Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭McFly85

I see the Trump spending bill has passed with 10 democrats caving. The bill includes the ability for the president to reallocate funds where he sees fit, further weakening any oversight and removing protections stopping him doing what he wants.

Their entire political system is fúcked.

Post edited by McFly85 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

At what point do the opposition to Tump ever consider that much of what they offer is so distasteful that Trump is like a seven course meal in comparison. But no, it's the same old same old - deriding people who voted him in as 'fawners'. If a conman and a fraudster, as some say, can ride roughshod over the majority of the US's ~150m active voters, attract them to mark X beside his name and win - then it ain't Donald Trump that is the problem.

Is that not democracy in action? Even ten from the opposition chimed in. Not the 'cult' it is made out to be, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,942 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

IMG_9186.jpeg

A picture can tell you a lot, as can data.

But as we all know, secret genius at work…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,727 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

If a conman and a fraudster, as some say…

He is a fraudster, it's not what some say. He has paid out millions in compensation to people he defrauded. The facts don't care about people's feelings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

I think the current state of US politics is PT Barnum would easily have been a front runner.

LOLs, if the trend was rocketing up then it's a sign that Trump is only looking out for the millionaire class. Can't have it both ways folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,590 ✭✭✭McFly85

I would hardly call consolidating power in the executive democracy in action.

The 9 dems who approved did so without fighting for any concessions - keeping a check on spending, protecting social security, limiting DOGE, things that democrats actually want. The republicans said take it or leave it and they spinelessly took it.

Hopefully we will see democracy in action for these in the mid terms but I wouldn’t hold my breath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Best description of the Democrats at the moment. Spineless cowards.

Chuck Schumer's sell-by date was about 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,942 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

By the sounds of it, there is proper anger within the Dems now. They rolled over without a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭For Petes Sake

Might be what they need to weed out the liabilities.

Hearing Schumer saying that a shutdown would give Trump/Musk carte blanche over the government agencies. So just rolling over and approving of them doing what they want is the better option?

It's amazing that we've had 10 years of Trump in the political scene and only Democrat who knew how to handle him was Joe f*cking Biden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭thereiver

A no of judges have made orders that say doges sacking of 1000s of workers is illegal and they must be rehired .Judges can still make legal decisions that say doge is not working properly in line with federal law and federal agencys were setup by Congress they can't be just disassembled for no good reason .

Hopefully there will be some pushback against trump when people realize trump is pushing America into recession and tanking the stock market .many people have 401k investment funds that are losing value as the stock market falls . The democrats offer a fair society that protects the environment does not cut pensions medicare or social security and offers consumer protection that defraud consumers or overcharge by buying up competing company's .trump is not a cult he appeals to male voters extremists racists and people who are worried about immigration and inflation .

One example trump went on podcasts like Joe Rogan podcasts that have a large young male audience .young people prefer to listen to podcasts or watch YouTube twitch than watch cnn or MSNBC .

Harris should have gone on Joe Rogan and other podcasts which have a large make and Latino audience .you have to go to where the voters are watching and listening to and state your case to get people to go out and vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Oíche Na Gaoithe Móire

I read this yesterday and it has stuck in my craw. I'm an uncle and godfather to a 15 year old Downs boy.

So Downs athletes might become angry if they don’t win. They have the mind of a child and many are 'built like bulls'.

I haven't read such insulting rubbish towards Downs people since Mary Ellen Synon spouted on the Irish Independent on eugenics in 2003.

I imagine these deductions are from the amount of time you spend with Downs people. It's clear you view them as little more than animals.

'Where have you gone Joe DiMaggio? A nation turns It's lonely eyes to you.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

People on here were wondering why the democrats were so silent lately, I guess in light of them approving the bill and in turn, Trump's policies, they were in agreement or just don't care.

What's their thinking, we'll help Trump destroy people lives over the next 4 years so we're a shoe in the next election?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That is the way the internet works on outrage rather than nuance It is normally able bodied people that would react in a such a manner to such a comment I made. Predictably.

All I will say is I have plenty of knowledge about disability and you shouldn’t be quick to jump to the default of “offence and outrage”.

The more I have seen of Trump he is skilled in the creation of publicity and marketing. Particularly on camera.

However, he does seem extremely thin skinned. And that is his contradiction. So with interactions with him you have to thread carefully. I still believe my point is well made. Whether you like it or not.

As it is well known that common problems of those with Downs (but not all) have issues with impulsivity, aggression, temper tantrums, frustration, OCD etc.

Which seems to me to be similar to the personality traits Trump exhibits. Simple as that. To control Trump you simply plamas him stroke his ego. And plant seeds in his mind gradually.

Edit - On the “bull” point, I meant Special Olympic Athletes built like Damien Comer from the Galway footballers . Athletic strength etc,

I call Comer the “Galway Bull” for instance. In reference to his strength and Power. But you extrapolated something else entirely, as you clearly became overly emotive in the above post.

I also believe the bull metaphor/corollary regarding Trump was an obvious one for Trump given his political strength as POTUS. You don’t antagonise a Bull who is quick tempered and impulsive. That is dangerous.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,780 ✭✭✭threeball

The Guys that listen to Rogan haven't the bandwidth or inclination to listen to someone like Harris. They like the soundbites, the gotcha moments, they think the insults Trump throws about are genius, as does Rogan.

Going on there wouldn't have gained her any voters whatsoever. And Rogan is dyed in the wool maga, who tries to keep a veil on it but fails miserably. Some of his closest friends are Alex Jones, Dana White and other cretins like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,060 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

You know you've done the wrong thing when Trump congratulates you for it

IMG_20250315_084601_123.jpg

A clear out of the Dems is absolutely needed.

