Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Gardai cannot police beside Capitals main street, is it third world?

• Registered Users Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Ah, the halcyon days. When everything stank of pi$$.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Yeah Westmoreland St corner has always been full of never do wells.

Again, if the state fitted them with ASBOs and tags and lumped them off to jail when they breach bail by entering the city centre, the problems could be massivley reduced very quickly.

The problem is we have no jail space and no political will to hurt anyones feelings.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭Ryath

It's admitting that parts of the city are no go area's. Yes not many of the public venture down it, it doesn't save much time to use as a short cut. Plenty of businesses have delivery and staff entrances on it so it's not just junkies that use it. Don't really see how closing it helps it will just move the problem elsewhere without proper policing.

I'm sure this upstanding fellow is just out for a jog!

Is Litton Lane next for the chop?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

It's funny there was phone boxes there which were perfect for dealing and drug use.

It might make the Abbey St Luas stop a little safer.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users Posts: 23,802 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Of course its not Third World, its just bad government.

Some of the most dangerous cities in the World are firmly in the First World. Cities WAAAAAY more dangerous than Dublin.

10 of the most dangerous cities in the World are in the United States.

Of the 50 most dangerous cities and towns in geographical Europe, Dublin is 30th. Which is lower than Drogheda!! (Drogheda is a kip tbf)

Coventry, Marseille, Naples, Sarajevo, Athens, Grenoble, Malmo, London, Paris; all less safe than Dublin.

Most unsafe City in all Europe? Bradford....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Eddie Mullins CEO of Merchants Quay Ireland (whatever that is) said on RTE News that Dublin was renowned for it's backstreets. Renowned??? Maybe he meant to say infamous.

Also a Green Party councillor seemed agitated that lanesways all over Dublin are being closed and forgotten about. So bloody what they're only grotty laneways, hardly visitor attractions.

I think he means Temple Bar and Grafton St area.

I think the GP councillor was agitated because it's defeatist to just close it. It's not a solution, just a band aid.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,272 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I think he means Temple Bar and Grafton St area.

Yeah probably, but they're not back of shop type laneways.

I didn't see the GP councillor make any suggestions as to what should be done with them.

The obvious solution is addiction services, early intervention, mental health investment etc..all those type of social programs.

Heroin and Opioid addiction is dropping in Ireland.

There was an article a couple of years ago that there's a huge reduction in young people but for older people it's the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The government don’t seem to care how lawless Dublin City or other parts of the country becomes , Fine Gael were once a party of law and order but that’s gone out the window in the last 10/15 years , you’d imagine Fianna Fáil would have some regard for protecting people but don’t seem to want to rock the boat , all makes great news for criminals and bad news for law abiding people.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

Like even just a few weeks back during Christmas they said they'd be increasing patrols, yeah that's good, but it shouldn't be a temporary thing for the Christmas period, It should be done year round. The country is too soft on crime and with some people with multiple suspended sentences being left out, that's to their Solicitor getting them off.

The ones gaining from this are solicitors and the judges, they have mostly the same people on tap in and out of the courts and every time they get paid for it, no matter if it's by the state in the way of free legal aid.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

My bus stop was across the road from this place in the early 2000s, outside the Methodist Church. In my memories, it's synonymous with the putrid smell of urine. It's narrower than most alleyways I've seen and there are some sheltered spots, which makes it more attractive to homeless people and junkies.

It's only a good thing they're closing it down, it means the Gardai will have fewer streets to patrol and concentrate their manpower elsewhere. The only people who have any business passing through are the employees working in the adjacent businesses, delivery trucks and refuse trucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭leath_dub

I agree 100% with this.

I took a walk along the length of O'Connell Street a few days after the riots. Aesthetically jt is a beautiful Street - Tree lined , steeped in history, some magnificent buildings (e.g. Gresham, GPO, Clerys, etc). Then you see the derelict Carlton cinema site, sll the seedy casinos, fast food restaurants etc. None of these ae befitting the main thoroughfare of the capital city. No Gardai, of course

O'Connell Street has been abandoned and let go to ruin by the city council and the Gardai over many years and there is no will to return it to it's former status

• Registered Users Posts: 219 ✭✭Carlito Brigantes Tale

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

People are calling this street closure, a defeat for the people of Dublin .... Its a victory.

