Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2025 F1 General Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,546 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I know it's testing and there were apparently only 3 cars on track. But how does this happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭Harika

Session live:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9lFMJWUvL5g

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,776 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

Two weeks to the first grand prix of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Anyone think the McLaren's are holding back some pace?

Have a feeling they were sandbagging big time during testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,596 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I'd suspect it will be Mclaren and Ferrari being the top two then a toss up between RedBull and Merc, I'd imagine the lower teams will be more interested in 2026

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,051 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

McLaren are ahead I reckon, followed by REd Bull although their true pace is unknown. Merc and Ferrari seem to be super close, so that will be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭quokula

General consensus is that McLaren are a step ahead, basically nothing in it between Mercedes and Ferrari for second, and Red Bull a bit behind in 4th. But it was a single test at a single circuit with very abnormal weather conditions, and all the teams will be processing the data and turning up for the first race with tweaks and upgrades too, so I'd say it's wide open. Long gone are the days when you knew Mercedes would walk away with both championships with zero competition before testing even started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,183 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

Been following the testing on and off, it's never really that indicative of true performance these days to external people as everyone has different run plans etc.

I do feel like there will be at least 4 teams capable of winning races on merit this year, Mclaren, Ferrari, Redbull and Mercedes, likely that's the performance order (IMHO of course).

I'd love to see sainz have a competent car, and also the same wish for alonso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

My opinion is McLaren will be the front runners at the start with Ferrari right alongside them. I do think they’ll be caught tho, RB only had 3 or 4 wing setups as a result of the lack of wind tunnel time the year before and started focusing development on this years car during the summer.

Arguably RB finishing 3rd and the increased tunnel time it gives puts them in a better position to develop throughout the season whereas McL will have to improve as much they did last season but with less testing time as a result of having won the constructors.

Merc will be thereabouts but I don’t think they’ll threaten in either championship.

McLaren continue to have best car, Red Bull continue to have best driver. Big question is whether either of the McLaren drivers can put down a marker early that they are in this championship or not. If any team can get a big early lead it's quite possible the other teams will stop developing and put all focus on 2026.

Verstappen has sponsored a GT3 team for this season,he's already doing the same for dtm. I think we're getting a tad closer to him packing in F1 in a few years time

I know it was a given anyway, but here's confirmation that Cadillac are joining in 2026…

Still feel bad that Andretti had to step sideways for this to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Yes me too and the fact that it should have been Renault not Ferrari suppling engines to them. It would have kept Renault in the sport as an engine manufacture and helped them build better more cost effective units too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

After Russell binning it at turn 6 in Albert Park last year they've decided to change the kerbs,barriers and remove the astroturf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Forza_Monza

I can’t wait for the season to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭Inviere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,653 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Over at Formula E, there's this new team call "Lola Yamaha" and I'm old enough to remember when they were the worst names in Formula 1.

This too shall pass.

Lola mastercard era? Yamaha we're pretty terrible too in the Jordan mid-90s…

My dear F1 fans. Welcome to race week.

This too shall pass.

Woop woop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,064 ✭✭✭Jacovs

Watched most of the new season of Drive to Survive.

Is there a more unlikeable and creepy person in F1 than Flavio? Poor Doohan.

And Russell so desperately wants to be one of the cool kids, but its like he doesnt know how to just be one of the lads. Awkward jokes.

Edit, just noticed theres a dedicated thread, oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Longing

With all the talk about V10's returning, I will leave this here. Hopefully one day in some shape or form.

We've finally made it to the first race week of the year, not exactly looking forward to a 4am race tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭naughto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

lollipman season preview out.

oh just me ?

I'll leave this here

https://youtu.be/ySXRbmKZxb4?si=iWEkhLEOA2k2eO6S

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,051 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

Saturday night race for me being in Canada, nice to kick things off with a few drinks watching my sport. Yes, I said my sport.

On that, Piastri will be at McLaren for a good while it seems

Obviously the odds are well over 1000/1 for this to happen, but if Ocon, Gasly and Hadjar were to finish on the podium, it would be an all French lock out. More likely is 3 out of Norris, Hamilton, Russell or Bearman for an English lock out.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Forza_Monza

On the same wages as Norris!

I don't think that will last long. I would expect Norris to renegotiate his contract to closer Leclerc wages.

Post edited by Forza_Monza on

Zak Brown loves the "we have two number one drivers" concept but that just doesn't work in F1. I fear Mclaren will be tripping over themselves

New f1 intro has launched:

George Russell's t-pose is back. And they've changed the order of drivers to be in reverse team order from last year rather than reverse driver order.

Nearly there for new season...