Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free State with Dion Fanning and Joe Brolly

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

If you recognise Brolly as an egotistical bollocks then it all makes sense .

Fanning should stick to the writing.

Nowhere near interesting enough to listen to and takes forever to get a thought across. That's grand when you're trying to up your wordcount for an article but insufferable when listening to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

I listened to a kneecap part 1 there. Brolly actually said they were up for 1.3 million worth of grant money from the British government. He comes out with the most remarkable bombastic exaggerations

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

The ads on this pod really take the piss. I listen to lots of podcasts with ads strewn throughout the episode and all of them are edited properly whereby the topic reaches a conclusion, a short jingle preceeds and follows the ads, then the podcast resumes on a new topic of discussion....

On Free State, they literally cut off Dion or Brolly in mid sent........................FOOTBALL FOOTBALL FOOTBALL, GET ALL THE FOOTBALL LIVE ON YOUR TV WHEN YOU SUBSCRIBE TO FOOTBALLNOW, DONT MISS A SECOND OF ALL THE BRILLIANT EARTH SHATTERINGLY IMPORTANT FOOTBALL. SEE FOOTBALLNOW.CO.UK FOR DETAILS.........ence and launch straight into a loud obnoxious ad. It's like a middle finger to the listener.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Did you smash it

If you have a vpn just listen to it with the vpn set to Poland and it might be ad free listening

Thanks.... to be honest I only listen to certain episodes of it I have some interest in and even then i end up skipping through much of those episodes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

The more I listen to this podcast, the more I side with RTE for getting rid of Joe Brolly.

Same. The nuggets of insight or good analysis are completely dwarfed by the sheer amount of ego and narcissism here.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

He seems to think he was some great sage, wit and raconteur on the Sunday Game. When what he actually was is a tedious old bore with the sort of “I say controversial stuff” lines as any old barstool pundit. Correct to get rid of him and the punditry is far better these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,703 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If the Trots had any cop on, they'd approach Brolly to run in the next election.

He certainly spouts their hoary old soundbites ad nauseum.

This pod!

They had on Gary Stevenson, the young Londoner who went from poverty to the top of the traders in the City and earned millions. Gary is a strong personality himself and, rightly, believed the idea of him coming on was to explain his book and speak for the majority of the time.

He wasn't expecting good old Joe who kept trying to talk over him, kept slowing down the flow of the chat with his loooong laborious ramblings about his hot take on high finance and casino capitalism. The pod was 40 minutes ish, with little structure, chronologically all over the shop and covered very little ground in the story of his life. It was part 1 of a 2 part episode that, judging from lots of other podcasts who have done Gary justice in 1 hour flat, didn't need to be strung out into two aimless episodes.

Just another example of this podcast taking the piss with listeners. The ad revenue must be fantastic for podcasts that these two can get away with this amateurish approach and still be a viable and lucrative use of their time.