Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Suggestion: - Ban 'X' Links, embeds and screenshots on Boards.ie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Raichų

I don’t think he is to be honest. Not defending him in fact I believe it’s done for outrage purposes.

Musk is a controversy merchant. That’s all he is. He’s saying things that will get a response and have him talked about. He learned that from trump no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,621 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Is his support for Yaxley Lennon, the Irish beardy racist thug in Waterford, the AFD in Germany and their counterparts in Italy, Sweden and elsewhere - is it all done for 'outrage'?

If it walks like a duck, it's a duck. He's a literal Nazi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭Raichų

well, you’re talking about him aren’t you? In fact you’re actively keeping up with news about him by the sounds of it because any of the people you’ve mentioned I wouldn’t be familiar with myself nor would I be much familiar with Musks carry on.

He’s doing it for attention and he’s getting it, clearly. I’m not suggesting you’re at fault either by the way it’s like a car crash these lads.

Look, is it much more likely Musk, Zuckerberg etc all suddenly turned it Neo Nazism than it is they’re just being media huers like trump? All this craic is outrage bait.

Have you noticed the powerful position that he's gotten himself into now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,524 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

OP who constantly shills for Bluesky wants the policies of this platform to reflect their values exclusively.

Adults should be trusted to make up their own minds about the content of links provided.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,372 ✭✭✭corkie

Why are people ignoring the '?' in the title? Sorry for not using a title like:-

Suggestion: - Should Boards.ie Ban 'X' ……….?

image.png

So what if I have been promoting 'Bluesky'. I don't get finical or other rewards for doing so.

"constantly shills" ~ That has dirty connotations!

I am not forcing any of my values on anything/anyone.

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

°°°°°

By proposing that one source of links should be forbidden on this platform you are explicitly proposing that your values should be forced upon all the users of this platform.

Anyone with a shred of competence knows not to blindly trust anything that's posted into a discussion thread, particularly when it comes with an insistence that it be appropriated at face value.

You're suggesting that isn't the case and that boards needs to act "in the best interests" of users which is frankly insulting to the intelligence of other users of this platform, we're all too thick to be left to make judgements of our own so we need you to act as some sort of moral arbiter.

Glazers Out!

It's not about trust. It's about not providing financial support to a literal Nazi.

°°°°°

Maybe you should start a blog and share your thoughts there.

The rest of us can make our own judgement calls.

The minute the proposal made by the OP is adopted any sense of this being a platform where rational discussion can happen will dissappear.

Reddit have jumped the shark with this, and I found ChrisD to be a reasonable enough poster until he was banned here for his contributions re how the site is run but obviously he's a stark raving lunatic if he thinks this is a good idea.

Glazers Out!

@nullzero You have jumped to allot of assumptions about me, based on the fact I created the thread!

I didn't say if I was in favour or against boards implementing this. The thread can get the general consensus of the users of the platform and a decision made.

As a 'Free Speech' advocate, I'm against having that platform banned or shutdown!

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."

°°°°°

Why create the thread then?

You're looking for the answer to a question nobody else was asking.

Glazers Out!

Because I was wondering about it and wanted to see others opinion on the matter? I Created the thread after making the below post. Boards is a discussion platform after all?

If people don't like seeing 'Xitter' content on here, they also have the option to put the posters on 'ignore' if they choose to.

°°°°°

You've answered your own question then.

Not much more to discuss.

Glazers Out!

@corkie "If people don't like seeing 'Xitter' content on here, they also have the option to put the posters on 'ignore' if they choose to."

Above is a drastic method because the posters may have other content you would like to see.

If you don't want to see 'Xitter' embeds appearing, you also have the personal choice of blocking them with 'Private DNS' or other filtering tools like 'Portmaster' by https://safing.io/ .

The url to block, for those interested is:-

platform.twitter.com

What makes you so afraid about a community making a community decision to not enrich an actual fascist?

°°°°°

I think we need a little more in the way of a hand gesture to confirm him as an actual fascist.

Seriously, the word has been so misused to the point where it has lost any actual meaning.

You don't like Musk, grand. I'm ambivalent towards him, but I don't think he's an actual fascist. Bit of a knob? Sure, but let's get real for a change.

Glazers Out!

A little more?

How about his consistent support for other fascists around the world, as detailed in my earlier posts?

How about his seizing of control of government agencies in the US with zero legislative cover?

How about his long series of anti Semetic and anti black posts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,350 ✭✭✭✭listermint

He's a Facist, you're a hand wringer. There are many like you. And you'll hand wring into the next phase of facism which is coming. Shutting down government payments to whichever marginal group he chooses whilst spreading some falsehood about them.

°°°°°

Not sure what this has to do with feedback but I'm not involving myself in this insanity any further.

The OP's suggestion is the first step on the path to turning this platform into an echo chamber for the left, which makes it a dead platform as far as actual discussion is concerned.

There's way too many wacky extremist voices being allowed to shout the loudest here already, if any changes are being made here, getting a handle on the fact that these people feel enboldened to request the platform change to suit them to begin with.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,350 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You could obviously just have not replied. But sure look. Enjoy your handwringing. Evidently hit a nerve.

FEEDBACK FORUM!?

@nullzero getting a handle on the fact that these people feel 'emboldened' to request the platform change to suit them to begin with.

Yet you are happy to jump to your own assumptions about me and attack me as the OP of the thread?

I happen to agree with you on the fact that some of the posts on this thread about 'Musk' would have been more suited to the 'X' thread than on this thread. But people posted questions about why the 'Suggestion' I made was needed and people provided answers.

Edit: -

I know that reddit was supportive of the 'Ban on X', I post my tip (5 hr. ago) of using 'Private DNS'/other privacy tools to block 'X' embeds.

100 upvotes, 5.5k Views, 20 Shares but 2 where crossposts of mine!

Post edited by corkie on

Emboldened?

Surely a free speech absolutist like Musk would be only delighted to see people expressing their opinions freely?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,563 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think it's a great idea. It's a grotty, racist cesspit and I see no reason why Boards should be supporting it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,587 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I wasnt really aware of this Reddit Ireland Twitter ban but its not really surprising.

image1.jpg

Trump Derangement Syndrome seems to be a serious issue on r/ireland.

Another leftie echo chamber.

As a MOD of a few forums, maybe you could poll the community on them @ancapailldorcha, to get their views on a forum specific ban.

Some mods have stated their views on it-

• @Trigger Against it for football and Gaming!
    • @Podge_irl Not a forum specific rule on it, but encouraged proper linking of twitter.com for embeds to work.

Sorry if I missed any other mods, posts on the topic.

°°°°°

I couldn't give a damn about Elon Musk.

My problem is that we're not proposing this ban on links to his platform for anything other than partisan reasons.

I'm of the opinion that boards indulging this claptrap is a tacit admission that the platform is simply there to serve the far left.

No fringe elements should have a hand on the steering wheel here. We need rational responsible people who can behave like adults and should be afforded the trust that comes with that.

The proposal is ridiculous. If you don't want to read a link then don't read it. Stop deciding what everyone else is entitled to read.

Funny how whether it's the far right or the far left, they all want to tell people what they can do and what to believe. We shouldn't indulge them or let a situation arise where they're enboldened to start suggesting censorship based on their personal biases. End of story.

Glazers Out!

If by "partisan" you mean "not funding fascism" then yes, you'd be correct. Are you thinking that funding of fascism is a good thing?

@nullzero Twice you have been corrected and your still using that! And are showing no interest in others opinion!

image.png

°°°°°

Glazers Out!

Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.