Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Switch 2 Thread!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,791 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Can't wait, haven't been to one of these in a while.

I did midnight openings for PS, PS2, N64.

Imported the GC, DC, PSP and got the likes of 360 early because I knew the lads who ran Gamesworld!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭CptMonkey

Ah midnight openings. I haven't heard that in a long time.

Reminds me of COD Mw2 release back in the day.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,050 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

The last midnight launch I went to was for the Wii, standing outside Game on Dawson St for hours on end freezing my arse off. Google tells me that was December 2006, jesus I would've been 30 back then, where has the time gone! Fair play to any of you nut jobs willing to queue up tomorrow night, hopefully you get treated to a slice of pizza or something. 😁

Edit: Smyths just took money for my Pro Controller pre order. Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭feargantae

I'm jealous of anyone getting to go to a midnight launch! Reminds me of the old GameStop days and their midnight launches.

No Smyths near me but I have managed to get the day off work so thats good 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Longing

Pre-ordered my Switch in Smyths Navan when orders went up online to collect in store. Live about 50 miles away in N Cavan. So hr drive there and another back. I think I will go even if the other half wants me to wait till Thursday as I'm off work then till Monday.

Just want to experience midnight launch again, last one I was at GameStop in Cavan for GTA 5 2014 I think.

Then the pressure when you get home should I leave it in the box til morning and get up early. Feck that all-nighter and a six-pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Aaaagh.. Had it preordered through Smyths for my son. Got an email 3 days ago saying the payment didn't process which I didn't see. Just got one now saying it's cancelled. Disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Gru

My friends Switch 2 has been through 2 hubs already and mine is yet to be picked up according to DPD tracking (Delivery Smyths)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Doomofman

Yeah my Smyths shipment via DPD is still awaiting pickup. Assuming it'll be handed over this evening at some point, surprised that any have been handed over already tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 jivemonster64

On the Smyths site it says 'Limited stock will also be available to purchase.' if you wanted to chance your arm on the night. Give them a shout and see how many they'll have maybe?

Cheers.. Gonna head over to a shop now on my break to see if there's any chance they could do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

Wonder what time today we can expect to see it update, likely the afternoon.

Mine is still on

Order received / DPD awaiting parcel
    Head Office

I kind of expect it to be relatively late actually. Smyths do next day deliveries for orders up to 10pm so I reckon DPD wont pick up the Switch 2 packages until after that

Anyone got any idea what time you'd have to start queuing to get one tonight without a reservation? Would many people be trying? I've no idea about this kind of thing. Feel like I owe it to my son now after messing up with the preorder payment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭wexdevil

Checked my tracking and the switch still hasn't updated but the pro controller has updated. It will probably show up right after i leave for work tomorrow. 😄😥

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Liamalone

I have a pro 2 controller ordered but want to pick up a reasonable player 2 controller. I see a PowerA wireless Wario one for £30, are they any use? Or should I just get an original pro controller? Twenty quid difference in price between the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭rob808

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭tommythecat

For people collecting in store will we get an email to say it's ready or whatever?

4kwp South East facing PV System. 5.3kwh Weco battery. South Dublin City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 jivemonster64

Definitely do, show them your preorder email, surely they'd sort you out if they could!

Probably between store closing time tonight and reopening at midnight. I'd imagine the staff will be working closed hours organising them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,684 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

You should get a "Ready for Collection" text message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,245 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Usually a text near or at close of business for collection the next day. Could happen earlier due to midnight launches, but may stick with the usual timeframe as they'll not open up again till midnight.

Though having said that, have got a text early morning of releases before, PS5 Pro for example, when midnight launches weren't involved.

I tried. They said nope. Will have to try queue tonight!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,050 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

If it’s only 20 quid in the difference then I’d get the original pro controller, it’s brilliant and will last you years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭LauraW7746

That's a disaster it's happened to me before that I missed those emails they went to my spam folder but it was just for game preorders so it was ok

I'd say you'll be ok if you attend the midnight launch though I'd try to get there early just to be sure

Fingers Crossed for you 😬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Genghis

We have a pre order, what time should we arrive at the store? Two very excited kids, was thinking of getting there at 10.30, get some of the atmosphere but not have boredom. We live 35 mins from the store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Himselfe

On the original email announcing the midnight launch it said 'selected stores' would have the 11pm opening and the goodie bag for first 100 people, but now on the Smyths website it only mentions the Swords store. Does anyone know if this is the case? Are none of the other stores across Ireland going to get the chance of a goodie bag?

Smyths has updated their message in the help section, should hopefully settle the nerves of Click & Collect folks

"Click & Collect orders will have payment pre-authorised this evening and will be ready for collection from 12:01 am tonight. Home delivery pre-orders will be dispatched today for delivery tomorrow."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭rob808

I'm guessing we won't be getting the ready to collect email till midnight.Im not going to midnight launch but collecting tomorrow morning.