Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe? *Read OP for mod warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

Hardly a day goes by without a killing.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/47-homicides-occurred-ireland-far-30676454

That is just a hyperbolic statement, 47 in total last year. Under 1 a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,520 ✭✭✭Gusser09

And you can understand why at this point. It's not too far from the Parnell Square attack. If this is a product of our dysfunctional immigration policy it's hard to blame people for getting annoyed.

Ye but that's just not true though, is it?

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2025/0210/1495746-stoneybatter-dublin/

The man arrested in connection with an attack in Dublin city centre yesterday, in which three people were injured, was not previously known to gardaí and was not seeking asylum or international protection.

Why do people spout speculation/misinformation without finding out the facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,644 ✭✭✭yagan

I said I reckoned. It wasn't an assertion of fact.

The defense rests, your honour.

And I said "spout speculation" which is exactly what you did, based on 0 evidence just your own opinion.

Obviously we'll get the mental health brigade on soon enough. Dublin is an absolute kid hole. The rest of Ireland is quickly going in that direction too. The middle class law abiding tax paying citizen is truly fuxked.

I'd probably be one of these "middle class, law abiding tax paying citizens" along with the majority of people that I know, work with etc, we don't consider ourselves to be fuxked at all.

99% of Dublin is grand, many parts lovely, some parts less so. It's been said multiple times, every single city in the world has nice parts and not nice parts. Barcelona, a lovely city, renowned for pickpockets, I had a ticket to a Barca game stolen, still loved the city though.

Many on here, I'm guessing aren't in Dublin regularly, just see news stories like this or had 1 bad experience and then just tarnish the whole capital with "it's dangerous and scary up there".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭Allinall

Don't include me in your sweeping generalisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

I personally believe Dublin is the most dangerous place on earth. You only have to look at other cities in the Western world where there is no crime, no murder and no headcases floating about. Dublin is completely unique in having all these things and it's almost completely down to Helen McEntee and immigration because Dublin was famously crime-free years ago.

I love Ireland — and I love it so much I will spend my life spouting about all the things I hate about it. I wish we could all go back to that blurry inexact time in the past that I can't quite specify where everything was just so much better before Helen McEntee and migrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,877 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

I think Dublin is going through its NYC in the 70s/80s phase. So yes it's probably going to get worse.

But I'll still continue to happily live here and drink/visit the CC on a regular basis.

But I'd recommend some martial arts training to my fellow citizens.

Dublin isnt safe. And its a product of having little or no punishment for little scumbags. They then grow into big scumbags.

Entire streets and areas are pretty much no go at certain times.

Posters on here can pretend otherwise. They are are probably planted by the dublin town crowd etc.

Its an utter kip these last few years. Amd now it is downright dangerous in terms of violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Your point about deaths/killings in childrens homes is valid, the numbers depend on what is being counted at a given time. Although by the 60s deaths by neglect I believe was much rarer. Murder/Manslaughter/Homicide? Stats can be interpreted in various ways especially to suit an agenda by everyone.

Add to that suicide perhaps counted as murder and missing persons (many are killings) the stats may not be entirely accurate. There was a case I know of personally counted as a suicide until the killer admitted it much later - how many others like that nobody can say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Guilty as charged. Ok, I over egged it there but 47 or similar is still a lot.

Your opinion is not a fact.

Where abouts and how often are you in Dublin?

I get the bus to Eden quay and home from Abbey St, twice a day, 3 times a week for the last few 5 years or so and have never seen one assault take place or felt like I was in anyway in danger.

A quick look at recent years on the CSO shows ups and downs, you could easily pick a timeframe to suit any narrative, but what I couldn't find was stats on family murders which I feel may have increased where there's usually some medication issue reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Speaking of O'Connell Street, Mr. Tipsy McStagger Senator was released without charge.

How does that work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,257 ✭✭✭Allinall

Dozens of people are arrested and released without charge every week in Dublin.

Why should a senator be treated any differently?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,529 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I have lived in Dublin most of my life - I grew up here and have lived in locations around the city over the years and I can tell you that I do not feel very safe in the north inner city where I work.

It is filled with drug addicts, beggars, petty criminals and people with serious mental health difficulties. It really is a very sad (and for tourists, I can imagine menacing) sight to see and it seems the authorities and the gardai have largely left the north city to rot and a total lack of investment into services that could tackle these problems.

If I was a woman there is just no way I would walk anywhere in the inner city of Dublin off a main, well-lit thoroughfare with traffic after dark.

Since Covid, the city centre and in particular the north inner city has taken a distinct downward turn with even more petty criminality and destitution very visible on the streets. I've seen open drug dealing, petty theft from shops, violent incidents (largely among the drug addicts and petty criminals) and very aggressive begging going on especially in the vicinity of O'Connell Street, Parnell Street, Abbey Street around the Red line LUAS stops, Talbot Street and North King Street and their environs. The south city centre is a lot better - but around Christchurch it can be rather dodgy in the evenings.

