Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So should drivers have to redo the theory test every 10 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭gral6

Sure. You can resit your theory and driving tests now if you wish so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,074 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Just to be clear I'm not making the case for people with medical/eyesight issues being allowed to drive.

My point was that the drivers you see wearing glasses are generally not the problem because they are attending opticians and with their prescribed lens are able to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

You are making the case that we should have no theory test whatsoever.

How exactly should we educate them, and how can we gauge their level of understanding of the ROTR?

A test maybe?

What a novel idea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭creedp

Ive no real problem with the test. Dont think it contributes a whole lot to road safety, a view supported by that Commission report I quoted from earlie so I certainly wouldn't lose any sleep if it was abolished. I certainly wouldn't support a requirement that a driving licence renewal would be conditional on resitting the theory test.

Now If the proposer could point to research from other countries providing actual evidence that repeating the theory test every 10 years actually improves driving standards and by extension road safety then who knows. At this point in time I just see it as another opportunist riding the populist wave taking every chance to have a pop at motorists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

HoHow many pass the theory test and pass the driving test and are still nit competent decent reasonably rule abiding drivers?

IIt's Easy to pass the theory test. Do all the right things during the driving test and there's a fair chance you'll pass.

After that, the rules of the road are only for the fools.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Well, the glasses may be prescribed long ago. Eyesight changes in mid-life and around retirement age. Retesting is put on the long finger, and generally impairment is more severe in low light as in night driving.

The test for a driving licence could be as simple as the clerk asking - 'Please read the letters on the screen behind me using the glasses you wear driving'.

How hard can that be.

I explained what is causing deaths on our roads but you still think testing is the answer.

We should concentrate on taking licences from the people breaking the law not compliant drivers.

It's possible that a minority would neglect their eye health by not going to the opticians as often as they should.

However anyone who knows they need glasses are very unlikely to let it go for more than 10 years which is the life of a licence.

Also testing in a public office by a non qualified person is not acceptable.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,376 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

The test I am suggesting is not an eye test as such.

When I took my test, the tester asked me to read the numberplate of a car 25 metres away, which is almost the same test I am suggesting. If I could not, I might be asked to try another car, but if I failed to rad the numberplate, it was test over. It is no different that asking the applicant some detailed questions on the form. A failure to read the test just means the applicant must go to an optician or doctor for an eye test. Some applicants are required to do this anyway.

I do not understand why you would object to this as it is not obtrusive.

If you abolish the test, how does one measure or ascertain that the driver knows the basic rules of the road?

Don't you think we need to educate and then test the drivers on the laws and rules governing our roads?

Why do we have tests and exams at all, in any walk of life? It's to grade and ascertain someone has a level of knowledge that is proficient in their understanding of the subject matter at hand.

When I get an eye test it's done in private with a qualified person

They are trained and know how to impart information about my eye health in a professional and caring manner.

No details of my eyesight are discussed outside the consultation room.

I have a strong objection to the state of my eyesight being disclosed by a clerk in a public office.

Of course testing has it's place.

We test learner drivers and then they proceed to become fully qualified.

I have no faith in repeat testing at intervals as a means to make roads safer

I have already outlined the real causes of deaths on our roads and lack of knowledge of rules of the road is not a big factor.

Yes, re-test those who have convictions but leave the qualified clean record drivers out of it.

When you come out of the opticians wearing a new pair of spectacles, the result of your eye test is known to everyone.

It would be quite simple. Clerk asks 'Do you have an eyesight test result from a doctor or optician, and if not are you willing to undergo a simple test to see if you comply with the basic test we do here? You can opt to do it in private, or just read the letters on the screen behind me.'

What is so difficult?

You give your full name, your age, your gender, your address, your PPS number, plus other details, and the clerk can access plenty of other details about you like your driving history, and yet you are fearful of your eyesight being checked is a simple test. The clerk has no personal interest in you.

