Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭mumo3

sure during a game last season they had to catch one that was on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

One thing I've noticed with nature this year is way more flies and insects on the open roads that get wiped out by the car, had been in decline recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

Wan not happy with local development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Noticed that as well

Was at the Aviva on Friday and they were everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 839 ✭✭✭Dublin Calling

4 Days. It took me 5 days of complaining to get a dead badger removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

RTE management said before an Oireachtas hearing last month they “didn’t know” how many of Noel Kelly’s clients were currently working there. The powers that be are as accommodating as ever.

I didnt hear that, its a very dont ask, dont tell approach

Katie asking if foxes are becoming scarce

Well one fox is

The one who got dropped pretty quickly by Joe and his funny Friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Franky "There's 200,000 foxes in Ireland. There's nothing to back that up."

Katie: "I don't know where that stat came from."

Does that include the likes of Syl Fox?

I wonder if Dee will be well enough to be able to attend joes leaving do.

The way Joe's attendance is lately, he might not turn up himself

Katie needs to get on top of her time keeping if shes going to keep this chair, a last break at 14:57

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

€200 for a lamb ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

There was a feature on the price of lamb running up to Easter Sunday on some show (I can’t exactly recall which so apologies on that front) where a butcher said sales were way down due to the price increases.

Is Gray/Grey an official nickname for Raymond? I am sure the lad he is talking to called him Gray at the start of the interview.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Would have thought this would be prime LL material

I think we also need a public holiday in honour of the lad who hijacked the Aer Lingus plane and demanded to be told the third secret of Fatima.

What about the First Class Holy Relic found by the lads of Vincents, across the road from Joe's favourite graveyard? A Joe topic, if ever there was Joe topic.

Dublin: Check

North Dublin: Check

Walking Tour of Dublin: Check

Working Class: Check

Holy Relic: Check

Grave Yard: Check

Famous Dublin North Side Schools: Check x 2

Taking to Holy Lads: Check

Cure to medical issues: Check

https://www.tiktok.com/@rtenews/video/7507260778462874902

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,331 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

It took me 5 minutes to get my shovel, pick it up and throw it over the ditch 50m down the road last time one died on the road by my house.

It was a heavy fecker alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,721 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Joseph Duffy Day would be appropriate, of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Joe has missed 10 weeks since the beginning of the year, including this week. 1 week off in January and February, then 2 weeks off in the other 4 months. Provided Joe does the remaining 2 weeks in June, he'll have "worked" 15 weeks. That's some cushy "job". I can't think of another job that would allow this much time off.

sketch-1749518788595.jpg

Black are the days Joe has turned up. Red is his last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

The only person who's worked less than Joe is the lad who pops in to ring the Angelus twice a day.

BO'C is doing his best to catch up though and Oliver has been taking a couple of breakeens recently as well.

There's probably some behind the scenes agreement that they can work less hours to compensate them for the cap on their fees.

I hope the teachers unions don't see that post

you are safe enough till September. There never seems to be any protesting this time of the year for some reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭Expunge

how is Joe off so much while still contracted to work?

He's not (or shouldn't be) entitled to work out annual leave as a contractor. What's going on?

Health related I wonder?

It seems to me there may have been a bit of a falling out. I have no idea if he gets paid or not for his holidays being a 'contractor' (thou a permanent one…), but knowing RTE he probably does.

Still I would have thought he would have used his last few weeks on air, rather than taking time off.

Still, all just guess work really !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,572 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Joe appeared to be on holidays the first two weeks after announcing his retirement. I got the impression from what he said and social posts that he spent a week at his Continental residence and another week at his Country residence. In saying that, he looked unwell on the LateLate.

Another possibility is that Joe is off for 'Editorial Reasons'.

Louise Duffy now taking Liveline matters into her own hands.

Wants to find a banjo some lad left behind him on the train last Sunday

Kerry FM

Missing banjo, left on train.

Housing crisis rent pressure on zone

Old wan cannot afford to rent.

Lilly, why are your shorts so short.

KT delighted Speedos are back in fashion for men.

What's the 2025 going rate for wedding cards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,552 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Today, KT...

The whole country to become rent pressure zone.

Paul Meschal and his short shorts, apparently short shorts are back in fashion for men this summer.

A quarter of couples are spending more than €50k on their wedding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,572 ✭✭✭leath_dub

is this tabloid crap the direction Liveline will be taking in the future under the current (and probable future) host?

if that's the case RTE should just bin it

The opportunity is there to turn it into. an actual caller-driven consumer show but, of course, RTE have neither the imagination nor the balls to go this direction