Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAS TAILTEANN 2025

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,966 ✭✭✭wav1

He got same time as the bunch with the 3k rule

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,010 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Yesterday the support along the route and at the finish was amazing

Garda cover brilliant and a fantastic job by the entire crew Totally different terrain today but been fidgety since 6am looking forward to it

According to the results above he did

Riders #63 and #108 are both credited with the time of the bunch following a mishap within the final 3km.

He's 13 secs down on GC

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

brilliant weather again for today's stage. should be stunning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

Eoin Clifford went down 4km from home and done his collarbone. Sad to see because he’s been in good form lately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

No he didn’t crash last year he’s just very vocal on social media when races don’t go his way. His gripe last year was teams wouldn’t help Skyline control the race (he was level on the race leaders time at the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭De Bhál

that's some road rash, jesus, I'd imagine sleeping was tough on that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,104 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Just read about this, devasted for Eoin given he was coming to the boil nicely for this week.

6 Irish riders in the top 10 GC.

Great to see

Stage 2 Results…..and 7000 posts!

Stage 3 Results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Paddigol

Best way to get up to Wolftrap to watch today’s stage - from Kinnity or Mountrath? Likely cut off time for people spinning up?

Surface is better up from kinnity

You can also go up from Cadamstown

grand soft day for it… Dean Harvey was looking good at the top, not sure how the finish went? Missed you in the chaos @Bambaata

Stage 4 Results

There's a live stream on at the moment, not Eurosport standard 😁

https://www.youtube.com/live/JoAa3GixBsw

Stage 5 and Final Results 😊

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Live stream was a great bonus, I got caught out and couldn't go, it was a nice professional touch. Commentator was on the ball and made it for those who couldn't make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Raymzor

Great day out for the family. Well done to Bohermeen Cycling Club arranging the Youth Races on the RAS circuit. Presenting the prizes on the main Stage was a big thrill for the Youths. The number of Youths racing was disappointing given the occasion.

The venue was amazing. Bouncy Castles, Food and Coffee trucks etc. fair play to Bective Stud and Tea rooms for Supporting the RAS again this year. A huge grandstand to enhance viewing.

It was exciting racing on the day with 18 up the road including Daire Feeley who was in Virtual Yellow while on the finishing circuit for a decent amount of time.

Well done to the RAS organisers for keeping this vital flagship event alive and kicking. Well done to the 2025 Men of the RAS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,163 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Done for another year, a very difficult year! I felt i got through it better last year despite being sick for the 3-4 weeks into it! I am scared of my life of pack riding and it cost me every day this year, wheels in front letting things go and only so many of them i could react to, in previous years id have reacted to more and held on longer but this year was a nightmare! My back gave in on stage one before the climb so I couldnt push at all, strapped on heat patches from there which helped but the legs just werent to any kind of standard this year. I tried getting into a break at the start of stage 2 (i think, 2 or 3) but nothing was going and that was all i saw of the front this year. The remainder was spent patrolling the bunch as last man and then booted out the back shortly after!

Organisation as ever amazing, Ger and co do an amazing job. If anyone here ever has a remote chance to do it i cant recommend it enough, the experience of the Ras will live with you forever (good and/or bad!). I love the whole travelling circus of it all and do hope to return. Life this year has been much more hectic with 3.5-4hrs stuck in a car everyday commuting and with twins due next month hobby time isnt going to be improving! Hopefully i can try again in 2026, it will be hard sitting at home knowing its on whenever that day comes so hopefully not for another few years! @wav1 when can be have a M40 category :P (not that id figure too well in it either!)

Congrats! I was going to say enjoy a well deserved break and put your feet up for a while… but… twins 🤣 LOL! Good luck with that!

Seriously though, unless people have raced at any level they'll have no idea of the kind of effort that goes into just completing a race of that level. My experience is limited to the bottom of the barrel of club league racing, and that's a slog.

Would love to see a bit more support and publicity for the Ras. It's a fantastic event. Really enjoyed my afternoon on Wolftrap. We've a great little country, with some fantastic towns… in a world of motorways and bypasses, the Ras is a unique opportunity to showcase that. Fair play to the organisers and everyone who leant a shoulder to the wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭TheDocMan

Anyone who raced or has any inside info know why nobody in the break on the last stage didn't bother to do a decent turn to, at worst keep the break away with a chance of a win or high stage placing and maybe be part of a group that helped an Irish rider - Feeley - win the race?? Listening to the audio commentary the only person pulling seemed to be Feeley and then when the break was nearly reeled in they attacked him. Pity unless im missing something that even 4 or 5 riders who could have helped didnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Johnners1878

He didn't hold back in pointing it out in his race diary in the Independent either. Like him or not (and he implied some don't) you have to give credit to Feeley for racing and trying to win positively even when getting no help. He left it all out there and it was disappointing to see Kimber allowed to coast his way in the wheels to victory on Sunday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

The few comments on FB and Youtube about letting a "Tan" rider win were just BS. It is a bike race, we are in it for ourselves or our team. Unless Feeley actually dropped back and explained (and he may have), that if you work with me, I won't contest the win. Even then, they likely were probably not really able too.

Maybe his team should have reached out to other teams pre race for unofficial negotiations, as far as I can tell they didn't, maybe they did, but who knows. Considering their open complaint about a former member leaving (to set up a competing brand), maybe there was no one to reach out too.

We will never know, realistically, it was the toughest race some of them will ever face so the most realistic answer is they just were not able too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Plastik

If he makes friends like he runs his mouth its no wonder he didn't have any friends last Sunday.

A lad that takes as much as he can take week in, week out and is disappointed that those same riders he regularly beats wouldn't help him win another race. GTFO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,104 ✭✭✭✭dahat

He is one of the least liked lads in the top ranks here and that was before he offloaded in his RAS diary. He'll get zero help or turns in any race now for the foreseeable.

Didn't know lads were treating racing as a popularity contest.

Is it because he's not from one of the 'traditional' cycling clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭sirpsycho

I wish the diaries were not behind the paywall :(