Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eurovision Song Contest 2025 - Mod warning in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,978 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

All the gang / exPats in UK and Australia ?

Song was crvp , but so were a lot of the ones that got through . It's a lottery , very little to do with the songs anymore .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭pnott

Disappointed of course we failed to make it through. The staging let it down big time. Too static, too far back. Looked weak compared with majority of the other performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,130 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Holy god this happened us tonight for the first time ever. Had it 4 years now, Sky Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,483 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The below looks to be more indicative of the actual reception Israel got...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭mulbot

Yea but no point in talking about 30 years ago. Unless we put in a really top song with serious staging, we won't get anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭pnott

Oh my god. I had my Sky Q freeze 3 times tonight. I thought our box was fecked. Glad its not just us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭no.8

Yes! Same issue with the Sky Q setup. Just before the Finnish number...missed that one ffs :/.

Now I'll have to look it up on You.......Tube, yes.

Emmy, really sweet girl and a fairly decent catchy number (if delivered well). She had the voice but as many said…it needed dancing and movement. There was more to the LLS show than tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭mulbot

3 times so far with Sky , what's going on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭Will_I_Amnt

The UK is only one country and voting was taking place around 7am in Sydney

Ok well I didn't, it was a weird song sung well with really good staging. Even last year my personal favourite came second. My point is the best songs and performances tend to be towards the top of the leaderboard at the end of the day.

I would have far preferred Fire to Toy for example in 2017 but it still came second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,118 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

I have not paid much attention since it was chosen, but was happy with the choice as I thought it had potential.

I was sat watching it with the Mrs tonight and we both said the same thing, it was just bang average and the life was sucked out of it.

It ended up being eerily similar to what the song was writen about.

We picked emmy for our experiment, shot her up there into the sky on that pedestal and just watched on as she did nothing and the song died in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,605 ✭✭✭standardg60

Yep said that earlier, I fully expected lads in full cosmonaut dress with moon boots doing the step march with Emmy between them. The bum bum bit should have been front and centre but it was the most anonymous part of the song tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,964 ✭✭✭JVince

Give over with the block voting rubbish.

The Irish entry was utter garbage.

Plenty of Irish people in many European countries and many years we'd get votes based on the number of diaspora.

With so many countries getting a vote in the semi final and an even larger number in the final, no amount of neighborhood voting really matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,071 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

great tune imo

Along with Serbia and Ireland last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,783 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

This is totally false and sounds like it it was posted by Gavin Pepper or Conor McGregor. Ukrianians or Jews dispersed around Europe are not responsible for going out.

Block voting is a myth. Yes some neighbours like Cyprus and Greece vote for each other but overall send a good song and it will do well. That’s why Switzerland, Sweden, Portugal , Italy and Netherlands have won it over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Put It In H

Denmark only borders one* other country and it's their first time qualifying for the final since 2019.

And I don't think the Jewish populations of very different countries (many of which have a tiny Jewish population to begin with) all vote for Israel en masse.

*actually it might be two as I think they share a disputed island with Canada, but the Canadian vote has not traditionally been significant in Eurovision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,071 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

sick of songs getting through cause the staging was good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭Nightwing1862

UK could vote tonight. When they release the full breakdown of who voted for who, block votings effect isn't as big as it's made out to be.

Yep shoved in a corner on the late late amateur production...no scale...and a group of eejits (usually) providing an opinion. We need to make it a proper show, look at what someone like Finland do ffs! It's on a different level, huge productions in a big stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭sonic85

Exactly. Who do you vote for? There are no decent acts. Emmy was the best of a really bad lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭flos1964

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭sonic85

That theory kinda goes out the window when most of the songs that qualified were crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,384 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Marty Whelan is embarrassing from an Irish point of view.

She was. Bobbi Arlo was a shocker live. Maybe they need some heats and actually put some money and scale behind the production.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭supereurope

Watching EMMY's performance, I was struck by how low-energy it was. I mean…I get why she was so static. Remember Leslie Roy in 2021 and Olly from the UK last year? They had incredibly elaborate stagings and they were focused on hitting their marks correctly that they forgot to pay attention to their vocals. So for that reason, Emmy not moving allowed her to do a better vocal. But for an uptempo song, she really should have moved more. It all just felt so low energy.

I just hope in 2026 RTÉ can finally ditch the LLS show selection and make a proper national final. And Bambie showed we can compete in modern-day, but they can't be a one-off. As the UK showed with Sam Ryder, getting it right one year is possible, the trouble is keeping the quality up.

And for the love of God, whatever RTÉ decides on for 2026, keep Linda Martin and Louis Walsh away from it.

Other thoughts:

I've been saying for weeks there would not be room for all three "smutty" songs in the final. I was right. Thought Malta might be the one to suffer, but Australia has never been a televote darling (except 2023) and opening the show was putting it on the back foot straight away.

I'm glad Serbia didn't make the final…it doesn't happen often, but Mila wasn't good enough. It was pretentious and felt more like a showcase for Princ's vocals than a song. With Montenegro out too, it means we have no ex-Yugoslav state in the final for the first time since 2013.

People were too dismissive of Latvia, I always saw it as having a chance of qualifying.

I wonder if we've seen Georgia on the Eurovision stage for the last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Put It In H

This is the biggest issue, and one that RTÉ never seems to learn or else are too cheap to resolve. It's no good throwing some money at the entry after it's been selected from a low-budget Late Late Show stage, if a better entry could have arisen from having a proper national final in the first place.

Tbf to the head of the Irish delegation I think he does want to do this but RTÉ won't put in the required effort or budget to stage a proper national final. Having the tiny LLS stage with its poor acoustics and missing a lot of the target audience is always going to return a lot more misses than hits, Bambie Thug being a rare success story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭deandean

My Sky box also shut down tonight several times. It this had happened during the Israel song I'd have been posting over in the Conspiricy Theories forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Barbie2k23

@jimjangles same thought something was up with my box had to keep turning it on and off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,613 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Black voting isn't much of a factor, the best songs get through for the most part and tonight we were way off the top 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭jimjangles

Israel and Australia aren't even in Europe. It's some pile of bull that they're in it and countries that are in Europe get left out. Ireland aren't part of the European clique. Why even bother? Send them over Dustin again or get Marty to sing. Bambi Thug was one of the worst songs I've ever heard and it qualified. Sure make Marty sing in a dress. It's a joke of a competition. Anyway off I go to power down my tv at the plug for the 3rd time.