Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General chat thread... Links,pictures, banter etc v2

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 707 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Decided a lot of the sticked threads needed to be nuked. The contents in them was so so outdated and wrong it wasn't even worth trying to update them. Killed them and recreated them. Copied over as much as was still relevant. But if anybody wants to take a punt at better text let me know

Post edited by LIGHTNING on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,713 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

maybe add in the requirement for the cert and power that is changing.

Someone could have had their IBT for ages and think they are sorted only to find the test centres are only taking the CC and power from the reg cert nowadays and not on a separate document

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,709 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Some new gear so just a few thoughts on them..

The leathers are Rst S1.

Bottoms are pretty much like my old track tech ones. No difference that I notice anyway (Possibly higher safety spec if anything).

I love the jacket. Much nicer to wear than my track tech one. (I'll never again buy a jacket with a hump).

Ok to wear in cool weather with the rst wind block base layers.

It's perforated so wouldn't be much good in cold on its own.

Like the Richa boots too.

Tight enough fit with the leathers.

How do lads with big calves manage with boots at all?

I've legs like you'd see hanging out of a nest and find a lot of boots tight with leathers.

Now the gloves.

I just wanted a light summer glove so tried these Rst Fulcrum gloves.

They do feel light and cheap and flimsey.

Would have went for the next ones up if I knew these were like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,724 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^ SMIDSY 😀

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,355 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

A popular and deadly cager refrain - sorry mate I didn't see you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,724 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Your gear looked a bit like a decapitated biker…😂

Not your ornery onager

I was going to say it's the one part of me that I haven't damaged and then remembered I split my forehead open 3 or 4 years ago and I also got bottled in Limerick when I was 18 or 19 and have a scar on the back as well 🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭muddle84

Nice!!! I got the Dainese Mig 2 as a summer glove. They're really comfy and feel like really good quality. But they're a short glove as opposed to a gauntlet!

I've always used a gauntlet type.

Would the short ones be just like for urban use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,769 ✭✭✭muddle84

I've used them for touring, they have plenty protection in them in fairness. I wouldn't be using them on a track though! They mate well with my textile jacket, there's no skin exposed around the wrist. But its all well ventilated compared to my winter gauntlet type gloves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

Hopefully, a few guards will lead by example but reckon the fear of what is appropriate or not will likely means they still won't pursue.

"However, Mr Harris has now announced a change in the policy as regards to scramblers and motorbikes.

He said gardaí can now pursue them if it is appropriate, proportionate and necessary to do so."

https://www.rte.ie/news/2025/0131/1494051-garda-scramblers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭GBX

About time! Hopefully they can get some of the sh1te off the road. And some of the bikes as well ..

Wouldn't bother me in the slightest if they had to even scrape the shîte off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭GBX

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Breezin

Speaking of enforcement… Isn't there a new Garda portal in the pipeline where one can upload pics and vids? This would be most effective for bikers in nailing those idiots on their phone, especially while stopped or in slow traffic.

Usually, when I see it happening, I'll slow or stop and look in all nosey like. People generally freak out and shamefully put away the phone — one even threw it away presumably because he thought I was a guard. But the other day I did it and the dude just brazened it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,750 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

hard to imagine anything much happening when the garda who was pursuing the toasted scumbags in the stolen BMW on the Naas Road is still up on charges. Does the left hand know what the right hand is doing?

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 707 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

So it turns out you can fit a small scrambler in the back of a Kei Van 😂

I had a post up about cheap Ali express headsets but I can't find it.

Just want to update incase anyone is buying one.

This one that I got recently, I noticed the left speaker cut in and out a bit if your collar touched the headset or cable even.

Ended up bugging me too much so I decided to try another one.

This one doesn't have the same problem and the sound quality is excellent.

Also, going by reviews, apparently, it can communicate with another one of them but you can't while connected to your phone.

So it's either one or the other.

All in all, this is a great device for the price.

Arrived in less than two weeks.

Post edited by blade1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Debub

Hi - can I ask… is the Triumph Scrambler 900 ok for the full A license driving test? I think that its minimum 50KW - is that correct?

Power

2017: 54bhp (40.5kW) @ 5900rpm

2019: 64bhp (48kW) @ 7500rpm

Took delivery of my first bike 30 years ago today…

a nine year old GP100

Post edited by Hotblack Desiato on

This is what I had 30 years ago.

Yamaha RD125.

Coming up to 37 years since I got my first bike on my 16th birthday, a Honda 70.

Nicer bike but I think I have the nicer pic 😆 (yeah I only added it later)

It's amazing how any of us are still alive really 😁 I had two close calls on that GP and neither was my fault. One time I was going across Tara St up Townsend St, was first away at the lights, had just about cleared the junction when a tipper truck went thundering through the red light at what looked like 40MPH crossing just behind me. If I'd been slower off the mark there was no way that guy was stopping.

The other time was on Summerhill (probably on the way back from what seemed to be weekly trips to Mountjoy Motorcycles to buy parts) and I stopped for a pedestrian crossing, quite close to the centre line. Then I heard this almighty noise behind me, white van man didn't see the light and then locked up but somehow managed to swerve just enough to my left and this Transit stopped in line with and beside me in clouds of smoke. If I'd been in the middle of my lane I'd have been fired into the middle of the next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭enrique66_35

Minimum power is 35KW but will also need to exceed 0.2 power to weight ratio (i.e. power in KW / weight in KG) so a bike that's above the power requirement both very heavy might still not be accepted for a test. Make sure the relevant information is filled out and correct on the Vehicle Registration Cert (this is being checked for every test now) & if there's any zeros or 555555s in any category will need to get it corrected by Dept of Transport in Shannon.

That can take some time and back and forth so get a cert of conformity from the manufacturer and allow some time to resolve before booking a test - if it needs correcting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

Minimum is 50 Kw, not 49.99 but 50 Kw.

Get the bike you want and use the instructors bike for some lessons and the test, this is what I did and you won't have to worry about paper work or anything else.

The whole licensing system is a bit of a joke to be honest, car drivers are not expected to go out and get different licenses to drive higher powered cars.

Got a four pack of these chain brushes for around €8 on Amazon.

Handy things to have.