If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Calf to beef thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭lmk123

ya some of them are like show jumpers when they get out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Bought a batch of Angus calves over the weekend. Most around 3 weeks old and running at €450 a head. All have taken to the feeder and tonight didn't have to push any of them into the feeder. Not sure if I'm going down the right path but I don't fancy fighting with the shippers next spring.

1000000095.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Mushy06

How you getting on with the feeder? i've grant approved for one but still undecided on which to purchase. Waiting for shed to be completed (converting a silage pit to calf house). So it'll be for spring calves now

i got 24 calves last week myself to which i'm down to 23 already. 2 days after buying i found one with 4 legs in air. twisted stomach i guess as he drank well the day before and looked lively. it was a Fr so at least that much.

i did Autumn calves 2 years ago as a trial as i was plagued with cocci /summer scour. Some difference. i see why lads keep calves in for extra month after weaning and Yes we did lap of parish on their outing last year. bigger stronger faster going through fences but a good complaint in a way. Hoping to get another few loads before TB test in 3 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,451 ✭✭✭limo_100

I did the same as you bought in a load before the tb test. But I set up an electric fence in the shed for about a week before turnout and then also set up a fence in the yard the morning of turnout for the day. Let them out on a bareish field for a few days. Seemed to settle them overall. Got to many broken fences last year

any of ye use the injection that makes them groggy for a few hours, it’s a great job, the main thing is not to give it too early or you’ll have to lift them out of the trailer 😂

i went down last oct with 2 with TB in factory and was only able to get a few xmas week so i'm trying to build up Autumn numbers this year before test. But the fear is when you'd be sending animals to factory there's always a chance of of liaisons.

Ya they'll get proper training to wire next spring before they see grass. Body aint able for that craic 😊

Post edited by Mushy06 on

Feeder is a serious time saver, I reckon it's saving me 3 hours every day. Still have to look at the calves 2/3 times a day but it's more like herding them once they get used to the feeder.

You happy with the JFC? any issues with putting older calves on feeder from buckets? do you have a training pen? sorry for all the questions

Yeah happy with the machine but happier with the after care, always someone on the phone even on a Sunday. I had one hoor last year that was trained to drink out of a bucket and not a treat and she was the only one I had to train on a teat for a week before putting her back into the pen with the rest. I try and buy a full pen of calves at a time and that's my training pen, I try and get them on a Friday afternoon and by Monday morning usually they are all trained. I've found the less you push them in and just leave them alone the better they take to it, the more you push in kinda the more you'll end up doing it, just let them figure it out themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭24_7

Anyone using Capper Trading (Tyrone) Complete calf starter. Its 18% Protein calf starter ration that includes Alfafa so they say no need to feed additional hay/straw with it.
    I was thinking of trying it and they seem to sell a lot of it over the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭jfh

I’m rearing about 25 calves per year at the moment, but I’m looking for a better setup for this coming year. Hoping to go up to around 40, with 50 as a maximum.

I don’t think I can justify the cost of a JFC Evolution S2 at that scale. What are the JFC milk cart mixers like in practice? Also, how are people heating the water for mixing – are you using the JFC heaters or something else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,013 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭WhichWay

18 month AA heifer from dairy stock. 500kg live, 250kg Killout well finished guess O+3+ bord bia approved. What is she worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,013 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

1850-1900 euro it's dependent on base and bonuses

Slava Ukrainii

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I looked into a 2nd-hand feeder a few years back. Not sure of the brand but I think I saw them for between €2k - €3k on DoneDeal

The reference cost for Tams is 9400 I think, waiting to hear back from them to confirm.

Think they're 2500 new and can get 40% through tams, also waiting to confirm, should have went to the ploughing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭emaherx

Feeding a similar amount myself, would be easy to fit on a trolley and add a pump. But for now I just fill buckets with the tap added to the bottom of the barrel.

IMG20250303161753.jpg IMG20250303161344.jpg IMG20250303161335.jpg

I am going to assume that it's costs that plus vat. Vat is 2162 which cannot be claimed back.

9400 after grant il@40% is 5640.

7800 adding in the vat

@ the higher tax rate it's 3900 euro

Look at it over ten years its 8 euro a calf for 50 calves.

As opposed to that the milk cart ( basic one is 2100 euro is only a couple euro a calf over ten years.

However As @tractorporn indicated its a serious labour saver. Once a day checking. I see some rearers have it set up to the phone and it's let's them know if a calf has missed a feed.

For a working person that is invaluable.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭dmakc

The ref cost is 10600 excl VAT, the evolution S2 is 12ish + VAT for basics

About another 2.3, after tax 1150 or an extra 2.3/ calf.

We will call it a tenner a calf over ten years

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,197 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Have one bass and it's a serious time saver.

Other cost that are often forgotten is a service and the extra electricity drum of detergent which would easily add another 10-12/calf when rearing about 50.

3 years done with one here and was lucky to get the 60% and vat back before the whoha kicked off. Made a cheap feeder at the time costing a touch over 4k.

Being part time it has really streamlined and simplified calf rearing making it more flexible with check times. Even has helped the shoulder not having to be pulling at feeders or dragging buckets

the 170L JFC Milk kart and pump is €2100 in Kerry Pump and mixer is around €2800, 110L Wydale mixer and pump can be got for €2500, going to buy one of them soon, thinking JFC with the pump, I don’t know if the mixer is worth the extra €700, could just mix with the battery drill as the water is filling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭yewdairy

I know two lads with JFC kart, both very disappointed with pumping speed. those karts with mixers seem to be over priced for what the are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭minerleague

Ratchet strap on crush for calves? Same here - works well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Tibulus

I would say the improvement in animals will cover the cost of the feeder.

Find the most benefit with the weaker calf's, with buckets you get busy in June and calf's can get weaned ready or not. With the feeder I have much more even bunch coming into the shed in November.

Also finding that I'm reducing finishing age. Not just down to the feeder but a big contributor, no substitute for a good start and they thrive once they hit grass. If I can get a batch finished in November, will more less shed space for yearlings over winter and will increase calf numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭emaherx

Yea, it works but I wouldn't mind making something to narrow the crush to stop them turning around.

ah that’s not good, are there any issues other than the pumping speed? I wonder would the wydale be any quicker. I think I’ll just have to have patience while pumping because that’s as far as the budget goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭yewdairy

No other issues. Maybe they just got too small a pump on it.

Seen a few lads fit out home made karts with petrol water pumps, for the back of quads. They feed some amount of calves when you drive into the shed

thanks mr.stonewall, i know you are very happy with it, definitely tempted, i take it that it needs to be serviced yearly, is that costly?