Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links,pictures, banter etc v2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭mjsc1970

I went with a Hiplok instead in the end with The Visor Shop up north - have dealt with them plenty in the past - dunno why I didn't just look there in the first place 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,813 ✭✭✭✭blade1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Bastirds stole my bike yesterday. First time it's happened in 25 years of being a biker. Securely locked to a barrier, 2 metres from a security hut manned by 2 security guards. Scrotes turned up masked and threatened the security guards with knives and hammers. Broad daylight (lunchtime), lots of witnesses. Gardai recovered it a few hours later dumped in a bush (possibly waiting to see if it had a tracker). Bike has gone for forensics. No idea how much damage they've done. just glad the security guys are ok.

They've kind'a damaged biking for me. I don't think I'll ever have my bike in a more secure situation than that. Other than having multiples of locks, I'm not sure what else I can do. Buy a shittier bike maybe. But it's not transport for me - it's a way of life. Bastirds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Sorry to hear that, yeah, absolute scum out there that couldn't give a **** about anyone. Hopefully the law gets the finger out and does something real to stop bike theft once and for all, locking up for a long time would be a start.

I'm lucky I live in the sticks, don't even have a lock and anywhere I go is usually for a leisurely ride and if I stop somewhere I usually have a close eye on it.

I think it's time the Irish Garda were armed and even security guards, I mean what protection can guards offer without being able to protect themselves ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,490 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

It wasn't the MT10 from TU Tallaght? Son's friends locks were cut off his bike, as well as a handful beside his. All right beside the security hut. Glad you got the bike back. My yoke is in the garage untouched for commutes since last September. Group of scrotes taking pictures of it in a "secure" underground car park has put me off ever commuting on it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Yeah, that's the one. Haven't gotten it back yet, and still no idea of the damage. Didn't realize they'd taken locks off a few other bikes also? I stepped out of the building at 4pm, to find no bikes left. Quite the shocker. The security lads were very apologetic afterwards, but you'd never expect them to tackle a group of masked young lads with knives and hammers. Lots of security footage apparently. Hope they catch the feckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,648 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yesterday I thought I'd get the bike up on the paddock stand and check the oil level

It took nearly a litre to get to the full mark 😯

Hadn't been checked in "a while" and it's marking its territory out of the front sprocket seal and/or the clutch actuator seal… I'm actually not sure if I should fix all of the outstanding jobs or just allow it to enter a state of managed decline…

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

adult teen & scrambler & city west

that Tallaght funeral home will be getting their social media ready again, and we’ll be inundated with posts telling us what a nice chap this lad was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,410 ✭✭✭sonic85

I'm currently getting my bike back to being roadworthy - I'm hoping to be back on the road in the next couple of months. The standard of driving though from other road users has me fairly worried. Has anyone noticed a real issue with cars not being able to stay in their own lane?

The amount of times I drive around bends only to have a vehicle coming in the opposite direction driving over the white line on my side of the road is unreal. It was something I noticed happening a lot around the end of covid and it seems it hasnt improved much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭tikkamark

The standard of car driving is gone noticeably terrible since Covid I’ve found,I’ve drove cars vans jeeps ect since 2002 and bikes the past 4 years but I’m noticing cars coming way over my side of the road on bends and have even gotten dirty looks from the other drivers like it’s me in the wrong🙄I’m sure it’s people pricking about on their phones but it’s getting worse….it’s made me slow down a lot to the point where I’m expecting a Gobshite around every corner quite literally,it’s taking a lot of enjoyment out of biking for me but what can you do.

Complete lack of enforcement from overstretched Garda towards phone use while driving,it’s going to cost a lot of lives needlessly.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,684 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

In addition it's no longer amber gambler at light controlled junctions, it's blatant coat tailing through reds

Went from Bridgestone s23 to Michelin Power 5.

Early days but seems good so far.

1000019058.jpg 1000019059.jpg

How did you find the S23s? I'm gonna put a set on my bike

Which bike you using them on sonic?

They are plenty good if you don't be taking the piss on the bike.

I got 6000km of mostly easy going riding but noticed the performance drop off at around 4000km.

It's a CBR600RR. I was originally gonna go with Pirellis - I've had a few sets of those and loved them but said I'd try something different this time. I'll be doing all road riding and I don't tend to take the piss

Bullseye! 😂

https://www.reddit.com/r/MotoIRELAND/s/uPCBv1WD27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭geotrig

Just got my insurance quote (483 CN) and did a quick online comparison and came in at 380 ,I've only then just realised it was done through the CN portal anyone ever do this and just buy the new quote from cn ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,145 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

People have done it successfully with car insurance.

Not your ornery onager

yeah I'm fairly sure ive probably done similar with a car before on the comparison sites , I had just clicked on this paddycompare site and filled it in, didn't take notice that it was for cn until I finished hmmm rang around and only one quote is close at 410 but still would like the keep that 30 quid myself. will probably ring cn anyway and haggle with them a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

news coming out that the biker involved in the collision where Gda Flatley died has passed away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Condolences to the bikers family may he rest in peace.

It would be nice to know what actually happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,049 ✭✭✭✭GBX

The whole situation is awful. 2 lost souls. That's it. No apportioning blame. Just a terrible incident.

RIP to both men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 jimmybullard5

Anyone any recommendations for a helmet that has excellent wind cancellation. Currently have a Shark D-Skwal and it’s cat for letting the wind in.

Happy to spend up to €600 for something decent and good spec. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭muddle84

I have a Schuberth C5 which is a flip up and it is pretty good at keeping the wind out. I still need ear plugs for the wind noise though!

The Shark Spartan is supposed to be very good too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,692 ✭✭✭jacool

Back in the early 90s a friend of mine, from Tuam, had his bike stolen in Galway city centre. They found out where the guy lived and headed out in a van to Castle Park, took your main outside, and, I kid you not, broke his leg!

They then told him that the next time a bike was stolen from Eyre Square, they would be back for the other one.

I parked my bike in Eyre Square for ages on the back of that. It was always there when I got back!

have an Arai RX7V and shark d-skawl and find the Arai so much better for wind noise want to be being so much more expensive , like muddle I still wear earplugs with both and dskwal isnt so bad with a balclave and earplugs.

I was going to suggest the Schuberth C5  as when looking a few years back it seemed to rate one of the best for noise iirc.