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Honestly, why are you pushing on with this analogy. It's pretty clearly offensive and upsetting to plenty of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,728 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Ah yes.

It's not Donald Trump that's the problem. It's the people who rightly call him out for his lies and his appalling behaviour that's at fault.

SMH.

🙄

We,ll never know but if Harris had gone on some podcasts with a large audience she could have reached more working class and Latino voters.

trumo plans 1 trillion tax cuts for the rich but also 1 trillion dollar reduction in social security and pensions spending .Rogan has supported democrats and republicans in the past he's not 100 per cent maga

The stock market is falling because it hates uncertainty Trump is going back and forth on what tariffs to put in place every week .Everyone

uses federal services roads airports and need infrastructure provided by federal agencys including rich people .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,052 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

It is not meant to be offensive, anyone who thought it was is overly touchy. I merely elaborated as my point that was misunderstood. To make the point clearer.

I have a disability myself. And I have fairly regular interaction with people with DS as well. So I know what I am talking about.

I believe the analogy still stands. It is one of the typical occasions where the “ables” get offended on others behalf without looking at the main point. And making assumptions. It needs to change I think.

The analogy with Trump and a strong DS athlete is perfect, in my view. Given Trump’s level of (political) power, thin skin (doesn’t like losing) and impulsivity etc etc.

Over the years, Trump himself has been surprisingly consistent when looking at these quotes over the years. On trade and so on. Tough on the deal etc. He has just become more grandiose, in my view. And became accustomed to people saying yes, or being forced to say yes?

And perhaps Trump surprised himself how people are taken by his media persona. There is a theory he borrowed it from Jesse Ventura. And said by Ventura himself.

https://www.cbsnews.com/amp/minnesota/news/jesse-ventura-donald-trump-copied-minnesota-governor-campaign/

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I think one of Harris’ major mistakes was essentially copying Bidens policies - she was saying in essence “I’m Biden part 2”-my biggest criticism leaving aside her poor speaking skills and ability to be articulate when asked a question, was she didn’t stand out as an individual and independent thinker - the POTUS needs to display leadership and independence of mind and thought.

Hence Trump won- and now that I reflect on it - Trump is saying “this is what I was elected to do” as he dismantles the institutions of law and governance and creates a recession - but in reality, people just wanted a strong talking leader - someone whom they felt would be heard on the world stage and taken seriously - the mandate to do the destruction Trump is doing, is coming from himself and project 2025- it’s not from the electorate per se. A lot of traditional Democrats voted Trump- but likely voted him because they had no faith in Harris. I don’t think a podcast would have changed that- I saw an article that said most voters made up their mind about Harris in September if I’m not mistaken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭briany

I seem to recall that before the election, and really after that first debate, opponents of Trump thought it would be enough just to have someone who was below retirement age running against him. That idea started to fall away as her opinion poll numbers stalled.

As I've said, the Democrats can't do any big position shifts because their coalition of voters is as fragile as Chinese crystal. They were probably worried that Kamala distancing herself from Biden would p#ss off some working class people in the blue wall or something.

Sometimes, against my better judgement, I'll put on the latest episode of Piers Morgan uncensored. I notice that the general tactic of the Trump supporters on that is just to sit back and look sort of impassive as the Trump critics histrionically read off a long list of Trump's latest infractions, as if they'll hit on one that is so grievous, it'll win the argument outright. The Trump supporters will then just pick out some semantic point and derail the discussion from there.

Point is, and with respect to the list you give here, there isn't actually a gotcha moment. If Trump says that CNN and MSNBC are illegal, or should be, that's just 'freedom of speech'. If he were to actually get them made illegal, he would have already so normalised the idea from regular declarations that it would barely even be shocking to the MAGA faithful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭amandstu

Would it help him if he did make media outlets illegal?

Is he going to ban investigative journalism in the States?

Can he cowe the popuation into servile acquiescence of his utterances?

What will the Maga faithful do when their objects of hate have been faded into obscure invisibility?

This was the USSR's threat to the West ."What will you fo when you no longer have us for an enemy ?" (They seem to have convinced Trump)

I have been reading recently that the accelerant to Maga's smouldering resentment is the demographic changes whereby Whiteys are losing their dominance -explaining perhaps Musk and his nativalism and Trump and his "perfect genes"

Meanwhile Climate Change continues unchecked and refueled oblivious to these distractions.

I think he'd make critical media outlets illegal if the framework were in place to do so. I don't know if it would help him, but I don't think it would particularly hurt him, given how divided/polarised the US is. His fans would love it, his opponents would hate it and the people in the middle are wondering how the price of eggs will go.

It would appear that the US population is already pretty servile to Trump 2.0. Well, some had a big protest a few weeks ago. Waved their placards. Some probably had catchy slogans. Went home. That was it, really.

As for the objects of MAGA hate. Things like trans people are already obscure - a tiny percent of the population - but it doesn't stop the usual heads holding them up as a threat to civilisation.

"

As for the objects of MAGA hate. Things like trans people are already obscure - a tiny percent of the population - but it doesn't stop the usual heads holding them up as a threat to civilisation.

"

I was thinking more along the lines of organized opposition. I think that is their aim but I doubt it is possible. (their aim is also ,presumably to stir up discontent with repression so as to justify martial law in the near future )

(as one of my neighbours here said "at least it is safe under Trump")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭testtech05

Sorry wrong thread