Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arcade High Score Challenge - Round 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Ohhh nice ...it's on. I never had enough money at any of the shops to get health !

On one run I tried hoarding all the big coins on the 2nd level and ran out of time !!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,220 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Better off spending it on weapons, health only gives you a heart.

Stage 3 music is an absolute bop.

A measly heart for a grand and a half .

Good to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,368 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Damn - thought I might have you there Retr0!

Got to level three but was taken out by a spear. One hit takes up a whole heart :eek:

PXL_20250215_205507181.jpg

Master of the Universe

Oh for the love of...haha

PXL_20250215_212559792.jpg

Master of the Universe

Got to the level three boss - quite something to look at for it's time!

Unfortunately I had a lower than normal score leaving level 2 (hadn't actually broken the 100k) so was about 20k under where I should have been starting level 3.

Pretty much got the same as my last score.

Such a great game. My thumb is in bits from pressing the fire button!

PXL_20250215_220125158.jpg

Its all kicking off now :)

I hate those bastradin spears and those little purple feckers that throw them . . Sometimes ya just shoot the spears down and other times they just hit ya when your "turning the corner"

Every time I play I seem to go a different route and discover different scenarios and obstacles , it's really impressive the way the gameplay just flows quickly that way . At the start I was going slow and precariously stepping forward and making choices but it seems to do no good.

Head down , plough forward hammering the attack button is the way

Master of the Universe

Yeah the trick really seems to be to charge at enemies head on and blast them. Resist the temptation to try to dodge spears and projectiles as you've more of a chance of being hit.

Walking backwards away from enemies is just asking to get hit too.

Not sure if you saw, but on level 3 when you get the magic that turns you big, you can jump and do an earthquake type attack on enemies. Kills everyone on screen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,220 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I think it's your sword that knocks projectiles back rather than your projectiles.

Got to level 3 boss for first time and bait him .

Start of level 4 had spears lashes at me from every direction and I kicked the bucket straight away

Screenshot_2025-02-15-23-58-12-709_com.google.android.apps.photos-edit.jpg

Ohh didn't know that . I thought turning big seemed a bit useless so was using the smart bomb type magic instead

Oh I'm away today and might not get much time tonight to fight back.

Ahhh you've always 10 mins for a quick run

Master of the Universe

Have either of you tried that big earthquake attack on the level three boss? I wonder is it a handy way to deal with him quickly.

Didnt try it actually Cheers for that info btw , didn't know about it ..used it on level 4 with all the spears chucking lads at the start and got further ...

Screenshot_2025-02-16-15-47-59-334_com.miui.gallery-edit.jpg

Also I got past level 3 boss again twice .

Feck his claws , I destroyed just one each time and then just bashed him in the head , rather than tryIng for the two claws .

Once ya have one gone I just thunder into his noggin and best the crap out of the attack button . I use the smart bomb type magic also , seems to cost feck all magic points so ya can get a few lashes of it

Fourth stage is just not my friend. Got to the first catapult and screwed up.

valkyrie-250216-225927.png

Died in the same place but had 1000 less points. Have to give up as the girlfriend has gone to bed and told me I'm swearing a lot and she needs to sleep :( so close.

Dont think I got to any catapult .

Did ya come across some lad that asks you a question with 3 possible answers.

All in Japanese obviously

Last time the answer I selected just killed me instantly

Good game and neck and fierce competition by all finely tuned athletes involved .

Ill pick a game tomorrow so , bed time , I'll sleep upon it

Yep pain in the ass. You lose a heart with the wrong answer.

Well done on the win. Really enjoyed this game although don't think there's been a bad one picked.

Master of the Universe

Well done lads! some great scores, that was a really good one.