This is getting to be just trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭freddieot

I'm 60+, had laser surgery on the eyes when I was 30ish and latest test confirms I still see perfectly, almost 20/20. My other half is the same - perfect eyesight. None, not one of my friends (mostly 40-70) needs glasses either because their eyesight is still good or they had Laser work done years ago. None of my neighbours in the same age brackets wear glasses either.

The majority of people I see wearing glasses these days are in their teens or early 20s. They are I suppose either too young medically for Laser surgery or just can't afford it.

Luckily, the insurance companies know where the risks are and you might notice that actually insurance premium go down as drivers get older (60-74 especially) as the insurers realise the risk is far less. Still, maybe they're all wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Eh? I think you meant to reply to someone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Juran

We had shite regional roads, and sub-standard national roads. We have high fatality rates late during the night eg. Say at 3am, high incidents of young men having accidents due to high speed with no gardaí or speedvans out that time of night. We badly need bypasses to reduce city traffic, Galway city comes to mind. And the list goes on about Irish road infrastructure.

But Labour has a solution, 'lets make them take the driving tests again and again'. if this is the oppostion, well God help us..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭freddieot

Apologies, definitely did. Fixed and more generic now...

It should be clear to you by now that I'm totally opposed to to the new Labour TD's brainwave.

I've done my best to explain my objections including the clerk eye test that you seem to think is a good idea.

If at this stage you're resorting to suggesting I'm trolling it's probably best if we leave it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,913 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Mandatory theory testing every ten years is a ridiculous idea.

It should be every 3-5 years, to keep drivers up to date with changes in legislation.

It would be relatively easy to scale up the current theory testing service. All you need is a bigger room and more PCs.

This could be expanded with reaction time tests, observation tests, maybe even a driving simulator test as technology permits.

90% are very good drivers?
    I can only assume that you don't get out much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,268 ✭✭✭creedp

The auld Tayto ad doesn't do this kind of post justice. I'll see your 2 - 3 years and raise you every 2 years🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

10% is a significant amount in my books, 1 in 10 cars

What would you say it is?

I'd say it's closer to the other way round, 9 in 10 cars. Did you watch the Prime Time special on red light jumping?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,156 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I just read "driving simulator tests" and I'm just picturing a pensioner trying to cope with an online Forza Horizon lobby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,145 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

the theory test is a box ticking excercise at best, those people who paid guys good money to sit what even a person with half a brain would pass has to be one of the funniest stories of the last 10 years

The roads are very safe the stats all back this up

30 years of cycling in dublin back this up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,069 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

I did yes, very interesting I thought although you have to bear in mind that because of the light change delay on most traffic light sets most red light jumpers are no risk to either them or others

I'm talking more about the dangerous drivers whose action regularly cause accidents. About 4 times a month for example there's a crash where the M20, N18 and M7 meet because those 10% of cars are trying to make the lane change at the last second

The problem for me is if we let those bad habits develop that 10% will rise

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 43,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I did yes, very interesting I thought although you have to bear in mind that because of the light change delay on most traffic light sets most red light jumpers are no risk to either them or others

The prgramme showed some incidents where only for the green-light driver to brake, there would have been a collision.

However, as I understand it, the councils have added an additional delay to the light sequence to factor in red light breakers (so the "justification" for red light breaking is because of traffic delays yet this problem has delayed traffic!).

I'm talking more about the dangerous drivers whose action regularly cause accidents. About 4 times a month for example there's a crash where the M20, N18 and M7 meet because those 10% of cars are trying to make the lane change at the last second

1. they're not accidents!
    2. it is not correct to say "10% of cars are trying to make the lane change at the last second" - maybe 10% of drivers are doing this but the cars actually aren't conscious beings!
    3. do we know which 10% of drivers do this? If not, then all need to follow the same rules!

The problem for me is if we let those bad habits develop that 10% will rise

The problems have developed! If one looks at traffic, it is very easy to spot. What makes it even worse is that other drivers forgive this behaviour by turning a blind eye to it.
    Honestly, if you can't see it then either you aren't looking or maybe you just accept it as normal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,289 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Repeating the Theory Test or Driving Test won't make a blind bit of difference when people refuse to even move a finger to feckin indicate.