Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

I was sick all Saturday night (no, I wasn't eating the dog food) I couldn't sleep, thought it was a mild asthma attack i was having. Lay on the couch all day yesterday feeling sorry for myself. Then at work today i had a high temperature and felt like shite.

Just tested positive for covid for the first time. Now i know what all the fuss was about. Its a truly horrible feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,908 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The Aldi ad with the family having a picnic in the car and let's not forget the Tesco pineapple ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Will the circle be unbroken…unborked

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭New Scottman

Birthdays for the dead.

Saw an internet post that said "Bill Haley turns 100"

Wow, I thought - fair play, iconic performer. My parents had the single and spoke about that era lots.

But he's dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,290 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,578 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I am from these here parts and I still haven't witnessed the borknosity that everyone else is reporting. And if it only takes two posts on a new page to fix, the power of bork is not significant. I sneeze on yer collective of Borkshire Puddings! 🤪

(I'm trivially annoyed that I engaged in bork-talk.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Bogey Lowenstein
    That must be Nigel with the brie...

I thought you made that word up! Boo-ork. 😛

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,263 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

resistance is futile.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 78,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

I didn't, but I'm not opposed to taking the credit. 😁

Now, that's interesting... I was talking to kneemos. Hmmm. 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I usually have a nap on the bus at this time but my belly is feeling too queasy at the moment to do so

Since Covid getting a doctors appointment is like winning the Lotto. They make you jump through hoops, only ring at x o'clock, ringing for half an hour or an hour before you even get through, then sorry all appointments are gone try again tomorrow. 😠

I can easily see why some people would give up and say feck it, it is probably nothing anyway, which is not good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Americans telling stories and saying stuff like 'in the 6th grade' instead of an actual age. Like the whole world uses the same system. I've no idea if that person is 10 or 17....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,427 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Or when they tell stories of their holidays in Ireland, will always say 'we were in some town/bar' and have zero capability of remembering any names of where they were.

My TA: off work for the week, and while I'm grateful of the lie-ins, I am bored shitless already only two days in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,325 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Try telling that to someone in 6th class here. They won't have a clue what you're on about.

Haha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,578 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Yeah, used to bug me watching US TV shows…

Approximate rule of thumb is that 1st grade = 1st class of primary school here, and they keep counting all the way up to 12th grade.
    1 - 5 Elementary School
    6 - 8 Middle School
    9 - 12 High School (where the grades are also known as Freshman, Sophomore, Junior, Senior)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Education_in_the_United_States#Educational_stages

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,487 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Yeah, so many articles or advice you read is, "if you are suffering these symptoms contact your GP". Unless you are gonna go and stand outside the surgery and wait for them to leave work for the day, you ain't getting to see one.

And even worse, when some of the symptoms are more serious like heart palpitations, you just have to go to the A&E and sit for 20hrs.

And if you think it's bad in Ireland, you wanna try in NI. Near impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,061 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Totally… if it wasn’t that situation I suspect they’d be slithering onto some other cause du jour to enable themselves some publicity …. In a few months it will be a distant memory…. And… ‘ hey the next thing to keep us relevant ‘ 🤦🏻‍♂️

my TA…. July and no holiday booked. Waiting for other people to make up their minds and commit. So it looks like September / October is going to be the earliest opportunity…. Haven’t had a proper holiday since before the pandemic….. just a couple of short breaks away for the cricket and what not, but this lark of waiting on other people to decide what they’d like to do, half the summer is over and nothing even booked, I’ve been waiting since March basically to get confirmation….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I can't find small boxes of Grapefruit juice in shops now . They were my go to morning drink after a few pints . Like a powerhose for the mouth .

I don't understand why people complain so much about the health "services". Everybody knows that what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, and shur, if you're dead it's not a doctor that you need. Duh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭mikemac2

As I don’t have a car I go shopping before I get the bus home from work.
    And every time I have forgotten my bag for life

I have a press at home full of them, easily over 15. And today I’ve forgotten again. I’ll never learn ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,946 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Do people not close a gate behind them anymore? Is it the in thing to leave them swinging open when entering or leaving? It really annoys me tbh .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭brokenbad

Gen Z's obsession with trad music since the pandemic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭Bredabe

When I had the money, I bought a second package of a vitamin I take daily. I knew this month would get tight, and of course, that's when I would run out.

Spotted that I was down to 2 tabs, I picked up a package and discovered the first one when I got back then. Ta 5€ spent in a week, I could have done with it in my purse instead.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

I got my appointment but new TA: I am out over €100, and there will probably be more shelled out yet.

The working man (and woman) is a fool in this country. There are people in the welfare class who have never had a job in their life and don't have to put their hand in their pocket for anything.

Shout after them 'were you born in a field' 😤😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭brokenbad

That awkward look you get from someone you know that you haven't seen in years when you see them walking towards you on a random street……🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,946 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Lol 😂 My Mam used to say were you born in a gap in the ditch or what 🤣