Dublin has always had serious problems with poverty, inequality and criminal activity and the north inner city has always in my almost 50 years been one of the most visible places with these issues - I well remember the child beggars, glue sniffers and homeless alcoholics from my own childhood - but things are definitely worse now.

To those who blindly defend the state of Dublin inner city - you have your heads in the sand if you think the current state of affairs are okay. In my opinion, they are definitely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Dano650

If he was that drunk I say he was arrested for his own safety. Happens every weekend up and down the country so I don't know why you think he should be charged

One of the main things that made Ireland special was that it was safer than other western countries. That and that you could rely as you went about your business that the other people you would meet had some shared values. This all seems like a distant memory now.

I’m increasingly seeing houses with bars in windows, security cameras on corners, big security gates outside. We are gradually turning into South Africa.

When I was growing up people didn’t even close their gates if they even had them. Robberies were extremely rare. It would have seemed mad to think twice about walking whatever route occurred to you save for maybe one or two streets in Dublin and only at night. Down the country you felt completely safe. Life would be made difficult for those who caused trouble and you could rely on that. That’s all gone like tears in rain.

We were better off with our basic Christian morality, as imperfect as that was.

I'd be in town a bit. Not so much the North inner city. I have witnessed 3 assaults on O'Connell Street in 2 years. I have also witnessed open air drug dealing on Parnell Street during the day.

On the corner of West Moreland Street and the quays I have seen a Garda getting spat at. I have also seen staff in the Carrolls gift Store being threatened by locals.

Dublin has a serious issue. Bury your head in the sand all you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Also, I am on medication from time to time.

When I am, I try to avoid nipping down to the local for a few swift halves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

What areas are "no go"? And to what extent do people wander into those areas? I lived near Finglas for the past 2 years — posh D4 landlord even pointed towards Finglas and said "don't be walking down there". Load of balls really, never really ended up in any situation I would consider to have been dangerous. Scrotes running about, yes. A few headers about, yes. Would I exercise the same level of caution and risk aversion about walking the dark path from Broombridge Luas station along the canal that I would exercise in literally any other city? Yes. And yes — all risk factors are unfortunately elevated for women, as they are anywhere.

The problem on here is that a lot of people can't seem to have a balanced conversation. It seems impossible for people to say that Dublin's growing population (which is a symptom of relative success in other things by the way) means that crime and anti social behaviour will grow with it — and this should be tackled — but also that it's not a cause for hyperbole or alarmism in a city which remains relatively safe day-to-day with problems that are largely comparable to the problems larger urban areas the world over tend to have.

I know what's going to happen next, Rambo will come in with "I've never seen a thing so it's all imaginary", then others will chime with "but there's nice parts of Dublin too", so maybe we really should specifically rename the thread "Is North Inner City Dublin safe?"

I've lived there on and off over the decades and I agree with JupiterKid. At least in the 90s there was enough of a community to drive out dealers, but now that's gone.

We were better off with our basic Christian morality, as imperfect as that was.

Ah ye take us back to the good old days of the Magdalene laundries, priests, nuns and Christian brothers running schools, countless cases of rape and sexual abuse of children. I do miss those good times of Christian morality.

Think I'll take locking my gate and a ring doorbell over that.

Christian mortality with babies in septic tanks?

Save the rosary rattling for another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

But the thread is called "Is Dublin really safe" and it is. As I've said a good few times on this thread (and you can't seem to read them) there are problematic areas and revenue has to be redirected in to these neglected areas. We need transport police and metro police. Instead of building motorways for a handful of people we need to overhaul Dublin cities public transport and have a massive cleanup with a William Bratton style enforcement.

I've acknowledged this over and over and over again but you're impossibly deafened to me on these points, you constantly misquote me, constantly misrepresent me, constantly ignore the fact that your experience of Dublin is nothing like my experience of Dublin, yours is one of dirt, danger and drugs, mine is one of culture, heritage and society. You simply can't accept that I don't find it dangerous, my teenage kids go in on their own, my wife works there, she gets the bus in and out, I lived there and go visit it often.

I stopped engaging with you because of these reasons and here you are at it again.

I said basic morality, that is outside the structure of the church.

Same thing is going on now just it’s under tusla and other state bodies / NGOs.

Do you think you’ve abolished pedophilia along with the church? Get real.

The church was not acting in line with basic Christian morality, that is why I did not say ‘Catholic morality.’

You’re not responding to what I’ve said. But go ahead put your head in the sand while the society you live in dissolves around you.

You said basic christian morality.

Reread your own post.