. When I think of all the years I got the silly comment about the big 2L diesel which had only 138bhp. Cars have become ridiculously powerful, driven by EVs and it’s far from over yet.

Yes absolutely, but are you under 30 for insurance levelling purposes?

No I’m not unfortunately and I get your point completely but the reality is when I look around the young lads are currently predominantly driving small low powered petrol engined cars. These won’t be available in the future and even a bog std EV today will provide a far more powerful starter car option for young drivers in the years ahead .
    Who know though I might be unfairly judging them on the basis of what my generation were like behind the wheel😀

😅 true

You can get lower powered EVs. The R5 is 121bhp the Panda 111 bhp. Which sounds like an 80s hot hatch. Until you consider the weight.

Well Musk is ALSO a problem.

Telsa dropped it's prices to compete with the Chinese, Primarily to maintain the (his) share price. Collapsing EV prices everywhere. Which meant the Chinese had to drop further. Which has effected the used EV market.

So I dunno which specific Musk problem your referring to, quite a long list to pick from.

Good to hear that some EV manufacturers are finally attempting to supply EVs in the small car category which has been sorely ignored by the mainstream manufacturers until very recently. I think I saw a headline recently that Hyundai will soon be releasing the Ioniq 2 which should be a decent small car option.
    Decent range and reasonably powered EVs options should not be mutually exclusive

The power creep started with turbos then turbo diesels. My first GTI had 115bhp yet you say only 138bhp. My Honda CRX had 130bhp. Once turbo diesel came in power in "normal" cars exploded. 0-60 all dropped.

I remember thinking back in day the family saloon turbo diesel we had was faster, could out brake and handle my old GTI.

For sure EVs raised the bar. But power creep didn't start with them.

All well and good but we are now north of 700bhp for a sporty saloon for ballpark €60k. What will that car be picked up for in 5 years time? The way things are going we’ll be exceeding 1,000bhp in the very near future.

https://www.autocar.co.uk/car-review/mg-motor/im-5