Let them live or work nearby.

I worked very close to the area, and one morning there were 2 corpses found in Harbour Court.. didnt even make the news.

The Euro-giant shop on Abbey street sells 2 Euro crutches.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭randd1

There was a report of a woman on the paper the other day with over 800 convictions. I don't see how anyone can say that the Guards are to blame when they're bringing, repeatedly, criminals before the courts only to see them walk out.

The legal-for-profit system, utter disdain for doing anything at political level, and a fair whack of influence from human rights/social science/mental health types on behalf of criminals, these are to people to blame.

Criminals have more rights than victims because they're seen as victims themselves, they're treated like cash cows by the legal system, and politicians are happy for it to ahead because they don't want to tackle it.

I don't think it's as bad in general as people make out, but it should be better than what we have. The Guards are actually doing their job, but any system that allows someone to rack up 800 convictions needs a serious examination. It should simply not be happening.

At the rate we're going, we're looking at vigilante groups to what the courts and the political system seem disinclined to do; keep people safe.

• Registered Users Posts: 361 ✭✭Cheddar Bob

If you think Dublin is underpoliced you need to travel a bit.

I'd be up the North quite a bit and I couldn't tell you what a PSNI uniform looks like or even a squad car. I've honestly never seen one.

Try Australia, police foot patrols are completely unheard of and you would see things on the main throughfares of Sydney simply unthinkable here.

I think foot patrols of "coppers on the beat" is gone out of fashion a while.

It's considered an inefficient waste of resources.

I think they spend their time going after the real criminals.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 notJoeJoe

A lot of time is spent focused on Grafton Street and Temple Bar, so O'Connell Street lacks big name shops and more prestigious businesses than fast food. That's more of a city planning failure, but can be rectified. Anyway, it's not so bad. Piccadilly Circus in London is maligned for it's money laundering American 'candy' shops and their fast food, but it's still a pleasant place to walk through - like many would find O'Connell Street to be.

When it comes to drug addiction and Garda coverage, that can only be fixed through government policy and funding. It isn't just an O'Connell Street or Dublin specific issue. If we want to fix this, we need to spend money. Austerity is a scam anyway.

Another reason things appear to be getting worse in Dublin is the economic crisis we seem to have been having for four years straight now. Poverty is directly linked with an uptick in anti-social behaviour and crime.

Basically, the problems that are being faced aren't unique to Europe, and aren't 'third-world' (which is an outdated term, can we move on from it?) These are all only temporary things that can be fixed, it just requires the will to do it and electing people to government who will not screw us over (although that is a difficult task.)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,749 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

This is, again, a lazy sticking plaster fix.

Things kick off, react with public relations launch of Operation Insert Name Here, boost patrols, have it all over social media.

Keep this going for a few weeks, maybe a month then withdraw patrols quietly.

Rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,749 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Also I think we need to stop comparing cities that are as bad or worse than us, this leads to an Ah Shur Tis Grand lazy attitude which leads to even more half arsed sticking plaster fixes.

I didnt say they didnt.

Mixed tenure includes social housing. Read the post.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,805 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I agree with this. It's all optics.

And it's not that they withdraw the patrols and sit in the station drinking tea - those patrols that were like a rash all over the city centre before Christmas were all from outlying suburbs of Dublin and the neighbouring counties - policing in those divisions must have been non-existent for the month of December, but they got away with it.

It's like playing the tile game, and until the Garda numbers are increased substantially (which doesn't look like it's happening any time soon), they will continue to shuffle the numbers around like a three-card trick and hope that no-one notices.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

Exactly, these patrols should be year round and not for a particular period.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭yagan

The long term plan is to pen in Dublin with a big wall on the city side of the M50. We'll even call it the 33rd county, County Jackeen

They're a waste of resources. I don't think they even prevent crime. Still nice to see though.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭Baba Yaga

we need more prison space and more gards,the gards are doing their job,they are arresting the scrotes thats how they rack up so many previous,the judges are letting them off with a slap and told not to do it again because there is no place to put them...put the scrotes on a chain gang seeing as theres no prison space,bucket of bleach and water and get them to scrub the likes of this lane clean...and keep up this kind of pressure on our tracksuited fcukwit fraternity and maybe they'll get the message

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?