Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"the Irish far-right loathe Ireland more than anyone else", Joe Brolly has said

• Registered Users Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Fred Cryton

Right and that was legal migration. Those 7.5m people did not claim asylum and were not given accommodation by the State. There was also no entitlement to welfare and there was no burning of passports on arrival. And very few if any were possessed by jihadi ideology. So little bit different yeah?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭elperello

We hardly need Joe Brolly to tell us that those people have nothing to offer in the way of solutions.

But seeing as he has chimed in I agree with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

The people horrified was all over Ireland, everyone I knew was horrified but also knew not to go near town because the event would be used by a group of scumbags to create a riot. Just look at the thread at the time and people on here called it was going to happen.

You can answer what fraction was made up. From what I seen the people who went into Dublin that night only wanted to riot and loot. They didn't give a care about what happened earlier in the day

• Registered Users Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭joseywhales

There appears to be some debate over whether these people were far right or whether they were hijacked by a bunch of yobs out for carnage. But I fail to see the difference

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Little bit telling which posters seem to be getting outright offended on behalf of the far right. It's pretty well known that such groups are homophobic, transphobic and racist. Plus their telegram groups have been raving about engaging in violence for ages. Now that it's happened, pretend they had nothing to do with it....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭Shoog

Hate speechs is hate speech, having a reasonable opinion which doesn't provoke violence towards minorities is and will always be free to express. Those like the far right thugs who rioted know full well that their every utterance will be illegal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Rosahane

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Back in the days of Catholic Ireland when the bishops ran the country anyone who stepped out of line was labelled a ‘Red’ or a communist to shut them up, we know about Noel Browne for example.

Now people are labelled ‘far right’ to shut them up …. plus ca change.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,002 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

There's no way the Irish far right would be happy with one third of the Irish population being non nationals, no matter whether legal or illegal - they would be beyond meltdown point.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

wasnt Australia known for having a points system, if you are considered useful , you have a better chance of getting in, and Ive heard recently that they give preferential treatment for working up time in the outback, would they give a waster who hadnt worked 20 years citizenship? i'd hope not

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 18,002 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

But they actually have higher net immigration than Ireland per capita and have had for many years. I'm always baffled when the anti-immigration supporters in Ireland hold them up as a template to aspire to - the Australian system would mean more immigration into Ireland (!)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,749 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

A quick google tells me Australia have taken 1 million refugees in the last 50 years or so. They are given some financial support and medicare cards. They are also helped find accommodation by various organisations. So you wouldn't be happy there either.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

"Reasonable opinion", as defined by unreasonable people, which is the very problem. It's very clear that some would be very happy to make all of their opinions illegal.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Canada is similar, points system, though it's one in four who have been or are a landed immigrant. You also have to bear in mind also, that you can't just give a visa to one person, you have to bring their family too, spouse , kids, parents.

Migrants are not the same as refugees. Migrants are allowed into Ireland on the basis of their skills and ability to support themselves, they operate on a work VISA which can be revoked if they fail to support themselves.

Refugees are people who Ireland had an obligation to accept based on the likely threat to their life and welfare in their home country. Ireland has accepted significant numbers of Ukrainian refugees, not on a perminent basis but until they are able to return home.

International law obliged Ireland to accept refugees. Migrants are entirely dictated by national and EU law. Mixing the two up is a tactic of the far right to paint the Irish government as operating an open door migration policy, which is as far from the truth as possible to be. The Irish government has until the Ukrainian crisis had an extremely tight and Draconian anti-refugee policy (ask those in direct provision).

All countries operate on the same basis, including Australia. Refugees can only be turned away based upon the legitimacy of their asylum claim.

You seem deeply concerned about hate speech legislation - telling.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,840 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I dont believe the vast majority of refugees are genuine, they are just playing the system.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

A quick look at recent squads for the Australian football teams includes these players

Thomas Deng, Awer Mabil, Mohamed Toure, Garang Kuol, Nestory Irankunda

Every one of them was born in a refugee camp in Africa before making their way to Australia and being granted asylum and later citizenship. And that's five examples from a very select group of Australians. The overall numbers are surely much higher. Australia isn't really the tough state its reputation suggests.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭Francis McM

Make you wonder who the real fascists were / are when the rioters were heard chanting "uh Ah up the RA" and shouting "black 'n tans" at the Gardai.

You can call them National Socialists, you can call them the far right, you can call them SF/IRA supporters, but they should not have rioted, looted and chanted "uh Ah up the RA" and shouting "black 'n tans" at the Gardai. No excuses.

Did Mary Lou McD condemn the rioters as much as she could have, or was she afraid of alienating the voter base in her constituency?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

It also shows a deep misunderstanding of history.

The Guards are far more soft-touch compared to other police forces in Europe. This was necessitated because of the fighting with the RIC during the War of Independence and the lawlessness that prevailed after independence and during the Civil War in the absence of a proper police force and the distrust caused by previous incarnations such as the RIC and the Black and Tans.

The need for calm and resolution was what caused the formation of the Guards in the early 20s and led to its very specific (more peaceful) nature.

IIRC, an awful lot of officers killed on duty have been victims of paramilitary operations in one shape or another. It does not surprise me that SF are quick to criticise the Guards, especially when they are currently led by a former RUC/PSNI man, one whose very own father was a victim of the Provos.

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭Burty330

Australia has the toughest immigration policies on earth. If you don't have a skill you're not getting in , simple as that. Millions of skilled workforce from Asia want to move to Australia. Australia knows their immigration rules brings in people who pay into the system and integrate into society. Thats why they have a well functioning society and a successful mix of multiculturalism.

They too, had boats loads of refugees arriving illegally on their borders and put and end to it in ways a lot of people would consider to be driven by "far right" policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Did you conduct a straw poll on O' Connell St to confirm your generalisation?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,929 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Probably a scumbag nothing party like ireland first

• Registered Users Posts: 13,749 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

So how did 20,000 people apply for asylum there last year? Only 200 applicants have been deported since May 2022. Also plenty of unskilled people go on temporary visas, and overstay their visas.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭highpressisbest

There are many towns in Ireland where a third of the population were born in a different country. I agree that the sun hasn’t fallen in on any of them. But it’s certainly been a rapid transformation.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,839 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

I assume that the comments by those posters have been deleted as I don't see a single one on this thread.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,318 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

The original thread was closed for a reason. That reason has not gone away

Closed